Storm's finals hopes

• Thread starter Thread starter dees01

Yes, just about gone I think guys..

Actually, I hope they miss (even if there is a slight chance of making the finals) because I feel a lot has gone wrong this year.
Having lost a few important players..Kimmorley and Tony Martin, I feel the team has been unsettled. In addition long term injury to Robbie Ross and Scotty Hill has added to the problems....it really took Matty Orford quite a while to settle in....also the coaching saga mid-year compounded a bit of turmoil in the club.

I also think a few of the guys have lost their hunger with a premiership let down...it will probably rejuvenate their hunger for next year hopefully missing the finals...but I also feel that we need a few new players in the team to keep the other guys hungry.

I guess overall I am a little disappointed in this year with the
Storm (but nowhere as disappointed as I am with the Demons and ALL THEIR PROBLEMS...off field and on field)!!

Hoping for a better year next year with the Storm and just so glad I have a rugby league team here in Melbourne to follow...hope it stays that way.

Cheers everyone.:(

Re: Yes, just about gone I think guys..

Originally posted by Ms.Storm

Hoping for a better year next year with the Storm and just so glad I have a rugby league team here in Melbourne to follow...hope it stays that way.

Is there a chance it won't stay that way?

Dees01

Their franchise licence runs out next year end, but I am hoping that Ribot and the NRL can look into the future and see there is a need for rugby league here in Melb.
I just wish some more Victorians would get behind this great club...its a real hidden treasure here in Melb...
I find many Vics. are really ignorant re other footy codes and never really give them a go, but yet they still cann rugby and soccer.
The Storm are a wonderful club to belong to...wish the Demons would follow their lead in how to treat members. The players are sensational and so approachable to supporters and its a big family club.

Take you into the social club one day Dees01 if you like...you are more than welcome.

What Storm needs is a few more thousand people to regularly attend their games and they will be safe....12,500-15,000 is probably 5,000 too short....but hopefully with time, they will grow...they deserve a go by the Vic,. public...and believe me, the more you watch rugby league, the more you grow to love it...it really eventually sucks you in.
Cheers

Re: Dees01

Originally posted by Ms.Storm

Take you into the social club one day Dees01 if you like...you are more than welcome.

What Storm needs is a few more thousand people to regularly attend their games and they will be safe....12,500-15,000 is probably 5,000 too short....but hopefully with time, they will grow...they deserve a go by the Vic,. public...and believe me, the more you watch rugby league, the more you grow to love it...it really eventually sucks you in.
Cheers

Firstly, I would love to go to the Social Club one day.
Secondly isn't 12 -15000 the average crowd for Rugby League in Sydney? If that is the case ,we would be doing quite well then.

You are right Dees01

Storm are doing very well in comparison to the Sydney crowds,though lately it was good to see the crowds in Sydney selling out their homes games at 23,500 quite a few times.

But I somehow think that Ribot and the NRL would have hoped that Storm would be pulling in 20,000 by their 4th year (this year), It was good to hear the NRL last week backing Storm to stay here in Melb. and Ribot said he is committed.

However, with any sport its so hard to make money (even look at the poor old Dees) So I am really hoping they stay here, because they have definately been a real boost to me along with the Dees.

They just need some promotion by the Vic. media (which is almost impossible because they are quite bias against other footy codes). The press is probably not that bad...the Sun supports them...being a Murdoch paper helps) Ch.9 also needs to give them some air-time at a reasonable hr. not the wee small hrs of the morning.
Imagine if Ch.7 did that to afl...it would start failing rapidly without exposure and promotion.

There is not the critical mass required to support Rugby League at it's current levels in Australia.

Where the Storm / Foxtel are looking at making some of their money is through exposure in Asia where there are markets of potentially 100's of millions of people.

CJH...

Yes, I did forget to mention that also.
The last I heard re the Asia market, its going really well, and I am sure Storm are definately playing the first game there next year.

I suppose Foxtel is getting their monies worth here in Melb. because every Storm supporter I know is connected as there is no free to air games any more....:p

I'm getting the next into the city to watch the Storm.

Anyway, we definitely are a chance to make the eight, providing:-

- we win all 3 remaining games. Definitely possible against the last, 3rd last and 8th placed teams.

- The Sydney Roosters lose both their remaining games. Again possible as they play Parramatta and St George

- The Northern Eagles lose at least one of their two remaining games. A good chance as they play Parramatta and Brisbane.

All in all, we are relying on quite a few things to go right. However we're a chance and hopefully we can have a big win over the bottom placed team tonight.

What a game tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!Whew

Dees01 you should have gone...the game had it had it all!
I am still hoarse with yelling at the ref.......boy was I mad at him tonight...usually with the NRL refs. I find they mostly do a pretty good job, but not tonight...in fact at one time I nearly called him a White Maggot but stopped myself and called him an orange maggot...he copped heaps from the storm supporters on leaving the ground,:mad:

Anyway everything worked out in the end, and Storm scraped home.:D

Whatever happens I have been pretty happy with their year, and hope to build on for next year as they have given me so much pleasure.

Cheers:D

Steven Clark - The John Harvey of the NRL. :mad:

We're still alive though! :D

Just!

If we play like that against New Zealand, we'll get belted and the season will be over. However the positive sign was that after getting behind in the second half and looking like our season was gone, the guys showed a lot of character.

All in all a good night!

how could u get excited bout a win over penrith ?

i think the move to collo coliseum was a mistake. i only say that cos i miss the atmosphere and excitement of olympic park.

this year has been bad bad bad

channel 9 have shown their true colors

3ak have shown their true colors

kimmorley showed his true colors - suffer, the eagles suck

we still are a chance to make it. we need the roosters to lose both i think. the warriors will grab 7th, and we might grab 8th.

i'll be there this week. love playing the warriors cos all the kiwis and moaris come out

ps. rodney howe is staying put

Can`t see them in the finals this year.they dont seem to have replacements for injured players.they are very inconsistent.

Red and Black...

Yeah I was excited with the win over Penrith because they were fighting like crazy to get off the bottom of the ladder, and the boys were trying to show something to our supporters after a bit of a disappointing year....and I thought it was great that they come from behind for a change...which is so unlike Storm.

Yes I do agree with you about OP, but Storm had no choice...they had to move...its being renovated now for the Common Games...so we have to make Colonial home....and we have to supporrt them if we want rugby league in Melb....who knows after the contract expires what will happen..

Ideally I would love to move back to OP and they still may well do, but really the ground is not really big enought long term...at the moment its adequate....and probably will be for a few years more,...anyway....who knows....maybe Bob Jane Stadium......does anyone know more about that.

Apparently Ribot is determined to make colonial work.
There are pros and cons about both grounds, but sure it does lack some atmosphere....however, did you go to the Broncos game...that was great.......maybe another 5,000 or so to bring it up to 18,000 - 20,000 will fix the problem....

In the meantime, we have to make the most of it.

I believe in supporting my 2 teams and that means following them wherever they go, (though I hope its back to OP) or maybe if Mr Justice(?) Madden can pull a rabbit out of the hat, and build a rugby/league/soccer stadium where we can call home:rolleyes:

Very true about Kimmorley (mind you he's doing the same to Eagles:D )
Very true about 3ak (they are paying the penalty too;) (however look out for something re radio broadcasts for next year;)
Re Ch.9....creeeps....News wants Storm supporters to hire Foxtel:mad: and I would not be surprised if the same scenario happens to afl, after their 5 year agreement for tv rights expires also......:p
Cheers

3AK's broadcasts were very good and I have missed them this year. It would be good if they could return.
As for Channel Nine, they are a disgrace I reckon.

Dees01

I used to like Arthur Higgins..he still goes to see the Storm (even though he was terribly biased towards the Storm....good thing (lol)

I heard a whisper that the games would be broadcast next year, but I am not sure on what station.

In order for the game to grow here, broadcasts of the games and tv promotion is essential. This is where theNRL is way behind the afl administratively speaking..

:D Cheers

Unfortunately our finals chances look shot now.

- We have to beat the Warrors tonight - a good chance
- Then rely on the North Queensland Cowboys beating the Warriors in Auckland - very unlikely