davo99

Club Legend
May 15, 2009
Perth
AFL Club
North Melbourne
Other Teams
Chelsea
So I'm thinking of studying abroad for a semester in either Europe or the UK. Has anyone here studied abroad? Was it worth it? What where your experiences?

I have on regret in life and that is not studying abroad, I have since gone some way to make up for it by living abroad but I dont think I will ever completely compensate for what I missed out on.

Do it.

Doing a masters in Europe best ******* decision ever as others have said (had friends who bitched out and just did a semester ;)). Drop me a PM.

Care to elaborate a bit on this mate? Considering studying in the US.

Sure, I studied in a small liberal arts college in upstate New York (Ithaca to be precise). I had the advantage on studying in a small collegetown, so every tends to know each other and you will always see familiar faces around town. I studied during the Fall semester (second half of the year) which I highly recommend as you a) get the advantage of the best weather during the year from August through October- starts snowing in November December through to March/April in the northern regions) and b) you get to experience Halloween - college students go INSANE around this time with parties and costumes etc. You also get Homecoming (the football team's first home game) and Thanksgiving (Amercians are some of the most inviting people and you will almost certainly receive a number of invitations to a family's Thanksgiving. They love Australians too, so if you are looking to get laid- trust me, you wont have a problem. The US system is so much more vibrant than the Australian system - everyone lives away from home and goes nuts- particularly in the last couple of weeks around finals time.

Any questions, feel free to PM me, happy to answer them.