Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016

Not so surprising. Talked about it this arvo with mates. We are nobodies, but we all thought Geelong would have their work cut out and if they gave Sainters an inch....

Thanks saints:thumbsu: The schadenfreude is strong with this one.

Bwa ha ha ha ha ha ha ha EAD Geelong.

Love the way that even after they make mistakes the young guys follow it up with 100% effort and confidence instead of dropping their heads. Gotta think that's due to the brilliant coaching of Richo.

Membrey with his missed set shot, followed it up with great efforts in a crucial contest at the edge of our 50.

Wright with his kick back to the Geelong players in our back 50, follows it up with some incredible efforts and that run on the wing.

Acres got caught on the wing by Duncan, didn't hide away and showed fantastic composure to be absolutely clutch in the last 10.

Gresham with the poor shot out on the full, followed up with an absolutely incredible game, his darting through traffic is as good as I've seen. Have so much faith in his hands. Then went and kicked the most incredible goal to get us back in it.

Full credit to Luke Delaney.

Hawkins got a soft goal and a snag on Gilbert i think it was.

His career looked all but cooked before Fisher and Demps went down, now he is well on the way to securing a new deal if he keeps us tonight's form.
Would love him to make the most of this chance

Full credit to Luke Delaney.

Hawkins got a soft goal and a snag on Gilbert i think it was.

His career looked all but cooked before Fisher and Demps went down, now he is well on the way to securing a new deal if he keeps us tonight's form.
Perfectly happy to keep him on next year with Goddard's injury and Fisher probably set to retire.

He's a solid KPD that can do a job, very dependable and good depth.

And now the narrative is that Geelong were screwed out of the win by the umpires in the last quarter :rolleyes: Lmfao get stuffed

Especially you Selwood you ducking flog.

I've never seen anyone sook at the umpires as much as Selwood and Hawkins. They expect a free kick every time they're in a contest.

mav weller what a goose gun

Came here just to pump up his tyres.

In a game where it seemed everyone was trying to get goal assists instead of goals (it was still a great game, just pissfarting around inside 50 or missing shots), Weller was the one guy who seemed desperate to take on the responsibility and do the big moments. Even his run and bounce through the ground (maybe with 3, 4? minutes left) that was Weller saying "I'm going to back myself and find a target".

Really admire that type of play because my biggest hate is players selling their teammates into trouble. Hospital handballs, giving it off when you're about to be tackled to a guy in a similar situation, refusing to kick at goal so you can claim 'unselfishness'. I'd rather a player miss kicking for a good chance at goal over extra 2, 3 disposals. Thinking when one of the young Saints burned Riewoldt early - but imo the young guy was well within his rights to take the shot, take the responsibility.

Weller did that, terrific leaders game. Two big moments where he took it upon himself and did the job (his long goal and his dash sideways through the ground) and it just made me really pleased to see his game as it is after a tough start at the Suns.

Roo mentioned Gresham's "instinct" in the post-match interview on Ch7.That kid can play for sure
Seb Ross did an awesome job on Dangerfield.
Jack was all guts until the end.
Nathan Wright tough as nails to cop a shoulder smash and keep playing
Awesome to beat Geelong and the Umps.
Harry Taylor should get at least a fine for his hit on McCartin

Wow what a game! we deserved that one after the close ones with Hawks and North. Every player tried so hard, a very good team effort. Even Wright came back out who I thought wouldn't come back on. Gresh goal was a young Milneyesque. Delaney did his job. The whole defense did extremely well.
Even Acres lifted late in the game and kept running late in the game.
What a bloody good win! GOo Sainters!!! yewwwww

Memo Joel Selwood - that "young fella" is called Jade Gresham - and I think he might be able to play a little bit

And a further memo Joel Selwood - grow up you whinging cry baby! The spray he gave the umpires was disgraceful.

Now I'll take myself back to my own board - enjoy the win - hell you've earned it!! :thumbsu:

It's hard to know where to start with this one. OUr young fellas are coming to the fore, great to see 3 or 4 or 5 of them in a huddle between plays talking tactics. The Saints are coming. Not too long to wait now.

Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016