StK v Coll

• Thread starter Thread starter Squizz

Let's not forget that this incident comes just in the wake of Malthouse's abilities and authority as coach being questioned by Wall. Malthouse might feel that he has to dump the two players as a restatement of his credibility.

Alternatively, he could keep them in to show his complete (and not altogether unique) disdain for Walls.

The whole saga is a worry for us - the Pies aren't too bad with backs against the wall.

Remember Dale Thomas copped some flack before the last Saints game (after a series of ordinary performances) and then played well?

Not happy - would have preferred this to have occurred next week.

I reckon I should try diving. My double backflips have really improved over the last 24 hours.

Well, I'll give you an elephant stamp for copping it on the chin.

Degree of difficulty was about an 8.5 (always a little harder when it involves Alan "Bart Simpson*" Didak).

Off the 10m platform too!!! :thumbsu:

* "I didn't do it, I wasn't there, you can't blame me"

If you guys can't beat us this week, you should be relegated to the Tassie Football League.
That would be fine by me :thumbsu: (not that there is a Tasmanian Football League at the moment)

But seriously, if we can't beat you this week it will be because a) we're playing the poor sort of footy we played against Port and b) because you'll be fired up after this whole drink driving fiasco.

Well...

Both Shaws and Didak suspended from Saturday nights game?

Were they all in last week? Who would be the possible ins?

All this media is making me nervous. The Pies will show up to play Sat night. Question is will they have the artillery?

Well...

Both Shaws and Didak suspended from Saturday nights game?

Were they all in last week? Who would be the possible ins?

All this media is making me nervous. The Pies will show up to play Sat night. Question is will they have the artillery?
Rhyce was injured last week and didn't play. On top of those outs O'Bree is injured. As for ins I believe Wakelin might be fit to play? A quick scan of the Collingwood board reveals other possible ins are Dawes, McCarthy, Stanley, Cox, Barham. Dawes was a high draft pick wasn't he? Dunno who the others are.

Media's making me nervous too, I have a sickly feeling Collingwood will come out with fire in the belly and put us away by half time.

Rhyce was injured last week and didn't play. On top of those outs O'Bree is injured. As for ins I believe Wakelin might be fit to play? A quick scan of the Collingwood board reveals other possible ins are Dawes, McCarthy, Stanley, Cox, Barham. Dawes was a high draft pick wasn't he? Dunno who the others are.

Media's making me nervous too, I have a sickly feeling Collingwood will come out with fire in the belly and put us away by half time.

Come on mate.

Have some faith!!!

Collingwood were pathetic on Friday night (I was at the game). They've lost 3 in a row. You don't go from that to stitching up a game at half time unless the opposition doesn't show up. I can guarantee our boys will be up for this one.

No doubt they will be fired up, but with today's news, they have lost all of their backline run and their most damaging midfielder (I would suggest Didak and the Shaw brothers would probably be in the Pies' top 7 players). Didak to Collingwood is far more important than Ball to St.Kilda (although I still wish we had him playing.)

Just remember Shaw and Didak will be missing for the entire year now, so expect a dramatic reshuffle of their backline players.

Saints will enjoy the added space of the G. Riewoldt is our trump card and I think he can lead us to victory.

Collingwood's extra break will be a worry but I just feel the Saints are now capable of displaying resolve that will ensure they get over the line.

If we were to get into the finals without winning some hard games, we would get the stuffing knocked out of us one week in.
This game is not going to be easy but it is a game that we have to be able to win.
The motivation is there ... but will the players be motivated.
If we can go into finals after already beating Collingwood, Hawks, and Kangaroo's it will be a huge confidence boost.
To win a final we have to be able to beat anyone, not go in hoping that some of their best players will be out and make it easy.

i think iwill take the optimistic side this weekend and think we can get over the line - although that hasnt served me well for the eagles and most of the port game but although our form has been patchy of late even if the pies are fired up they will struggle w/out the 2 shaws run and didak. There will now be immense pressure on pies forward line as leon davis has been struggling so that leaves medhurst and cloke to carry most of the burden but i think we can really out run them if we play goddard and gram through the midfield

Come on mate.

Have some faith!!!
Are Didak, Shaw and Shaw any more important to Collingwood as say Kerr, Glass and Brett Jones to WCE or Cornes, Tredrea, Burgoyne etc. to Port? Don't get me wrong, I think we will win and logically speaking we should, but I thought the same about about the last two games against worse opposition. Logic doesn't apply to us Saints unfortunately, and all this media attention bagging their club just makes me more nervous that Collingwood will come firing and cause an upset.

Dawes is a big forward with a similar build to Jonothan Brown. He was taken fairly early in the draft and would have gone higher but he had a knee reconstruction before the draft he kicked 5 goals in the VFL last week. McCarthy was taken last year, don't know much about him, I think he is a fast midfielder, Stanley should be played as an in and under midfielder (but you never know with MM). Cox can be played forward or back, doubt he will be playing though, he played a couple of games earlier this season and last year, and Barham is another fast player taken under the father son rule last year. :thumbsu:

I wouldn't worry too much about the media, they were on us last week after we lost to Essendon and it had zero effect, as you can see from our pathetic performance against the Hawks. We have been in shit form for the last few weeks, we are now missing half of our team due to injuries/suspensions so don't be surprised if you give us a right thrashing this week.

Dawes is a big forward with a similar build to Jonothan Brown. He was taken fairly early in the draft and would have gone higher but he had a knee reconstruction before the draft. McCarthy was taken last year, don't know much about him, I think he is a fast midfielder, Stanley should be played as an in and under midfielder (but you never know with MM). Cox can be played forward or back, doubt he will be playing though, he played a couple of games earlier this season and last year, and Barham is another fast player taken under the father son rule last year. :thumbsu:

I wouldn't worry too much about the media, they were on us last week after we lost to Essendon and it had zero effect, as you can see from our pathetic performance against the Hawks. We have been in shit form for the last few weeks, we are now missing half of our team due to injuries/suspensions so don't be surprised if you give us a right thrashing this week.

Fingers and toes are crossed mate:)

All replies since the suspensions have been spot on too. True that we must have some resolve and expect to be able to match it with other finals bound opponents else why be there! I'd rather be able to pick up early picks than waste our time in September.

Are Didak, Shaw and Shaw any more important to Collingwood as say Kerr, Glass and Brett Jones to WCE or Cornes, Tredrea, Burgoyne etc. to Port? Don't get me wrong, I think we will win and logically speaking we should, but I thought the same about about the last two games against worse opposition. Logic doesn't apply to us Saints unfortunately, and all this media attention bagging their club just makes me more nervous that Collingwood will come firing and cause an upset.

I see what you were going at, but for the game being over at half time...I think slightly overdramatic.

I agree we don't have any right to declare any game a walk up start, but although we have played poorly the last few games we have hardly been blown out of the water, which is what you were suggesting. Admittedly the opposition is a step up in class, but we usually match up pretty well with Collingwood, so I wouldn't be taking a trip to negative town just yet.

My mail has O'Bree, Fraser and Davis all in doubt, with Didak and Heath definite outs and Rhyce who was a possibility to come in - definitely wont now.

Of the Saints, only Luke Ball is added to the injury list - and while this is a massive blow, we have his apprentice in David Armitage to come in as a ready made replacement.

A few other players may make their way into this side. Hopefully Max Hudghton and possibly a surprise or two.

My mail has O'Bree, Fraser and Davis all in doubt, with Didak and Heath definite outs and Rhyce who was a possibility to come in - definitely wont now.

Of the Saints, only Luke Ball is added to the injury list - and while this is a massive blow, we have his apprentice in David Armitage to come in as a ready made replacement.

A few other players may make their way into this side. Hopefully Max Hudghton and possibly a surprise or two.

is stevey baker close to a return yet?

no excuses for the saints this week really, pretty depleted collingwood lineup who will possibly still be distracted by all the attention shaw and didak have garnered during the week... please st. kilda, do everyone a favour and give the pies finals chances a huge kick to the teeth! i worry what might happen should we run into the pies in september :(

Come on mate.

Have some faith!!!

Collingwood were pathetic on Friday night (I was at the game). They've lost 3 in a row. You don't go from that to stitching up a game at half time unless the opposition doesn't show up. I can guarantee our boys will be up for this one.

No doubt they will be fired up, but with today's news, they have lost all of their backline run and their most damaging midfielder (I would suggest Didak and the Shaw brothers would probably be in the Pies' top 7 players). Didak to Collingwood is far more important than Ball to St.Kilda (although I still wish we had him playing.)

Just remember Shaw and Didak will be missing for the entire year now, so expect a dramatic reshuffle of their backline players.

Saints will enjoy the added space of the G. Riewoldt is our trump card and I think he can lead us to victory.

Collingwood's extra break will be a worry but I just feel the Saints are now capable of displaying resolve that will ensure they get over the line.

Um, this Mr L. Ball happens to be the most important player for us in the mdifield after Hayes. We lack in and under tough nuts like Ball in the midfiled, this will hurt us big time in the tackles and contested possessions.

If we were to get into the finals without winning some hard games, we would get the stuffing knocked out of us one week in.
This game is not going to be easy but it is a game that we have to be able to win.
The motivation is there ... but will the players be motivated.
If we can go into finals after already beating Collingwood, Hawks, and Kangaroo's it will be a huge confidence boost.
To win a final we have to be able to beat anyone, not go in hoping that some of their best players will be out and make it easy.

And there was no motivation last week, and two weeks ago?

is stevey baker close to a return yet?

no excuses for the saints this week really, pretty depleted collingwood lineup who will possibly still be distracted by all the attention shaw and didak have garnered during the week... please st. kilda, do everyone a favour and give the pies finals chances a huge kick to the teeth! i worry what might happen should we run into the pies in september :(

You should be more concerned about running into us in September.

We have to win this game! I mean this is absolutly must win game! I want to see every stkilda player go hard as they can and busting thier guts for 4 quaters! They do that, they will win! 4th spot and a double chance in finals is wide open and up for grabs. I wanna see them fighting for the win every minute of every game left, to try and get that double chance. Now that Luke Balls out i want to see Joey in the middle as his replacement. He did so well in the centre last week, helping us make clearances when we were struggling alot in that department.

well this game is getting more intriguing by the minute now with harveys decision to retire on top of the collingwood saga saturday night could this game get any bigger? im spewing its not on tv in perth!:mad: oh and i hope we can win this one cos im going to the freo game and i dont think i can stand watching us lose twice in 4 weeks live haha

I'm back flipping, but there is no way we will not win this game now. In fact we will win every game for the rest of the season, including the big one! We cannot lose this game now, we have to win this for Harves. We WILL win it for Harves. NEVER in the history of the game has there been a man more deserving of a premiership, a man who means SO much to his club and it's supporters. The Saints will come marching in this year!!! We MUST!!!!

I wonder why Heath Shaw agreed to take The Back Seat Man home in the first place? Maybe the cabbies didn't like the way he tried to hail them:

Um, this Mr L. Ball happens to be the most important player for us in the mdifield after Hayes. We lack in and under tough nuts like Ball in the midfiled, this will hurt us big time in the tackles and contested possessions.

Exactly. Didak is Collingwood's most important player, make no mistake about.

I would rank Riewoldt, Maxy and Lenny our most important players with Bally next.

Collingwood is in the middle of a breakdown.

We smell blood and shall show no mercy. Take them for all they are worth.

Riewoldt has the wraps off the shouders. We are like NAB Cup winners++ Hawks slayers.

I hope we belt them.