Steele Sidebottom to defence

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

Rather than robbing Peter, I'd prefer to bring in defenders that can kick. We have tried Seedsman and I am not against that as an option next year but he'd need to learn to actually defend a bit unless he is going to play as a loose 7th defender. Reid at CHB improves the footskills and creativity as well as being a good defender. with our current list that to me is the only chance of being a finalist pushing into the top 4. A quality highly skilled flanker is then required. maybe that could be Maynard in time.

Yes, but how many of those are actually quality and capable of winning a premiership?
4 of them already have and there is a slew of young talent you'd be very comfortable with in Maynard Marsh Frost Scharenberg Langdon Williams Ramsay

He's valuable because he is one of the best endurance runners in the AFL.

His kicks regularly drop 1-2 metres short of their target causing pressure on his teammates, and he lacks penetration on his kicks.

8ae.gif

Turnover Merchants - I need to look at this. Below is disposal efficiency in % and second brackets is clangers per game.

Brown (83%) (1.4), Frost (86%) (1.1), Williams (73%) (2.1), Sinclair (64.1%) (0.7), Toovey (71%), Marsh (80%) (1.4) (3), Langdon (74%) (2.3)

Pendles runs at 76% (1.9) and Sidey at 77% (1.8)

The numbers don't really prove your theory. Sinclairs efficiency is only 64%, not real good but he hardly directly turns the ball over.

That said I'd like to see Steele running of HBF especially when he's finding it hard to get into the game at times shown over the last few weeks.

Our defence isn't a real big problem IMO, our mistakes there hurt and are evident through games but all in all they're pretty good numbers.

Not sure where this knock on Brown comes from regarding his disposal. He is leading our most efficient user of the ball this season.

Yeah, but the issue is that many of these guys aren't very good with the footy. There disposal stats look good because they either take incredibly safe sideways and backwards options or go for bombs down the line. Our defenders don't hit up blokes in the corridor. Therefore we don't get very much drive from defence. I think our lack of defensive drive is one of our biggest areas of concern.
I don't think Sidebottom is the answer as his skill set is not suited to being anything other than a loose man in defence. He's too slow to play as a man on man defender.

Disposal efficiency stats are a bit bogus. There is a huge difference between putting the ball to where the team mate doesn't have to break stride and can run on as opposed to at his feet where he has to stop and find a hurried option under pressure. The value of an above average kick compared to a just below par kick is much more than the stats would show. Elite users are worth more than stats can illustrate.

True regarding these stats, but if we could get hold of the CD stats I'm sure it would paint a better picture. But agree the generic AFL.com are rubbish

Liked him forward actually. The Mark he took and missed the easy shot was a good mark. Kicked 10 goals in the TAC gf we should use that more.

Would rather Varcoe back there, remember when he destroyed Ballantyne?

Varcoe forward of the ball can only be a good thing he can actually hit a leading forward

Yeah, but Varcoe forward of the ball also has less touches, is less likely to use his speed and go for a run and also handballs it more, and also doesn't kick allot of goals.

Varcoe is better in the backline using his speed shutting down opponents putting constant pressure on their forwards and delivering out of the back line IMO.

Turnover Merchants - I need to look at this. Below is disposal efficiency in % and second brackets is clangers per game.

Brown (83%) (1.4), Frost (86%) (1.1), Williams (73%) (2.1), Sinclair (64.1%) (0.7), Toovey (71%), Marsh (80%) (1.4) (3), Langdon (74%) (2.3)

Pendles runs at 76% (1.9) and Sidey at 77% (1.8)

The numbers don't really prove your theory. Sinclairs efficiency is only 64%, not real good but he hardly directly turns the ball over.

That said I'd like to see Steele running of HBF especially when he's finding it hard to get into the game at times shown over the last few weeks.

Our defence isn't a real big problem IMO, our mistakes there hurt and are evident through games but all in all they're pretty good numbers.

Not sure where this knock on Brown comes from regarding his disposal. He is leading our most efficient user of the ball this season.

That's a fairly disingenuous stat though isn't it?

Those defenders don't get anywhere near as many kicks as the mids. Not to mention that a defender's turnover most likely costs a goal. So that also makes their disposal efficiency that much more important.

Standing next to a bloke who isn't moving to man him up for any length of time is a waste of Sidey's tank, which is his best asset.

We have heaps of back flankers, if two of them can't keep Sidey in the mids then we have a shitload of list cloggers

And so it came to pass....that on the sixth day Bucks put Scharenberg and Maynard back into the young backline and we suddenly had no need for any more "elite kicks" coming out of the back half....they're just being rested folks...its ok!

Sidey is a goalkicking mid.....why would we waste that in the backline now that we have the bodies to cover it?

With players like Toovey and Goldsack likely to be pushed out of the side by the likes of Scharenberg and Marsh next year and onwards. And if we pull of Aish and Treloar, Sidebottom could be put to great use down back. Adds an extra 100 games down there.

Idealy, the backline functions like this somehow.

FB: Jack frost, Nathan Brown, Marley Williams
HB: Matt Scharenberg, Jon Marsh, Tom Langdon

Theres still Sinclair, Ramma, Maynard, Toovey and others to fit too I guess.

I think everyone is mostly aligned that this isn't a great idea.

- Not good enough user of the ball
- Not good enough defensively
- Not quick enough
- Would waste his primary elite skill, which is tremendous fitness

I think everyone is mostly aligned that this isn't a great idea.

- Not good enough user of the ball
- Not good enough defensively
- Not quick enough
- Would waste his primary elite skill, which is tremendous fitness

I think Varcoe ticks all the boxes except the last one.