Backs - Newman Thursfield King
H-back - Bowden Polak McMahon
Centre - Coughlan Tuck Connors
H-Forw - Pettifer Richo Deledio
Forward- Brown Reiwoldt Pattison

Foll. Simmonds, Polo, Foley

Int. McGuanne, Raines, Tambling

Emerg. From. Johnson, Edwards, Schultz and the newies TC, Rance etc.

Think Bling, Edwards, Connors, Johnson, Cogs, Polo, Morton and possibly TC are all going to fight it out for midfield, flanker role.
Raines and King will fight it out for the remaining small in the back half, if in fact the match ups permit for the small bocket pocket.
Schultz, Reiwoldt, McGuanne and possibly the new tall draftee youngsters will all fight for a spot depending on who we play, where Polak plays and if the resting ruckman forms the 3rd tall in forward line ??

FWIW:
Richmond 22
B: Newman Thursfield McGuane
HB: Bowden Polak McMahon
C: Polo Coughlan Tambling
HF: Pettifer Simmonds Deledio
F: Brown Richo Morton
R: Pattison Tuck Foley
I: Johnson Schulz Raines Edwards
E: Cotchin Connors King

At Coburg I would like to see the following players played in these positions:
Riewoldt - HFF
Hughes - CHF
Graham - Ruck
Putt - FF/Ruck
Meyer - HFF/Midfield
JON - HBF/Wing
Cotchin - HFF/FP
Connors - HBF/Midfield
Gourdis - CHB
Rance - HBF/BP/FB
King - Midfield
Casserly - HBF/BP
Collins - BP/HBF

Get them playing in the positions that they will be playing at AFL level.

LIKE your work Realistic Tiger. Sat down and picked my side last night and I had your same starting 18 and in the same positions.

Only changes would be on the bench. I would replace Schulz with Riewoldt and I would have either Connors or Cotchin in ahead of Raines.

:thumbsu:Job well done.

I like that team, but I am surprised King isn't in the side
King should be an automatic
King, like Raines has had the one good season and automatically everyone thinks he should be a lock for the 22, I don't. He got where he is through hard work and I think it would be in King's best interest to have to force a senior player out of the side. Last year we played the kids ahead of senior players because Wallace realised that the season was shot after about 6-8 weeks. This year with everyone ready to go we should be putting our best side on the park and forcing the kids to play their way into the side with excellent form at Coburg.

LIKE your work Realistic Tiger. Sat down and picked my side last night and I had your same starting 18 and in the same positions.

Only changes would be on the bench. I would replace Schulz with Riewoldt and I would have either Connors or Cotchin in ahead of Raines.

:thumbsu:Job well done.
As mentioned above I don't want to see the club reward young players simply because they are young and have potential. I want to see the kids earn their spots through hard work and excellent form at Coburg. It is the only way that we will really improve. If Wallace was to just hand out senior games to players like Cotchin and Connors they may get the idea that everything is easy at AFL level but if you make them bust their arses to take a spot from a more senior player then when they do step into the side you know that it is because they have great form behind them.

With regards to Raines he is being groomed for a move to the midfield and I think having him come off the bench would allow him to play either midfield or backline depending on the circumstance. Instead of lining up in defence and then moving to the middle half way through a quarter. Connors or Cotchin will no doubt force their way into the side at some time during the year and if Raines has another poor season then I don' think that Wallace will give him as many chances as he did last year.

As for Schulz I have been impressed by reports that he has started to look like a KP in terms of his body developing. Given that he is in the last year of his contract I would give him the first crack at securing himself a position, if he fails and is on his way out then we can start looking at the likes of Riewoldt later in the season. After all spending some time at Coburg is not going to hurt young Jack.

Bowden, Joel
Brown, Nathan G.
Casserly, Travis
Collins, Andrew
Connors, Daniel
Cotchin, Trent
Coughlan, Mark
Deledio, Brett
Edwards, Shane
Foley, Nathan
Gourdis, David
Graham, Angus
Hughes, Cleve
Hyde, Chris
Jackson, Daniel
Johnson, Kane
King, Jake
McGuane, Luke
McMahon, Jordan
Meyer, Danny
Moore, Kelvin
Morton, Mitch
Newman, Chris
Oakley-Nicholls, Jarrad
Pattison, Adam
Pettifer, Kayne
Polak, Graham
Polo, Dean
Putt, Dean
Raines, Andrew
Rance, Alex
Richardson, Matthew
Riewoldt, Jack
Schulz, Jay
Simmonds, Troy
Tambling, Richard
Thursfield, Will
Tivendale, Greg
Tuck, Shane
White, Matthew

Those in bold I have seen enough of and are convinced will not play in a AFL premiership, due to retirement, injuries or ability and based solely that I think we are at least 2-3 years away, I hope I'm wrong.
So I guess the question I think is, do the selectors look at the long future now, throw them in the deep end and play the blokes who are likely to be around when we are good enough ? mix and match them a bit to give some experienced players to have around, or just pick purely on form ??

Kane Johnson has already played in an AFL premiership.

And i dont agree with JON, Coughlan, Pattison and Polo

Time to cut ties with Tivendale >> Coburg. He should not get a run in front of Cotchin or Edwards who need game time. You could argue that Cotchin/Edwards could do with some time in the two's, and Tivendale had a reasonable 2007, polling well in our B&F, but he is not the future of the club.

I wholeheartly agree Tivendale way past used by date should be playing for Coburg

How can you put Simmo CHF, we need him Ruck :rolleyes: We saw how shit he was as a Forward in his first year here.

Some of you have no clue.
Quite easily:
1) He will be coming of a somewhat limited pre season due to his recovery from his blood clot. As such he might not have the tank to play a majority of the time in the ruck.
2) Lets not forget that in his final year at Freo he kicked 35 playing primarily at CHF.
3) He knows how to take a grab, is a pretty reliable kick so why not utilise that while also getting more development into Pattison in the ruck.
4) Who would you suggest gets played at CHF considering the other choices are: Pattison(coaching panel have talked about him playing there), Richo(getting a bit long in the tooth to expect the big lug to play CHF 22 weeks), Schulz, Hughes, Riewoldt(none of these 3 have really shown they are ready for the hardest position on the park), Polak(was recruited to play CHB) and while we may have recruited Gourdis with a view to the future he is still a couple of years away at least.

I wholeheartly agree Tivendale way past used by date should be playing for Coburg

Tivendale is waaayyyy to good for VFL. Depending on his pre-season, he is comfortably in our best 22. Along with Hyde, if we are going well, will be well entrenched in the team, however if we are going shit, these are the blokes who will likely give up their spots to Conner's, Edwards, Cotchin's, etc.

This is what our best 22 SHOULD be in my opinion
B: McGuane Thursfield King
C: Newman Coughlan Tambling
HF: Pettifer Richo Deledio
F: Brown Riewoldt Edwards
R: Simmonds Tuck Foley
Int: Raines, Pattison, Polo, Johnson
Also fighting for spots: Cotchin, Morton, Connors, Hughes, Jackson, Tivendale

looks remarkably similar to the side that came last this year.

Hey, hope springs eternal....

Some of these teams and posts are ridiculous. The only way Tivendale is not in our best 22 is if we have already decided that we are tanking. Wake up people, his output is consistently more than Edwards, Bling, Connors, Johnson and Hyde all put together. I know he will never be part of a great Richmond team, but unless you want to get smashed every week players like him are required as a young side develops.

I think most people have reached a consensus with about 18-19 names and then there's a few debates about the rest. IMHO there's no way we can go into games with Thursfield, Bowden, McGuane and Polak (all 190cm or more) in the back six. It's be the footy equivalent of suicide, especially at the G. You need runners back there who can kick, and plenty of them. Hence, the intro of McMahon to add to Newman and King or Raines plus the tall trio of Bowden, Polak and Thursfield. Bowden hopefully freed up to play as 3rd tall. McGuane will be next in line when injuries hit.
As for CHF, Pettifer has played the hit up role well for the past couple of years and has basically been our CHF. Richo, Brown, Deledio, Pettifer and then two of Morton, Hughes, Schulz, Riewoldt, Cotchin, Edwards and Collard should make for plenty of firepower up forward, if we're doing the job in the middle.
Simmo has to play first ruck. Maybe he splits it 50/50 with Patto for most of the year but we need him there at the centre bounce.

The certainties are Simmo as starting Ruck. Yeah, he is getting older but 2007 should have been enough evidence that he has to be our #1 ruck. Patto is #2.

Tivva will play most games. Hyde will start in the team but fall out as the rounds pass and kids impress at Coburg.

Richo can be named FF or CHF, he will still roam around. It will be interesting to see where Polak is played. Do we give Schulz one last crack at FF, cause IMO we need Polak down back. We are too skinny with both Thursfield and McGuane. If we can have Polak at CHB and Thursfield at FF, Bowden can finally be released from the power forwards.

No way will Rance play CHB in 2008. If he plays at all it will be third tall defender.

Newman Thursfield King
Bowden Polak McMahon
Jackson Coughlan Johnson
Pettifer Schulz Deledio
Brown Richardson Hyde
Simmonds Foley Tuck

Pattison Tambling Tivendale Moore

Not our future team, but the best team we can play in 2008. If they fail to perform then expect changes like last year.

If that's your starting 22, then here comes a priority draft pick...

1) Cogs will not just go straight back in the guts
2) Jackson only got a game last year because we had injuries and no pressure from magoo's - ultimate cannon-fodder.
3) Your centre line embarasses me - Johnson, pathetic skills, Jackson rubbish and a bloke that hasnt played a game in 18 months.
4) Kelvin Moore... need l go on? Worst player on our list.
5) Chris Hyde... second worst... would rather throw a Cotchin / Connors.
6) Schulz... only gets in by default.

Not having a pot shot mate, because l will put mine up for show... but agree to disagree with that 22.

As mentioned above I don't want to see the club reward young players simply because they are young and have potential. I want to see the kids earn their spots through hard work and excellent form at Coburg. It is the only way that we will really improve.

I disagree... we are a developing side, not a final 8 side. So therefore we have a greater degree of flexibility in allowing some of our standout juniors a run for the experience. I dont subscribe to the theory of not giving them a go, but then continually be disappointed with the likes of Schulz acting like a big bafoon. :o

I know its not apples for apples, but given the choice to choose the last spot on the bench between Schulz/Hyde/Jackson/Moore against Connors/Cotchin/Rance.... give me the kid everytime. :thumbsu:

Having the best performing kid (regardless of whether they've truely earnt it) in the starting 22, produces competition in itself. It will make those kids in the magoo's try to unsurp them.

SImilar to Realistic Tiger's with a few changes to positions and 22.

C: Raines Tuck Tivendale
HF: Pettifer Pattison Edwards
F: Brown Richo Deledio
R: Simmonds Johnson Foley
I: Tambling Coughlan Riewoldt Polo
E: (from) Cotchin Connors Schulz Morton King

It is a bit of a toss-up for me between Reiwoldt and Schulz. Also King, Cotchin, Connors, Morton and probably half a dozen others are not far behind Raines, Polo, Edwards, Tiv at the moment. Performances in the pre-season will determine who fills the last few spots. McGuane might also come under some pressure from new boys like Rance but should have the edge to begin with.

Whether people like it or not, Johnson is still our second best midfielder and Tiv still our best wingman. But with that line-up we would be swinging the changes through the midfield pretty regularly with Deledio, Tambling, Coughlan, Edwards, Brown, Polo all rotating through.

The centreline remains our biggest weakness lacking a bit of class, but there are plenty of young blokes who, over time, could step into the breach. I originally had Tambling in the middle, but that left Tuck, Cogs and Polo all starting on the bench. We probably need the grunt of at least one of those at the first centre bounce. I went with Tuck because Cogs and Polo are returning from injury, but any of the three would do. Tambling would give some fresh pace off the bench and would come on pretty soon after the intial hurly burly.

Not sure if Cogs will be starting 22 for round 1 or play a few at Coburg. Cotchin or Connors would be good replacements.

I'd prefer to see Tambling move into the guts this year because I think he is more effective there than out on a flank or wing, and I'd like to see Raines given a shot on a wing because I reckon its a more natural position for him. Polo, Connors, Morton, Edwards, Cotchin, JON or Meyer could also step up for a spot across the centreline if they can show they are good enough.

The other current weakness is support for Simmonds at ruck/CHF, though Patto will fill that with a bit more experience. As much as Patto improved last year, he went from being a long way from AFL to being almost good enough for second ruckman duties. Maybe a big off-season will be enough because he wasn't too far away by the end of last season and still improving. The ruckmen would at various times in a game rest up forward or on the bench, when Reiwoldt would go forward (or back and Polak could be the swingman).

Agree, but l think its a bit rich for us to start complaining about that... considering the vitrial that was bandied around about us taking Richards in the PSD. We had the chance to solve this, no one wanted it... so we have to deal with the consequences.

I'm assuming you're like me... we know the deficiency, but we prefer to live with it than have him on our list.

Agree, but l think its a bit rich for us to start complaining about that... considering the vitrial that was bandied around about us taking Richards in the PSD. We had the chance to solve this, no one wanted it... so we have to deal with the consequences.

I'm assuming you're like me... we know the deficiency, but we prefer to live with it than have him on our list.
Agreed. Better to take the long term approach that we have to fix the problem rather than the short term approach to plaster over it.

C: Tambling Tuck Tivendale
HF: Pettifer Riewoldt Edwards
I: Raines Coughlan Jackson Pattison

may as well give it a go

B: King Thursfield Newman

HB: McMahon Polak Bowden

C: Tambling Coughlan Deledio

HF: Brown Richo Pettifer

FF: Edwards Shutlz Cotchin

R: Simmonds Tuck Foley

Int: Pattison Polo Johnson Morton???

B: Newman Thursfield Rance
C: Tambling Tuck Jackson
HF: Pettifer Riewoldt Morton
I: Raines Coughlan Tivendale Pattison

Rance I think can slot straight into the team ahead of McGuane, he's bigger, faster and more skilled, he'll be ready to go from day one imo.

Raines - Thursty - McGaune

McMahon - Polak - Bowden

Tambling - Tucky - Newman

Petts - Riewoldt - Morton

Brown - Richo - Deledio

Simmo - Foley - Cogs

Polo - Patto - Johnson (C) - Edwards/Connors

Emerg: Cotchin - Tivva - Jackson - king

I'm surprised that so many people want Newman to move into the centre of the ground... very surprised.

He's been in the system for 7-8 years now, he's had every chance in the world to grab a midfield spot but just has not come on. He's skills are brilliant, but he doesnt possess the midfield engine.

Too late for mine.

I for one will hope that Deledio, Tambling, Polo and Co take the chance that he has missed. If they dont, then we're in strife.