Step In The Right Direction

Dec 3, 2001
Bring Back Roo Ruckle
Very Very Happy with the Way Our Club Is Going At the Moment..

We have a new marketing guy, do we not? And he seems to be doing well.. we seem to be better at our marketing etc.. and the standard of letters etc have improved.. especially that renewal package.. brilliant.
Good good..

A New Coach: Dean Laidley- young and he knows what he wants to happen and how he is going to acheive, as we have already seen, he is willing to make the tough decisions. Gets along extremely well with our great captain, Stevo.. and I am sure he gets along just as well with Archer- this unity within the 3 main leaders of the playing group is very important, I am sure we will acheive alot with these 3, united, then we would if they werent so united.

Captain/Vice Captain: Appointing Stevo and Arch was hte best thing we could have done after the Carey saga, very brave of Stevo to take the captaincy, and I am glad Arch is the VC.

Finance: Still not great, but we got the 3 million from the AFL which will go a long way towards clearing our debt and making a stable financial base for our club. We have a new social club and a pokies venus- which will be open next year and will hopefully bring in some cash.. and we will save about 2 million next year without Carey and Pagan.. and we dont even have to pay out (or fully pay out neway) Carey because he is at the club he wants to be at..

Members: We need more; thats a simple fact.. I reckon if we go the right way about it the 6500 members who did not renenw in 02 for whatever reason ( Mainly because of the Carey saga I think) will renew in 03.. and hopefully all the 20,831 members from 02 will renew also, so we will have 27,331 members approx..

Aylett & Walsh: Taking hte club in the right direction.

I am really happy with where we are headed..

2 Things Left To Do..

Change our name back to: The North Melbourne Kangaroos- OFFICIALLY

Get Mick Martyn back to the club ASAP.

Oooh- and make a profit..

Go Roos

A fabulous post, Tashi!!!!!!!!!!

Well done!!!! It is good to read some positive stuff, especially from someone who seems to have a geniune handle on where we are at!!

I for one am very tired of reading gloomy Arden Street sagas.

Let's look forward to 2003!!

I don't mean to sound condescending but good girl Tashi and I couldn't agree more. Heard a caller 'Lincoln' on 3AW bag the trades and delistings, I for one am very happy with our personnel both on and of the field.

Tashi, when you finish school a position in marketing beckons!

• Banned
Originally posted by StarBoy
I don't mean to sound condescending but good girl Tashi

Tashi, when you finish school a position in marketing beckons!

Nah you dont:p

A position in marketing eh? Are you sure thats a good idea.. you know what the brochures would look like dont you.. Crowe kicking and Jnr marking or kicking a goal- or there could be Jnr and Shannon (Motlop) celebrating together.. dependin on how well that duo works.. and Petrie baring down on people in the fwd line

But hey, if your happy with that then:D

Go Roos

Sent an email off to he membership department to see if I can get some more membership stuff and they got back to me an hour later.

Nice and professional !

I dont know what it is, i just think that Laidley is acting like a bit of a hero, and him and whoever else around our club did an absolute ****house job dealing with Mick Martyn... it was an absolute disgrace and they should be ashamed of themselves, and whats with Winstom Abraham?? we keep him on the list for 2 years without playing and then when he gets better he just nicks off :mad: where is the loyalty in Football these days? Obviously whethere Winston walked out, or we delisted him it was just a complete waiste of time.
I dont like some of what Laidley says eg: we have to take 1 step back to make progress etc etc, bullcrap why do we need to do that? we made the finals this year with lets face it...a bunch of no names, and had many injuries at the wrong times of the year but yet we stil should have beaten Melbourne in that 1st final..... If you play to many young players in the team then we will get wrecked every single week so if he keeps it how they were this year then i am thinking that we could finish somewhere in the vicinity of 5-11 in 2003.
Maybe since a few retirements and delistings, he will give the 22 main players a go, but outside them probabaly about another 8 players during the year at different times... eg: Hale, S.Motlop, Smith, Watt, M.Stevens, Crowe, Rawlings, Clayton.
Just my opinion down all reply back to this and O.D at me lol.

Originally posted by SkARkS_69
I dont know what it is, i just think that Laidley is acting like a bit of a hero, and him and whoever else around our club did an absolute ****house job dealing with Mick Martyn... it was an absolute disgrace and they should be ashamed of themselves, and whats with Winstom Abraham?? we keep him on the list for 2 years without playing and then when he gets better he just nicks off :mad: where is the loyalty in Football these days? Obviously whethere Winston walked out, or we delisted him it was just a complete waiste of time.
I dont like some of what Laidley says eg: we have to take 1 step back to make progress etc etc, bullcrap why do we need to do that? we made the finals this year with lets face it...a bunch of no names, and had many injuries at the wrong times of the year but yet we stil should have beaten Melbourne in that 1st final..... If you play to many young players in the team then we will get wrecked every single week so if he keeps it how they were this year then i am thinking that we could finish somewhere in the vicinity of 5-11 in 2003.
Maybe since a few retirements and delistings, he will give the 22 main players a go, but outside them probabaly about another 8 players during the year at different times... eg: Hale, S.Motlop, Smith, Watt, M.Stevens, Crowe, Rawlings, Clayton.
Just my opinion down all reply back to this and O.D at me lol.

Oookkk....

First off, Martyn was asked to retire, then delisted when he made it clear he was not going to go himself. I am sure when he calms down a bit he wil return to the club in some capacity. He is obviously a very proud person, and has taken the delisting quite badly, and I have no doubt he regrets some of the hings he said in that article.

Laidley did say that originally, but since has stated that there is no point starting a season without wanting to go all the way. He said something about shooting for the stars.

I agree we had should have beaten Melbourne, as we had periods of dominations in the game. Melbourne put a younger side on the field than we did, so that kind of voids your argument. We might struggle in a few games playing alot of kids, but the real trouble will start when Arch, Stevo, Kingy, Burton etc etc retire or a close to it, and the young guys do not have the experience and game time under their belt to take up the slack. I think that is what Laidley is trying to address. He might also see them being able to contribute more than Rawlings, Cochrane, Clayton etc. Just a hunch.

So far I am a fan of Laidley

The only thing I have heard him say that I didn't like was the whole "one step back" philosophy.

However on the interview he did with fox footy he was saying that he wasn't setting limits to what he thought the roos would achieve. He was not going to say "our job is to make the finals and if we do that our job is complete".

Ending up by saying that its up to the boys what can be achieved but nothing is going to be assumed and nothing is going to be taken for granted.

thought it went over very well.

Also thought his response to the whole martin affair (after he had said that he was never coming back to the club ever) was pretty well done

Step In The Right Direction