• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkk

Has there ever been a less convincing side as highly touted as St Kilda was at the start of the season, that is more then likely going to make the finals, without playing with anywhere near enough confidence to justify their position as front runner for the last spot in the finals and still only a couple of games outside the top 4?

The fact that their still in the race, despite playing no where near their potential, are they still a danger side to play in the first week of the finals, particularly for a Melbourne based side?

Its often said that the measure of a good side is one that can win ugly, will/are St Kilda capable of taking the next step up to actually be a threat in the finals?

No. Their record against top teams is pitiful.
Have lost to Geelong, Bulldogs (x2), Collingwood, Brisbane, Sydney and had a poor win over Sydney.

Its just strange that a side that was rated so highly at the start of the season is potted so much now, despite being the frontrunner to play finals this year, even allowing for their otherwise ordinary form.

I guess people don't think they have that capacity to take the next step.

No. Their record against top teams is pitiful.
Have lost to Geelong, Bulldogs (x2), Collingwood, Brisbane, Sydney and had a poor win over Sydney.

Everyone has lost to geelong and bulldogs, and we probably should have beat collingwood. I don't consider Sydney to be a top team, however.
Reckon you might be a bit nervous next week Hawkk.

Next week vs the Hawks will be the real indication.

The win over Carlton took some pressure off them.

They still have issues, however their performances have been improving week by week over the past month.

Some of their losses have been diabolical. But their gameplan seems to be clicking a bit better than the first eight weeks of the year.

They should make finals. Winning a final however may be beyond where they are at. Time will tell...Seven weeks to go.

They could overtake three teams and finish as high as fifth. Thats being realistic. They have a dream draw over the last two months of the year when you compare it to the teams above them.

You can at least say that they are more deserving of eighth spot having beaton North and Carlton over the past couple of weeks.

I still believe that the Saints might cause some damage come finals time.

They've got the goal-kicking power to do it.
They've got a slightly better than average defence to do it.
What they would need is their ruck and midfield to be at peak form come Round 22 - when they win their share of the ball they are a pretty good side.

That's the downfall of having a Top 8. Meidocre performing teams make the finals. This year, St Kilda will probably sneak in when they clearly don't deserve to be playing off for the Premiership. Last year, Adelaide made the 8 by winning their last three games but shouldn't have been given the opportunity, really.

Bring back the Top 5.

The season is far from over pj.

How on earth can you possibly say this far out that if the Saints make the 8 they didn't deserve it?

Fair dinkum. :rolleyes:

It's not particularly a dig at St Kilda, it's a dig at the way the finals are set up. A competition that allows a team with a 12-10 or 11-11 win-loss ratio to win the Premiership is flawed, in my opinion. A Top 5 or even Top 6 finals system would be better, but then the AFL wouldn't get the revenue from the extra game.

That's the downfall of having a Top 8. Meidocre performing teams make the finals. This year, St Kilda will probably sneak in when they clearly don't deserve to be playing off for the Premiership. Last year, Adelaide made the 8 by winning their last three games but shouldn't have been given the opportunity, really.

Bring back the Top 5.

Top 5? No worries, if the saints continue to play attacking football for most of the remaining games, then 5th is at our mercy.

Watching last night and a few times during the year id say through no fault of their own there top players are overated especially roo who is good but not great his kicking is dismal for a suposed superstar(still a good player).Kosi is either a waste of talent or he isnt as good as we all thought and the sides descion making and skill level is pretty poor really,the amount of kicks and handballs that missed a team mate was staggering

Not many players, however, manage around 22-25 touches and 10-15 marks a game. One his kicking is fixed, no doubt will he be one of, if not the best, CHF in the game.

hawthorn, footscray and Geelong playing far better football than st kilda.

st kilda trying really hard but still not getting anywhere near the synergy they were 2 years ago, and a long way back from the way they were playing 3 years ago.

all the pieces are there, but as someone else said, its like a badly tuned engine.

we are still winning against rubbish sides, but aside from a quarter here and a quarter there can't string a good GAME against more disciplined sides.

lets face it, carlton were rubbish last night for skills, certainly intense but their skills were rubbish.

st kilda > Carlton is what you can say
st kilda intensity is VERY GOOD
st kilda, long way to go to catch up on discipline and skills of the hawks/footscray/geelong.

Bring back the Top 5.

Top 8 seemed to work pretty well for your boys in 97/98 :confused:

Not many players, however, manage around 22-25 touches and 10-15 marks a game. One his kicking is fixed, no doubt will he be one of, if not the best, CHF in the game.

I agree with that but truthfully he has been playing long enough that if his kicking was going to improve much it should have by now but as far as marking etc he is 2nd to none

Top 5? No worries, if the saints continue to play attacking football for most of the remaining games, then 5th is at our mercy.

Funny cos I saw a team with a 30 point lead playing every player in the D50 in the last quarter and attempting to run down the clock for the whole quarter. Last night may have been attacking football by St Kilda standards but not by anyone else's.

Closer to the end of his career than the start - what makes you think his kicking is ever going to be fixed? It started well and has deteriorated from year to year.

Top 8 seemed to work pretty well for your boys in 97/98 :confused:

It's not like we won the flag from 7th or 8th.

In 1997, we finished 4th with 14W 8L, and only two games from 1st.
In 1998, we finished 5th with 13W 9L in a very even year.

I never said Adelaide were the best team for the H&A. All I'm saying is, if you finish with on or just over 50% winning ratio for the season, then you don't deserve a shot at the flag.

Has there ever been a less convincing side as highly touted as St Kilda was at the start of the season, that is more then likely going to make the finals, without playing with anywhere near enough confidence to justify their position as front runner for the last spot in the finals and still only a couple of games outside the top 4?

The fact that their still in the race, despite playing no where near their potential, are they still a danger side to play in the first week of the finals, particularly for a Melbourne based side?

Its often said that the measure of a good side is one that can win ugly, will/are St Kilda capable of taking the next step up to actually be a threat in the finals?

I give to the jury Exhibit A - "The Fremantle Football Club"

I think people are still forgetting we still have at least 5 Best 22 players to come back into the side..

If we can get our Best 22 onto the park, I think we are a chance of winning a couple of finals games.

St Kilda are a club going nowhere.
They'll play finals in 2008 because they're further developed than Carlton, and better than the Kangaroos, but they're not pushing for a flag nor rebuilding. Its not a good time to be a St Kilda player or supporter.