slatts4215

From robert Walls in the Age today

"Selfish
Too many Dogs went for personal glory instead of doing the team thing. Geelong had 23 score assists, their opponents had seven. Six minutes into the game two senior Bulldogs let their team down. Jason Akermanis, under pressure near the boundary, should have passed to skipper Brad Johnson. But no, he went for the low-percentage shot at goal and missed. Johnson was disappointed, but he shouldn't have carried on throwing his arms into the air to show his displeasure. I've seen these two ignore each other too often.
Contrast that with the Cats' two leading goalkickers, Cam Mooney and Steve Johnson.
They have a personal bet on who delivers the most assists to his teammates. On Saturday, Mooney and Johnson had two score assists each. Akermanis and Brad Johnson had none."

Do any stat gurus know who's winning?

Every time I read something like this I am more and more impressed by our team and club. Other teams can have their fev's and buddy's I'd rather have unselfish team oriented players any day.

Do any stat gurus know who's winning?

Every time I read something like this I am more and more impressed by our team and club. Other teams can have their fev's and buddy's I'd rather have unselfish team oriented players any day.
A bet like that just sums up our team to a tee!

That's What She Said....

That reminds me.....

'Okay, insert rod support A into slot B.'
'That's what...'
'If you say "that's what she said" one more time, I'm gonna pop you.'

Sorry, only about 3% of posters will get the reference, but i like it.

Someone should bring that stat up the next time some uneducated flog on the main board calls him a "dud".

how many goal assists for duddy ?

That reminds me.....

'Okay, insert rod support A into slot B.'
'That's what...'
'If you say "that's what she said" one more time, I'm gonna pop you.'

Sorry, only about 3% of posters will get the reference, but i like it.

Family Guy.

Buddy has had 6 all year, Mark Williams 2, and Roughhead 9.

Compare that to Mooney 21, Johnson, 18 and James Kelly 16.

Much more team orrientated, much less predictable. Winning combination

what were the stats? 7 assists vs 23 assists, those stats are slightly misleading as you can't get an assist if its not getting inside the 50, but sharing the ball inside 50 is defiantly what our forward line is all about.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

you never know who is gonna kick, but you know someone will (unless its byrnes;))

Further evidence of why we are the best team in the league. We may not have the superstars (Gaz being the exception) but we make up for that with our total devotion to the team and the greater good.

Cameron Mooney leads the league in Goal Assists with 21. Johnno is not far behind, sitting in fourth place with 18.

Source: Champion Data

Somewhere I read today had Johnno as second... must have a different definition.

Either way it's a top stat to have I think.

It all looks good in retrospect but gee the 20 metre pass annoys me when they have a set shot from 40. Will be even harder to pull off in the intensity of finals.

yeah I'm hearing you there some times they should just have a shot if a AFL
player can't kick a goal from 40ish out sum things wrong but if they can find a player in a better spot to make the goal more of a certainty

yeah I'm hearing you there some times they should just have a shot if a AFL
player can't kick a goal from 40ish out sum things wrong but if they can find a player in a better spot to make the goal more of a certainty
Yeah. Example - my man on Saturday. First quarter, 3:14 remaining, marks 20 metres out a few metres in from the boundary. I'd give him a fair chance from there but he tried to pass and we lost the footy.

I love the boys' unselfishness but I hope it doesn't cost us come September.

l was watching the crows v port god mottop and roadan are selfish both having shots at goal from around 45 ish out on the boundary both missed and as mottop was lining up for goal a team mate asking him to past it to him he ask said nah and pointed to the big sticks and missed

Yeah. Example - my man on Saturday. First quarter, 3:14 remaining, marks 20 metres out a few metres in from the boundary. I'd give him a fair chance from there but he tried to pass and we lost the footy.

I was watching this before I started working on Saturday in a Honda Showroom with all the salesmen and I gloated "He'll kick this"

dead silence... "To nobody"

You let me down Stevie :(

Yeah like last september........really cost us big time......

Last September they were dobbing them from 50. This year they look for the pass-off every time.