Spring Racing

No dont remind me of that Cup, please, for the love of god! Had a ticket with Maldivian's name on it dated July with odds of 50-1 and a bet of $50, may not of even won, but to be in the barriers and have a $2.50 chance running at $50's it was gut wrenching.

Rising Romance is the one I'm interested in at the price now (17-1 with 4 places on LUX). Beat LV in the Oaks in Autumn. As for the Internationals, i will get researching when i see who is actually running.

A mate of mine had doubles live into Maldivian and Eskimo Queen (second fave) for several thousand each. He was gutted when Maldivian reared and got scratched. We put him on suicide watch when Eskimo Queen laid down in the barriers and refused to compete...

Fair points on Fawkner, I'm talking through my pocket, but a more positive ride to at least give him the chance to win would've been nice. I have it on pretty good word that Lloyd genuinely thought Fawkner could win and was his best chance, and that he was disappointed with the ride. But that could all be wrong as it appears CP is his target race. If he's set out to win that, then 10's is certainly overs.

The point we are trying to make, and this was the problem with Zipping too, is that if you give him a more positive ride he'd waste more energy early on and would be even less likely to get the trip.
I completely understand the point made, and I agree with Zipping I'm not sure about Fawkner though, is known as one of the easiest horses to ride, switches off to sleep better than most. He has tactical speed, and a good turn of foot. They walk for 2200m of the race. We'll see how he runs this year anyway, Lloyd doesn't run them for fun. The tactic behind him snagged back and circling the field to me was either:
A) Nick Hall over compensating on Lloyd wanting it to be ridden a little off the speed
B) Lloyd giving it an easy run, to get the experience for another year.
Surely Lloyd doesn't enter it in the race just to run on for 6th?

I completely understand the point made, and I agree with Zipping I'm not sure about Fawkner though, is known as one of the easiest horses to ride, switches off to sleep better than most. He has tactical speed, and a good turn of foot. They walk for 2200m of the race. We'll see how he runs this year anyway, Lloyd doesn't run them for fun. The tactic behind him snagged back and circling the field to me was either:
A) Nick Hall over compensating on Lloyd wanting it to be ridden a little off the speed
B) Lloyd giving it an easy run, to get the experience for another year.
Surely Lloyd doesn't enter it in the race just to run on for 6th?

Nah can't agree re: Lloyd - he obviously knows what he is doing and solely targets the race but he runs no hopers all the time that are beaten miles on the day.

Norman-Chad-head.png

'meh…he's a kid with a dream'

Absolutely - if I was a retired multi millionare I would be buying any old cattle from teh UK and shipping it down to Oz for the Cup.

Then running them with 75kg in ratings 64 races over 1300m at Swan Hill when I felt like a day out at the track.

Side Glance is a big chance for the CP if he get's in, the type of horse to snatch it.

Gee there is some interesting races at Caulfield on Saturday.

Race 1 all 1st starters 2yo
Race 2 Earthquake back in Melbourne, struggling as a 3yo??
Race 3 Hong Kong Horse Dan Excel 1st up over 1400 with 63.5kg
Race 4 The 3yo Rubick against the older horses, very small field 7 runners
Race 5 The Herbert Power, last chance to get in Caulfield Cup, tough race. 3 horses never raced in Oz, 8 ex internationals tells the story
Race 6 Caulfield stakes, what a cracker of a race, Happy Trails backing up from last week, many chances
Race 7 Toorak over 1600, another tough one, Trainer Marco Botti has a horse 1st up with 58kg 1st oz start with new Oz connections. Watch
Race 8 Thousand Guinness, even bunch of 3yo fillies, Traveston Girl will do me
Race 9 Caulfield Guineas Kenny Keys day ex Tassie boy Rich Enuff for me
Race 10 Good sprint race to finish the day off, hopefully backed a few winners and at the bar when the race is on.

Side Glance is a big chance for the CP if he get's in, the type of horse to snatch it.

Ran last year - beaten 4 lengths.

Doubt he has improved that much but could always still it from the front like he did at Flemington again. Would not a lot of the field to have bad days IMHO.

Well Waller is talking Cox Plates with Royal Descent, but as consistent as she's been, I can't see how she could get in ahead of Side Glance?

Three G1 2nds in her last 6 runs would have her ahead of him imo. She would be a much better chance of winning

Even horses like He's your man, Almalad and Looks Like the Cat/Sweynesse if they run well on the weekend would get in ahead of him

Sweynesse $2 vs First Seal $2.80 in the Spring Champion?

Seriously? They are taking the piss aren't they?

Or they know FS isn't running? Come in Spinner!!!:drunk:

Will wait for final field acceptances just incase but if they put up anything over $2 for FS it will be my biggest bet of the year.

Yep, shoulda taken that $2.80, put up $1.80 today and backed into $1.70 at some places. :drunk:

Too short now, **** it!

May even end up backing Sweynesse and Panzer Division hoping that the males continue to dominate this race as they have done for the past 20 years. She's pretty special though, may just be a watch race also.

Three G1 2nds in her last 6 runs would have her ahead of him imo. She would be a much better chance of winning

Even horses like He's your man, Almalad and Looks Like the Cat/Sweynesse if they run well on the weekend would get in ahead of him
Fawkner
Sacred Falls
Dissident (?)
Happy Trails
Foreteller
The Cleaner
Dan Excel (?)
Silent Achiever
Hawkspur
Royal Descent
Crackerjack King (?)
Guest Of Honour (?)
Almalad
Dear Demi (?)
Arabian Gold
LLTC (?)
Sweynesse (?)

Well that's my 14 + 4 (not really in order) with questions about 7 of them, I reckon Side Glance would have to get a crack before Arabian Gold, 1 or maybe all the 3YO's depending on how they go this weekend, Crackerjack King and probably Royal Descent. Dissident and Dan Excel might not run depending on how they go this weekend.

Not that they should run SG here, was well beaten in a weaker year and didn't appear to handle the Valley anyway. Don't think they will go here with HYM, Mackinnon looks more likely.

Fawkner
Sacred Falls
Dissident (?)
Happy Trails
Foreteller
The Cleaner
Dan Excel (?)
Silent Achiever
Hawkspur
Royal Descent
Crackerjack King (?)
Guest Of Honour (?)
Almalad
Dear Demi (?)
Arabian Gold
LLTC (?)
Sweynesse (?)

Well that's my 14 + 4 (not really in order) with questions about 7 of them, I reckon Side Glance would have to get a crack before Arabian Gold, 1 or maybe all the 3YO's depending on how they go this weekend, Crackerjack King and probably Royal Descent. Dissident and Dan Excel might not run depending on how they go this weekend.

Not that they should run SG here, was well beaten in a weaker year and didn't appear to handle the Valley anyway. Don't think they will go here with HYM, Mackinnon looks more likely.

Whats the question over Dissident? Thats your winner right there. The Cleaner will run the race perfectly for him.

Spring Racing