St Kilda ! What A Joke

• Thread starter Thread starter samm

yes, i do believe st kilda is a joke. i support them I am even a member, but what i read in the age today maykes me feel like saying...

What is the use!!!!

What is the use of being a member, being a supporter of a team that does not care! that has not cared for many years,

where players earn hundreds of thousands of dollers to play a game they supposedly love, and yet they get drunk, do not care about their supporters, their team, their club.

i feel like tearing my membership up and handing it back to the club and saying to them. become professional or go back to the VFL. maybe it is what should happen.

any comments??????????????????????

I posted this in the St Kilda board, and repeat it here.

It was mostly old news, the only one I didn't know about was Beetham, although I have read that Blight has been particularly hard on him at training & during games, now maybe I know why.

Peckett was before the season started, when he was involved in a car accident on the way to training.

Everitt was at the motorcylce grand prix, must be 7 months ago now.

Hall was mentioned but as not under scrutiny.

Jones is a serial offender, and probably needs to leave the place before he can kick on. Smith & Lappin have come on in leaps and bounds since leaving Moorabbin. You can only live on the feats of 97 for so long.

Beetham and Moyle have done it once, hopefully they have learned.

However I am actually glad that this is on the front page of the paper. It wouldn't surprise me if Blight engineered this himself. For years they have tried to control this in house, and it obviously hasn't worked. Maybe this public humiliation of several offenders is another attempt, Blight certainly hasn't been shy in the past about showing up his players in public (re Pittman, McCrabb).

WCE2000
Recently not a lot has happened.
In the age this morning, a feature article was printed on the front page by Caroline Wilson talking about the Saints and drinking, quoting several cases.
Most of this is pre season news (although not presented this way).
I can't help thinking it's a deliberate ploy by Blight.

Tear up your membership Samm. Even better, why don't you go and meet up with those saints fans that have not supported us since moving to Waverley. I hope you enjoy each others company.

You don't do too much to disprove the theory of saints supporters turning on their players/coaches when the problems start either.

You are either a very fickle supporter, or just a gullible one and if it is the latter I apologise.

Let's be honest, if everyone reacted like that after Caroline Wilson criticised their club, would any of us be footy supporters? Westy, can I borrow your avatar? ;)

Like HTBS just said, this is information we already knew. For Justin Peckett to turn up to training like he did was not good enough and he will be struggling to hold on to his place at the end of the season. For youngsters like Beetham and Moyle to be cautioned is very disappointing. Without wanting to sound like I am condoning their actions, there are structures in place and they will be dealt with.

We have a history of it occurring and as such everytime something happens, it will quite rightfully be reported in the media. The challenge for us is to rid the club of this culture as soon as possible.

By the way Caro, next time you accept an invitation to an event as important to us as the St Kilda Team of the Century and then don't turn up, at least have the courtesy to explain your absense.

WCE2000, no news, just an article by Caroline Wilson on the realfooty website.

Originally posted by Hit The Boundary Saints
WCE2000
Recently not a lot has happened.
In the age this morning, a feature article was printed on the front page by Caroline Wilson talking about the Saints and drinking, quoting several cases.
Most of this is pre season news (although not presented this way).
I can't help thinking it's a deliberate ploy by Blight.

If as you say it is old news, then i am sorry, but i was shocked about beetham and moyle.

and to the sainter, yep i'm gullible!!

it sounded like their was fresh evidence of more wrong doings.

;) I really would not tear up my membership. i have been a member since jesaulenko moved to st kilda. (i changed from a carlton supporter to a st kilda member:)

so i hope that i'm wrong, but they played soo badly this weekend, i could only watch it till half time (at the footy club,) then i left.

Smith & Lappin have come on in leaps and bounds since leaving Moorabbin.

Not only do players kick on when they leave Morabbin ( Perovic, Lockett, Lappin etc ), but they also get worse when they join the place too ! ( Jezza, McConville, Sheldon, Kourkoumelis to name a few and you can officially name Hamill with that bunch as well )

It might have something to do with the soil down south.

Originally posted by Worm4

Not only do players kick on when they leave Morabbin ( Perovic, Lockett, Lappin etc ), but they also get worse when they join the place too ! ( Jezza, McConville, Sheldon, Kourkoumelis to name a few and you can officially name Hamill with that bunch as well )

A bit harsh on McConville, he was excellent in his time at St Kilda. As for Lockett kicking on, that is a joke. He was never better than around 91,92, when he was unbeatable. He didn't get close to that in Sydney, just was seen more often on the TV.

Not everyone kicks on, does the name Craig Devonport ring a bell.

How can you compare three players with plenty of football in front of them with 4 players in the very twilight of their careers?

Talk about being selective in your player selections!

If there was a criticism of St Kilda in this instance, it would be from our recruting in the 1980's that netted players who were past their best. (A few did kick on but not many)

As for Hamill, he has been serviceable and at 23 years of age has his best football in front of him.

Samm,

Looking back I was a little harsh on you. I must have been on the angry pills today. :D

And you are right, we can't condone the actions of players who can't face up to the responsibility of being professional footballers.

We just can't expect things to change overnight and because of our past history every indiscretion will be linked to our culture and jumped upon in the media.

Seeing Rod Butterss and Grant Thomas take some responsibility on behalf of the club for the plight of Rod Owen really showed to me that they are fair dinkum about turning the club around and Malcolm Blight will not stand for players that do not toe the line. (Sean Charles for one)

Hit The Boundary Saints may very well be right about this article being orchestrated by Blight as a warning to the entire squad.

Originally posted by sainter

As for Hamill, he has been serviceable and at 23 years of age has his best football in front of him.
B]

If you think Hamill, who has roughly averaged 6 kicks a game and 1 goal for the season thus far as serviceable, then you really have got some problems in the way you think.
Fairdinkum, Carlton got double the output for half the cost. It has something to do with playing for the jumper, something that is obviously not hapenning down at St kilda due to the fact that everyone knows roughly what each of these so-called star recruits are getting paid.
And furthermore, take it from someone who actually has some inside information on St Kilda. Your president and a well known music identity affiliated with Mushroom records has borrowed a lot of money to cover the salaries of these player and the coach. They are in serious strife if success does not within the next year.

Given that we only have discretion on players salaries up to 5% (remember the 95% rule), I suggest that paying Hamill, Gehrig etc is not the reason for any alleged borrowings.
The only variable is Blight's salary, which in membership terms and credibility will pay out in the long run.

Anyway a couple of mill for the guys you mentioned in small bikkies anyway. They wouldn't have done it if they couldn't afford it, and haven't got to where they are making foolish business decisons.

Poor Blue boy is still smarting that a player chose to leave his club.

Given that we only have discretion on players salaries up to 5% (remember the 95% rule), I suggest that paying Hamill, Gehrig etc is not the reason for any alleged borrowings.
The only variable is Blight's salary, which in membership terms and credibility will pay out in the long run.

Anyway a couple of mill for the guys you mentioned in small bikkies anyway. They wouldn't have done it if they couldn't afford it, and haven't got to where they are making foolish business decisons.

Poor Blue boy is still smarting that a player chose to leave his club.

Let's just say that if the deal involved with a certain financial institution is breached , the St Kilda FC, and not the individuals are gone. It is always very risky to borrow money which obviously they haven't yet got given the drive for immediate on field success is a must. I mean think about it, less games they win, less members, greater fight for survival. Won't be long until they merge, or completely not exist.

In regards to your comment about Hamill, I reckon you guys drew the short straw there. We are in exactly the same position as last year with 5 wins from 8 games. I don't think his departure has hurt us at all. Don't get me wrong, thought it might have, but now I don't think so. Actually, I reckon we now get more out of Lapping with Hamill not being there - something that must make St Kilda supporters cringe !

If you think Hamill, who has roughly averaged 6 kicks a game and 1 goal for the season thus far as serviceable, then you really have got some problems in the way you think.
Fairdinkum, Carlton got double the output for half the cost. It has something to do with playing for the jumper, something that is obviously not hapenning down at St kilda due to the fact that everyone knows roughly what each of these so-called star recruits are getting paid.
And furthermore, take it from someone who actually has some inside information on St Kilda. Your president and a well known music identity affiliated with Mushroom records has borrowed a lot of money to cover the salaries of these player and the coach. They are in serious strife if success does not within the next year.

In regards to your comment about Hamill, I reckon you guys drew the short straw there. We are in exactly the same position as last year with 5 wins from 8 games. I don't think his departure has hurt us at all. Don't get me wrong, thought it might have, but now I don't think so. Actually, I reckon we now get more out of Lapping with Hamill not being there - something that must make St Kilda supporters cringe !

Worm4,

Frankly I don't give a toss about what the statistics say. Sure Aaron hasn't set the world on fire so far but I still think he has been serviceable. But if you do insist on looking at statistics, could you also tell me how many hard ball gets, shepards and tackles Aaron has made this year? That is the area which I think he has performed well in and I have no doubt at all that he will improve a great deal. He has worked his butt off at training and from all reports was first on the track and last off it over pre-season. Make the most of it now Worm because he will become a vital player for the St Kilda Football Club over a long period of time.

As for Matty Lappin, I am very comfortable with the decision to trade him. He was a talented but terribly inconsistent player for us over 7 seasons. He was traded for a draft pick and we were fortunate enough to select a youngster with enormous talent in James Begley. If you don't know him, he was the Rising Star award nomination for Round 7. There are huge wraps on him and I think we will be the winners out of this deal in the long term.

As for your inside information on St Kilda, we have heard it all before. You can always tell the reliability of a message when someone claims to have inside sources or a friend of a friend works at the club, etc. By the way, the saints hierarchy have been upfront with the members and predicted around 6 months ago that we will more than likely post a loss this year. After 4 consecutive profits, no debt at all and considerable upgrading to the facilities at Moorabbin, we are in a position to cope with a loss at this stage.

Originally posted by sainter

As for your inside information on St Kilda, we have heard it all before. You can always tell the reliability of a message when someone claims to have inside sources or a friend of a friend works at the club, etc. By the way, the saints hierarchy have been upfront with the members and predicted around 6 months ago that we will more than likely post a loss this year. After 4 consecutive profits, no debt at all and considerable upgrading to the facilities at Moorabbin, we are in a position to cope with a loss at this stage.

I didn't say I knew anyone at the club did I ????? ( because I dont ) Doesn't matter, there will always be someone at the end of day to pick up the pieces by way of tin rattling wont there ?

usc ! what a joke

samm, why do you take any notice of what that ugly slag usc has to say. every year we hear the same old stories that are unoriginal, tired and boring. some headlines you may have seen every year by journalists to lazy to go and find a story are:
  • kangaroos in cash crisis
  • bulldogs are mean and play dirty
  • cats try to shed their handbag tag
  • st kilda the good time club
  • hawks organise sausage sizzle to remain the family club
  • who can help buckley?
  • wayne jackson doesn't care for the ordinary supporter

the article by usc was old, tired, boring and ugly she must have been looking in the mirror when she wrote it.

now that i've had a good slag off at usc and reading between the lines of the article i believe that the st kilda admin are trying to lift the professionalism at the club. by rehashing the misdemeanours of the past using players still at the club is sending a clear and simple warning to all the players 'shape or or we will ship you out'.

worm4, rod butters said on 927 this morning that st kilda f.c will be all sqare fiscally at the end of the year. as a member of the club we get p&l statements. if the club have over spent in certain areas they will be brought to account at the agm. for once the club is actually on sound financial ground, take it from this insider who can read a p&l report. if you want to see a tin rattle why dont you start one to send lard arse lance back to his fat farm or start saving for john elliots next court case.