Oct 17, 2000
Fitzroy
A million apologies if this topic has already been done to death
tongue.gif
but I was just curious as to people's most bizarre experiences at the footy. Either something that made ya laugh or something totally strange. Mine is from last season (1999) at Football Park. Dad had a friend who had Port season tickets and wasn't going to the game, so he loaned them to us. There's me, in full Lions gear, presenting my Port membership to get into the ground!!!!!!!!! And off we trotted to the Port members!!!!!!! AND we won hehehehe
tongue.gif
and I lived to tell the tale. LOL I have a few more, but I might see if anyone responds to the topic before I start raving on and on lol.

This might not be all that strange, but what pops to mind is the night this year I went to North v Bris at Docklands thinking that if it was one-sided I'd leave early to go to a party. Half-way through the third quarter the Roos were up by eight goals so I figured there was nothing left to see (I'm a Lions fan for those who don't know) I went to the party, and then when I finally got home I asked my brother how much we lost by and he said three points. I didn't know whether to be glad I missed the loss, or pissed off I hadn't seen the end to such a good game.

[This message has been edited by Tom FC (edited 19 November 2000).]

Bit hard to go past the night the lights went out at Waverley.

The crowd pulling out the point post and parading it around the ground like it's the olympic torch or something.

Or what was described by some in the media as a 'riot' i.e. a couple of kids setting fire to footy records in the middle of the ground.

Not forgetting the Tuesday night catchup game and Sam Newman giving votes to James Hird who played all of 5 minutes and not giving Nathan Burke any (after he had 40 or so touches) and Burke's dad coming up and bashing on the 3AW window using 'colourful' language towards Sam afterwards.

Bizzare night.

------------------

Want to rant off about the AFL? Feature writers needed for a Internet startup site. No experience necessary. Open to BigFooty contributors only for a limited time.
http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/000038.html

This was the strangest and saddest experience I've had. It was at the Crows/Essendon game at Optus Oval...last game of season 1997. Just as the Crows came out onto the oval the commentator at the ground announced over the loud speaker that the Princess Diana had died.

I was with a group of fans travelling over from Adelaide, and a few of the group were in tears. Didn't know whether to cheer on the Crows or sit in sombre silence. Very uncomfortable day, especially as the Crows lost, even though we knew we were going to play in the finals.

Last round of 1984.

Fitzroy played St. Kilda at the Junction and, being a game out of the five, were relying not only on a win themselves, but on losses to Geelong against Hawthorn and Footscray against Collingwood.

The Roys were home and hosed by three quarter time against the Saints and the Cats' hopes by that stage were also down the gurgler. Everyting now rested on the Collingwood v Footscray match at Vic Park.

The Maggies led narrowly at 3QT, but surged further and further ahead during the last term, sending the trans-listening Fitzroy faithful at the Junction into raptures. So much so that the COLLINGWOOD *clap clap clap* chant erupted from the crowd, and if I remember correctly, "Good Old Collingwood Forever" was sung by certain sections near the Kevin Murray Stand!
biggrin.gif

Of course, the euphoria was short-lived as the Pies performed a similar job on the undermanned Royboys in the Elimination Final the next Sunday.
frown.gif

Well this isn't strange but ignorant...
Whenever Collingwood plays Brissy at the gabba, whenever Buckley gets the ball, the crowd all boos because he left in 1994. It still amazes me that they boo him after it was soooo long ago. Very ignorant and stupid in my view.

------------------
"Collingwood forever"

Always when I go to the Scg in my collingwood gear Im always on bloody Channel 7!

Rigth near Dipper too! Werid

400th Post Too!!!!!!!!!

Not really original, but I too can't go past the "blackout" at Waverly against the Sainters, in 96'. Just seemed so surreal when it happened, probably because no one had even entertained the possibility of it happening.

Crow 54, I too, sadly recall that Bombers/Crows clash. Very mixed emotions that day, as not only was it marked by Princess Di's passing, but was also Mark Harvey's last game for the club.
Probably remembered for all the right and wrong reasons actually. Remember it was a stirring win for the Dons, as we came from 6 goals down at HT, to get up for Harvs. Crowd was electric and definitely got the boys home that day.

Combination of all these factors certainly brought a tear to the eye, as Harvs was chaired off after the game.

EHEHEHEHEHEHEHEH

Thats easy
watching the umpire mark the ball

Or
was it seeing the umpire flatten phil Matera, then run off the ground with his shirt off and change shirts.Too the hoots of the crowd
eheheheeehheheeh

GO THE DOCKERS

I've always considered the booing of Buckley to be a bit over the top, but all the same I think you're being a bit harsh, Nick.

Buckley's passage through Brisbane and then onto Collingwood is a symbol of the league's domination by the big Melbourne clubs, and the elitism that seems to be encouraged.

Add to this Buckley's huge footballing ability, and his general lack of likability, and I would think it is almost natural that they boo him.

Unpleasant maybe, but not ignorant.

Watch out next time Collingwood go to the Gabba. What with Buckley, O'Bree and Molloy, the crowd will only stop booing to cheer the Lions' goals. All 30 odd.

Another vote for the 'blackout' game on 1996.

When the lights first went off, most of us had a good laugh and enjoyed the event for the novelty value.

As time went on and it became increasingly apparent that the game could not continue, the ground announcer promised free tickets for a supposed rematch that was going to be played. This saw thousands of people waiting at the gates for free tickets.

All in all, it was a night that provided quite a few laughs and was certainly my strangest football experience.

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius

Tom just adding to that reception issue you raised, I expect Mal *Moneybags* Michael to be torn apart by the Magpie Army when he travels South.

Also Buckley is a great guy, admitedly my encounter with him has only been brief, an autograph at training to be precise but he comes across in his video and on the footy show as a real, warm and caring individual(Visits a lot of sick kids in hospital). I think its just the media and tall poppy syndrome, which exists in this country that has tried to make him out as an arrogant prick.

What I was referring to was his on-field behaviour.
He seems to be constantly barking at team-mates, and I'm not really sure what this does for the morale of the team.

Crows54

yeah I was at that game...did noth'n for me though...people die every day.

My stangest expereince was at a Crows North game at OO. Standing on the terrace leaning up against the wall on the Southern (?) wing. Anyway some guy decked out in North gear jumps the fence to the seats behind me and sits down. Good on 'im I think.

He was an obnoctious (?) twat.

I turn around and he has a beer in each hand, and his legs are spread wide apart. He has a huge tear in the crotch of his jeans and his hand is obviously keeping himself warm down there. Could not focus on the rest of the game.

I have also been offered a "bl*w job" from a Carlton fan, also at OO, but I have since found out that this is nothing unusual.

Thought I recognised you ODN !!!!

ptw

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN:
Well this isn't strange but ignorant...
Whenever Collingwood plays Brissy at the gabba, whenever Buckley gets the ball, the crowd all boos because he left in 1994. It still amazes me that they boo him after it was soooo long ago. Very ignorant and stupid in my view.

we dont boo any more - we just laugh!!!!!!

Mr Nathan "finals" Buckley ha ha ha ha ha.

FYI - it's not that he left, it's the way he did it. Basically shitting on brisbane by saying he wanted to play for a more successful club etc etc.

I also find it amazing that a Pies supporter can complain about crowd behaviour??!

The strangest experience was being at the Gabba for 2 successive draws against Port once in 1997 & then again in 1998.

When you consider the odds of a draw in AFL are large, 2 draws against the same team in successive games are quite huge!

It was the second time I had been to the MCG and it was a game between Richmond and Carlton. I looked across at the scoreboard and there was a bit if smoke coming out. Fair enough, no big deal and we concentrated on the players coming onto the ground. Next time I looked at the scoreboard I could see some flame. Not so good but there was a bloke with a hose and he'll look after it.

Next thing there's a bloody great fire and everyone nearby was told to evacuate onto the gound.

The whole thing was fairly bizaar but the crowd were well behaved and nobody panicked and fortunately noone was injured.

I was at the game as well where the scoreboard had caught fire. That night I followed my usual practise, and went down to the 'G to watch the Tigers play Carlton. As we weren't making the finals (again), and this was the last home and away game for the season, this was one match I was determined not to miss. I left work just before 7.00 and walked down to the 'G, getting to my usual seat in the front row of the top deck of the Southern Stand, right on the wing at about 7.30.

Carlton had already made their way out and were warming up at the Ponsford Stand end of the ground. Richmond were yet to appear. I was keeping my eye on the Tigers race in the Olympic stand, when the bloke sitting next to me tapped me on the shoulder and pointed to the main scoreboard, telling me to "check it out". The first obvious thing I noticed was that the screen was entirely blank, save for a small yellow triangle in the bottom left corner. However, as I studied this "triangle" more, I noticed that was flickering, and quickly growing. Oh shit! The scoreboard has caught fire! The flames shot up the scoreboard very quickly, within a minute, they had reached the advertising panels that sit on top of the board. There were plenty of sparks flying, and burning pieces of plastic / rubber were falling onto the wooden seats below. The smoke was horrendous, thick black choking billows of smoke filled the stadium, swirling in the typical MCG winds that somehow conspire to blow in all directions at once.

During all this excitement, both the umpires and Richmond had made their way onto the ground and were also warming up. Both teams, and the umpires were asked to leave the ground again, as it was apparent that the Ponsford stand would have to evacuated. Fortunately we had experienced a couple of miserable days weather wise, and there was only a smallish crowd (34,000). Had the weather been good, this game would have been expected to attract 60 - 70,000 people, and the top deck would have been full. If this were the case, there would no doubt be people burned by the falling embers, but, even worse, people crushed in the ensuing panic. As there was only 7 - 8000 people in this stand, and only a handful on the top deck, this scenario was fortunately averted. Nonetheless, the stand had to be emptied, with all the patrons being directed onto the ground. It took them about 20 minutes to get a fire hose close enough, and only a matter of seconds to douse the flames. I am amazed that the whole scoreboard didn't go up. Only the left hand quarter of the board was burnt. (Enough to cost $1 million to fix!)

A few instances of irony and humour surfaced while all this was going on...

• The MCG staff were unable to play their prepared "Evacuate the Ponsford Stand" tape over the PA as this is kept in the main scoreboard.
  • The MCG put a hurried message on the other scoreboard saying "The ALF request..." Many people were expecting a furry alien (last seen in the 80's) to appear!
  • The MCG displayed it's standard evacuation policy at half time (as it does every week). This message starts "In the unlikely event of an emergency..."

After all this, the match was finally started at 8.05. In a fitting end to the night, Richmond got up by 11 points.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

A little off-beat, but here goes ....

I was at a Kedron QAFL match here in Brisbane when Jacko (yes, the Jacko!) dropped his strides before a packed house. The umpire copped heaps for reporting him.

The other wierd thing that springs to mind was when Essendon came up here one year to play a Qld side in a pre-season trial. Sometime during the game, a dog ran out onto the field and proceeded to follow the play around the ground. Nothing unusual there ... I'm sure its happened plenty of times.

Laughter turned to belly-ache hysteria though, when the dog finally got the ball near the boundary and decided that no-one .... and I mean no-one ..... was gunna take it off him! I think it was Salmon who approached the umpire and no doubt informed him he wasn't gonna get it.

Eventually, the umpire called for a new ball .... and the dog .... well, he got to keep his. That day was pretty bizarre ....

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

well entering the ground with a different membership to the team u r wearing is nothing strange for me, quite regular actually!

One of the strangest times would have probably had to have been during this years Ansett Cup. I went to every single match at Waverley Park there, at one stage it was like 4 days in a row. And every night that i went i had a different team on and because it was so empty there in the members i sat right smack bang front row in the middle of the camera. So each night the camera would pass me and boy oh boy what funny looks i would get from the little guy who assists the camera man and from the security guards who would stand next to us at the interchange bench! lol! must have thought id had a few twins i think!

other strange things well the looks i get when i switch from my Pies guernsey after the games at the G to my Saints one on the train while on my way over to Colonial that same night!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!

Originally posted by Spogs:
It was the second time I had been to the MCG and it was a game between Richmond and Carlton. I looked across at the scoreboard and there was a bit if smoke coming out. Fair enough, no big deal and we concentrated on the players coming onto the ground. Next time I looked at the scoreboard I could see some flame. Not so good but there was a bloke with a hose and he'll look after it.

Next thing there's a bloody great fire and everyone nearby was told to evacuate onto the gound.

The whole thing was fairly bizaar but the crowd were well behaved and nobody panicked and fortunately noone was injured.

I agree spogs, I was there that night.

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk:
well entering the ground with a different membership to the team u r wearing is nothing strange for me, quite regular actually!

One of the strangest times would have probably had to have been during this years Ansett Cup. I went to every single match at Waverley Park there, at one stage it was like 4 days in a row. And every night that i went i had a different team on and because it was so empty there in the members i sat right smack bang front row in the middle of the camera. So each night the camera would pass me and boy oh boy what funny looks i would get from the little guy who assists the camera man and from the security guards who would stand next to us at the interchange bench! lol! must have thought id had a few twins i think!

other strange things well the looks i get when i switch from my Pies guernsey after the games at the G to my Saints one on the train while on my way over to Colonial that same night!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!

Do you have a multiple personality disorder?

Strangest Football Experience