Stephen Hill

Weird as it sounds, the thing that impressed me most about Hill today was not the goal itself but that he didn't celebrate with the crowd one bit. He was fairly nonchanlant about it initially, then came all the hugs and hi5's.

I read about his great work ethic, his humble demeanour, about how level-headed he was. Nothing but praise for his high character, and it's little things like that, that makes me think he's going to get to the next level.

That pretty much sums up the thinking of the Freo recruiters last draft day I think.

And it seems to have panned out pretty much like that.

And the entire football world was waiting with baited breath to say "LOLMANTLE!!! They did it again! ROFL!"

Clearly Freo knew what they were doing. Max respect for the fact they didn't allow their decisions to be dictated from external sources.

Was a good goal, his an exellent kick. Was generally pretty average across the field today, did a few good things but thumbled allot at ground level. deBoar on the otherhand was exellent and was one of the Dockers best today.
he does fade in an out of games but why are people surprised at this? Can anyone name me a first year player with a similar build to his who wasn't inconsistent?

Im surprised he had just two clangers, i thought he was simply below his best. Used the ball well by foot but really made allot of mistakes through contested situations and by hand.

Ultimately he made mistakes but tried hard with 1%ers and second efforts.

Unlike the silky skills that Tom Swift has shown in his first two games:rolleyes:. Hill has all the tools to be a star, no one, not even the most one-eyed of Freo supporters expected him to show so much so soon. I thought he was going to be playing for West Perth most of the year, instead he could be looking at a top 10 finish in the B&F.

Stephen Hill is Jordan McMahon make two, the moment I saw him in the U18 Championships I knew it, runs around like a headless chook and will never be the great player Rich will turn out to be.

Surely you jest?

Otherwise better remember the mantra "Better to be quiet and be thought a fool, than to open one's mouth and confirm it!":thumbsdown:

Actually as dumb as it sounds the style Hill plays is very similar than McMahon's. Sort of the same build, kick and move in a similar way(Hill is more explosive though). However Hill will be 10 times the player McMahon ever was. He attacks the ball harder and even though he's slight he goes in hard all the time. He also has more intensity than McMahon- thats what McMahon doesn't have. If McMahon at least attacked the ball when he had to and had some intensity about him he'd be a pretty good player. However he doesn't have that, Hill does. Could be a very very damaging player in the future if he develops accordingly.

Actually as dumb as it sounds the stype Hill plays is very similar than McMahon's. Sort of the same build, kick and move in a similar way. However Hill will be 10 times the player McMahon ever was. He attacks the ball harder and even though he's slight he goes in hard all the time. He also has more intensity than McMahon- thats what McMahon doesn't have. If McMahon at least attacked the ball when he had to and had some intensity about him he'd be a pretty good player. However he doesn't have that, Hill does. Could be a very very damaging player in the future if he develops according.

McMahon attacks the ball OK, but is simply hopelessly uncoordinated in a contest.

I know it's a big and maybe unfair call to make on Hill, but to me, having seen McMahon play a lot of footy, he is an awful lot like him.

Hill's career success will depend on how well he develops the contested side of his game, at the moment nobody is overly critical or analytical because he's so skinny and underdeveloped. I have a feeling though that he might still be a little lacking in the body on body stuff come the time of physical maturity. Just my opinion and time will tell.

40% of his disposals are contested.. he throws himself at it with no regard to his wellbeing and wins the hard ball. I think you haven't seen enough of him to form a balanced opinion.

McMahon attacks the ball OK, but is simply hopelessly uncoordinated in a contest.

I know it's a big and maybe unfair call to make on Hill, but to me, having seen McMahon play a lot of footy, he is an awful lot like him.

Hill's career success will depend on how well he develops the contested side of his game, at the moment nobody is overly critical or analytical because he's so skinny and underdeveloped. I have a feeling though that he might still be a little lacking in the body on body stuff come the time of physical maturity. Just my opinion and time will tell.
Not sure if you watched the game today but Hill won a lot of contested ball. From what I've seen this season, he's going to be nothing like McMahon, he can play outisde flanker very effectively but is very capable of winning his own ball.

If we take the two stats that to me sum up a players ability in the 'the contested side' of the game it would be contested possessions (obviously) and tackles.

In the games vs the eagles this year hill had 21 disposals and 14 (!!!!) were contested. Has McMahon got close to that in a game in his career? I can't find contested possessions averages but I'd be suprised in Hill didn't close to double McMahon's stats there.

McMahon's career average for tackles per game is 1.8. Hill's in his young career with the strength of a twig is 3.0.

No contest and no comparison.

Hill is awesome, love watching him play.

Could be the next superstar I reckon, hope he puts on weight and stays fit and focused. Doesn't sound as though focus is a problem for him.

WA is producing so much good young talent at the moment. I like Rich as well, both boys are doing exceptionally well for 1st year players. Fingers crossed NickNat turns into a gun as well.

In the games vs the eagles this year hill had 21 disposals and 14 (!!!!) were contested. Has McMahon got close to that in a game in his career? I can't find contested possessions averages but I'd be suprised in Hill didn't close to double McMahon's stats there.

Jordan McMahon's possession breakdown for the last 5 years:

2004 - 12.8 disposals per game, 29.1% contested (3.7 CP per game)
2005 - 19.1 disposals per game, 22.5% contested (4.2 CP per game)
2006 - 19.0 disposals per game, 17.6% contested (3.3 CP per game)
2007 - 19.2 disposals per game, 20.1% contested (3.8 CP per game)
2008 - 22.9 disposals per game, 15,8% contested (3.6 CP per game)

(stats from 2009 AFL Prospectus)

Bubba5 clearly didn't see Hill go up against Fevola as the third man to spoil and bodyline a ball against Roughead on the wing to win a contested possession. Hill plays more like Andrew Walker than Jordan McMahon with his x factor, incredible athleticism and run. Walker was a twig when he started, but is now a tank who hasn't lost his speed and endurance.

Hill is a much better kick than Walker was at that age.

Raffrox, he was playing against Priddis, so those contested possessions don't mean much when you're 50km/h faster than you're opponent ;)

Yeah was going to add that. Contested possessions against us should count for half regular dream team points this year, that's how shit we are travelling:eek:

Unlike the silky skills that Tom Swift has shown in his first two games:rolleyes:. Hill has all the tools to be a star, no one, not even the most one-eyed of Freo supporters expected him to show so much so soon. I thought he was going to be playing for West Perth most of the year, instead he could be looking at a top 10 finish in the B&F.

Swifts a 191cm explosive inside midfielder who has missed two years of football, the fact he got himself selected is an exceptional acheivement. His inside work reminds me or Kerr or Joel Selwood, only he is taller and faster.

S.Hill made allot of stupid decisions and bad clumsy mistakes today. This is not a one eyed view, all the Dockers fans i was with at the game today agreed he was pretty average.

So lets compare thier first three games.
S.Hill had 29 Disposals, 5 Clangers, 80% efficency, avg 77.6% GT
T.Swift has 37 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71.33% efficency, avg 59% GT
M.deboar had 28 Disposals, 4 Clangers, 68.66% efficency, avg 64.6% GT
N.Suban had 28 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71% efficency, avg 69.3% GT

D.Rich had 57 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71.6% efficency, avg 69.66% GT

Hills efficency is bloated by the fact he refused to use it by foot till his third game. Ultimatly nobody judges players from thier first three games, it should be the moral of the story. You as a Fremantle supporter should know this given how Rich burst out of the blocks.
Could not split the difference between these players bar Rich, obviously Swift and Hill are very adaptable to AFL with Hill and Swift both remarkable athletes, Hill struggles to find the ball where as Swift finds it consistently. Also must be noted that Swift is the only one of these players to be seriously managed in his first few AFL games (given his injuries perhaps) as well as being played totally out of his normal position, unlike the rest of these kids.

Another year into De Boer and Hill, Ibbo and if Palmer can get back to form next season add Hase and Schammer with the new found run of Duffield - hell Pavlich might just be able to be the CHF again.

Seriously, how good is the 2008 draft?

It is looking very good and deep.

Much better player than Rich.

Rubbish. Way too early to make this call.

Swifts a 191cm explosive inside midfielder who has missed two years of football, the fact he got himself selected is an exceptional acheivement. His inside work reminds me or Kerr or Joel Selwood, only he is taller and faster.

S.Hill made allot of stupid decisions and bad clumsy mistakes today. This is not a one eyed view, all the Dockers fans i was with at the game today agreed he was pretty average.

So lets compare thier first three games.
S.Hill had 29 Disposals, 5 Clangers, 80% efficency, avg 77.6% GT
T.Swift has 37 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71.33% efficency, avg 59% GT
M.deboar had 28 Disposals, 4 Clangers, 68.66% efficency, avg 64.6% GT
N.Suban had 28 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71% efficency, avg 69.3% GT

D.Rich had 57 Disposals, 6 Clangers, 71.6% efficency, avg 69.66% GT

Hills efficency is bloated by the fact he refused to use it by foot till his third game. Ultimatly nobody judges players from thier first three games, it should be the moral of the story. You as a Fremantle supporter should know this given how Rich burst out of the blocks.
Could not split the difference between these players bar Rich, obviously Swift and Hill are very adaptable to AFL with Hill and Swift both remarkable athletes, Hill struggles to find the ball where as Swift finds it consistently. Also must be noted that Swift is the only one of these players to be seriously managed in his first few AFL games (given his injuries perhaps) as well as being played totally out of his normal position, unlike the rest of these kids.

Alright thats 3 Freo kids and 1 WC. Lets add in Masten and Ebert to make it 3 on 3 and check the averages.:)

Stephen Hill