Stephen Gilham

Interesting debate guys:thumbsu:

I don't recall Gilham being your monster defender and was generally our player on #2. As some have pointed out, he was better at wrestling than Shoey is yet (although I think that will change) and was better at disposing quicker when in the backline. I think that the best thing he brings is to allow Gibbo to be on the third tall and have more latitude to play 3rd man up.

In terms of who loses out - I reckon we need to have three talls and three smalls, with one of the smalls' main tasks being to minimise the impact of the tricky small. It was interesting to see Burgers get the role on Milne on the weekend. I am also not sure that this is really Stratts gig.

This means my back six would be

Guerra Gilham Gibson

Birchall Shoey Burgers

My interchange for the back six would probably be Suckers. This could change if either Stratts rediscovers his best form, in which case he may take the place of either Gilham or Shoey, or learns to play that tight role on a small/mid ala Murphy, in which case he would replace Burgers.

Gilham comes straight in when fit. As much as I love him I think Stratton makes way. Gilham and Schoenmakers on the two main forwards, Gibson becomes third man to most contests. Our defence will look so much stronger.

Are you actually serious? Please tell me you are trolling/joking or something. If you are serious, watch our last 3 games about 25 times each and then come back and comment.

Originally Posted by Buddysurkidsdad
IMO Schoey is the bloke that we build our backline around. He is the 'monster' most of us have been craving since Croady retired.

Dont know about Schoey being a monster, at 193cm he is only 1cm taller than Gilham is.
Hopefully if he can add some serious muscle and not lose speed or agility he may still be able to hold down the really big guys in the league
We can only hope.
Great to see he is improving and hopefully will end up a reall good player for us.

Gilham should return in the next few weeks you'd think, depending on what program the fitness and conditioning guys have set for him.

With his return to the side, Schoenmaker's can then be used off the half back line, or possibly even as a swingman up on the forward flank.

One thing I'm certain of, Clarkson will be very keen to free Schoey up so we can use his disposal further up the ground.

Yeah definitely.... I think Schoey is quicker than most people give him credit for and his kicking ability is top notch

I think Gilham returning to our backline (and I hate using this term) allows us to "structure" up a bit better, much the same way West Coast set up with Glass, MacKenzie and Schofield or Geelong with Lonergan, Taylor and Scarlett. You reduce the oppositions ability to dictate match-ups and positioning.

Horses for courses and against some teams we may be top heavy, and wouldn't that be ironic!;) I have faith in Gibson and Stratton's ability to play on different types, and along with Birchall it gives us enormous flexibility in the back half.

Got to agree with this - Gilham never has and probably never will be capable of taking the number one forward each week. Nevertheless, will be good to have him back.

I agree with this, in isolation, but he also never played with Stratton, Gibson & Schoenmakers in the same defensive 6 as him either (for more than a few games, if at all). Give those 4 players 8-10 weeks together to gel as a unit & then watch how effective Gilham can be.

Maybe add Hodge to that mix & see how proficient the lot of them are.

Our back 6 will grow as a unit based on their cohesion & ability to gel, not out of individual stars/brilliance.

Stratton can play tall or short, so IMO he is not at risk of losing his spot. More likely to put pressure on the likes of Breust, Savage, and Osborne, as the addition of Gilham, will release Gibson to a more attacking half back role, which in turn will allow one of (or a combination of) Birchall and Burgoyne to play more midfield time.

I agree Shoey has been improving week by week which I think is largely due to a rise in confidence. I thought he played very well against Roo on the weekend.

My only question mark at the moment over Shoey is his slow decision making. He got caught holding the ball a couple of times against St Kilda because he was just too slow to dispose of the ball. I get nervous everytime he gathers the loose ball and hasn't got much space.

But back to Gilly, now that we are into the "easy" rounds I think it would be an ideal time to bring him back up to AFL speed.
He is South Australian

Gibson is first picked defender, no doubt.
Gilham has a premiership medal, so he's in.
Schoe is the future, he has to stay in.
Stratts is Chuck Norris, he must stay in.

Schoe is the same height as Roughy, wonder how he goes in the ruck?

Hawthorn's Stephen Gilham closing in on AFL return

537803-stephen-gilham.jpg

HAWTHORN is torn between rushing Stephen Gilham's comeback and making sure the full-back is completely ready for a return to the AFL.

While the Hawks overran St Kilda last Saturday night to win by 35 points, they were again exposed in defence as Justin Koschitzke kicked five goals.

Josh Gibson was missing with an ankle injury and Gilham is still building match fitness in the VFL as he returns from last year's knee reconstruction.

The need for caution was emphasised when Gilham was forced to sit out a VFL match with knee soreness.

But he impressed on the weekend and teammate Sam Mitchell said the Hawks want him back in the senior side as soon as possible.

"Probably with those guys who come back from `recos', you don't want to rush them, you want them to come (back) in their own time and make sure they're really confident," Mitchell said.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...in-on-afl-return/story-e6frf9jf-1226349195537

Don't think Gilly is ready for AFL this week.
He needs to string together 2 games in-a-row before he's thrown into the deep end.

Will be watching him closely Saturday arvo for Box Hill to see how he's progressing.
Could be ready next round against Freo in Tassie if he has a good game for BH.

I don't think we have to play Gilham this week. Melbourne only really has Clark and Sellar who are tall and Schoey takes Clark with Stratton on Sellar for me. Wouldn't mind seeing Murph come in to play on Howe though after he did well on him in the NAB cup and his form is good.

My changes

IN - Murphy
OUT - Boumann {If Appendix is true}

I don't think we have to play Gilham this week. Melbourne only really has Clark and Sellar who are tall and Schoey takes Clark with Stratton on Sellar for me. Wouldn't mind seeing Murph come in to play on Howe though after he did well on him in the NAB cup and his form is good.

My changes

IN - Murphy
OUT - Boumann {If Appendix is true}

I thought he got beaten by Howe in the nab and I'd worry Howe is to athletic and good overhead. Rather play Stratton on him. I guess it will depend on if gibbo or gilly play.

I don't listen to SEN but I read elsewhere that apparently they reckon Gibson is right to play this week. Presumably it will be Gibson for Boumann (out with appendicitis) and that'll be about it.

I thought he got beaten by Howe in the nab and I'd worry Howe is to athletic and good overhead. Rather play Stratton on him. I guess it will depend on if gibbo or gilly play.

I remember people bagging Mutphy for that game in the NAB cup but you look at the stats and im pretty sure it was Howe having single figure disposals, 3 marks and no score or something similar. Some people just clearly hate Murphy to say Howe beat him.

I might just be remembering the speccies. Regardless, I still wouldn't want to play Murphy on Howe as Murphy doesn't have a good record against taller opponents.

I reakon Gilly was just a little short of full fitness friday night, but his disposal was a real plus and will be back up to full flight in a couple of weeks I'd think.

Really?
Since we lost Croady, who else have we had?

Yep, anyone watch the 2008 Grand Final, after Croady went off?
Steve Gilham did the job.

It would be great if he gets a bit of luck with injuries - he deserves it!

Is the key too us imo .....
Allow, s the back line too structure up completly diff ....
Two talls now down back now, Gibbo now becomes the third up spoiler which he is the best in the comp at .....Stratt's can play on tall or short , and Birch goes back too being the best rebounding Defender in the comp ....not a third tall Def ...
Add too that two players who use the ball by foot as good as any ( Goo and Suckers ) and a small we can push back there if needed (Poppy) , its onward and up ward for our back line ....:thumbsu:
OH forgot about Hodgey ...:0 / ;)

Stephen Gilham