State Screening

im pretty sure Kings best 20 metre was only 3.1 but he may have got 3.00 or 3.03 his 1st run was only 3.16. He isnt accelaration quick he is more top speed quick. He gets smashed out of the blocks in the 200 so he isnt quick of the mark. He has great top speed not accelaration. May struggle to get drafted this year after his performance.

A.Cockie bailed out on the beep just before it went to 13. thats certain.

Banfield looked quick but his times i am unsure of maybe low 3's. Ballantyne didnt evn know which one he was. Garlett i think just got under 3 as well.

Ballantyne didnt evn know which one he was.

The short one :p

http://www.jamd.com/image/g/73332863

How did Anthony go in the beep?

Warren Benjamin (brother of the one at Carlton) has reportedly been running in the 2.69-2.71 range. Will be interesting to see how he goes.

Hope he's not a wide receiver like his brother!

Ben Kennedy (brother of Josh/son of John - Hawks) is an interesting one at the Vic screenings. Turned down a place in the Vic Metro squad earlier in the year after advice from the Hawks. Played for Sandringham as a marking forward or tall ruck-rover at 191cm and vice-captain at Xavier College. He won the B&F there as a Yr 11, not even Luke Ball could do that. Wouldn't be surprised if he was taken late by the Hawks or as a rookie seeing as they have been hiding him all year.

If they like him its surprising they didnt put a father son selection in for him last Monday. You'd have thought they'd get him with their last pick, I couldnt imagine anybody would have put a bid in for him.

That either indicates they want to know more about him or they're more interested in rookie listing him. Hawks officials were speaking to him at state screening last weekend.

If no-one has bid for him, they don't need to line up one of their picks.
The fact that he has avoided the radar has been a very clever ploy on Hawthorn's part. They are so far ahead of the other clubs at recruiting it's not funny. I wouldn't be surprised if they had twice the number of people working in that department compared to other clubs.

If no-one has bid for him, they don't need to line up one of their picks.
The fact that he has avoided the radar has been a very clever ploy on Hawthorn's part. They are so far ahead of the other clubs at recruiting it's not funny. I wouldn't be surprised if they had twice the number of people working in that department compared to other clubs.

Kennedy didn't nominate for father-son selection. If the Hawks want him, they'll have to just draft him like anyone else.

That sounds like absolute crap. Any club would want to see a player at a higher level especially a F/S prospect.

Every kid dreams of a state jumper, and would be a great way to piss off selectors and AFL types, in a very important year.

Why would he bother turning up for a SS and not a VM team if it's a done deal as you say.

You haven't done your mate from XC any favours by posting this.

spoke to k.king this afternoon and im pretty sure he said he ran a 2.89 or around about that mark.

i know he was very dissapointed with his beep also

T.Lee: plays footy for scotch and clarmont colts. He isnt anything special with football he is jsut a fairly good athlete and tall. wouldnt even be in scotchs best 3 players. He performed well at the screenings, got like 2.95 for 20 metre sprint did a good leap but didnt get a measurment. Got like 8.47 for agility i think and did about a low 13 beep.

W.Benjamin: has done an 2.69 for 20 metre sprint and today got 2.82 and 2.78. He wasnt even like a top sprinter at his school Hale last year wasnt even like top 4 for Hale in 100m. He is full of power though and his beep test was very disappointing luck he got 12.9 but he should of been pulled out around 12.2. Agility also got about 8.4 - 8.5 and did a great vertical leap. He was massivily built hes got the biggest arms ive seen. was the standout of the state screenings.

A.Cockie: wasnt anything special got 12.11 beep. missed a vertical leap when he didnt jump and said F***. Didnt seem to take it seriousily and was saying hello to everyone.

K.King: 20 metre sprint got 3.10 i think was his best and also did a 13.10 in the beep.

J.Laurie: Did well in everything was quick, agile, good leap and got 15.1 or 15.2 in beep (best of WA), well built kid should get drafted.

Jamie Bennel (swans) : pretty sure it was him couldn't see johnny bennell. He got 2.94 for 20 metre sprint and had to adjust the vertical leap even higher for him as he jumped over the top in the running vertical leap.

Maybe he already has a promise and just went through the motions as is required.

Ballantyne is the surprise, although then you discover his manager is Colin Young so it becomes less surprising - Young is a w***er of the highest order.

That sounds like absolute crap. Any club would want to see a player at a higher level especially a F/S prospect.

Every kid dreams of a state jumper, and would be a great way to piss off selectors and AFL types, in a very important year.

Why would he bother turning up for a SS and not a VM team if it's a done deal as you say.

You haven't done your mate from XC any favours by posting this.
Exactly.
The reason why he didn't get in the state squad was because he wasn't in very good form at the start of the year, for Xavier or Sandy.

Maybe he already has a promise and just went through the motions as is required.

Ballantyne is the surprise, although then you discover his manager is Colin Young so it becomes less surprising - Young is a w***er of the highest order.

Pretty sure the Bennell was Johnny, he ran 2.93 in 20m. Standing vertical was 82cm and run and jump vertical was 92cm.

SA Results:

Vertical Jump

Tyler Brimacombe (Sturt) 77cm
Alex Kinal (Sturt) 75 cm
Peter Rolfe (South) 74 cm

Agility

Peter Rolfe (South) 8.22 secs
Charlie Sharples (Sturt) 8.25 secs
Scott Blessing (West) 8.36 secs

20m Sprint

Glen Dawson (Eagles) 2.75 secs
Tyler Brimacombe (Sturt) 2.94 secs
Peter Rolfe (South) 2.94 secs

Beep Test

Alex Stopp (Norwood) 14.10
Jack Redden (Glenelg) 14.1
Cameron Hitchcock (Glenelg) 13.7

FWIW Paul Cahill did not participate due to injury.

T.Lee: plays footy for scotch and clarmont colts. He isnt anything special with football he is jsut a fairly good athlete and tall. wouldnt even be in scotchs best 3 players. He performed well at the screenings, got like 2.95 for 20 metre sprint did a good leap but didnt get a measurment. Got like 8.47 for agility i think and did about a low 13 beep.

W.Benjamin: has done an 2.69 for 20 metre sprint and today got 2.82 and 2.78. He wasnt even like a top sprinter at his school Hale last year wasnt even like top 4 for Hale in 100m. He is full of power though and his beep test was very disappointing luck he got 12.9 but he should of been pulled out around 12.2. Agility also got about 8.4 - 8.5 and did a great vertical leap. He was massivily built hes got the biggest arms ive seen. was the standout of the state screenings.

A.Cockie: wasnt anything special got 12.11 beep. missed a vertical leap when he didnt jump and said F***. Didnt seem to take it seriousily and was saying hello to everyone.

K.King: 20 metre sprint got 3.10 i think was his best and also did a 13.10 in the beep.

J.Laurie: Did well in everything was quick, agile, good leap and got 15.1 or 15.2 in beep (best of WA), well built kid should get drafted.

Jamie Bennel (swans) : pretty sure it was him couldn't see johnny bennell. He got 2.94 for 20 metre sprint and had to adjust the vertical leap even higher for him as he jumped over the top in the running vertical leap.

Reply to the right one this time.. new to this.

The bennell in mention was Johnny Bennell a peel boy, ran a 2.93 in 20m sprint. Has pace and has ran a 2.83 earlier this year at uwa.
His standing vertical was 82cm and his run and jump was 92cm. Only did a 12.6 in beep, but understands what he needs to do to improve. 400m sprints doensnt drink or smoke so with some guidance and persitance could be gun midefielder, got the brains for it.

no i cant find the results of the top 5 for each or any results for that matter anyone else with these details please post them.

Im sure it was Jamie Bennell because he was wearing swan district shorts and i think jamie is taller than Johnny Bennell ive seen him play in his orange boots so i would recognise him. Both Bennels were invited to the SS but i could only see one bennelll there and im sure that was Jamie. Maybe Johnny cut his hair or something

im a fan but he is very very raw isnt he?
heard his back stress fractures held him from doing much at the screening. the question is will clubs take a massive risk a pick a player up who is
a) raw very raw
b) bottom age
c) injury affected
d) still undecided on footy v athletics debate
e) played just 4 tac cup games
f) entering a draft with alot of depth

i would probbaly wait til next year and give him an extra year playing against kids

Can you define raw? To me raw would be a guy that maybe has played another sport and has just taken up footy. Rayners mates reckon footy is his main go even though his aths get more attention. Has played footy for 10 years, done all the rep side stuff, edfl, jets devolpment squads, Vic metro. Hardly raw. You could be proved right about Rayner and another year wouldn't hurt his development. My interest in him and others particulary in North/west metro is to promote or ask about guys who are maybe in the 50+ draft range. Alot of BF chat is simply on top 10-20. Those picks are easy and the chat is recycled. I'll give you another smokey Pat Hayes from the Cannons. Gun hockey player who has switched to footy. Another smokey is Bryce Carroll from the Jets. Good run, kick & mark. Yes he got invited to draft camp but little if no discussion on him on BF.

Reply to the right one this time.. new to this.

The bennell in mention was Johnny Bennell a peel boy, ran a 2.93 in 20m sprint. Has pace and has ran a 2.83 earlier this year at uwa.
His standing vertical was 82cm and his run and jump was 92cm. Only did a 12.6 in beep, but understands what he needs to do to improve. 400m sprints doensnt drink or smoke so with some guidance and persitance could be gun midefielder, got the brains for it.

I really hope he's picked up. An exciting type.