Stanley

I thought he was okay, I actually didn't think he played badly at all.

People just continually have their favourites around this place. McCarthy is a star (although on the weekend he had a worse disposal effeciency than Stanley and less possessions) but Stanley who is untried, and not neccessarily flashy isn't instantly labelled as crap... Which I think has mainly stemmed from that missed set shot (which makes it easy to forget he took a bloody good mark to be having that shot).

It is worthwhile noting Stanleys kicking was better (according to stats) than;
McCarthy
Maxwell
Medhurst (worst field kick in the team I've come to conclude, especially after Friday night)
Cloke
Cox
O'Bree
Bryan
Dawes
And on par with Anthony.

Stats don't always tell the story, but from where I was sitting they pretty accurately paint the picture in this case.

The kid has a lot of talent, no need for people to jump all over him after one game. I'd be pleased to see him play again next week, there was definitely worse than him on the weekend.

I don't think we were watching the same game. His kicking was absolutely terrible and so was his game tbh. Agree it looked like nerves to me, either that or he just can't pick up the pace of the game at AFL level. I don't really rate him, but if he is being played he should atleast get the chance to find his feet. But I don't think this time is in the finals.

In reference to why people mark him harder then others. I think it is because he is so deserving of a game without getting one for so long. So the VFL watchers bang on about how good he is and he doesn't get a game. Then he comes in and plays out of position, people expect more from him because the VFL watchers rate him so highly.

I am sounding like a broken record but I think he is so much of a better player in the center square and around the stoppages that it is unfair to try and judge his preformances as a flanker. To put it in perspective how do we all think Harris, O'Bree, Mitchel etc would go as flankers. If your great ability is to win position at stoppages you lose your biggest weapon if your playing on a flank.

Medhurst (worst field kick in the team I've come to conclude, especially after Friday night)

LOL. What. In a team with such great kickers as O'Bree, Johnson and Rhyce Shaw where did you come up with that.

Do you have something against Medders? He has been hitting targets all season and had a bad night.

No body was overly impressive skill wise on the weekend. Same old story with Stanley though, first game in a long time, doesn't do great and gets written off. Needs to string a few games together and get a feel for AFL football.

I don't think we were watching the same game. His kicking was absolutely terrible and so was his game tbh. Agree it looked like nerves to me, either that or he just can't pick up the pace of the game at AFL level. I don't really rate him, but if he is being played he should atleast get the chance to find his feet. But I don't think this time is in the finals.

Well it is obvious you were watching a different game.
He had two bad kicks. The others went to targets. He was tough and strong. He saved the ball on the last line of defence and tackled hard. He got the 2nd most contested possessions so that meant he worked for his own ball and got it unlike a lot of the outside players that rack up junk possessions every week.He had the 7th highest possessions in the team and his mark was fantastic. Boy get so sick of so called supporters running down our up and coming players. Poor Toovs is injured so now the Stanner bashes come out in full force. If we had won none of this would be an issue.
IMO he played better than quite a lot of the younger ones and more experienced players yet copes shit from people. What did you expect!!! Did you think he would go out there and win the game by himself... You are all prepared to give the others a go. How many times do we see on big footy "Oh a player has only played a few games needs to settle in and play more games". Well that is what Stanners needs.
By the way he was named in the best in the Freemantle papers and I am told coaching staff were very happy with his efforts. So obviously shows to me that alot of you are either very harsh judges or really know nothing about the game...

I tend to agree with the people defending Stanley. I think it would be incredibly unfair for him to be judged on Friday night's performance, given the circumstances and the overall team performance.

I feel for the kid as well, given that he's been performing consistently well in the VFL for as long as he has and it took until the last round of the season for him to get a look in. Looking at some of the performances the team has put in throughout the year, I don't understand why he wasn't tried earlier.

The problem I see for Stanley though, is that unless he can prove himself on a flank or even out of a pocket, I don't know whether he'll win his way into the good graces of Malthouse given that the general consensus is that he's a natural inside midfielder and perhaps nothing else.

All things considered, Stanley is a player I wouldn't mind persisting with for another year; assuming he is given more opportunities to find his feet at senior level.

He did a few good things, some really good contested possessions & second efforts. He also did some pretty bad things, a few of his kicks were absolute Barry Crockers. He deserves to be really given a proper chance in the centre. Mick says he's very big on giving the young blokes their chance & expecting them to perform like a senior player, not to just ease them in. He should be let to sink or swim in the centre, hopefully he can swim.

He had two bad kicks. The others went to targets. He was tough and strong. He saved the ball on the last line of defence and tackled hard. He got the 2nd most contested possessions so that meant he worked for his own ball and got it unlike a lot of the outside players that rack up junk possessions every week.He had the 7th highest possessions in the team and his mark was fantastic. Boy get so sick of so called supporters running down our up and coming players. Poor Toovs is injured so now the Stanner bashes come out in full force. If we had won none of this would be an issue.
IMO he played better than quite a lot of the younger ones and more experienced players yet copes shit from people. What did you expect!!! Did you think he would go out there and win the game by himself... You are all prepared to give the others a go. How many times do we see on big footy "Oh a player has only played a few games needs to settle in and play more games". Well that is what Stanners needs.
By the way he was named in the best in the Freemantle papers and I am told coaching staff were very happy with his efforts. So obviously shows to me that alot of you are either very harsh judges or really know nothing about the game...

Well Said Makeshift could not have put it better myself. Danny deserves another game this week and Please give him a fair go. I thought he was among our best on the weekend glad the Freo papers got it right.
Thankyou

Well Said Makeshift could not have put it better myself. Danny deserves another game this week and Please give him a fair go. I thought he was among our best on the weekend glad the Freo papers got it right.
Thankyou

Well could we in a Knockout Situation?

LOL. What. In a team with such great kickers as O'Bree, Johnson and Rhyce Shaw where did you come up with that.

Do you have something against Medders? He has been hitting targets all season and had a bad night.

No he hasn't, and stats clearly support the fact that he hasn't. His disposal efficiency is virtually the worst at the club, beaten only by Ben Reid (3-4 games) and Travis Cloke.

Everyone you listed have been better than Medhurst this year.

I don't know how people don't see this more often. Nathan Buckley has even said it himself that Medhurst's field kicking is below average.
According to the stats (and definitely from what I see) it is only slightly over 50% of the time that Medhurst will hit a target or put a team mate in a better position.

So LOL and better luck next time, if you take the blinkers off you might be able to discuss it without bias next time ;)

I agree that Medders is often a very ordinary field kick but he is an above average kick for goal. He's an enigma!

If you look at his kicking for goal (which is generally superb), he kicks the ball very high. In field-kicking, giving the ball that much air obviously isn't optimal, so he tries to drill it. That's where the errors tend to come from, methinks.

methinks you got it right now I think about it. :thumbsu:

The guy had a bad game (as did most of the team) but I didn't say he was useless as a player. When I say I don't rate him thats all I mean, i'm not saying he'll never be any good - he's just never really shown anything at senior level yet. In fact if you'd read my reply I actually said that he should be given a string of games to find his feet. My point is that the guy is obviously a nerve-case, i'm not sure finals football is the best place for him to find his feet.

And FYI i'm not one of those people that bashes all the young blokes that come through the team - the fact is Stanley hasn't really shown anything in the seniors yet including last week so I think he should be dropped for finals. We can persevere with him next year.

IMO people over-rate and over-hype stanley - you should take your Collingwood goggles off!!

I think he showed a bit last week. Certainly showed that his ability to win the ball in close and in contested situations translates up to AFL level, I think there were a number of occasions when he really did the hard work and won the ball where a massive number of our senior players would not have one the ball. I think in all honesty the major blight on his game on friday was his kicking and that was the same with everyone.

I think he was better then Cook, and Cook should be out before him. I think in the VFL all year he has shown more then Cook and in general his a better user of the football then Cook. Cook has had the oppertunity to string a few games together and I think Stanley deserves that luxury as he has more upside and of the two he was better on friday night.

The guy had a bad game (as did most of the team) but I didn't say he was useless as a player. When I say I don't rate him thats all I mean, i'm not saying he'll never be any good - he's just never really shown anything at senior level yet. In fact if you'd read my reply I actually said that he should be given a string of games to find his feet. My point is that the guy is obviously a nerve-case, i'm not sure finals football is the best place for him to find his feet.

And FYI i'm not one of those people that bashes all the young blokes that come through the team - the fact is Stanley hasn't really shown anything in the seniors yet including last week so I think he should be dropped for finals. We can persevere with him next year.

IMO people over-rate and over-hype stanley - you should take your Collingwood goggles off!![/quote]

I think he has shown a fair bit. His game against Sydney was good - even MM admitted as much. His game last week was better than any of the other youngsters and some of the "oldsters" too.

I don'y know where you get this "over-hyping" bit from. if anything, Danny gets more flack than any of the other kids. The main issue that pisses most people off is that he hasn't had a fair crack at it - Dawes has actually been pretty ordinary but gets a string of games, Goldsack was terrible last week (and squibbed it, something you'll never see Danny do), JA gets his couple of goals a game but not much else and gets a string of games; in fact all of the kids have had multiple games on end except Danny - he gets one game in a row and then out! How's he supposed to get a feel for it or get a bit of confidence?

I dont mine him he should be atleast giving a chance next year give him 5 or 6 games in a row early in the season to see if he can cut it also needs a massive preseason if i was Stanley i would grab Cook and say we need massive preseasons lets work like dogs and try to get a spot in the 22 Round 1

Classic Collingwood Vanilla Midget for mine and should consider himself very lucky if he's still around next season.

"Classic Collingwood Vanilla Midget": Looks taller than he really is in stripes, has all the G&D and working class grit you would expect, reasonable at all facets of the game, lacks polish, flair and the genuine ability to be a real top line, a grader, an honest trier/toiler but will let you down in September.

Classic Collingwood Vanilla Midget for mine and should consider himself very lucky if he's still around next season.

"Classic Collingwood Vanilla Midget": Looks taller than he really is in stripes, has all the G&D and working class grit you would expect, reasonable at all facets of the game, lacks polish, flair and the genuine ability to be a real top line, a grader, an honest trier/toiler but will let you down in September.

lulz.

The guy is the same height/size as Nathan Buckley. Nice try though. :D

(Watch football. I can't stress this enough. It really will help prevent future embarrassment.)

gone, gone, gone, gone...that's if we're actually serious!
stanley, cook, reid, lonie, rusling, holland (retired), o'bree (retired), cox, wakelin (retired), egan, r.shaw, rocca (retired), johnson, toovey, prestigiacomo (retired), and iles.
thats 16 departures we need to do NOW (end of 2008...this saturday) if we're going to get better. cant walk into 2009 with thsi guys still having a spot on the list. could be drastic but these guys cant improve as individuals or as a collective anymore....stick a fork in them,they are done!!

i'll get bagged but i dont really give a fcuk, keep ALL of these guys and see how far they get us, time for some hard calls Pies!

lulz.

The guy is the same height/size as Nathan Buckley. Nice try though. :D

(Watch football. I can't stress this enough. It really will help prevent future embarrassment.)

I guess that makes you both 'GIANTS' of the game!

I think he has shown a fair bit. His game against Sydney was good - even MM admitted as much. His game last week was better than any of the other youngsters and some of the "oldsters" too.

I don'y know where you get this "over-hyping" bit from. if anything, Danny gets more flack than any of the other kids. The main issue that pisses most people off is that he hasn't had a fair crack at it - Dawes has actually been pretty ordinary but gets a string of games, Goldsack was terrible last week (and squibbed it, something you'll never see Danny do), JA gets his couple of goals a game but not much else and gets a string of games; in fact all of the kids have had multiple games on end except Danny - he gets one game in a row and then out! How's he supposed to get a feel for it or get a bit of confidence?[/quote]

Stanley gets talked up heaps in this forum, way too much for what he's shown. Its fair to say he cops alot of shit too, maybe too much, but he has repeatedly made some pretty poor mistakes i.e. decision making, poor kicks, getting caught with the ball. You're bound to get criticised for these mistakes - which he really shouldn't be making.... repeatedly.

Agreed he should be given a string of games - if only to find out if his mistakes are just nerves or whether he can't pick up the pace of the game at senior level. These games shouldn't be in the finals.

gone, gone, gone, gone...that's if we're actually serious!
stanley, cook, reid, lonie, rusling, holland (retired), o'bree (retired), cox, wakelin (retired), egan, r.shaw, rocca (retired), johnson, toovey, prestigiacomo (retired), and iles.
thats 16 departures we need to do NOW (end of 2008...this saturday) if we're going to get better. cant walk into 2009 with thsi guys still having a spot on the list. could be drastic but these guys cant improve as individuals or as a collective anymore....stick a fork in them,they are done!!

i'll get bagged but i dont really give a fcuk, keep ALL of these guys and see how far they get us, time for some hard calls Pies!

Made me laugh... you are taking the piss, right?

each to their own mate, you just keep watching these blokes and see how much un-biased improvement you see in them, all the best with that!
you do want the club to improve don't you?? tell me where the improvement will come from if we keep ALL these guys?? because you sound like a real "near enough, good enough" supporter.

each to their own mate, you just keep watching these blokes and see how much un-biased improvement you see in them, all the best with that!
you do want the club to improve don't you?? tell me where the improvement will come from if we keep ALL these guys?? because you sound like a real "near enough, good enough" supporter.

Don't get me wrong, i agree with some on that list. But it just isn't practical to trade/delist/retire 16 people.

I'm not a "near enough is good enough" supporter, but i'm a little more realistic. We're not going to be able to replace 16 players with super stars or whatever you seemingly think can happen.