Tottenham
Last year, I read a quote form a respectable Carlton poster, (can't remember who) who had watched most of Browne's reserves matches and said that he has far too much class to be playing at this level even though he isn't dominating the VFL.

I haven't heard very much about his performances this year unfortunately, but I hope it is still the case.

For me, Steven Browne is going to be an excellent eventual replacement for these 'passengers' that have been discussed in other threads, and will be a very good 'bottom 6' player in our team. This isn't a criticism of him, it is a testament to how good our side will be (all things going to plan). He has some genuine class about him, and he might not rack up massive amounts of possessions, but he strikes me as a composed and cool customer that has very accomplished disposal, without it being particularly penetrating or elite, which suggests to me he will be a very reliable and consistent player for us, the kind of player that is imperative to a premiership team.

When he eventually breaks into our side at some stage this year, I think he will stay in it for a long time.

What are your expectations of him?

Where is he best suited? Will he eventually be a midfielder for us, or a small defender to take on the small forwards?

Any reports of his progress in the VFL? Is he a class above, without dominating the match? Where is he playing?

Re: Steven Borwne

im fairly confident he'll become more than just a bottom 6 player in our best 22. he's tough as nails, always goes in hard and has good disposal
im a big fan
my only query at this stage would be his pace playing on a quick small forward. hes not slow, but not sure he has the explosiveness to go with a player who's had a few more preseasons
when he does get a crack (and he will), i would say he's in for a long stint in the seniors.

like 10 years

Was excellent today. His greatest attribute for mine is his calm authority down back. Never rattled he has great poise. I haven't seen him ruffled yet but if it ever happens expect him to get 4 weeks for manslaughter. Solid disposal skills he looks at home in the navy jumper but it's his no fuss, controlled toughness we will be benefiting from for a few years to come I hope.

I love this kid.
A true fighter with a touch of class.

Joseph has done a great job, holding the back pocket position and truly deserves it for now.
Browne may just be given a chance at HFF as he is not bad at a goal either.
He toughens up any line he plays on.
Absolute long term asset.

"Suitcase" is one of my favourites!

still enjoy seeing him kick that goal against freo at the dome last year!!!

he is tuff as nails and i hope he gets selected soon!!

A pure footballer rather than an athlete who plays footy, the only thing I have noticed when I've seen him play at senior level is he has been run down from behind a few times. If he can get rid of the footy quicker I Reckon his best spot is midfiled where his toughness and skills will work a treat.

Hopefully he can work his way into the senior team sooner rather than later because this kid is a gem :thumbsu:

For a first year player to come into the seniors and play with as much maturity and poise as he did is fantastic and he really won over a lot of supporters in those games, even if he didn't dominate in any possession count.

I've got no doubt he'll play a fair bit of senior football this year because I think he is the type of player that once he works his way into the team will cement his spot and make it very hard for the coaching staff to drop him. His versatility is a real bonus, as he has the ability to play off the half back flank, through the middle and even up forward.

B-R-O-W-N-E is a G-U-N.

A pure footballer rather than an athlete who plays footy, the only thing I have noticed when I've seen him play at senior level is he has been run down from behind a few times. If he can get rid of the footy quicker I Reckon his best spot is midfiled where his toughness and skills will work a treat.

Probably the key to it. Spot on. :thumbsu:

How did Bentley get a game before Browne ????? Bentley looked like he didn't belong. Browne looks like he belongs.

Changes for this week should be :

Out: Bentley #47
In: Browne #15

Just curious how Browney's progressing in the VFL??

Do you think he's far away from playing

Apparently Browney was injured during the preseason so has therefore started a little slower than we all would have hoped.

From all reports he has been performing solidly in the VFL without being spectacular, but that's the sort of player that he is - just a good, honest battler, not a superstar but a very very useful player.

I'll wait for comments from those that have seen him this season but I imagine that if he strings some very solid performances together in the VFL he'll be brought into the Carlton team at some stage.

Apparently Browney was injured during the preseason so has therefore started a little slower than we all would have hoped.

From all reports he has been performing solidly in the VFL without being spectacular, but that's the sort of player that he is - just a good, honest battler, not a superstar but a very very useful player.

I'll wait for comments from those that have seen him this season but I imagine that if he strings some very solid performances together in the VFL he'll be brought into the Carlton team at some stage.

Cheers mate.

I actually played juniors with Browney thats why I'm asking

Good WA boy is Browne so must go far - just needs to be given a chance again

That statement is neither a revelation nor necessarily true. Get off the ether, Guns. :)

*Bump*

I've been a fan of Browney from day one, but in more recent times have been less and less convinced he will make it. Has been solid without setting the VFL on fire, from all reports.

I really hope he gets another go soon, and I think he will. We've seen a heap of improvement in other guys like Rusty and Army after they've been given lots of time at AFL level.

The depth on our list continues to improve and battles for positions in the 22 are becoming harder to earn and harder to keep. If he was able to earn himself a call-up, I'd love to see him take it by the scruff of the neck and give the MC something to think about.

Timely bump if Browne is being considered for a recall this week.

The fact he has not played does not directly suggest he is no good.
He has just missed the boat on a couple of important occasions with Joseph and more recently, Army having taken full advantage of their opportunities.

I'd be happy to see Browne in our side, but not at the expense of others making good right now.

I don't mind Browne but atm I can't find a place to put him for a long term role, beside a depth player.

He is not fast or skillful enough to crack our mids.

Joey and Armfield have elite speed and toughness which puts them well ahead of him for a tagging or taking a small forward role.

Our small forwards are well settled.

He doesn't even have a "strong point" that will get him selected eg, johnsons kicking, Robbos tackling pressure etc.

What position do we see him in?

I don't mind Browne but atm I can't find a place to put him for a long term role, beside a depth player.

He is not fast or skillful enough to crack our mids.

Joey and Armfield have elite speed and toughness which puts them well ahead of him for a tagging or taking a small forward role.

Our small forwards are well settled.

He doesn't even have a "strong point"
that will get him selected eg, johnsons kicking, Robbos tackling pressure etc.

What position do we see him in?

Pure footballer. :)