Should Carlton receive a priority pick?

• Yes

Votes: 70 19.1%
  • No

Votes: 296 80.9%

This is it. Melbourne are still only challenging now for the top 8, and aren't even certainties. And we're comparable to you guys 3 years ago, so we're a long way off.

We should be right to replace Murphy and Gibbs (mainly through the development of guys like SPS who should become a gun mid), Kreuzer is the big one - our back-up options are Phillips and Gorringe. Scary thought.

Importantly though, is we are addressing our forward issues for the future. A lot of work put into Curnow, McKay and Silvagni. Wright is a good stopgap, but we need to address the small forward issue next, thankfully history shows you can do that late in the draft/with rookie picks.
Phillips was dominating Preuss and Daw in the VFL and went off injured at about half time, after we'd pushed out to a 5 goal lead. We went on to lose. Phillips has shown with a bit of fitness he can be a very serviceable ruckman. Unfortunately both him and Gorringe can't seem to get through more than 2 games without getting injured

Also in terms of list depth, we're still in a huge transition period.

We have a handful of good senior players - Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer, Curnow, Simpson, JONES. Wright is more than serviceable and plays in a position we have not much else in so he is in here.

We have guys like Lamb (24), Smedts (25), Rowe (29 and an ACL), Palmer (27), Armfield (30), Thomas (30), Casboult (27) and White (29) who are on the list for size and experience to protect kids.

And we're at the stage it's reasonable to suggest that all of Kerridge (24), Buckley (24), Boekhorst (23), Jaksch (22), Phillips (25) and Gorringe (25) won't make it on their current trajectory and will either be 35-40th list players or delisted.

Docherty, Cripps, SPS, Silvagni, Marchbank, Plowman, Weitering, Fisher, Macreadie, Curnow, Williamson are a solid core.
Sumner, McKay, Polson, Pickett, Cuningham, Graham, Kerr and Byrne are a solid group for a few more players to come from. Byrne in particular has looked impressive with his limited games.

But we need to turn over the 14 or so average 23+ year old players, while also managing the exits of guys like Simpson and Curnow, before we can call the rebuild a success. The Dogs have shown the blueprint for how much depth you need these days, rather than simply writing off a season because of 'injuries'. The kids are looking good but we need to protect them for another 3-4 years yet.
Hopefully at the end of this season Armfield, Gorringe, Buckley, Lamb will be 4 that go (none have the same positives as guys like White, Rowe, Thomas, Wright), with the possibility (not hopefully) of Simpson, Casboult and Rowe too going too.

Phillips was dominating Preuss and Daw in the VFL and went off injured at about half time, after we'd pushed out to a 5 goal lead. We went on to lose. Phillips has shown with a bit of fitness he can be a very serviceable ruckman. Unfortunately both him and Gorringe can't seem to get through more than 2 games without getting injured

I think Kreuzer's form has shown that we need a ruckman who is more than just a tap ruckman. Maybe Phillips can add that to his game but as you say with his injury history, it's hard to see whether it's happened.

Gorringe is rubbish though.

But whats with the Ablett-hate?

No hate, just playing to win. Restricted him to his 2nd lowest disposal of the count and limited his influence (even though he still played very well), not up to us to protect Ablett or take it easy on him, that's on his teammates.

It's probably not worth it for a side like Carlton if GWS ask for overs, but Kelly is still only in his early 20s, with Gibbs and Murphy heading towards the end of their careers. They'd at least have a look at him.
We have some promising young midfielders like SPS, Cuningham, Fisher and Polson, but our 'window' isn't likely to be for another few years when Murphy and probably Gibbs are on the decline. One of those young guys might turn out to be an elite mid (SPS?), but at this stage it looks likely most will be below that level. An A-grader now is a big requirement for the future.

Poor assessment. The team is built around an existing core of senior players and new draftees. A few GWS lads are the icing mate, not the cake. Your complaints about pilfering players from other clubs is mystifying when one considers you support Collingwood - Treloar, Adams, WHE, Aish, Wells, Mayne, Crisp, Greenwood, Varcoe, White, Dunn, Howe ... I mean surely you're taking the piss here.
I think steviewonder36 ought to delete his account after this epic smackdown.

Its a team built around players picked up from the Giants. When they were going nowhere, they decided to pilfer players from other teams. SOS should be put up before a firing squad. Dirty prick from the Elliott era.

Also, the Suns players were piss weak last night, I would have smashed those Blues players trying to upset son of GOD. Especially Daisy Thomas and Bryce Gibbs, they are not tough guys.

just as well you don't have any ex gws blokes, or indulge in any player recycling.

Why is no one talking up Carlton? A heap of young talent and a coach that lools like he has the ability to get the very best out of all his players and keep them focussed. The turn around of Jones, Kruezers best year yet and Murphy and Gibbs having big returns to form shows that hes getting the best out of them. Even Daisy is doing more than he ever did under Malthouse Carlton.

They have quite a few talented high picks in the VFL too, and names like SPS, Silvani, Weitering, Curnow, Mckay, Marchbank, Pickett, Cunningham and Fisher.

You can add the not so young, but young enough, Cripps and Docherty as two stars with a lot of football ahead of them.

We hear a lot about GWS and the Dogs.
I reckon Carlton's future is right up their in the next 5 years, and they will contend for a flag.
Silly post.

I worry that the killer is going to be the years of blown picks...the Lucases, Bootsmas etc. Nothing Bolts and SOS can do about it but if they fall a touch with Murphy etc retiring they may need to bring in a gun.

That period of failed drafting well definitely leave a void over the next couple, for sure. If they can't land a Kelly/Hopper type, they should maybe try to target some players a little older (from the 2009-2011 drafts), to balance out the age/experience profile a bit more.

Well done to them though, appear to be getting the most out of the players they've got at the moment, with a solid foundation for the future too.

Oh, I agree. You're in most matches and that's where it starts.

But it's more about the young mids. Beyond Cripps and SPS, they really haven't got any depth in the youth brigade. If they don't land Kelly they should be drafting the best available mid again.
We'll bolster our midfield again this year for sure. Whether its through the draft or players from other clubs, this is the area that needs the most work.

Its a team built around players picked up from the Giants. When they were going nowhere, they decided to pilfer players from other teams. SOS should be put up before a firing squad. Dirty prick from the Elliott era.

Also, the Suns players were piss weak last night, I would have smashed those Blues players trying to upset son of GOD. Especially Daisy Thomas and Bryce Gibbs, they are not tough guys.

Quite an intelligent chap.

Congats, your post shows Matthew Lloyd levels of research when it comes to analysis of our list and what we are actually doing. You sir should work in the footy media.

great to see a few wins, however there's still a way to go for Blues before the contend.

Desperately need some decent forward scoring talls, Casbolt will never be a #1 scoring forward - in a strong side, he'd be considered a depth player only.

Blues need to find a way to score 5+ goals a game, as the defence is showing some great signs.

I haven't seen any of him but do remember he was rated highly in his draft year.

If he does play the way Daniher does you'll have a real gun on your hands and pretty much a complete spine.

It's funny what a couple of good drafts and a good coach does to a club, here's hoping we are facing off at the top end again sooner rather than later.

It's definitely possibly, involves both our clubs nailing the next couple of drafts/trade periods.

You guys need a running half back, more midfield depth and better quality 2nd forward. Quality ruckman wouldn't hurt either

We need more midfield depth and forwards (big and small), good backup ruckman would be handy too

great to see a few wins, however there's still a way to go for Blues before the contend.

Desperately need some decent forward scoring talls, Casbolt will never be a #1 scoring forward - in a strong side, he'd be considered a depth player only.

Blues need to find a way to score 5+ goals a game, as the defence is showing some great signs.

Score more than 5 goals a game? I know our defence is good but keeping a team to 5 goals or less a week is a big ask.

Transitioning the centre square from Murphy/Gibbs will be the key from Carlton. If they can land a couple of dangerous centre square players in the next few years, they'll have a pretty exciting core to build from over the next 5 years.

Well cripps should be around for another decade, and SPS should step up to be a full time mid.

If the side has a taste of success and Gibbs and murph stay injury free, both could still be going till their 33-34. Gibbs looks especially durable.

I wouldn't say it's guaranteed but if the upward trend continues like it is at the moment it could very well be. He's still raw and building a tank forvrepeat efforts. He gets 1-2 great quarters generally first and last but needs consistent output at this level before bolts is going to give him a chance. He travelled with the team to GC and flew home the morning of the vfl but still had 7 attempts (two didn't make the distance) at goal against probably the best backline at bfl level (Werribee). His shooting performance was not what we've normally seen but he had more marks and shots at goal than previously. I reckon he's every chance to come in in the next 1-2 weeks. Probably v western Bulldogs backline.

Would it be a good idea to have him one on one with Jones at training?

On one hand he can learn how to deal with the best, on the other it could destroy his confidence.

Well cripps should be around for another decade, and SPS should step up to be a full time mid.

If the side has a taste of success and Gibbs and murph stay injury free, both could still be going till their 33-34. Gibbs looks especially durable.

Catching the window at the edge of their careers while they're still playing good football but playing more peripheral roles might be key (ala Burgoyne/Hodge).