SS comments

saintsrfreak, I see you've butted heads with plugger66 today. :D Mate, I wouldn't bother with that, it will just do your head in! It's just like banging your head up against a brick wall. Back when I was posting on there previously I'd gotten to the stage where I basically didn't respond to any of his posts and life was a lot better that way. (Having said that my interactions with him in the past couple of days have been reasonably civil, especially in the Spencer White thread yesterday, after I challenged his doomsday beliefs about our list, but he is still arrogant beyond belief and probably not worth dealing with if you can avoid it).

thats true he was on saintsational when he was coach.
That is amazing!

With a new year upon us, I would suggest, that this is the ideal time for the club to provide, a variety of different people to engage with supporters / members on here.

In times past, the club had their own forum.

saintsrfreak, I see you've butted heads with plugger66 today. :D Mate, I wouldn't bother with that, it will just do your head in! It's just like banging your head up against a brick wall. Back when I was posting on there previously I'd gotten to the stage where I basically didn't respond to any of his posts and life was a lot better that way. (Having said that my interactions with him in the past couple of days have been reasonably civil, especially in the Spencer White thread yesterday, after I challenged his doomsday beliefs about our list, but he is still arrogant beyond belief and probably not worth dealing with if you can avoid it).

That is amazing!
I think posting on that site in general is bad for my health, wish Thommo was posting here instead

Well that's just silly. The club has talked about wanting to open up to the fans yet flat out denies having any involvement with arguably the most dedicated ones?

How open do you need it??? Are you a part owner or shareholder?

Why the the F would they want to come on here and expose themselves to some of the mindless crap posted on forums?

As for GT... woo hoo! So now he's an expert? He is as much a spectator as the rest of us. No longer in the inner asnctum and still suffers from irrelevance syndrome.

As far as Ross goes, he despised what went on at SS.. all the bagging and people wanting sacked and GT reinstated after 2007 blah blah blah. I mean who can blame coaches and players for staying away from forums?

How open do you need it??? Are you a part owner or shareholder?

Why the the F would they want to come on here and expose themselves to some of the mindless crap posted on forums?

As for GT... woo hoo! So now he's an expert? He is as much a spectator as the rest of us. No longer in the inner asnctum and still suffers from irrelevance syndrome.
I'd assume there would be a dedicated thread in which the representative could answer questions we have that wouldn't usually be answered, obviously nothing they don't want out there, but it'd be nice to talk to someone involved with the club. Luke Holmesby would be a good choice.

Using the previous forum as an example, how long before that forum decided it was far too good for everyone else and wanted to restrict itself? Forum members only, club members only, how long then before you had "special" access for social club members and segregate the community more into tiers of support?

Even with a designated thread, you simply can't escape this, we had/have it with BS & AT and you simply don't see one around much any more, yet you want a thread, effectively ruled by an iron fist by the few in which the esteem people are held in and how they express their opinions on their chosen support is graded?

It's a multimedia world, you want to talk to the club, ask the club questions, there are plenty of ways to do so, take some initiative and explore them instead of effectively wishing for a to your door representative to drop in.

I see no real value in such an effort from either angle.

Well the representative just has to know what he's doing, take a look at Richmond's one to see a great example
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/questions-suggestions-for-rfc_official-part-2.968928/

The unlikely "what ifs" are what created the bubble.
Wow, that's impressive, I didn't realise any of the other boards had anything like that on them. I haven't read much of it, but by the looks of it there have been hundreds and hundreds of posts and replies, so that looks like a really good initiative by Richmond. Kudos to them. :thumbsu:

Using the previous forum as an example, how long before that forum decided it was far too good for everyone else and wanted to restrict itself? Forum members only, club members only, how long then before you had "special" access for social club members and segregate the community more into tiers of support?

Even with a designated thread, you simply can't escape this, we had/have it with BS & AT and you simply don't see one around much any more, yet you want a thread, effectively ruled by an iron fist by the few in which the esteem people are held in and how they express their opinions on their chosen support is graded?

It's a multimedia world, you want to talk to the club, ask the club questions, there are plenty of ways to do so, take some initiative and explore them instead of effectively wishing for a to your door representative to drop in.

I see no real value in such an effort from either angle.
It's up to the mods and how they run it, I don't want the thread to be ruled with an iron fist, just keep out trolling as with any other thread.

And I think it'd be more convenient to ask a club representative on here a question rather than hoping they see and reply to your email/tweet/whatever

Wow, that's impressive, I didn't realise any of the other boards had anything like that on them. I haven't read much of it, but by the looks of it there have been hundreds and hundreds of posts and replies, so that looks like a really good initiative by Richmond. Kudos to them. :thumbsu:
Yeah there's actually a BF badge given to each official club representative, it looks like there are quite a few:

1. AFC Official
  2. BoomerBrownlow_29
  3. Carlton_FC_Media
  4. DemonsHQ
  5. EFC_Membership
  6. Essendon_FC
  7. HFC Official
  8. jakemelb
  9. Jonathonb
  10. Lions_Insider
  11. No Bull
  12. Official Cats
  13. OfficialBulldogs
  14. OfficialEagle
  15. RFC_Official
  16. Vancouver Bomber

That Spencer White thread was going pretty well until the doomsday stuff, now it's well and truly off the rails.
I had just finished another long post for that thread and went to submit it and instead of it being submitted, it bloody took me back to the sign in page again and once I signed in again all of this long post that I'd just completed was gone, so that was half an hour or so down the drain! :mad:

I was just finished another long post for that thread and went to submit it and instead of it being submitted it bloody took me to the sign in page again and once I signed in again all of this long post that I'd just completed was gone, so that was half an hour or so down the drain! :mad:
Are they back onto Spencer White or is the sky still falling? :D

I had just finished another long post for that thread and went to submit it and instead of it being submitted, it bloody took me back to the sign in page again and once I signed in again all of this long post that I'd just completed was gone, so that was half an hour or so down the drain! :mad:
Dunno why you'd waste your time writing a well thought out post on there, didn't you know Plugger's always right?

Are they back onto Spencer White or is the sky still falling?:D
No, I don't think there is anything much new to say about him for the moment, so it is just plugger trying to convince us all about how dark things are going to be in the not too distant future (he seems to have all of our older brigade retiring in the next 3 years, including Dal and Joey, who could play for up to 5, IMO- that would take them to 33, the age Lenny and Milne will be next year, and they're still going) and doesn't seem to think we'll be able to pick up anyone good through trading, or free agency, in that time, to help offset that, or that anyone young on our list will be able to step up to offset their loss. :D

He then goes on to say that anyone that thinks Lee, TDL or Hickey could be good in their first year is living in "fantasy land", so I guess the club are living in "fantasy land" then, because they very much believe that Lee, if no one else, can make a strong impact straight away, as I've said before. But of course he knows best (despite the fact he's probably never seen any of them play, at least that he'd remember).

Of course I'm pretty much certain that he said the same sort of thing about Saad this time last year, though, when I was predicting that he would be in our best 22 this year, so he just doesn't seem to have learned, but that is certainly nothing new.

Dunno why you'd waste your time writing a well thought out post on there, didn't you know Plugger's always right?
Of course I know that, I haven't written almost 3000 posts on there without having that shoved down my throat, but it's not for him, really.

It's more for the others on there that actually have an open mind and who might get something out of it. In this case it's to put their minds at rest if they reckon we're in deep trouble (especially if they've been listening to SEN or plugger too much), because we're not. We're in good hands at the moment and our list is in much better shape than most (outside the club especially) seem to think. I'm very confident of that. With the picks we've had in the last couple of years, we've done very well indeed.

BTW, did you happen to check out the PSD thread on there? Might help to ease your mind a bit more about why we didn't select a certain someone in the draft. ;)

It's up to the mods and how they run it, I don't want the thread to be ruled with an iron fist, just keep out trolling as with any other thread.

And I think it'd be more convenient to ask a club representative on here a question rather than hoping they see and reply to your email/tweet/whatever

Nah... frankly it isn't worth the costs and headaches to be honest. To be honest, I reckon fans in general have ruined it for themselves. A rumour gets posted and it spreads like wildfire, so frankly, social media has far from demonstrated any form of maturity IMO.

Too many opinions stated as facts and it would create a can of worms for the club... not to mention the trolls it would attract.

Apart from that, I fail to see what's so important that we need a special thread? If the club says red... people will argue that they are lying etc and say it's green. If the club says green then the reverse happens.

If something happens, the club issues a media release and that's fine by me.

Nah... frankly it isn't worth the costs and headaches to be honest. To be honest, I reckon fans in general have ruined it for themselves. A rumour gets posted and it spreads like wildfire, so frankly, social media has far from demonstrated any form of maturity IMO.

Too many opinions stated as facts and it would create a can of worms for the club... not to mention the trolls it would attract.

Apart from that, I fail to see what's so important that we need a special thread? If the club says red... people will argue that they are lying etc and say it's green. If the club says green then the reverse happens.

If something happens, the club issues a media release and that's fine by me.
Seems to have worked out for the 16 representatives already on here.

And I'd trust the members on here to not be childish enough to insist whatever they say is a lie.

I used to have a read of SS but gave up when they blocked access. Anyone know why that was? It was around Filth time iirc.

Anyway, cliffs on the GT Q&A?

Never been on SS never will, Only had to be told it was a shit forum and didn't even bother going over there.

And Carlton and some others are even more impressive. Its not about spoon feeding, its about showing some initiative to further engage with supporters, members and sponsors. Follow the link to the Richmond representative. Sensible questions and responses. Simple as that.

Companies like Apple and Microsoft, provide a variety of different staff members, for online forums, to answer specific questions. Most companies would love to have the support shown to all things AFL. The passion, interest and involvement are there, it is up to clubs to harness this and deepen the relationship.

This may be one area, that St Kilda needs to see others do it and the results, before they are willing to move.

And Carlton and some others are even more impressive. Its not about spoon feeding, its about showing some initiative to further engage with supporters, members and sponsors. Follow the link to the Richmond representative. Sensible questions and responses. Simple as that.

Companies like Apple and Microsoft, provide a variety of different staff members, for online forums, to answer specific questions. Most companies would love to have the support shown to all things AFL. The passion, interest and involvement are there, it is up to clubs to harness this and deepen the relationship.

This may be one area, that St Kilda needs to see others do it and the results, before they are willing to move.

the Saints have just now gotten the act together re communication. let it settle for a year or two and then plead with them to do something like what other clubs do re Big footy.

It's a delicate situation as if they come on here (or anywhere) it will be seen As they are endorsing the site and people will then look at comments from people and think club endorses them. Even if 99% people don't think that it only takes 1 person to cause shit storm.

When they explained it to me it makes hell lot sense. (Too hard to try explain it in a post)

It might happen eventually but at this stage highly unlikely.
I also spoke to the club re: having an official presence to confirm or deny issues and clarify official positions on issues and they responded much as AT has indicated - they flatly refused to consider it despite what other clubs were doing. (I sent them links showing where 9 other clubs had an official spokesperson representing them on BigFooty).

There's no need to be that dismissive of it where they just flat out refuse to even consider it, obviously it can work which has been shown. I mean what better way to engage with your fans than actually talking to them.

Hey - I got jack when I queried HTF they could run out of those cool beanies the guys were wearing in the US (some dude asked on twitter where he could get them).

images

Instead of saying how long it would take to get them in, they told him to check out the other ones!

images
images

GTFO.