Stats questions

Re: Post your stats questions here

Does anyone know of a stats site that will show teams average points for/against per qtr this year?

Don't know of a site, but the figures are

Code:
Cb 1For 2For 3For 4For 1Aga 2Aga 3Aga 4Aga 1Diff 2Diff 3Diff 4Diff
------------------------------------------------------------------
Ad 12.5 21.3 20.5 21.8 [COLOR="Blue"]22.8 24.0 20.0 20.0[/COLOR] -10.3  -2.8  +0.5  +1.8
Br 22.8 16.8 15.0 16.5 [COLOR="Blue"]24.0 22.8 24.3 26.0[/COLOR]  -1.3  -6.0  -9.3  -9.5
Ca 28.6 26.6 18.8 28.6 [COLOR="blue"]15.8 24.8 22.0 16.6[/COLOR] +12.8  +1.8  -3.2 +12.0
Co 35.6 31.6 25.6 40.8 [COLOR="blue"]14.6 16.2 27.0 17.6[/COLOR] +21.0 +15.4  -1.4 +23.2
Es 24.6 29.0 25.4 20.6 [COLOR="blue"]19.4 20.8 17.8 27.2[/COLOR]  +5.2  +8.2  +7.6  -6.6
Fr 27.2 22.8 15.6 27.0 [COLOR="blue"]21.4 23.0 12.2 25.6[/COLOR]  +5.8  -0.2  +3.4  +1.4
Ge 18.8 20.3 21.3 24.8 [COLOR="blue"]20.8  8.8 14.8 11.3[/COLOR]  -2.0 +11.5  +6.5 +13.5
GC 12.3 16.8 23.0 17.0 [COLOR="blue"]41.3 34.8 31.5 30.8[/COLOR] -29.0 -18.0  -8.5 -13.8
Ha 23.8 22.5 27.3 25.0 [COLOR="blue"]14.8 18.0 20.0 22.0[/COLOR]  +9.0  +4.5  +7.3  +3.0
Me 21.0 29.5 23.0 27.0 [COLOR="blue"]26.3 11.8 32.0 16.5[/COLOR]  -5.3 +17.8  -9.0 +10.5
NM 23.8 18.8 20.3 23.5 [COLOR="blue"]26.3 27.5 29.8 35.0[/COLOR]  -2.5  -8.8  -9.5 -11.5
PA 16.2 23.6 30.0 14.2 [COLOR="blue"]24.8 31.0 23.8 33.0[/COLOR]  -8.6  -7.4  +6.2 -18.8
Ri 13.2 27.0 26.0 20.4 [COLOR="blue"]35.6 30.2 15.8 34.0[/COLOR] -22.4  -3.2 +10.2 -13.6
St 28.0 12.0 14.0 24.8 [COLOR="blue"]24.5 23.0 23.8 17.5[/COLOR]  +3.5 -11.0  -9.8  +7.3
Sy 23.0 18.8 21.8 20.8 [COLOR="blue"]22.3 22.5 22.5 19.3[/COLOR]  +0.8  -3.8  -0.8  +1.5
WC 23.3 23.5 20.8 22.8 [COLOR="blue"]18.8 23.0 21.3 26.8[/COLOR]  +4.5  +0.5  -0.5  -4.0
WB 27.3 25.8 18.8 23.5 [COLOR="blue"]12.0 28.0 14.3 19.3[/COLOR] +15.3  -2.3  +4.5  +4.3

Don't know of a site, but the figures are

Code:
Cb 1For 2For 3For 4For 1Aga 2Aga 3Aga 4Aga 1Diff 2Diff 3Diff 4Diff
------------------------------------------------------------------
Ad 12.5 21.3 20.5 21.8 [COLOR=Blue]22.8 24.0 20.0 20.0[/COLOR] -10.3  -2.8  +0.5  +1.8
Br 22.8 16.8 15.0 16.5 [COLOR=Blue]24.0 22.8 24.3 26.0[/COLOR]  -1.3  -6.0  -9.3  -9.5
Ca 28.6 26.6 18.8 28.6 [COLOR=blue]15.8 24.8 22.0 16.6[/COLOR] +12.8  +1.8  -3.2 +12.0
Co 35.6 31.6 25.6 40.8 [COLOR=blue]14.6 16.2 27.0 17.6[/COLOR] +21.0 +15.4  -1.4 +23.2
Es 24.6 29.0 25.4 20.6 [COLOR=blue]19.4 20.8 17.8 27.2[/COLOR]  +5.2  +8.2  +7.6  -6.6
Fr 27.2 22.8 15.6 27.0 [COLOR=blue]21.4 23.0 12.2 25.6[/COLOR]  +5.8  -0.2  +3.4  +1.4
Ge 18.8 20.3 21.3 24.8 [COLOR=blue]20.8  8.8 14.8 11.3[/COLOR]  -2.0 +11.5  +6.5 +13.5
GC 12.3 16.8 23.0 17.0 [COLOR=blue]41.3 34.8 31.5 30.8[/COLOR] -29.0 -18.0  -8.5 -13.8
Ha 23.8 22.5 27.3 25.0 [COLOR=blue]14.8 18.0 20.0 22.0[/COLOR]  +9.0  +4.5  +7.3  +3.0
Me 21.0 29.5 23.0 27.0 [COLOR=blue]26.3 11.8 32.0 16.5[/COLOR]  -5.3 +17.8  -9.0 +10.5
NM 23.8 18.8 20.3 23.5 [COLOR=blue]26.3 27.5 29.8 35.0[/COLOR]  -2.5  -8.8  -9.5 -11.5
PA 16.2 23.6 30.0 14.2 [COLOR=blue]24.8 31.0 23.8 33.0[/COLOR]  -8.6  -7.4  +6.2 -18.8
Ri 13.2 27.0 26.0 20.4 [COLOR=blue]35.6 30.2 15.8 34.0[/COLOR] -22.4  -3.2 +10.2 -13.6
St 28.0 12.0 14.0 24.8 [COLOR=blue]24.5 23.0 23.8 17.5[/COLOR]  +3.5 -11.0  -9.8  +7.3
Sy 23.0 18.8 21.8 20.8 [COLOR=blue]22.3 22.5 22.5 19.3[/COLOR]  +0.8  -3.8  -0.8  +1.5
WC 23.3 23.5 20.8 22.8 [COLOR=blue]18.8 23.0 21.3 26.8[/COLOR]  +4.5  +0.5  -0.5  -4.0
WB 27.3 25.8 18.8 23.5 [COLOR=blue]12.0 28.0 14.3 19.3[/COLOR] +15.3  -2.3  +4.5  +4.3
Perfect! Thanks :thumbsu:

Any chance you could send this through Excel?

where does this round rank in lowest average margin's for a round??

13, 3, 6, 11, 30, 7, 19 is a very tight round indeed. 12.71 points per match.

where does this round rank in lowest average margin's for a round??

13, 3, 6, 11, 30, 7, 19 is a very tight round indeed. 12.71 points per match.

Avg was 12.43 (Richmond won by 9).

This is the second-lowest average among the 532 rounds in which 7 or 8 matches were played, behind R2, 2005.

1,2,4,6,14,22,23,26 (av 12.25)

Lower averages were recorded for
18 rounds/6 games
4 rounds/5 games
23 rounds/4 games

Does anyone know what the greatest unbeaten (i.e retired before suffering another loss) winning streaks are for an individual player?

Doesn't mean they have to have had zero losses, just the streak to the end of their career.

Thanks

Does anyone know what the greatest unbeaten (i.e retired before suffering another loss) winning streaks are for an individual player?

Doesn't mean they have to have had zero losses, just the streak to the end of their career.

Thanks

Code:
Wn Player              Cb(s)  Career   CMa
------------------------------------------
17 Kekovich, Brian     Ca    1967-1968  34
17 Wallis, Dean        Es    1987-2001 127
16 McClure, Bob        Es    1946-1951  90
16 Denham, Sean        Ge,Es 1987-2000 186
13 Nolan, Jerry        Fi    1897-1899  34
13 Oliver, Norm M.     Co    1909-1911  33
13 Hardiman, Les       Ge    1929-1937 135
13 Metherell, Jack     Ge    1932-1937  65
13 Collins, Jack Cecil Fi,Es 1945-1950  44
12 Ryan, Gerald P.     Sy    1917-1918  26
12 MacLeod, Norm       Co    1927-1932  58
11 O'Donoghue, Alan    Ri,Sy 1912-1918  53
11 Graham, Jim         Sy    1918       15
11 Thomas, Stan        Ge    1915-1925 137
11 O'Halloran, Tom H.  Ri    1925-1934 142
11 McKenzie, Bob       Me    1948-1955 125
11 Murphy, Shane       Ha    1975-1978  14
11 Lalich, Judd        Es    1998-2001  17
11 Hardwick, Damien    Es,PA 1994-2004 207
10 McCormack, Con      Co    1902-1903  31
10 Scaddan, Joe        Co    1910       21
10 Baud, Alf           Ca    1913-1915  53
10 Price, Mick         Ca    1936-1946 102
10 Hewitt, Glynn       Ri    1973-1974  15

Longest finishing runs without a loss (i.e. including draws):

Code:
Ma Player              Club(s)   Career   CMa
---------------------------------------------
21*Brown, Leigh        Fr,NM,Co 2000-2011 228
19*Johnson, Ben        Co       2000-2011 213
19*Didak, Alan         Co       2001-2011 187
17 Kekovich, Brian     Ca       1967-1968  34
17 Wallis, Dean        Es       1987-2001 127
16 McClure, Bob        Es       1946-1951  90
16 Denham, Sean        Ge,Es    1987-2000 186
15 Morgan, W. Harry    Sy,Ca    1914-1921  70
13 Nolan, Jerry        Fi       1897-1899  34
13 Oliver, Norm M.     Co       1909-1911  33
13 Hardiman, Les       Ge       1929-1937 135
13 Metherell, Jack     Ge       1932-1937  65
13 Collins, Jack Cecil Fi,Es    1945-1950  44
12 Ryan, Gerald P.     Sy       1917-1918  26
12 MacLeod, Norm       Co       1927-1932  58
11 O'Donoghue, Alan    Ri,Sy    1912-1918  53
11 Graham, Jim         Sy       1918       15
11 Thomas, Stan        Ge       1915-1925 137
11 O'Halloran, Tom H.  Ri       1925-1934 142
11 McKenzie, Bob       Me       1948-1955 125
11 Murphy, Shane       Ha       1975-1978  14
11 Lalich, Judd        Es       1998-2001  17
11 Hardwick, Damien    Es,PA    1994-2004 207
10 McCormack, Con      Co       1902-1903  31
10 Scaddan, Joe        Co       1910       21
10 Baud, Alf           Ca       1913-1915  53
10 Price, Mick         Ca       1936-1946 102
10 Hewitt, Glynn       Ri       1973-1974  15

Only differences between the two lists are the three current Collingwood players & Harry Morgan. Lleyton Hewitt's dad is at the bottom of the list.

:eek: at dean wallis only playing 127 games.

most of his career was before i started really taking an interest in footy (1996). would've sworn he was a 250 gamer if someone asked me the question over a couple of pints.

looking at his career sheet on AFL tables - he must have had heaps of injuries in the early 90's.

In the round 5 just gone, Fremantle's hitting-out gentleman, Mr. Sandilands was credited with 53 hit-outs.

In the recorded history of this activity who, if anybody, has had more hit-outs in a match?

just out of interest what's happened to the rebounds stats??

i thought it was one of the best stats relating to defenders (of which there aren't many) but it seems to have been discarded. or at least i haven't seen it for some time.

Listening to Robert Walls on SEN talking about the 1968 grand final. Carlton went goalless in the last quarter and kicked less goals for the game than Essendon, yet still won the game.

So I was wondering which premiership teams had gone goalless in a quarter of the Grand Final? I can see Sydney were in the 3rd quarter in 2005. Brisbane also in the 1st quarter in 2002. Who else?

Listening to Robert Walls on SEN talking about the 1968 grand final. Carlton went goalless in the last quarter and kicked less goals for the game than Essendon, yet still won the game.

So I was wondering which premiership teams had gone goalless in a quarter of the Grand Final? I can see Sydney were in the 3rd quarter in 2005. Brisbane also in the 1st quarter in 2002. Who else?

1st quarter
1899 Fitzroy
1905 Fitzroy
1909 South Melbourne
1927 Collingwood
1970 Carlton
1979 Carlton
2002 Brisbane

2nd quarter
1900 Melbourne
1904 Fitzroy
1918 South Melbourne
1921 Richmond
1930 Collingwood
1950 Essendon

3rd quarter
1899 Fitzroy
1901 Essendon
1903 Collingwood
1908 Carlton
1911 Essendon
1914 Carlton
1915 Carlton
1927 Collingwood
2005 Sydney

4th quarter
1898 Fitzroy
1900 Melbourne
1905 Fitzroy
1907 Carlton
1908 Carlton
1909 South Melbourne
1925 Fitzroy
1927 Collingwood
1958 Collingwood
1968 Carlton

- 25 of the 112 GF-winning teams have had a goalless quarter
- Collingwood had three goalless quarters in the 1927 mudbath
- Fitzroy 1899, Melbourne 1900, Fitzroy 1905, Carlton 1908 & South 1909 had two
- Fitzroy had a scoreless quarter in 5 of its 6 winning GF's
- Carlton recorded three of the seven post-war occurrences, between 1968-1979

Seeing Leigh Brown 21 games without a loss had me thinking...

I have looked Rogers tables re 25 matches here...

http://www.rogersresults.110mb.com/Rogers_Results/Tables/Best_Worst_Sequence/Best25.htm

But my question relates to something slightly different namely:

What is the longest sequence of games with :

0 Losses and then 1 loss not only within a single season but spanning across multiple seasons.

Collingwood are currently 18 W 2 D 1 L from last 21 matches which must be starting to get reasonably high on the 1 L list....but then maybe not Hmmmm ??

Thanks

Collingwood are currently 18 W 2 D 1 L from last 21 matches which must be starting to get reasonably high on the 1 L list....but then maybe not Hmmmm ??

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/teams/allteams/streaks.html#1a

I'm guessing that Essendon's record of 33 games for 1 loss will never be broken.

Interesting to note that Collingwood are the only side on that list to not score a sequence of 10 wins.

I'm guessing that Essendon's record of 33 games for 1 loss will never be broken.

Interesting to note that Collingwood are the only side on that list to not score a sequence of 10 wins.

Maybe not.

And Geelong's new record of 86 wins from their last 100 games might not be as well.

http://www.rogersresults.110mb.com/Rogers_Results/Tables/Best_Worst_Sequence/Best100.htm

Seeing Leigh Brown 21 games without a loss had me thinking...

I have looked Rogers tables re 25 matches here...

http://www.rogersresults.110mb.com/Rogers_Results/Tables/Best_Worst_Sequence/Best25.htm

But my question relates to something slightly different namely:

What is the longest sequence of games with :

0 Losses and then 1 loss not only within a single season but spanning across multiple seasons.

Thanks

Longest unbeaten sequences:

Code:
Ma Cb Year Rd-Year Rd
---------------------
26 Ge 1952  9 1953 13
21 Co 1928 SF 1929 18
20 Es 2000  1 2000 20
20 Br 2001 10 2002  4
19 St 2009  1 2009 19
19 Me 1955 15 1956 13
18 Ca 1995 10 1996  2
17 Co 1903  5 1904  2
16 Es 1949 12 1950  5
16 Es 1950  7 1951  2
15 Ge 2008 10 2008 PF
15 Ge 2007  6 2007 20
15 Ca 1907 16 1908 11
15 Es 1981  7 1981 21

Longest sequences with one loss:

Code:
Ma Cb Year Rd-Year Rd
---------------------
33 Es 1949 12 1951  2
29 Es 1999 16 2000 20
29 Ge 2008 10 2009 13
28 Ge 2007  6 2008  8
28.Ge 2007 22 2008 PF
27 Co 1928 13 1929 18
27 Ge 1952  8 1953 13
27.Ge 1952  9 1953 14
27.Es 2000  1 2001  2
26.Co 1928 SF 1930  3
24 Ca 1907 16 1908 GF
23 Ca 1995 10 1996  7
23 Br 2001 10 2002  7
21 Me 1955 15 1956 15
21 Es 1985  8 1986  4
21 St 2008 SF 2009 19
21*Co 2010 11 2011  5

* current
. overlaps a longer streak

Dammit, you posted that just after I started compiling my lists!

Thanks R+B. Is stats.rleague your site ?

Longest unbeaten sequences:

Code:
Ma Cb Year Rd-Year Rd
---------------------
26 Ge 1952  9 1953 13
21 Co 1928 SF 1929 18
20 Es 2000  1 2000 20
20 Br 2001 10 2002  4
19 St 2009  1 2009 19
19 Me 1955 15 1956 13
18 Ca 1995 10 1996  2
17 Co 1903  5 1904  2
16 Es 1949 12 1950  5
16 Es 1950  7 1951  2
15 Ge 2008 10 2008 PF
15 Ge 2007  6 2007 20
15 Ca 1907 16 1908 11
15 Es 1981  7 1981 21

Longest sequences with one loss:

Code:
Ma Cb Year Rd-Year Rd
---------------------
33 Es 1949 12 1951  2
29 Es 1999 16 2000 20
29 Ge 2008 10 2009 13
28 Ge 2007  6 2008  8
28.Ge 2007 22 2008 PF
27 Co 1928 13 1929 18
27 Ge 1952  8 1953 13
27.Ge 1952  9 1953 14
27.Es 2000  1 2001  2
26.Co 1928 SF 1930  3
24 Ca 1907 16 1908 GF
23 Ca 1995 10 1996  7
23 Br 2001 10 2002  7
21 Me 1955 15 1956 15
21 Es 1985  8 1986  4
21 St 2008 SF 2009 19
21*Co 2010 11 2011  5

* current
. overlaps a longer streak

Dammit, you posted that just after I started compiling my lists!

Thanks Ron, as usual prompt and full of info.

BF would not be same without you, Rogers, R+B etc etc

Great stuff guys many thanks.

Thanks R+B. Is stats.rleague your site ?

No. I have no affiliation with the site, although I have made many suggestions to Paul over the years. But I can take credit for the streaks sections (most games for 1 or 2 losses), that was all my work.

BF would not be same without you, Rogers, R+B etc etc

Very flattering mate, but please don't mention me in the same sentence as these others guys. They are stats pros, I'm just a keen and curious noob with not many resources in my arsenal.

Pro, hah! Just a footy fan with an unhealthy interest in stats trivia, like many others here.

Kudos to worbod also for posting interesting info from disparate sources, and the perceptive posters who notice obscure coincidences and trends and are prompted to ask the questions on this thread.

No. I have no affiliation with the site, although I have made many suggestions to Paul over the years. But I can take credit for the streaks sections (most games for 1 or 2 losses), that was all my work.

R+B without you, Paul, Ron & Rogers there would no Football Stats forum here on BF, and BF would be more the poorer for it.

Sure not every football fan like stats, but it has become part of the game now. Heck 25 years ago you got kicks, marks and handballs, goals and points and that was just about it. Now you get how times the players cough during a match and did that cough help their I50's loool !!

I doff my tin foil hat to yous guys. Me i am just a stats dork, more the better i'd say. LOLZ!!!

Keep up the great guys, I have more weird questions to fire at you.

funny to see this game mentioned.

i just downloaded it the other day.

What are some of the more extreme cases of a team that trailed significantly, only to come back and eventually thrash their opponents?

I don't mean games where a team staged an amazing comeback to win narrowly, for example Essendon defeating North Melbourne by 12 points in 2001 after trailing by 69 points in the second quarter, I mean games such as a 2003 game between Carlton and the Brisbane Lions at Princes Park, where several times the Blues led the Lions by more than 5 goals in the second term; but when the final siren sounded the result was a 77 point win to Brisbane.

Stats questions