Star Wars Episode II

• Thread starter Thread starter clucas91

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Yep - sounds like the usual LucasFilm Piece of Sh*t

I'll leave this poorly realised Kiddies Fairy Tale serial to the *FANS* I think.

You really are a sad individual. A series doesn't become the most popular and successful movie series ever made without being an exceptional story. Having read the book already I can tell you the story is magnificent.

At least wait untill you see it before you judge. I've seen two reviews already and both have been positive. Of course a genius like you already knows. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
and heres a tip for the final episode

GUESS WHAT? - THE GOOD GUYS WIN:rolleyes:

I don't know whether this is piss-take or evidence that you have little understanding of the saga.

In the final instalment (yet to be released), the hero turns into the villain and wipes out the Jedi, his wife is murdered, and the democratic governemrnt turns into an evil dictatorship.

If you want happy endings, Episode 3 will not provide it. Neither will Episode 2.

Originally posted by Dan26

You relaly are a sad individual. A series doens;t become the most popular and successful movie series ever made without being an exceptional story. Having read the book already I can tell you the story is magnificent.

At least wait untill you see it before you judge it. I've seen two reviews already and both have been positive.

I don't know whether this is piss-take or evidence that you have little understanding of the saga.

In the final instalment, the hero turns into the villain and wipes out the Jedi, his wife is murdered, all the Jedi and the democratic governemrnt turns into an evil dictatorship.

If you want happy endings, Episode 3 will not provide it. Neither will Episode 2.
Jeez Dan you bite well. In the end, it's only a movie.

Originally posted by Mooster7
I also suggested to George that a giant asteroid strike Endor and that the Ewoks would thus be made extinct. I'd give two weeks pay to watch two hours of Ewoks burning and screaming.

Mooster... no need to worry about this mate. Apparently, when the second Death Star exploded above Endor, large chunks of it later fell on to Endor like asteroids. This had a great impact on the plant, in terms of radioactivity and destruction... the Ewok species was pretty much wiped out, apart from a select few who had smuggled themselves on Rebel ships. This source came from one of the novels I have read... I think it was called "The Truce at Bakura" (a really crappy book, and boring at that).

Anybody read Time Magazine with Yoda on the cover. A 5 page spread about Episode 2, not really any spoilers either. Pick it up if you have the chance, a good read.

I had my doubts that Lucas had stuffed up the saga and Episode 2 would also not be as good as id hoped but according to Time Magazine, Episode 2 could be the best Star Wars movie of them all. They say Lucas has redeemed himself so well that everyone will forget there disappointment of Episode 1 !!

Originally posted by Grendel

Still, nothing beats the STAR WARS HOLIDAY SPECIAL tv show from 78. Even my imagination couldn't top that! :D

Ahh Grendel you evil man you. George Lucas' skeleton in the closet has been let loose. The STAR WARS HOLIDAY SPECIAL: where do I start? The fantastic Wookie only scenes with its great dialogue ("Rghh WRghhh Growl") which went for about 20 minutes. Or the amazing make-up job on Mark Hamill (post car-accident) which made him look like he was suiting up for the Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras. Or the bit where Chewbacca's father, Itchy (I kid you not) recieves some form of Wookie pr0n from a friend. Or the piece de resistance, Carrie Fisher singing the uplifting 'Life Day' song to the Star Wars theme. It was so bad that it was great: sadly George Lucas has stated he wished he could destroy every bootleg copy of the great spectacle. However there are heaps of bootleg videos of it floating around.

Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
Ahh Grendel you evil man you. George Lucas' skeleton in the closet has been let loose. The STAR WARS HOLIDAY SPECIAL: where do I start?
I sat that out until the Cantina scene, then I just couldn't handle it anymore. I'm sorry, I tried, I really did.

And Wookies getting off on Dhaiann Carroll - how distressing is that?

Originally posted by SeinDude
clucas91,

I am also looking forward to seeing the film. I was late to get into the Star Wars movies, so much so that I saw The Phantom Menace (episode 1) before I saw the original 3 movies!! :)

Cheers!! :cool:
SeinDude

Same here sein dude, except i still aint seen the originals, hope to, but aint yet. Look forward to seeing episode 2 though also!

More reviews are coming out from people who have seen the film. I am going to shamelessly plagiarise them. (very minor, spoliers)

REVIEW 1.

I attended an screening of Episode 2: AOTC today. I'd just like to say that it is extremely well done, and completely met all expectations I had for it. Hmm, actually, on second thought, that isn't true. The movie completely overcame all expectations I had for it.

It was incredibely well done and had just enough from every genre to make it a perfect movie. Awesome CG, very romantic love story, drama, comedy, intense action... I am not that big of a Star Wars fan, and I'll admit I don't know every intricate detail about SW: Yet I still never once felt like I was being left out of the plot, so even people who hardly know of SW will definitely enjoy the film. Fans of SW will likely be brought to tears after being overcome with so much joy after watching it. It completely blows Episode 1 out of the water (which I personally thought was quite good).

I don't know if I should give away any spoilers or not, but one that deserves to be mentioned: (small possible spoiler) Jar Jar Binks does have an appearance in the film, mainly during the first 30 mins or so... but he has a very small role and only a few speaking lines

REVIEW 2

Tonight the Ziegfeld Theater in New York City held an Exhibitor screening of 'Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones'. While I (Spell) was not able to see the actual film, I was on the scene when the film ended to gather some audience reaction. I'm happy to say that I did not see one disappointed face in the crowd. General comments ranged from "Great!" to "Absolutely Fantastic!"

One audience member, who wished not to be named, had several things to say about certain situations and characters. The following is spoiler matieral, so highlight to read :

Overall Story

"Attack of the Clones is to Phantom Menace what Empire was to Star Wars. The begining of the film seemed slow at first, but the ending more than makes up for any lag there"

The Love Story

"The love story between Anakin and Padme seemed a bit corny at first - it took me some time to buy it."

Special Effects

"Effects wise this movie makes Episode I look like Pong."

Anakin

"His acting abilities are fine and he performed well. His anger really stands out."

Jar Jar

Virtually non-existent. But he is on hand to help make a decesion that will change the course of the galaxy.

Artoo & Threepio

"The relationship and banter between them begin to take shape."

"I thought some of the scenes with Threepio came off a little too thick, especially in the droid factory where some antics seemed like something from a Charlie Chaplin film."

Count Dooku

"Awesome! He brings back tenor of the traditional Star Wars heavy!"

Yoda

"Yoda is the big star of this film. He makes Darth Maul look like Ironside."

"Actually, his moves are very similar to Darth Maul's...He is all over the place, bouncing off walls and it drew a big laugh from the audience to see him go back to his normal cane walking self after his encounter with Dooku."

REVIEW 3 by Antony Teofilo.

Whatever your feelings on Episode 1, I can tell you with great pleasure, that you should walk into Episode II with an expectation to be undeniably entertained in a way you never have before by a SW film.

Because of the fact that I think spoilers suck, I can’t give you details about the movie. You’ll find plenty of that on the net in the next few days if that’s what you’re looking for. I can, however, relate to you the experience that I had today as a fan, and a writer, and I think I can help you find a peg to hang your expectations on so that you’re not unduly under- or over- whelmed.

First off, if you, like me, have done your best to be spoiler free, DON’T BE TEMPTED in these last few weeks. I struggled like all of you, and let me tell you, it PAID OFF. Rest assured, in this case, true love waits. And don’t worry if you’ve seen any of the trailers. For once, a director has had the courage to keep a great deal of the best, most savory scene selections of the flick hidden from sight.

Things you can look forward to as you wait for May 16th:

*Excellent, innovative new weapons never seen before in any of the flicks.

*Complex, multi-layered characters making difficult choices.
Brand new expansive environments.

*Tons of new species of non-humans that are amazing to see.
*Combat, combat, combat. I wish I could tell you more. Suffice it to say:

Darth Maul vs. Obi Wan Kenobi = A BIG YAWN compared to what’s coming on the 16th. Jedi, Jedi, everywhere! A meaty, expansive plot that that surprised my socks off. Remember folks, we’re done with the exposition. It’s showtime! Tragedy. In a good way.

Things you don’t have to worry about:

A gushy, gooey romance. Mr. Lucas has described Episode II as a love story, and that’s true. To a point. But it’s not overwhelming.
Too much Jar Jar. He’s definitely still around, and he’s important. But he’s matured. Sort of. A ‘video’ look. The entire film was shot on special prototype 24fps video cameras; you’ll never know the difference.

Things to be prepared for:

Some of G.L.’s classic corny jokes.
A little stilted ‘Flash Gordon’-type melodrama.
Characters with ‘foreign’ accents. They’re still there, and G.L.’s making no apologies.
The scope of the movie is overwhelming at times; Mr. Lucas gives us so much to look at that it's occasionally difficult to follow the action. But in a good way.

A quick word of advice: hit the john before you head into the theater and go easy on the soda consumption as you watch. Episode II is well over 2 hours in length. With so much action, my best friend of twenty years told me tonight that he was seriously considering relieving himself in his super-size soda cup because he didn’t want to leave. Gladly, he decided against that course of action…but I’d hate to see any of you with the same dilemma.

Closing Thoughts:

Episode IV was largely expository, so was Episode 1. Remember the old ‘Empire is the best pisode because it’s so heavy on story’ argument? I’d say that rule applies here.

Episode II sucked me in; driving out of the theater parking lot, my imagination was still locked in the spacious, chock-full-o-detail universe that we have all come to know and love. My car was suddenly a speeder, dodging in and out of traffic of the spaceways of Coruscant...

I felt, well, like a twelve year old again. Come to think of it, with a movie like this, that's kind of the point, isn’t it?

May the force be with all of you on May 16th!

REVIEW 4 (some spoilers, so be careful) by Ronald Epstein

As the lights dimmed and the yellow STAR WARS logo flashed across the screen, the crowd erupted in a deafening roar. This was the moment of truth.

As the elevated text scrolls across the screen we learn that Count Dooku, a Jedi who has left the order,has created a separatist movement which threatens to split the Republic in Half. As these words vanish into the black starfield, a Naboo starship and two fighters roll into the underbelly of planet Courscant. Aboard the ship is Senator Amadala who has come to vote on a very important issue regarding the creation of an army for the Republic, which many think will lead the Republic into war. After a failed assassination attempt, Padme is entrusted into the care of Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi and Padawan learner Anakin Skywalker.

So begins two stories -- one of pending love between Anakin and Padme, and Obi-Wan's relentless search for the man behind Padme's assassination attempts.

This is a Star Wars film

I won't waste any time in saying that Attack Of The Clones is the most remarkable Star Wars film to date. It not only breathes new life into the series, but it brings us back to the original magic that made Star Wars a cultural phenomenon. It is ultimately the Empire Strikes Back of this new saga, that takes us to the
darkest corners of the Star Wars universe, as we come face-to-face with the master plan of Darth Sidious.

Unlike The Phantom Menace, this film quickly builds suspense and moves at a breakneck pace, building itself up to a finale that hits you from all sides. The action sequences are bigger and bolder than anything previously seen in any science fiction film. Some of the film's action highlights include a spectacular nighttime
speeder chase through the skies and streets of Courscant. This sequence once again shows off Anakin's piloting skills as he dodges through layers of space traffic after an assassin's second attempt on Padme's life. The chase immediately sets the tone for the rest of the film's over-the-top action and visuals.

Another one of the film's greatest moments takes us to the planet Kamino, a rain-drenched water world where a clone army has been germinating for the past 10 years. As Obi-Wan readies to leave this planet, he engages a fight with Jango Fett, a notorious bounty hunter who is also the template for the clone army. It's lightsaber against gun, and when both are lost, it's a no-holds-barred battle.

The one thing Star Wars fans come to expect in their movies is a good lighstaber battle. Attack Of The Clones has several of the most astounding lightsaber sequences ever seen on screen. Most notably is a fight between Anakin and Count Dooku (Christopher Lee). Inside a hanger located on the barren rock-encrusted Geneosis, lasers of blue and red rise amongst the blackness, showing movement only when the two lights connect. A fight ensues until Jedi Master Yoda comes to the rescue of Obi-Wan and Anakin, as he reaches inside his robe, pulling out a lightsaber and proving why he is the master of all Jedi. It is moments like this, that the audience exploded into cheers.

Of course, we all feared the love story between Padme and Anakin. The FORBIDDEN LOVE trailer seemed to darken our hopes
that this film would be nothing more than a love story. Fortunately, Director George Lucas has evenly paced the evolving
love story sequences with many of the film's action moments, thus never letting the film slow down.

While George Lucas didn't make this film overly cute, it suffers from a few minor inconveniences -- and I stress these
are minor. Jar-Jar Binks has only about 10 minutes of screen time scattered throughout the film. His character has been
greatly toned down, and he doesn't become an eighth of annoying as he was in the first film. In fact, Jar-Jar makes the
most important decision in the future of the Republic. I think you'll find that C-3PO becomes more of an annoyance in this
film than any other. His character is used for some interesting comedy relief that involves the changing of body parts,
but becomes victim to some of the worst jokes in the film that simply make you shake your head in disgust. The kiddie
factor has also been greatly toned down, although a totally unnecessary scene addition of Yoda teaching a group of child
students reminds us that the film is trying its best to relate to all fan age levels.

Final Thoughts.

I so much wanted the title of this review to be called George Lucas Redeemed. I never thought I would be saying this, but it is quite obvious that Lucas has not lost his touch. Attack Of The Clones is the most immense science fiction project ever brought to the screen. There are so many moments that your jaw just drops to the floor. The final 30 minutes of film hits you so hard with action and visual assaults that dizziness is sure to ensue. It's dark, it's serious, and it goes back to the formula that made everyone fall in love with the series in the first place. This is the film that every other film this Summer is going to have to measure up to.

Dare I say that next to 'Empire', Attack Of The Clones is the best Star Wars movie of the series.

On a scale of 1-5, I give this film a 5.

Opens May 16th, 2002

Dan, I'm not going to read any of those reviews that you've put there, in fact I'm not actually going to open up this thread anymore because of them. I don't want to read anything that anyone says what happens in the movie and I would appreciate a bit more of a warning before you post such stuff.
I want to make up my own mind on how much I like episode 2 and as I said before, I'm not re-opening this thread until I see the premieire on May 16th.
Not happy Dan.:mad:

Originally posted by Lethal
Dan, I'm not going to read any of those reviews that you've put there, in fact I'm not actually going to open up this thread anymore because of them. I don't want to read anything that anyone says what happens in the movie and I would appreciate a bit more of a warning before you post such stuff.
I want to make up my own mind on how much I like episode 2 and as I said before, I'm not re-opening this thread until I see the premieire on May 16th.
Not happy Dan.:mad:

OOOOOH, touchy. :eek: ;)

Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

Ahh Grendel you evil man you. George Lucas' skeleton in the closet has been let loose. The STAR WARS HOLIDAY SPECIAL: where do I start? The fantastic Wookie only scenes with its great dialogue ("Rghh WRghhh Growl") which went for about 20 minutes. Or the amazing make-up job on Mark Hamill (post car-accident) which made him look like he was suiting up for the Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras. Or the bit where Chewbacca's father, Itchy (I kid you not) recieves some form of Wookie pr0n from a friend. Or the piece de resistance, Carrie Fisher singing the uplifting 'Life Day' song to the Star Wars theme. It was so bad that it was great: sadly George Lucas has stated he wished he could destroy every bootleg copy of the great spectacle. However there are heaps of bootleg videos of it floating around.

Actually the cartoon that Lumpy watches is quite good and features the first appearance of Bobafett. As for the rest of it though.... but hey Diahn Carroll as a Wookie fantasy babe works for me! :)

Does anyone remember when Hamill, C3PO and R2D2 were on The Muppet Show? Apart from his great work as the Joker on the Batman animated series and his gig as the Trickster on "The Flash", what other acting roles has Hammill had?

Jerome

Originally posted by Jerome
Does anyone remember when Hamill, C3PO and R2D2 were on The Muppet Show? Apart from his great work as the Joker on the Batman animated series and his gig as the Trickster on "The Flash", what other acting roles has Hammill had?

Jerome

He was in some dodgy horro-slasher flick as a mild-mannered husband who went loopy and tried to kill his family.
'Body Parts'? Maybe?

Can remember thinking at the time, why is Luke Skywalker trying to pull scary faces (a la Corey McKernan) to prove he's a mental case?!
:p

Originally posted by Jerome

Jerome

he played a movie villain called 'C.ock Nocker' in the recent 'Jay & Silent Bob Strikes Back' movie... it also featured Carrie Fisher as the hitch-hiker picker-up-erer nun...

Star Wars!!!!!!!!!

This stuff is fake and utter bull crap, if you prix want to post, post about the footy!!!!

U KNOW SOMETHING REAL FOR A CHANGE!!!!!!!!!

Go The Pies!

Dan

Go The Richo!

UNLEASH THE VL TURBO!

Hmmm...

Originally posted by Pies_R_1
This stuff is fake and utter bull crap, if you prix want to post, post about the footy!!!!

U KNOW SOMETHING REAL FOR A CHANGE!!!!!!!!!

Go The Pies!

Dan

Go The Richo!

UNLEASH THE VL TURBO!

This is the General Talk Board. If you want to talk footy, go to your respective team's board or the Australian Football League Board. Seeing as you're new here, you'll learn in time. And you'll also learn that your signature is "Unleash the vl turbo" is very annoying.

Anyway, back to the subject. Regarding SW: TPM... even Lucas himself admitted that TPM was "a dog" :

http://www.nypost.com/entertainment/46207.htm

Takes a big man to admit his mistakes, and this article is even the more reason why we Star Wars fans can't wait for Episode II! I tell you... from what I've heard, it's going to be great! Stuff LOTR, this moive just may overtake it! :D

Got to feel for Mark Hamill....he was the hero and the main character of three of the biggest moves of all time yet his career went nowhere. Got to rub salt in the wound too when his sidekick Han Solo becomes one of the biggest actors there ever was, is and will be.