Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016

View attachment 260528

giphy.gif
That Cheston gif deserves a repeat. So damn good.

6 and 7. Feels like Heaven.

How I envy those of you who are close enough to go to games every week and experience that live. The rest of us only get to pump our fists at the telly, while the dog looks on bewildered, and run laps around the coffee table whooping with elation.

I used to lead a ragtag mob of boys into battle every week, albeit on the rugby field. And sometimes you would find yourself in the middle of a seesawing, ferocious contest, with no quarter asked for and none given. And if ever the chips were down I used to call my charges into a huddle at the next break of play, and just remind them that these are the games where the win is just a little bit sweeter than the rest. We just need to work hard. This match was exactly that type of game, one to savor for the ages, as a player, as a coach, and as a fan.

The losses to the Hawks and North haven't been in vain. They have helped to steel our resolve in close matches, and to not go into our shell. We have heard AR talk about this for the last twelve months...how we wavered in our belief and lost our mindset and our shape, when we find ourselves in tight contests. Not this time, and that's no fluke, as the boss has been on message here for a long time. The losses to West Coast and Adelaide have also not been in vain. They provided the impetus for the player group to take a long hard look at themselves after the Adelaide game, and to assert that enough is enough. It's time to stop talking tough and start being tough. We have spoken long and hard about the improvement of individual players. But this is different...this is the team improving. The team is galvanizing right before our eyes, and I, for one, am loving it. There are certainly a few more lessons to be learned, and a few more coats of hardened steel to be applied...but soon we will just need polish.

A lot has been said already, but just a couple of observations:
  • The umpires will warm to us if we continue to play honest, hard, skillful, well drilled footy and especially if we refrain from bagging umpires too much on and off the field. They will review and soon enough they will see that Bruce is manhandled regularly, that Steven is a gun and is often held without the ball, and that Webster hits hard, but hits fair.
  • The Saints are fast becoming a team opposition supporters can enjoy watching. Because when we are executing well, our game style is exciting and makes for a really enjoyable spectacle. I really hope this starts to translate into bigger crowds for home games.
  • Gresham has that Steven trait, where he just wants to possess the ball, he wants to hit the scoreboard, he wants to beat his opponent. As his physical prowess improves he will become a very important part of our midfield.
  • The last four minutes the boys played for each other. Players came off their man and crashed the contest. The way we repelled the Cats time after time was just as exhilarating as scoring goals at the other end.
  • Hopefully, there aren't too many bruised bodies because wins like these only retain their value if we can win the next one. I hope Wright in particular can find a bit of luck with his body.
  • Steven a Brownlow smokey. At least 13 votes to date I reckon.
  • Trout continues to curse Alan Richardson, as the Saints are poised to surge up the ladder.
Lastly, I salute our two match high goal scorers they both deserve some time in the sun.

450546-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

Great game and beaten by the better team. There is a lot to look forward to for Saints supporters, consistency of effort is the key. Hmmmm, on that note, might go and have a chat to a few cats players .....

6 and 7. Feels like Heaven.

How I envy those of you who are close enough to go to games every week and experience that live. The rest of us only get to pump our fists at the telly, while the dog looks on bewildered, and run laps around the coffee table whooping with elation.

I used to lead a ragtag mob of boys into battle every week, albeit on the rugby field. And sometimes you would find yourself in the middle of a seesawing, ferocious contest, with no quarter asked for and none given. And if ever the chips were down I used to call my charges into a huddle at the next break of play, and just remind them that these are the games where the win is just a little bit sweeter than the rest. We just need to work hard. This match was exactly that type of game, one to savor for the ages, as a player, as a coach, and as a fan.

The losses to the Hawks and North haven't been in vain. They have helped to steel our resolve in close matches, and to not go into our shell. We have heard AR talk about this for the last twelve months...how we wavered in our belief and lost our mindset and our shape, when we find ourselves in tight contests. Not this time, and that's no fluke, as the boss has been on message here for a long time. The losses to West Coast and Adelaide have also not been in vain. They provided the impetus for the player group to take a long hard look at themselves after the Adelaide game, and to assert that enough is enough. It's time to stop talking tough and start being tough. We have spoken long and hard about the improvement of individual players. But this is different...this is the team improving. The team is galvanizing right before our eyes, and I, for one, am loving it. There are certainly a few more lessons to be learned, and a few more coats of hardened steel to be applied...but soon we will just need polish.

A lot has been said already, but just a couple of observations:
  • The umpires will warm to us if we continue to play honest, hard, skillful, well drilled footy and especially if we refrain from bagging umpires too much on and off the field. They will review and soon enough they will see that Bruce is manhandled regularly, that Steven is a gun and is often held without the ball, and that Webster hits hard, but hits fair.
  • The Saints are fast becoming a team opposition supporters can enjoy watching. Because when we are executing well, our game style is exciting and makes for a really enjoyable spectacle. I really hope this starts to translate into bigger crowds for home games.
  • Gresham has that Steven trait, where he just wants to possess the ball, he wants to hit the scoreboard, he wants to beat his opponent. As his physical prowess improves he will become a very important part of our midfield.
  • The last four minutes the boys played for each other. Players came off their man and crashed the contest. The way we repelled the Cats time after time was just as exhilarating as scoring goals at the other end.
  • Hopefully, there aren't too many bruised bodies because wins like these only retain their value if we can win the next one. I hope Wright in particular can find a bit of luck with his body.
  • Steven a Brownlow smokey. At least 13 votes to date I reckon.
  • Trout continues to curse Alan Richardson, as the Saints are poised to surge up the ladder.
Lastly, I salute our two match high goal scorers they both deserve some time in the sun.

450546-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

I feel bad for those true supporters like you who cannot get to the games because nothing can really replicate the atmosphere of actually being there - it's a real shame.

Love your last comment with the photo. Have watched the replay twice and Minch and especially a clearly injured Wrighty were both excellent. Kudos to both.

Interestingly, news from an ITK on SS is that the coaches have been drumming into the players that they have the most important game of their season coming.

4 wins from 5 games, a huge win on the weekend, but two absolute maulings on the road.

Do we consolidate and grind out a win from an improving suns or show the football world we are inconsistent flat track Etihad bullies.
We can celebrate but the challenge has been set for this group.

Not sure if its been brought up but for all the negatives we highlight, Sam Gilbert deserves maasive credit for that last spoil. He beats his man in Stanley (who has a big size advantage) works himself to the front and spolis Bartel as he comes in from the side.

He makes some mistakes sure, but that spoil deserves to be recognized as game saving.

Gilbert spoiling mark against 2 cats in deep with 30 secs to go and 3 points ahead, priceless.

KJ

Just rewatched it. Was a massive effort to beat his man and still impact the contest.

Is it bad to say I don't particularly miss Rhys?

I mean, when he's yours, you justify the oversized giraffe style play, but now he's Geelongs, I think he looks like he will forever be an "almost"

We lucked out in getting Goddard for that pick and nobody saw the rapid development of Bruce and Membrey coming. At the time of the trade I was 50/50 but it has worked out in our favour.

If he could stay fit Geelong would have one of the best ruck setups in the comp but as it is he is a 3rd stringer behind Smith and Blicavs. His body just cant sustain 100 minutes of footy week after week.

I never really rated Stanley that highly. He was like a Holden Commodore someone had put the shell of a Ferrari on. If you were picking someone for your list based purely on how they looked then he’d be up there with the best of them (and the likes of Shaun Hampson) he always looked to me like he lacked confidence in himself. The amount of times he would get the ball in a decent position to have a kick at goal and he’d hand pass it off or try and kick to another target (not necessarily better placed).

it was frustrating though because every now and again he'd show glimpses of his potential, but I don't ever see him fulfilling it.

We lucked out in getting Goddard for that pick and nobody saw the rapid development of Bruce and Membrey coming. At the time of the trade I was 50/50 but it has worked out in our favour.

If he could stay fit Geelong would have one of the best ruck setups in the comp but as it is he is a 3rd stringer behind Smith and Blicavs. His body just cant sustain 100 minutes of footy week after week.

That's one way of looking at it.
But the other way is that we took on some likely types hoping that some would work out.
Saad, Dennis-Lane, Shenton, Dunnel , Milera, Bruce and Membrey.

So you could say we were unlucky that only two worked out.

You have to buy a ticket to win the lottery.

What's your Twitter Handle GJD?

Can't read those on my phone

Oh I haven't re-tweeted any of them I just follow them, I don't tweet I just use it for updates on the club/league

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...4/news-story/efc6ae3ee45c251fd694b220d550dc15

Throbbo.... plz

If you tangle your legs & fall over, it is not a trip you flog. Pathetic effort from another journo

Why not lead that umpire bashing with Paddy McCartin having his face smashed in & no free kick, instead of mentioning that as the secondary incident?
Why not bring up the rubbish free kick against Paddy Mc for pushing someone in the arm?
Why not bring up the non-free for front on contact for Bruce (3rd quarter) in the pocket when Ruggles interfered with him marking & never had his eyes on the ball once?
Why not bring up the non-free to Membrey half way through the last quarter where Harry Taylor grabbed him & slung him away from the drop of the ball at the top of the goal square?

Stop going out in sympathy with your mate Chris Scott's salty tears. Shithouse effort by you Throbbo

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...4/news-story/efc6ae3ee45c251fd694b220d550dc15

Throbbo.... plz

If you tangle your legs & fall over, it is not a trip you flog. Pathetic effort from another journo

Why not lead that umpire bashing with Paddy McCartin having his face smashed in & no free kick, instead of mentioning that as the secondary incident?
Why not bring up the rubbish free kick against Paddy Mc for pushing someone in the arm?
Why not bring up the non-free for front on contact for Bruce (3rd quarter) in the pocket when Ruggles interfered with him marking & never had his eyes on the ball once?
Why not bring up the non-free to Membrey half way through the last quarter where Harry Taylor grabbed him & slung him away from the drop of the ball at the top of the goal square?

Stop going out in sympathy with your mate Chris Scott's salty tears. Shithouse effort by you Throbbo
Dont worry. KB and Fatprick Smith said it was no free after a Geelong supporter whinged. Said the umpire got it right and there was some doubt about it. But.......

Said emphatically that Paddy was smacked in the face and no question that it was a free.

Just clickbait from Slobbo

When you guys got up by 30 odd pts in front early I thought it would be hard for Geelong to come back from, But I thought they would and they did, the good thing was your team weathered it and went on to win and reward the early lead you got.

Well done on a great game and great win:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Yeah but does help when you get 4 goals from frees to Cats.
Yet we get none they were there we just did not get them .
Karma bus hit Hawkins was involved heavily in 3rd quarter then whinges when it does happen in the last.
Think I speak for a lot of Stkilda supporters rapt with our players , coaches will be modest winners
in a season when we have been bent over by the umpiring , which sees us over 60 free kicks behind the Cats
at halfway point of the season.

Selwood is a great player but is really unaware about "respect" to not shake other players hands after game but whinge to umpires I think is pretty poor when compared to other captains in the AFL.

What a cracking win. If we lost another close one to a good team who knows what that means for us. Could tell how important it was going by Richo's reactions in the last few minutes, it's as tense as I've ever seen him! He knows how important it is for the guys to get reward for effort.

Even when Geelong got a bit of a roll on I still had faith. By the time they started coming we'd already got our game going and we've shown this year once we do that we can be hard to stop.

Seb Ross is on his way to A grade status. I'd put him there now but he probably hasn't done it for long enough yet to be A grade yet but he's on his way IMO.

I don't often right young players off but for the life of me I just could not see it with Weller but now he's making me look like a fool. We've found the perfect role for him and I don't know what's happened to the worm burning helicopters that were a feature of his game last year but he's used it beautifully this season. GC have let go of a beauty.

I do this a lot but there were soooooo many of our future best 22's that weren't out on there on the weekend. Billings, Sinclair, Lonie, McKenzie, Goddard, Carlisle to name a few. Don't know how we're going to fit them all in!

“I am stunned at how dumb some of these people are,” Taylor told Triple M on Sunday. “It is beyond belief.”

“So here we are, (the) game is in the balance coming to the last few minutes. I look down at the bench and I see the best clearance player in the competition (Patrick) Dangerfield sitting there. I see their most dangerous (midfielder/forward) operator in Steven Motlop on the bench.”

“They were trying to get Danger on, no one would come off.”

“This was an absolute joke.”

Somebody DO something *sob*

I do this a lot but there were soooooo many of our future best 22's that weren't out on there on the weekend. Billings, Sinclair, Lonie, McKenzie, Goddard, Carlisle to name a few. Don't know how we're going to fit them all in!

How badly will those players wish they could have played in that game? Good. I hope they bust their guts to get back in.

“I am stunned at how dumb some of these people are,” Taylor told Triple M on Sunday. “It is beyond belief.”

“So here we are, (the) game is in the balance coming to the last few minutes. I look down at the bench and I see the best clearance player in the competition (Patrick) Dangerfield sitting there. I see their most dangerous (midfielder/forward) operator in Steven Motlop on the bench.”

“They were trying to get Danger on, no one would come off.”

“This was an absolute joke.”

Somebody DO something *sob*
The best bit about that was that Jack Steven had just kicked what was the winning goal when that was going on. There was plenty of time to get him on the field when play had stopped for the restart after the goal, yet no Geelong player went to the bench at that moment.... Idiots!

Incredible effort from the boys, immensely proud. Hate harping I about the umpires but when the soft ruck free was paid against Hickey I thought it was North all over again.

If not for the men in white we would be 8-5 and only out on percentage.

Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016