Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016

Could someone please clarify for me..

Are you now allowed to hammer into a forward's back as soon as he marks the ball, as long as you've got your eyes on the ball and some flapping arms?

Or is that just for Bruce?

I'd prefer for my arms to be chopped then to have someone throw his hips into my spine.

That should be clear as daylight in the back?

We're building a squad not a best 18-22. If you don't play to the standard richo wants your out. I love it.
correct.

So far we've seen:

Pierce, Wright, Murdoch, Minchi, Delaney, Lee & McKenzie all step up and not look out of place.

still have Carlisle, Billings, Lonie, Sincs & Longer waiting int he wings as well...and add in Nok, White, Coughlan, Payne, Freeman,

Could someone please clarify for me..

Are you now allowed to hammer into a forward's back as soon as he marks the ball, as long as you've got your eyes on the ball and some flapping arms?

Or is that just for Bruce?

I'd prefer for my arms to be chopped then to have someone throw his hips into my spine.

That should be clear as daylight in the back?
Or just pay the free for having your arms chopped or for front on contact.... Take your pick: Kolo is chopping the arm, Ruggles is making front on contact

I present exhibit A:

http://www.davesavell.com/p307258096/h7c9affea#h702b47bf

Bruce must have an amazing tempter. I'd have snapped about 5 times.

Paddy got a free at the start of the 3rd for a gentle hand on the back. Bruce is getting mauled every which way imaginable. Play on.

Watched the umps turn a blind eye to 'frees for' Milne for about a decade, let's hope this shite doesn't carry on.

It's not just the missed opp at goal, but the f@#king rebound that is always ten times deadlier when it was a BS call!

correct.

So far we've seen:

Pierce, Wright, Murdoch, Minchi, Delaney, Lee & McKenzie all step up and not look out of place.

still have Carlisle, Billings, Lonie, Sincs & Longer waiting int he wings as well...and add in Nok, White, Coughlan, Payne, Freeman,

Don't forget Dmac.

Or just pay the free for having your arms chopped or for front on contact.... Take your pick: Kolo is chopping the arm, Ruggles is making front on contact

I present exhibit A:

http://www.davesavell.com/p307258096/h7c9affea#h702b47bf
I think you meant to post the other passage where ruggles crashes front on into bruce in the pocket (bruce still has a fair chunk of the mark regardless). This one was a blatant free too, bruce gets his arm chopped and then kolodjasni's arm slides down to get him too high.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...4/news-story/efc6ae3ee45c251fd694b220d550dc15

Throbbo.... plz

If you tangle your legs & fall over, it is not a trip you flog. Pathetic effort from another journo

Why not lead that umpire bashing with Paddy McCartin having his face smashed in & no free kick, instead of mentioning that as the secondary incident?
Why not bring up the rubbish free kick against Paddy Mc for pushing someone in the arm?
Why not bring up the non-free for front on contact for Bruce (3rd quarter) in the pocket when Ruggles interfered with him marking & never had his eyes on the ball once?
Why not bring up the non-free to Membrey half way through the last quarter where Harry Taylor grabbed him & slung him away from the drop of the ball at the top of the goal square?

Stop going out in sympathy with your mate Chris Scott's salty tears. Shithouse effort by you Throbbo

Whilst the photograph attached to the article shows what must be the heaviest shepherd i've ever seen , because it would be wrong to be tackling Steven while he didn't have the ball wouldn't it?

Usually on Monday morning this column highlights the player/club/stadium/inanimate object that is in need of a serious hangover cure.

Not this morning.

We’re in the middle of winter, it’s cold and miserable, and we were robbed of three games of football over the weekend. I feel we are in need of a good news story, and over the weekend in the world of football; there was no greater good news story than the Saints.

St Kilda hadn't beaten Geelong in six years - and the Saints of 2010 are a stark difference to the Saints of 2016.

Everyone who isn’t a Geelong supporter celebrated on Saturday night when Jack Steven toe-poked a goal to put his side up against one of the league’s premiership contenders.

It wasn’t a celebration of hatred towards Geelong; it was a celebration of an underdog triumph amongst a seemingly predictable AFL season.

This win had everything – late lead changes, controversial umpiring decisions, freak goals, and sheer and utter determination in defence.

Many, this writer included, expected the young Saints to wilt under the immense pressure from the Cats, particularly after they were staring at a ten-point deficit at the 18-minute mark of the final quarter.

But they played with the heart, skill and determination that their coach displayed throughout his decorated playing career.

As much as we need to talk about Jade Gresham’s gather, baulk, and snap from the boundary, or the desperate defending from Nick Riewoldt and Luke Delaney, we need to talk about Mav Weller.

Discarded from the Gold Coast Suns, Weller has been exceptional for the Saints. His two goals and 19 possessions is a fair day out, but his pressure acts inside the forward 50 created opportunities for his teammates, and caused turnovers from the Geelong defenders.

Weller just about represents everything St Kilda is at the moment - underestimated, hardnosed, and willing for the contest.

For Geelong on the other hand, this is another example of their players not stepping up for the ‘easy’ games against the teams that a premiership contender should dispatch with ease.

But this is a positive column, and it’s all about the Saints this morning.

For a young team that is on the rise, building towards something bigger and better, they’ll have moments over the next few seasons that will top their win against the Cats on Saturday night.

But when that success inevitably does arrive for the Saints, this three-point victory over Geelong should be viewed as the moment the boys from St Kilda became men.

http://www.thegreenfieldpost.com.au/sport/afl/opinion-gfp/2016/5/the-hangover-cure-round-14/

Hospital pass to Ross in the last, Enright steam trains in from behind, hits Seb from a long run in as soon as he gets the ball, Seb barely moves a millimetre.

342383-tlsnewsportrait.jpg

Looks like a captain.

Is it bad to say I don't particularly miss Rhys?

I mean, when he's yours, you justify the oversized giraffe style play, but now he's Geelongs, I think he looks like he will forever be an "almost"
a few of us are wondering if he will hold his spot if Clark can stay fit.

The best bit about that was that Jack Steven had just kicked what was the winning goal when that was going on. There was plenty of time to get him on the field when play had stopped for the restart after the goal, yet no Geelong player went to the bench at that moment.... Idiots!
The stupid thing is thats when clubs like to do it because its a "safe" interchange.

That does not constitute front on contact.
Pretty sure swinging your arm back & hitting a bloke across the face (Ruggles), as is happening in this photo, is both high contact & front on contact....

Totally agree with the above sentiment of the umpire treatment of Josh Bruce. The club need to get on the front foot and take a sample òf some of the blatant lack of protection and frees to the umpiring department. If they dont get any joy there then Richo needs to roll it out in the media. It has been occurring all year and Josh to his credit just gets on with play, but perhaps he needs to start playing it up a bit more to attract there attention.

I wonder if Harry Taylor will get cited for wacking McCartin across the face?

Having said the above it is no surprise that the Geelong defenders are good at flaunting the rules. Scarlett is a defensive coach and he was the best at it scragging and cheating as was Silvagni, perhaps our defenders could learn something from it.

The selectors seem to have. He's done nothing wrong but I guess it's just a tough team to get into. Somehow they need to rotate these guys to keep them getting senior football. He's courageous, quick, highly skilled and a great tackler - right up Richo's alley you'd think.
With D Mac he was a late withdrawal from the Adelaide game due to a migraine. He seems to suffer from them quite badly unfortunately. Horrible things. That's when J Web came back in. D Mac also had Glandular Fever in the pre season so that would have affected his preparation too. Reckon he'll be an important player for us going forward though. Just had an interrupted pre season and season this year.

Just curious, but do you know if he's always had migraines or if they have just come on more recently due to his multiple concussions in his 1st year?

The selectors seem to have. He's done nothing wrong but I guess it's just a tough team to get into. Somehow they need to rotate these guys to keep them getting senior football. He's courageous, quick, highly skilled and a great tackler - right up Richo's alley you'd think.

Considering how we are going I'm prepared to trust they know what they are doing. He'll be back.

That does not constitute front on contact.

Is this your first return to the forum since the Goldstein decision?

It seems that you always pop up when there's debate about umpiring decisions.

Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016