Stand up and be counted

Mad Dog said:
Running out of Boards to post on.....?

rj it could be said that your entire existence on big footy is like watching a b-grade R&B music video......so don't be too critical.......;)

but thanks for your sentiments regarding our prospects - I'm sure Saturday will be a great game....:)
But hey, don't forget in all B-grade movies, the good guy, the down and out team ALWAYS win in the end, there is no sad ending, so maybe old Rick is onto something :). Great story above too MD, puts it into perspective, thankfully have never left a game early, neer plan to either.

Mad Dog said:
I remember sitting in Bay 132 on the outer wing back in the un-Shaw years one night - I think against Hawthorn. It was ****ing with rain - the wind was as cold as a night in a nunnery - we were 12th on the ladder, we were 13 goals down - and it wasn't even 3 qtr time yet.

:(

Then it started to hail

:cool:

As the usual suspects around me started to file out - I remained steadfast.....a whole new level of resoluteness swept over me to the point where I firmly believed that it was incumbant on me to remain and cheer my side on. My wife raised an eye to the sky and said to me....."whaddaya reckon...:confused: " - and I said..."Go if you want - take the car - but I'm staying....I'll get the bus" She said to me - "how could you possibly want to stay to watch them play like that on a night like this.????"

Just then I was reminded of a line from that old movie "Zulu" when a frightened soldier contemplating certain death in the face of a determined enemy said to his Seargent Major......"Why us Sir?"...........The SM replied...."Because there is nobody else lad....just us......no-one else"

As a determined smile came across my face - the 3 qtr time siren went -and despite having my dry hands inside my jacket - I sneered at the prospect of amputation as a result of frostbite, and stood to applaude the boys to the huddle.

We got smashed by about 16 goals and I still have the dents in my head from the hail........but I have never left a game early since (and neither has my wife).....and when the final siren went at the MCG in Sept 1997 - that was one of the first memories of our path to the flag that I recalled.

The positive about our predicament this week is that it will give our supporters something to go "spak" about on Saturday afternoon. Most have sat and just observed while things have been going well. Now I'm positive that every real supporter will be at AAMI on Saturday, and will cheer and barrack every contest........because we are not fair weathered supporters or a front runners club.

:thumbsu:

HELL YEAH, no fair-weather supporters hear.:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Mad Dog said:
1997, No

Roo
Mods
Tregenza
Liptak
Vardy
Ormond Allen...:o
or Barry Stanfield....:o :o

....but the rest as they say - is history.....:) :thumbsu:

Don't forget no Jammo or Clay Sampson after quarter time in the GF either.

Thank goodness we had Aaron Keating on the bench. :D

Well I fly in 7:45am from Korea (via singapore) with minimal sleep I assume. Canadian gf in tow. I will be at the game and dragging the gf, father, all siblings and their partners with them (mum would want to talk too much as not seen her for a year so we told her to stay home :P).

CANT F**KING WAIT. The old man made a speech once at a celebration for me saying he will never forget the crows playing collingwood at the G in 98 with me leaning over the great southern stand, nearly falling, and screaming NIGEL SMART YOU BLOODY LEGEND. I'll be there with bells on and giving all my voice for the boys. Obviously they have missed me come finals time the last few years :) First live game in 12 months and only 2 in 2 years :(

I'll be there as I have always been. This week I have cheered up a couple of Crows supporters at work who have nearly been suicidal - I said "all is not lost, the season ain't over until its over" - two home finals, who knows what will happen. The media pressure is of and this provides great opportunity for some of our players to stand up and be counted. This is what sorts the boys out from the men.

"Triumph thru Adversity" - thats the motto.

SpringChoke said:
Looking more and more likely for this week and finals we will be without Roo, Macca, Hart, Burton and Trent.:(

No more negativity from me. As much as our current predicament bites to the core I’m going to enjoy every minute of our last few games regardless of the result. This club has given Mrs Choke and I some exhilarating moments at times throughout this year. Even in reflection, players who I questioned on Sunday (Doughty, Reilly, Biglands, Thommo etc), have at times played out of their skin and at times have given 110%.

These next few weeks will sort the man from the boys, both from within the AFC and amongst the BigFooty supporterbase.

If you jump off or become overly critical in the next few weeks you are no better than the fickle, fair-weathered mob from down the road IMHO.

well said mate :thumbsu:

kirky said:
I'll be there as I have always been. This week I have cheered up a couple of Crows supporters at work who have nearly been suicidal - I said "all is not lost, the season ain't over until its over" - two home finals, who knows what will happen. The media pressure is of and this provides great opportunity for some of our players to stand up and be counted. This is what sorts the boys out from the men.

"Triumph thru Adversity" - thats the motto.

Write us off at your peril. We won't have our strongest side available for the finals, but we have played well enough during the season to ensure we have a double chance and at least one home final, possibly 2.
During our recent run of poor form, we actally haven't been that far away (OK we were against WCE in Perth, but don't go to Subi again), and so we actually aren't that far away.
Teams won't enjoy coming to AAMI to play finals.........be assured of that.
This is actually a great opportunity for the 'backbone' and 'crushers' to stand up and show us what they are made of.
I know Craigy won't be throwing in the towel, and I've got plenty of faith in him.
As others have said, no-one gave us a chance in '98. I've got news for people. We are in it until someone knocks us out, and we won't be lying down for anyone.

As Springy has said the next 3 weeks will sort the men from the boys & if they have any fortitude in them then quite a few backbone players careers will receive a massive lift off.

We still can put on the park a very competitive line-up & with a gentle smile from the footy gods up above the impossible that every so-called expert now predicts for us could become a reality.

Plus we are guaranteed "2" home finals. :thumbsu:

ps, Mad Dog your piece on the ZULU movie/sitting in the hail comparison was bloody brilliant. :thumbsu: :)

Think of it this way...

IF we can get over Melbourne this weekend, there is a reasonable chance that Richmond may account for the Weagles in Melbourne. If any of the top-8 vs bottom-8 encounters are going to have an upset then this would have to be the most likely.

That would give us top spot on the ladder, removing (for now) the need to face the form team of the competition (Freo) in the first week of the finals.

Our opponent next week would most likely be Sydney - a team against whom we have an excellent track record. Win that game and we're into the preliminary final, only one win away from a Grand Final.

We're not done and dusted just yet. However, it is definitely time for the backbone group to stand up. The next three weeks could well be career defining for members of this group - fail and they could be out on their ear, succeed and they will be hailed for their efforts.