Player Watch Steele Sidebottom

Where would he fly out to? QLD or WA?

Or Darwin where he is allowed out of his room to exercise.

We need answers.

Today is pretty much DDay. In fact I reckon it’s already too late.

If he’s not in quarantine somewhere today then it won’t matter where the bloody game is played. He’ll be stuck in a hotel room anyway by the time the game starts.

Hopefully he’s already in quarantine or has organised an exemption or creative workaround.....and the club is just keeping quiet on it.

He’s going to want to get on a plane very quickly. As it is, if we were scheduled on a Friday night (which we won’t be) he would miss the game due to his mandatory quarantine. Every chance we get a Saturday arvo game if it’s 6v7 with the top four clubs occupying Friday/Saturday night and the team who flies west playing on Sunday

Imagine flying your partner, new born child, quarantining in a hotel room for 14 days and not playing a game. He’s be in the bad books with his partner I’d say

He’s going to want to get on a plane very quickly. As it is, if we were scheduled on a Friday night (which we won’t be) he would miss the game due to his mandatory quarantine. Every chance we get a Saturday arvo game if it’s 6v7 with the top four clubs occupying Friday/Saturday night and the team who flies west playing on Sunday

Imagine flying your partner, new born child, quarantining in a hotel room for 14 days and not playing a game. He’s be in the bad books with his partner I’d say

Yeah it's confusing as to why it has taken until today to confirm he wants to fly up. If he knew he wanted to he should have done that days ago. Unless he already is in Darwin?

What if we have to travel west?
Depends on what the AFL has worked with the WA government. If we have to go over and quarantine before the first final then Steele could just fly straight there and meet up with the team to complete quarantine.

Maybe he just wanted his off-season in Qld & not in Victoria 😂😂

Yeah it's confusing as to why it has taken until today to confirm he wants to fly up. If he knew he wanted to he should have done that days ago. Unless he already is in Darwin?
He and Alisha just had a new baby. They’ve had a few other priorities more important than football to consider first.

Thanks captain obvious. I knew that.

But he would have also been thinking about returning to footy. Personally because it's already Saturday I think it would have been smarter to not fly up. He won't even get a chance to be with the squad before the game! Hence why, even with the new baby, he should have made the call earlier this week.

As a father I can attest - as I'm sure many others can - the first few weeks after birth can be harrowing.

Would have to assume Darwin is in the cards. 7 day quarantine.

I don't think so.

I think it will be Darwin, but I'm pretty sure they have 14 days quarantine if you're coming from a hotspot (which includes Metro Melbourne), or 9 days otherwise.

As it stands, it looks like he'll be prepping for week 2 of finals. Hopefully we get there.

From that point it's easy, because we won't be leaving SEQ.

Great to read that Sidey is heading back. So no confirmed date as to when he will be available, factoring in the 14 day quarantine he has to complete?
Looks like the boys will have to get to the second week of finals to see the 22 back out there...

I never mentioned that Timmy - my post was in response to another posters high handed dismissal of the ease of which travel arrangements could be made.

Fair enough

I doubt the decision was just made five minutes before the press release came out this monring. He was always going to make it back as long as nothing went wrong on the home front. The public are just the last to find out. They would have been planning this all week, getting approvals and accomodation organised with three different states involved for all potential outcomes.