Squad for 5th Test

Would of liked to see CA make a few more bold moves, a few guys havent produced, would like to see a few others have a chance rather then CA's Hand Picked talent, they seem to have a few guys singled out for the next 10 years, and anyone else shouldnt even bother.

Agreed.

CA = Conservative Arseholes

Can't believe Doug the Rug is back in the squad.

Hopefully the 44th isn't far away...

I totally agree!!

How can the selectors award the Australian captaincy to an individual who is more interested in doing ads for Vodafone and adding more body tattoos to his body?

From the rumours about his behaviour before the Perth test match, I think he is the wrong man for the job.

There is another blotch on AMJ Hilditch's resume.

Michael Clarke is a tool!!!!

Brad Haddin should have been named captain for this test match.

I will be barracking for an England victory to force the selectors to make widespread changes, and there will be a huge amount of pressure on CA to sack Hilditch and Sutherland.

THE GOV

Michael Clarke waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better interviews than Ricky Ponting

Really ?

One of the more "personal" qualities that annoys me about him, is his okker way of speaking. Not quite bogan, but not far off!

I can't wait to see if this "selection" pays off, or blows up in their face.

Couldn't have said it better myself :thumbsu:

Seriously, I have tickets to day 1. I might as well just go to a nearby pub to drown my sorrows because it will be embarassing.

Pup will probably get a ton, now that the Ashes are gone. And he'll be hailed by his sponsors and CA as the wunderkind.

They don't have much choice though, it's not like he was going to be dropped and they've lost two older players this series already through injury and one through the chop. So at least some change has happened and this time, they've even gone for a bloke with a pretty solid technique to cover for an injured player. That's a plus in itself.

Really ?

One of the more "personal" qualities that annoys me about him, is his okker way of speaking. Not quite bogan, but not far off!

I can't wait to see if this "selection" pays off, or blows up in their face.

It's amazing people finding more excuses to dislike Clarke. I'm not his biggest supporter but geez has to be better interviewee than Ponting who only now when he has failed talks with a degree of transparency. The guy barely heeped any praise on opposition teams for years. Almost getting rude when questions didn't appear to his liking. Ponting talks a million miles an hour can barely understand what he's saying.

Thats why he does well in Tassie and England. Should only play there IMO. Dominates in England big time.

Nailed it.

He may as well be bowling basketballs to the Englishmen in the last 3 tests.

He is wasting the new ball. I'd rather give it to Siddle.

Agreed.

CA = Conservative Arseholes

Can't believe Doug the Rug is back in the squad.

I totally agree.

CA does mean Conservative Arseholes!!

Back in 1989, England did not make wholesale changes after we beat them at Trent Bridge. They just picked 1 to 2 players instead of picking a core group of players. England never woke up from denial until they poached Rod Marsh from our clutches in July 2001.

Australian cricket is heading along the same path whilst England, South Africa, India and Sri Lanka are spending an enormous amount of funds in refining their coaching support staff structures and methods after "copying" our systems a couple of years ago.

We have a CEO who is a Chartered Accountant and he is more interested in dollars than spending money to enhance the quality of output within the Australian test team's coaching structure and support staff.

Why was not James Pattinson, Clint Mackay or James Faulkner considered for Sydney?

If the CA board decide to abandon the Shield Final for the overrated 20-20 competition, I think we have submitted to Indian cricket!! We need to retain the shield final and make sure October and November are free from international commitments to allow our test players to play shield cricket.

It is about time for CA to steal the lead from India, Sri Lanka, England and South Africa and devise a way for us to become leaders of the pack again.

With AFL footballers being professional footballers who are employed at the club on a full time basis, why does not CA think about selecting a core group of players (the contracted players and promising youngsters who are knocking on the door) for a 3 month Cricket Education Retreat in Queensland from May to July where they can enhance their strengths and improve their weaknesses?

Our test cricketers need to behave like AFL footballers from a team preparation point of view. They attend training from Monday to Friday; undergo team meetings; undergo review sessions with the coaches etc.

When a test match is scheduled in the Australian calendar, the players should have a 5 to 7 day preparation period in the city where the test match is held to prepare themselves for a test match. At the minute, the players arrive in Sydney, for example on a Friday for a Sunday test match.

Before the Perth test, the squad should have arrived in Perth on the weekend before the test match.

The Australian test team needs to implement the processes used by the coaching support staff of AFL clubs to promote a teaching environment where players can perform to their maximum level on match day.

Did not David Saker send his squad of test match bowlers to Brisbane a week early before the Brisbane test match?

THE GOV

i am extremely annoyed with this squad, we had the perfect opportunity to make a statement and not exept mediocre performances but we played it safe.
bollinger back in the squad is a joke why not bring in a young bloke like copeland and even if he is 12th man would do his confidence no harm.
smith is not a number 6 batsman so if he batted 8 would have to be our number 1 spin option.
hughes has got no tempremant to play test cricket he should stick with the shorter forms of the game where they make pitches that resemble a road.
i could go on but im getting angry thinking about it.

arggghhh, australian cricket is now a laughing stock officially. clarke as captain confirms it :mad: the west coast eagles of the cricketing world :(:(:mad::(

I totally agree.

CA does mean Conservative Arseholes!!

Back in 1989, England did not make wholesale changes after we beat them at Trent Bridge. They just picked 1 to 2 players instead of picking a core group of players. England never woke up from denial until they poached Rod Marsh from our clutches in July 2001.

Australian cricket is heading along the same path whilst England, South Africa, India and Sri Lanka are spending an enormous amount of funds in refining their coaching support staff structures and methods after "copying" our systems a couple of years ago.

We have a CEO who is a Chartered Accountant and he is more interested in dollars than spending money to enhance the quality of output within the Australian test team's coaching structure and support staff.

Why was not James Pattinson, Clint Mackay or James Faulkner considered for Sydney?

If the CA board decide to abandon the Shield Final for the overrated 20-20 competition, I think we have submitted to Indian cricket!! We need to retain the shield final and make sure October and November are free from international commitments to allow our test players to play shield cricket.

It is about time for CA to steal the lead from India, Sri Lanka, England and South Africa and devise a way for us to become leaders of the pack again.

With AFL footballers being professional footballers who are employed at the club on a full time basis, why does not CA think about selecting a core group of players (the contracted players and promising youngsters who are knocking on the door) for a 3 month Cricket Education Retreat in Queensland from May to July where they can enhance their strengths and improve their weaknesses?

Our test cricketers need to behave like AFL footballers from a team preparation point of view. They attend training from Monday to Friday; undergo team meetings; undergo review sessions with the coaches etc.

When a test match is scheduled in the Australian calendar, the players should have a 5 to 7 day preparation period in the city where the test match is held to prepare themselves for a test match. At the minute, the players arrive in Sydney, for example on a Friday for a Sunday test match.

Before the Perth test, the squad should have arrived in Perth on the weekend before the test match.

The Australian test team needs to implement the processes used by the coaching support staff of AFL clubs to promote a teaching environment where players can perform to their maximum level on match day.

Did not David Saker send his squad of test match bowlers to Brisbane a week early before the Brisbane test match?

THE GOV

I agree, the lead-up to this series has been a pile of nonsense but as you like writing long screeds why don't you consider sensible options?

You've obviously got plenty of ideas, but that sort of thing is just pie in the sky as far as the contracted players are concerned.

They already have winter camps for the young and not-so-young AIS players. And they play tournaments against other young international teams in the off-season.

The contracted players are in a completely different environment because of the FTP.

arggghhh, australian cricket is now a laughing stock officially. clarke as captain confirms it :mad: the west coast eagles of the cricketing world :(:(:mad::(

The only difference is the Eagles had the recreational drug saga involving Cousins, Gardiner, Chick and Kerr whilst Andrew Hilditch, James Sutherland, Jamie Cox and Tim Nielsen are showing the behavioural traits of Matthew Knights and Peter Jackson for the following reasons:

1. Andrew Hilditch, Tim Nielsen and Matthew Knights are triplets by default.
  2. James Sutherland and Peter Jackson are twin brothers because they gave a coach a contract extension when he did not warrant one.

Picking a blues bowling lineup probably wouldn't be such a bad idea. :D

Gee wouldn't mind

Johnson
Siddle
Copeland
O'Keefe

That way we reward players on form with an eye to the future.

I will be barracking for an England victory to force the selectors to make widespread changes, and there will be a huge amount of pressure on CA to sack Hilditch and Sutherland.

THE GOV

I will always support Australia. Don't care who is in the side and how much I'd prefer others (or even dislike them) I will still tune in on the first morning hoping that we win.

Here's some food for thought:

The 12-man 2011 Sydney test squad is:

Michael Clarke (c), Brad Haddin (vc), Doug Bollinger, Michael Beer, Phillip Hughes, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson.

versus

Graham Yallops 1978-79 "Lambs to the Slaughter":

G.Wood, G.Cosier, P.Toohey, G.Yallop, K.Hughes, T.Laughlin, J.Maclean, B. Yardley, R'Hogg, A.Hurst, J.Higgs, G. Dymock

I reckon Yallops team would win.

I agree, the lead-up to this series has been a pile of nonsense but as you like writing long screeds why don't you consider sensible options?

You've obviously got plenty of ideas, but that sort of thing is just pie in the sky as far as the contracted players are concerned.

They already have winter camps for the young and not-so-young AIS players. And they play tournaments against other young international teams in the off-season.

The contracted players are in a completely different environment because of the FTP.

Our test players keep on making the same mistakes. A 3 month Test Cricket Retreat Camp at the AIS Centre of Excellence during the off season is an excellent platform for all test players who have played test cricket for Australia in the pass 12 months to review their performances so they can improve on their strengths and correct their weaknesses.

AFL players attend pre-season training from November to March with the Christmas holidays as their time off.

Why does not CA adopt a similar policy of AFL clubs to allow us to surpass England, South Africa and India? They are leading the pack at the minute, and we have to become the benchmark again.

THE GOV

Michael Clarke (c), Brad Haddin (vc), Doug Bollinger, Michael Beer, Phillip Hughes, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson.

versus

G.Wood, G.Cosier, P.Toohey, G.Yallop, K.Hughes, T.Laughlin, J.Maclean, B. Yardley, R'Hogg, A.Hurst, J.Higgs, G. Dymock

I saw that team beat the poms in a one day match at the G in front of about 18k and I got pelted with ice in bay 13.:D

I remember Laughlin and Cosier hitting some big 4s and 6s.

Our test players keep on making the same mistakes. A 3 month Test Cricket Retreat Camp at the AIS Centre of Excellence during the off season is an excellent platform for all test players who have played test cricket for Australia in the pass 12 months to review their performances so they can improve on their strengths and correct their weaknesses.

AFL players attend pre-season training from November to March with the Christmas holidays as their time off.

Why does not CA adopt a similar policy of AFL clubs to allow us to surpass England, South Africa and India? They are leading the pack at the minute, and we have to become the benchmark again.

THE GOV

Have you ever heard of the FTP? There is no set season. You can't compare the sports. They are so different to each other.

The test players would be helped by more time in Shield cricket, but our latest initiates hardly seem to be up to the mark despite playing a lot of Shield cricket.

I suspect the coaches aren't doing their job as much as anything.

versus

I totally agree!!!!:thumbsu::)

However, Yallop and Clarke are in the same class as test batsmen. Yallop was a great player of spin bowling, but his record against top quality bowling was questionable. He struggled against Pakistan when he was picked as Martin Kent's replacement at number 6 during the 1981-82 series and he was overlooked for the 3 match test series against the West Indies in 1981-82.

I think Michael Clarke needs Lara to motivate him to become a great Australian test player!!

Finally, does anyone realise that Ricky's form has dropped since he got a new set of feathers from Ashley and Martin after the 2006-2007 Ashes win in Australia?

THE GOV

I saw that team beat the poms in a one day match at the G in front of about 18k and I got pelted with ice in bay 13.:D

I remember Laughlin and Cosier hitting some big 4s and 6s.

Yallop, Hughes, Hogg, Dymock and either of the spinners would get in the current team. Alan Hurst would also give it a nudge.

I can just see Clarke make a ton when the pressure is off and will get another set of 9 lives.

Now if he was a Vic,he wouldn't even be in this test.

FACT.

THe ****ing selectors.

Hate their guts.

Where do the ****ers live.

Enough's ****ing ENOUGH.:mad:

Hilditch WANTED.