Stewie Dew....... The next superstar?

servo

Apr 29, 2000
adelaide
This guy is so valuable to Port. Even if a tagger can keep him down to 7-8 touches he will still have an impact.

I think he is redefining what clubs want from their midfield players.

The half back line are now the source of most attacks so the centre line and run on players are now expected to be goalkickers.

Stewart Dew is the best in the game at this craft at the moment.

he's good, in fact, he's brilliant - but i don't think he will be one of the genuine superstars.

He will probably be the Anthony Stevens of the next decade - a very good player, but just short of that top echelon of midfielders.

agreed Servo.

I picked Woewodin for the Brownlow at this stage last season, but I will reserve my judgement until another month. At this stage though I think only Brett Ratten or Nathan Buckley would be a better chance to win it.

He certainly can play, and he's so strong that taggers won't be able to hold him back. They look for him when they have the ball on the half forward line, and no-one can stop little 10 metre kicks.

If his form holds, he could easily win the medal.

Originally posted by WCE2000:
He will probably be the Anthony Stevens of the next decade - a very good player, but just short of that top echelon of midfielders.

Short my arse, one of the hardest,courageous, fearless footballers going around.

You dont win all the B&F's that he has won in the side he has played in without being in you top echelon.

When Fatty Dew has spent 10 years at the top and has two premiership medallions and a bag of B&F's then you can mention him in the same sentence.

Originally posted by choppy:

You dont win all the B&F's that he has won in the side he has played in without being in you top echelon.

2 best and fairests.
Plenty of players have won 2 best and fairests in sides just as good as the Kangaroos.
He also only made it to the All Australia team once.

Don't get me wrong, Anthony Stevens was a very good footballer, but he was always just short of players like Harvey, Burke, Matera, Hocking, Platten, Williams, Couch, Kelly, Bradley (and a few others i've missed out).

That's just my opinion, you can have yours.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

I've always been a Stewie Dew fan. I thought good on him when he shoved it up Chocko's arse in the finals when he only just missed out being give the chop after playing all season and then went on to be BOG.

Must be a pain to have a weight problem like his. He works bloody hard to keep it to a managable level.

Fantastic player.

But he'll be a prime target for the "donuts" chant when they play Collingwood in a few weeks.

WHO ATE ALL THE DONUTS
YOU FAT BASTARD
YOU ATE ALL THE DONUTS

------------------
**floreat pica**

The chant loses it impact as he slams through his 4th or 5th goal doesn't it Alf?

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
Fantastic player.

But he'll be a prime target for the "donuts" chant when they play Collingwood in a few weeks.

WHO ATE ALL THE DONUTS
YOU FAT BASTARD
YOU ATE ALL THE DONUTS

Your handful of supporters won't be game to try that at Football Park...

I reckon he'd be even with Ratten for the Brownlow at the minute.

He is an excellent player (like me though, tends to love a large Red Devil with Olives a little too much!) and I agree that he is one of the new breed of goal-kicking midfield/forward rotation players.

We recruited a player from Nort Flower's MUCH Prettier Sister, the Port Adelaide Magpies, to be exactly that. Great evasive skills, quick, magnificent foot and hand skills, gathers posessions at will and has no trouble slipping forward to kick a bag of five or so, even if it's in Port Magpies' two losing finals.

Let's just hope Alan Didak gets a game against the Scum this weekend!!!

Originally posted by FIGJAM:
I reckon he'd be even with Ratten for the Brownlow at the minute.

He is an excellent player (like me though, tends to love a large Red Devil with Olives a little too much!) and I agree that he is one of the new breed of goal-kicking midfield/forward rotation players.

We recruited a player from Nort Flower's MUCH Prettier Sister, the Port Adelaide Magpies, to be exactly that. Great evasive skills, quick, magnificent foot and hand skills, gathers posessions at will and has no trouble slipping forward to kick a bag of five or so, even if it's in Port Magpies' two losing finals.

Let's just hope Alan Didak gets a game against the Scum this weekend!!!

Your overstating Didaks ability here. I rate him higher than Wanganeen and Buckley of players to come out of Port Magpies, but he would have a kick only about 65% the distance that Dew gets. Didak played 15 senior games for 13 goals...hardly a bag of five or so.

Originally posted by Macca19:

Your overstating Didaks ability here. I rate him higher than Wanganeen and Buckley of players to come out of Port Magpies, but he would have a kick only about 65% the distance that Dew gets. Didak played 15 senior games for 13 goals...hardly a bag of five or so.

Check your records. He kicked five in one of your finals last year. I think it was against Central Districts (eventual premiers).

65 % of Dew's distance? Firstly, let the kid put on some muscle, he's just turned 18!

Secondly, he has no trouble clearing the goal line off one step from 55 metres out NOW!

So far as 15 senior games for 13 goals go, how many of his games were played off the bench? From what I hear he started off as a spare parts player off the bench early in the season, got dropped to ressies, KILLED 'EM and then got a more decent run in the seniors, towards the end of the year. Starred in their two losing finals.

Overrating him? No. Michael Malthouse said that Didak will be a revalation. He will be a revalation!

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
I've always been a Stewie Dew fan. I thought good on him when he shoved it up Chocko's arse in the finals when he only just missed out being give the chop after playing all season and then went on to be BOG.

Must be a pain to have a weight problem like his. He works bloody hard to keep it to a managable level.

BOG for port, not the game, is what you mean i hope
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by AlfAndrews:
Fantastic player.

WHO ATE ALL THE DONUTS
YOU FAT BASTARD
YOU ATE ALL THE DONUTS

But won't Anthony Rocca think thats the Collingwood cheersquad abusing him again ?
biggrin.gif

------------------
"Kick the bloody thing"

Originally posted by WCE2000:

That's just my opinion, you can have yours.

Fair enough, but I reckon he is equal to all and better than half the list you mentioned.

Kept North in the 99 prelim final before doing his ankle and played on a stuffed ankle in grand final a week later. Pure guts. Absolute legend at the club and admired by every North supporter.

Originally posted by Grave Danger:

Why not?

They are allowed to support their team.

Nothing better than going to Power games to barrack for the opposition.

Unless its Collingwood.

A Nil-all draw would then be a good result

Dewy is not fat!!!
biggrin.gif

he is an amazing player and he would have to be my fave player outside of Melbourne!
he does lots of "freaky" things and he is very good for the team! plus he is beating Lloydy on the goal telly count so he is already doing good things!
biggrin.gif

GO DEES!
smile.gif

------------------
Footy. It was just a sport.
But now it's also a business.
However, according to the fans it's a religion,where the people rule!

The Mighty Melbourne Demons- My passion, My obsession!

Message All PA Dreamers;

Dew; like Port Adelaide is vastly overrated.
Slow and overweight - so he's got a booming kick, big deal. Very shortly all teams will force him to dispose with his right boot which is fairly ordinary.
Enjoy your time in the sun PA fans - it will be fleeting.
He will fade to nothingness by seasons end.
Port to finish 10th.

Originally posted by Grave Danger:

Pig's arse, we won't. You might be under the mistaken impression that the rest of the world is scared of Port barrackers. But that, I'm sorry to tell you, is a figment of your own masturbation.

See you, at Footy Park, Gravey. And I won't be backing off ... NEVER!!!

------------------
**floreat pica**

Stewie Dew....... The next superstar?