Standing Ovation When Defeated

Blackpool FC Perth Glory FC
Why give a standing ovation when in defeat ??
Sure, it was a almost unbelievable effort, and in the context of team performance in how we played against Richmond and have improved steadily since then, the turnaround cannot be understated.
Thing is, we still cop shit for the standing ovation from some supporters after the Essendon final.
And some supporters did it last night as well.
We did blow two good leads to lose the match - no matter which way you slice it. I can't applaud that.
I am just wondering why some people clapped?
....because the actions of a few tends to reflect on all supporters.

there is a big thread regarding this in the general forum....
many seem to think it reflects the culture of the club...close enough is good enough. wasn't at the game so can't talk for everyone there, but listening on the radio....didn't make me feel like clapping too much

hopefully they were applauding the drama of the game and the contest freo provided.

applauding mediochrity is deplorable and sends a signal that anything other than success is acceptable.

cats fans used to do it and i hated them for it.

you guys had that game sewn up for 90% of it and blew it.
i would not be proud if that was my club.

Prolly coz its the culture of your club at the moment. You get so many games where your team looks like its uninterested and so u applaud any signs of life. I noticed it too when they came off the ground, and from what i saw, it was more than just a few.

Disgraceful if that happened.Port players would be abused by everyone for letting them win like that and everyone would have called Tredders a useless prat for hitting the post if it was him.

..and thus, the actions of a few taint the many.. :( ..and it never seems to go away.

I'm telling myself they where applauding an entertaining and exciting match...

I was proud of them, they were outclassed at times but kept fighting back. We were undermanned through injury yet kept finding something.

No one has got close to Geelong this season and if Pavs kick had of been two inches to the left, we would have been celebrating a great victory.

They had a red hot dip last night and I reckon I got bang for my buck.

FFS, who gives a shit if some people clapped them off? I did, not because I was happy with the result, but because we played almost 4 quarters of bloody awesome, inspirational footy, which is exactly what I've been after for the past few years.

The Essendon standing ovation I can understand criticism, due to it being such a flogging, but ffs, 1 point? You have to give them some credit.

NF, I didn't clap, but I think for a lot who did, it was about appreciating the contest as much as anything - it was one of the best games at Subi in a very long time. A lot of supporters let them know what they thought against Richmond with some booing, perhaps it's the same ones letting them know that what they saw last night is what they expect?

Everything Freo seems to be magnified. We get questioned on the amount of booing in WA, yet I listened to the Carlton/Adelaide game and if they weren't booing all day, then I don't know what it was.

Footy's an emotional game, I don't think we should get so upset when some of our supporters show that emotion in the heat of the moment.

FFS, who gives a shit if some people clapped them off? I did, not because I was happy with the result, but because we played almost 4 quarters of bloody awesome, inspirational footy, which is exactly what I've been after for the past few years.

The Essendon standing ovation I can understand criticism, due to it being such a flogging, but ffs, 1 point? You have to give them some credit.

Obviously you and I were at different games. The Dockers played about 2 and a half Qs of football and lost by apoint

if they had of played for a bit longer the result would probasbly different!!

Boo them , you cop shit. Clap em, you cop shit.
Sydney was behind Geelong 10 poiints, 19 minutes into the last quarter. Geelong banged on 5 goals and flogged em in the end. That's what they do. They're a Juggernaut.
We were classy, we had our entire Fullback line off the field in the last quarter injured, sweet F.A for an interchange bench, and we took the Cats to the wire. We lost that game by 3 inches. 3 inches to the left and we woulda won. It was an outstanding effort, that created an awesome atmosphere. Damn straight I'll clap. It was entertainment worth clapping.
I'll say it again as well: Bring Dessie back and that's our team to persevere with for the year.

Maybe it was for Sandilands, he played the game of his life last night. He was the BOG for me. What a great, terrific effort by him. I have never seen him play a better game, and I think he played without a break. (May be wrong) He showed everyone last night he can be a great ruckman, he was everywhere on the ground, Well done..:thumbsu: He must be dead on his feet today.
And BTW it was a terrific game to watch..

Maybe it was for Sandilands, he played the game of his life last night. He was the BOG for me. What a great, terrific effort by him. I have never seen him play a better game, and I think he played without a break. (May be wrong) He showed everyone last night he can be a great ruckman, he was everywhere on the ground, Well done..:thumbsu: He must be dead on his feet today.
And BTW it was a terrific game to watch..

He had a brief spell in the 2nd Qtr , co-incidentaly that was when the Cat's comeback started.

Don't worry what people think , after we cheered them off in 2003 far from the players thinking near enough was good , they responded by having the best start to a season ever (for Freo) in 2004 - being 5-1 after six rounds.

Don't worry what people think , after we cheered them off in 2003 far from the players thinking near enough was good , they responded by having the best start to a season ever (for Freo) in 2004 - being 5-1 after six rounds.[/quote]

but then we didn't make the finals again until 2006......

I must admit, had i been at the game i would have been too shattered to clap. i can sort of understand supporters who did clap, we came up against the second best team in the last decade (first being Brisbane) with an undermanned, young line up, and got ourselves into a position where we probably should have won. and i am quite proud of the boys, well all except gilmore and mcmanus anyway.

but we cant accept mediocrity and losses, that is the neesham/connoly/drum way. we need to start accepting nothing but victories, you dont see other teams giving standing ovations for a loss.

special mentions for me in last nights game.
Pav- what a player, was fantastic all night, and if he had that shot on goal another hundred times im sure he would have kicked 99 of them. he will have nightmares for a while im sure.

Belly- a true star, gives his all, im not sure we know just how much we will miss him untill he's gone

Crowley- played on a superstar and beat him in every sense of the word, loved his game, his attitude, he is definetly one of my favourties

Thornton- came in after an ordinary game last week, and i thought was just great. good effort scotty

Ibbo- brought his own ball, going to be a real star, just needs to harden up a bit, shirked a few issues which disappointed me, but all in all was a good player on the day

Michael johnson- have been a big critic of this guy, but he showed how damaging he can be. great game

Josh carr- beat the best midfielder in the AFL, he's my favourite player, and showed that he plays his best footy as a tagger.

Palmer- This guy will be the best midfielder in the comp in four years time. and the fact that he told essendon and west coast to go screw themselves when they showed interest during last years draft makes me love him even more

Solly- had a slow start to the year but was brilliant last night. tough determined and really played with anzac spirit.

Finally- Sandilands- i have also been a massive critic of this guy, always thought he was overrated, couldnt mark, tapped to the opposition too much, but he was BOG by a long way, 10 clearances, 42 hitouts, took marks and kicked a goal brilliant.... and i would take a game like his last night over the best of dean cox's or brendon lade's anyday. the best performance by a ruckman i have ever seen. but thats just me

I was at the game and I didn't clap and was pissed that people did.

We lost.

I want that to burn in the players stomaches so much that they win 12 straight. Them feeling slightly better about the loss doesn't do anything for me.

Thats how I feel, but it seems [and no offense meant BUT] some are happy to accept near enough is good enough. .. and by clapping thats the message it sends to everyone else out there...

But I guess we are all entitled to whatever we wish to express our feelings post match, and thats just that.
I was too shattered to even contemplate smiling post match...

Don't worry what people think , after we cheered them off in 2003 far from the players thinking near enough was good , they responded by having the best start to a season ever (for Freo) in 2004 - being 5-1 after six rounds.

but then we didn't make the finals again until 2006......[/quote]

Yep , the grizzling started in the 2nd half of 2004 and didn't let up until last night.

You don't have to be Einstien to work out that they will play exceptional footy when the crowd is behind them as it was from the get go last night.

Thats how I feel, but it seems [and no offense meant BUT] some are happy to accept near enough is good enough. .. and by clapping thats the message it sends to everyone else out there...

But I guess we are all entitled to whatever we wish to express our feelings post match, and thats just that.
I was too shattered to even contemplate smiling post match...
How many people have to post that the clapped for the contest and for the fact that we stretched a team that won the AFL GF by 119 points. Seriously, how many people? We aren't happy that we lose, we are never happy. But you can be happy with a PERFORMANCE in a loss. Its not about yay yay yay we got so close yay yay yay its a win!

I was too dissapointed too clap an pretty much just sat there stunned after the pavlich shot.

My head went back arms on head an just sat there stunned thinking what if,oh so close Ahhhhhhhhhh for a few mins.

Can see why people clapped great effort,great to watch we want to see them put in efforts like that every week.

As many people can post here as they want... and like I typed you are entitled to let the team know how you feel any way you want.

I am happy with the grit we displayed... very happy with the improved form...
But we dropped two leads...

ripper

interesting theory....lets see how it stacks up over the rest of this season...hopefully your right and we get on a roll

Guys questioning the clapping, that's poor form :thumbsd:

I was clapping as loud as I could and using what little voice I had left to give the "Freeeeeoooooooooooooooooo" chant everything I had. How could you possibly not be inspired by the fact that the team gave a good account of themselves, made the reigning premiers look like absolutely hopeless hacks for long periods and battled manfully until the bitter end to come up short by the barest of margins after the Cats had three clowns in yellow trying their level best all night long to get them over the line!

If you think we don't have a right to be damn proud of the boys and try to warm their broken hearts after the battle was fought hard and lost, go and top up your glass until it's at least half full! :mad: