Stats resources.

Oct 22, 2000
Launceston
Funny about Ronnie Burns, i think also there was a game where Jarrod Molloy kicked i think six goals (and again i think it was in the late 90's) for the Lions who kicked six goals one day and i am pretty sure several of his too were kicked off the ground as well. Some of these anomalies were manifest back in the old Dreamteam comps of the day. (bit like the famous Scott Wynd kickless 50's he'd get with his prolific hitout totals). Think that game came against the Pies if i recall for Molloy.

Maybe this one from 1997 ?
http://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/1997/041919970628.html

AFLboiiis

Draftee
Jul 29, 2015
Wondering if anyone knows where I can find team lists from previous years with the height and weight of each player?

35Daicos

Premium Platinum
Mar 6, 2011
Collingwood (VFL), Man Utd.
Wondering if anyone knows where I can find team lists from previous years with the height and weight of each player?
The Football Record (1912-2015) is available online for viewing/download:- http://digital.slv.vic.gov.au/R/?func=collections&collection_id=1081

If you e.g. wanted to see all of the 2014 lists in one spot just get one of the pre-season Records for that year, or you can get team specific ones.

I don't know of a website that has them.

I have a folder on box (online storage) where I keep a copy of all the Club Player Lists from the sadly defunct AFL Historical Statistics website. They cover 1897-2011 and are in .mht (Internet Explorer) form. I don't have Gold Coast 2011 for some reason, but the other 1369 files are there! If that's what you're after, let me know and I'll send you a message with a link to the files.

There was another link to the same web pages from that site somewhere around here but the last time I checked it wasn't working.

35Daicos

Premium Platinum
Mar 6, 2011
I assumed when you said "team lists" that you meant the full club playing lists year by year that include players yet to play/or who never played senior games. If it's simply lists of players who have played senior football, as
RogersResults has pointed out those sites will provide all the details you're looking for. As far as I know they don't have details of players on lists who haven't played senior games.

AFLboiiis

Draftee
Jul 29, 2015
The Football Record (1912-2015) is available online for viewing/download:- http://digital.slv.vic.gov.au/R/?func=collections&collection_id=1081

If you e.g. wanted to see all of the 2014 lists in one spot just get one of the pre-season Records for that year, or you can get team specific ones.

I don't know of a website that has them.

I have a folder on box (online storage) where I keep a copy of all the Club Player Lists from the sadly defunct AFL Historical Statistics website. They cover 1897-2011 and are in .mht (Internet Explorer) form. I don't have Gold Coast 2011 for some reason, but the other 1369 files are there! If that's what you're after, let me know and I'll send you a message with a link to the files.

There was another link to the same web pages from that site somewhere around here but the last time I checked it wasn't working.
All known heights and weights can be found here: http://afltables.com/afl/afl_index.html or here: http://australianfootball.com
I assumed when you said "team lists" that you meant the full club playing lists year by year that include players yet to play/or who never played senior games. If it's simply lists of players who have played senior football, as
RogersResults has pointed out those sites will provide all the details you're looking for. As far as I know they don't have details of players on lists who haven't played senior games.

Thanks heaps for your help guys! Sorry my initial post was a bit vague but yes year by year team lists would be preferable if they also have the games each player had played prior to the season? or would I only be able to get these by sorting through the Football records?

35Daicos

Premium Platinum
Mar 6, 2011
Thanks heaps for your help guys! Sorry my initial post was a bit vague but yes year by year team lists would be preferable if they also have the games each player had played prior to the season? or would I only be able to get these by sorting through the Football records?
BTW very impressive work with the "multi-quotes", especially for a "new poster". I've been posting here for about four and a half years and still haven't figured out how to do it. :( One day I'll get some kind person to show me how it's done!

FiguringFooty

Draftee
Jul 5, 2015
Does anybody have any data showing which end of the ground the home team kicked to in the 1st quarter? (and therefor which ends each team was kicking for the whole game).

I'm trying to see if there are favourite ends.

35Daicos

Premium Platinum
Mar 6, 2011
https://www.draftguru.com.au/

This site looks very useful indeed, it's well worth checking out if you're not familiar with it. While there's plenty of information on the draft to be found (it even has the details from the "forgotten drafts" of 1981 & 1982!), there's also team lists for all clubs from 2009 onwards and a few other interesting bits 'n pieces.

MUYB

Apr 5, 2012
Anyone know of a way to get the historical points data for the AFL official player rankings? On each players profile they have a graph plotting their rating round by round, but never surface the actual points value on it, only the persons ranking (eg 3rd, 27th etc).

TMoney22

Sep 15, 2010
Utah Jazz, San Jose Sharks
Looking for stats with field co-ordinates to plot.

I assume very hard to get but thought i'd try anyway

notoriousbix

Draftee
Sep 21, 2016
Long time reader, never poster (I post on blitz, don't flame me). I have done some work predicting the brownlow using statistical methods (machine learning), and I thought some of you stats nerds might be interested. This is the thread where I sourced all my info on stats resources, so I felt I owed you.

EDIT: Just read the rules on this, I can't use it to link to my blog. If anyone is interested, I can PM them the link. I don't want to get banned after one post. Here is the top 20 predictions in image form!

2016.png

Long time reader, never poster (I post on blitz, don't flame me). I have done some work predicting the brownlow using statistical methods (machine learning), and I thought some of you stats nerds might be interested. This is the thread where I sourced all my info on stats resources, so I felt I owed you.

EDIT: Just read the rules on this, I can't use it to link to my blog. If anyone is interested, I can PM them the link. I don't want to get banned after one post. Here is the top 20 predictions in image form!

2016.png
40 is massive and would be unprecedented.

Happy for you to PM me your blog mate.

notoriousbix

Draftee
Sep 21, 2016
40 is massive and would be unprecedented.

Happy for you to PM me your blog mate.

No worries, I will. The model over predicted 2015 as well for Priddis and Fyfe so I am confident it will end up a few votes less than that. I would be surprised if he doesn't beat Dane Swans 34 though.

cuzo

Jun 16, 2014
hey guys, i was wondering if any of you knew where i could find average age of each team in each season over the last 15 years without paying for champion data or pro stats? Cheers

MUYB

Apr 5, 2012
hey guys, i was wondering if any of you knew where i could find average age of each team in each season over the last 15 years without paying for champion data or pro stats? Cheers
Footywire has all of it for each match, you can compile through that (or preferably write something to scrape and compile the data)

cuzo

Jun 16, 2014
my bad, i've compiled the average age statistics, i was curious as to whether any site has an average games played for the team after the season

Ron The Bear

Up yer arse, AFL
30k Posts 10k Posts
Jul 4, 2006
my bad, i've compiled the average age statistics, i was curious as to whether any site has an average games played for the team after the season

Averages for the senior team over the 22 h&a rounds (so as to compare apples with apples):

Club|2000|2001|2002|2003|2004|2005|2006|2007|2008|2009|2010|2011|2012|2013|2014|2015|2016
\Ad|85.2|90.5|90.3|116.9|94.7|102.6|114.7|106.5|98.8|96.4|91.9|72.3|83.8|77.9|82.7|85.3|91.6
\Br|98.4|101.9|120.2|139.2|138.5|114.7|90.6|77.0|86.7|86.6|92.0|77.8|78.4|83.8|67.3|68.4|68.8
\Ca|111.4|116.3|102.0|99.3|70.7|82.8|81.6|74.8|69.4|77.2|74.5|83.5|87.8|97.7|97.5|84.6|85.3
\Co|62.4|65.3|74.8|89.6|89.1|102.3|114.8|97.9|93.7|97.3|106.0|110.6|92.0|100.0|88.4|81.3|81.7
\Es|93.9|82.4|88.5|87.1|98.1|87.3|94.5|108.2|87.1|79.4|68.8|78.0|81.0|84.2|100.4|96.2|86.1
\Fr|58.3|68.0|64.9|68.2|81.8|91.5|100.9|114.4|99.6|83.3|79.1|75.4|87.9|86.8|115.5|121.3|105.3
\Ge|82.6|87.3|70.8|67.4|72.2|80.6|87.3|91.0|102.9|110.7|125.5|129.2|108.0|108.9|114.5|111.0|116.1
\GC||||||||||||49.7|47.5|57.6|60.3|61.0|73.7
\GWS|||||||||||||42.6|33.0|50.7|69.4|93.5
\Ha|89.5|81.0|82.1|83.3|92.7|82.0|78.5|79.7|80.2|73.5|87.1|95.2|100.8|115.6|106.7|133.6|127.8
\Me|65.2|74.5|76.6|78.6|92.9|96.4|103.7|101.1|78.2|69.5|73.3|62.2|69.3|62.5|71.8|82.5|65.3
\NM|108.7|111.3|111.5|94.8|107.7|105.4|103.6|104.5|107.0|80.4|69.6|79.2|82.1|88.2|109.6|128.3|148.7
\PA|58.2|81.2|88.7|104.4|100.4|117.0|83.3|87.7|85.3|100.3|82.2|76.6|79.1|72.8|90.2|99.1|84.9
\Ri|89.5|109.0|96.8|92.6|89.8|104.8|83.2|79.5|86.2|74.0|59.3|60.6|73.8|92.1|91.4|96.7|88.4
\St|86.7|79.0|79.8|90.4|90.1|102.1|106.6|104.4|109.8|107.3|112.1|114.3|118.3|101.8|89.7|83.8|94.3
\Sy|92.3|106.6|100.4|100.5|101.1|105.8|108.8|128.6|120.8|117.1|101.6|101.2|112.0|115.3|113.5|122.6|97.2
\WC|91.2|75.1|79.5|85.4|75.1|89.2|95.7|95.5|85.8|76.1|62.1|87.8|94.5|97.6|94.2|93.3|113.9
\WB|109.3|107.4|101.9|91.6|99.1|92.8|109.5|109.6|109.4|117.3|122.1|92.0|85.3|82.3|93.4|67.3|74.7

MUYB

Apr 5, 2012
That's really good stuff, some notes I pulled out of that:

11 least experienced sides since 2000:

Code:
Port Adelaide    2000 58.2     7-14-1    14th
Fremantle     2000 58.3    8-14     12th
Richmond     2010 59.3    6-16    15th
Richmond     2011 60.6    8-13-1    12th*
West Coast     2010 62.1    4-18    16th
Melbourne     2011 62.2    8-13-1    13th*
Collingwood     2000 62.4    7-15     15th
Melbourne     2013 62.5    2-20    17th**
Melbourne     2000 65.2    14-8     3rd
Melbourne     2016 65.3    10-12    11th**
Collingwood     2001 65.3    11-11    9th
*17 team comp
**18 team comp

To me that says that having such an inexperienced side maybe isn't as big a deal as people make it out to be. The only really poor records out of those are West Coast 2010 (4 wins) and Melbourne 2013 (2 wins). Everyone else is just an average team.

Also jesus christ at 2000, 4 of the top 9 least experienced sides coming from that year, basically playing auskick in the seniors.

Ron The Bear

Up yer arse, AFL
30k Posts 10k Posts
Jul 4, 2006
To me that says that having such an inexperienced side maybe isn't as big a deal as people make it out to be. The only really poor records out of those are West Coast 2010 (4 wins) and Melbourne 2013 (2 wins). Everyone else is just an average team.

It's all relative. Stats suggest that if you bring in younger players (which usually correlates with a decrease in average games, but not always), you're going to go backwards or at least struggle. It's why Sydney's performance this year has been remarkable.

20 greatest year-on-year age decreases (R1 & R2 are the age rankings in both seasons):

Rk|Cb|Seasons|Avg 1|Avg 2|Diff|R1|R2|LPs1 (H&A)|LPs2 (H&A)
\1|Ge|1901-02|26.49|23.89|-2.60|1|8|3rd (1st)|7th
\2|Co|1921-22|26.38|24.27|-2.12|4|9|3rd (3rd)|2nd|(1st)
\3|PA|2005-06|26.82|24.70|-2.11|1|9|6th (8th)|12th
\4|Ha|1925-26|26.38|24.39|-1.99|2|10|12th|11th
\5|St|1904-05|24.92|22.99|-1.92|4|8|8th|7th
\6|Sy|1945-46|27.11|25.31|-1.81|1|5|2nd (1st)|7th
\7|Me|1950-51|24.81|23.06|-1.75|4|10|4th (3rd)|12th
\8|Ca|1924-25|26.19|24.71|-1.47|3|10|7th|9th
\9|Ca|2003-04|25.15|23.69|-1.47|4|15|15th|11th
\10|Fi|1928-29|25.59|24.14|-1.45|3|10|8th|11th
\11|Ha|1996-97|26.42|24.97|-1.44|1|4|8th (8th)|15th
\12|Me|2007-08|25.41|23.97|-1.44|5|14|14th|16th
\13|WB|1925-26|26.68|25.24|-1.43|1|5|11th|10th
\14|Me|1968-69|23.56|22.14|-1.42|3|12|8th|12th
\15|Ge|1954-55|24.09|22.67|-1.42|3|12|3rd (1st)|3rd (3rd)
\16|Sy|1991-92|25.59|24.18|-1.41|2|12|12th|15th
\17|Ca|1952-53|25.21|23.84|-1.37|1|3|4th (4th)|5th (5th)
\18|Fi|1995-96|24.09|22.75|-1.34|12|16|16th|16th
\19|WB|2010-11|26.29|24.96|-1.33|2|6|4th (4th)|10th
\ 20 | Sy | 2015-16 | 26.48 | 25.17 | -1.31 | 4 | 9 | 5th (4th) | 2nd (1st)