Roast Subiaco Rant

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE_Phill

Being an Eagles supporter in Melbourne can be a lonely existence at times, but at least there's never a problem getting tickets to a game. I'd hate to be in WA and face the constant frustration of not getting a ticket.

I know the atmosphere isn't great at Subi, maybe I've gotten too used to the Melbourne atmosphere, last week was great. I think it might be better this week for the simple fact that everyone has been moved around and aren't in their usual seats. Hopefully people can get a bit more vocal as a result. I know I will be, front row, centre wing. Might get some TV time.

It's also bulldust that Carlton member had first crack before "In the wings"

Our club finished top 4 and all membership bases should of had a crack before the filth

It's not officially a West Coast home game - it's an AFL game so there has to be an allocation of tickets set aside for Carlton members which although frustating for West Coast members who miss out is perfectly reasonable.

I haven't seen how many tickets were made available for Carlton members but in all fairness it should have been around the 3000 mark, if not more.
certainly a very small number compared to WC fans were allocated and AFL/CFC did us no favours to make it easy. The best games I have been to are games like ANZAC day where the capacity crowd is 50/50 and everybody enjoys the contest. Imagine WC playing say CFC, Ess or Coll at the MCG and WC fans not be allowed to attend- I am sure you would feel a bit annoyed.

I know its been done before, but I'm very pissed off!!

It's a joke that our staduim fits 42500, it's f****** bull**** c***sucker!

I'm been on the waiting list for 7 years, was on the computer at 8:55 and still missed out!!!! :(

It's a joke, that so many people are going to miss out. Seeing all those old people (Over 60's get tickets pissed me off, go lawn bolwing like normal oldies, they sit there and don't get involved except windge about the young supports...Hand over your memberships)

If this issue isn't resolved in 5 years, then WCE will suffer with a lack of young supporters.

Also when I pick up the Sunday times, the attendance better read 42,345!

End rant. Just needed to vent my frustration.

Others feel free.

Thank you for the invitation - I will.
I am sick of some members of the "now generation" who think they are entitled to what they want, when they want it. They want a four bedroom, two bathroom, theatre room house as their first house, two cars in the garage and overseas trips because their parents have it! (How's that for a generalisation - about the same as yours that the over 60's "oldies" should be out playing lawn bowls ?)The older members of this club are the ones who have been paying their hard earned cash to support the club over many years - through good times and bad - and are entitled to their memberships for as long as they wish. The atmosphere at Subi is great - perhaps the older members of the crowd don't feel the need to drink copious amounts of alcohol and hurl abuse at all and sundry to create "atmosphere". Personally, I think alcohol should be banned from football - if a person cannot go without a drink for two hours, they should watch the game at home and drink as much as they like. Other members of the public should not be subjected to their antisocialbehaviour.

End rant.

:)

I am sick of some members of the "now generation" who think they are entitled to what they want, when they want it. They want a four bedroom, two bathroom, theatre room house as their first house, two cars in the garage and overseas trips because their parents have it! (How's that for a generalisation - about the same as yours that the over 60's "oldies" should be out playing lawn bowls ?)The older members of this club are the ones who have been paying their hard earned cash to support the club over many years - through good times and bad - and are entitled to their memberships for as long as they wish. The atmosphere at Subi is great - perhaps the older members of the crowd don't feel the need to drink copious amounts of alcohol and hurl abuse at all and sundry to create "atmosphere". Personally, I think alcohol should be banned from football - if a person cannot go without a drink for two hours, they should watch the game at home and drink as much as they like. Other members of the public should not be subjected to their antisocialbehaviour.

End rant.

Pretty sure he meant the oldies that need to flick through their record to find who number 17 is, or the ones that knit instead of actually watching the game, or even the ones who do watch it but just constantly mutter negative comments.

Exactly...thank-you!

I think some people have missed the point and perhaps come across a bit prickish. I did generalise the older members.

I just feel that the lack of atmosphere out our games, is due to a certain percentage of the older members, who just sit there as Sw3et said. The only time they might say something is "Kick it!" lol

certainly a very small number compared to WC fans were allocated and AFL/CFC did us no favours to make it easy. The best games I have been to are games like ANZAC day where the capacity crowd is 50/50 and everybody enjoys the contest. Imagine WC playing say CFC, Ess or Coll at the MCG and WC fans not be allowed to attend- I am sure you would feel a bit annoyed.

Fair call Blue Guns....I actaully agree. I've been lucky enough to be at a Collingwood v Carlton game...and it's amazing!

Was just frustrated yesterday...and got heated.

Just a pissed off "In the wings" member who enjoys watching his team live...especially a final!

The atmosphere at Subi is great

Do you honestly believe this? I've been to every game this year apart from the derbies. There were games that you could hear a pin drop (Essendon and Adelaide come to mind. Yes the crowd eventually lifted, but it took Watson to be KO'd and us to thrash Adelaide). How is that 'atmosphere'? The crowd needs to create far more noise then we have recently. How great was that last qrt vs Adelaide? That is atmosphere. Everyone was having a great time in the crowd.

I'm not having a go at anyone here. Just saying that the atmosphere is pretty terrible at subi.

But if I was going to go on a rant :D it would be the people that rock up and dont even watch the game. Saw against Adelaide some guy that read a book through the whole game. Didnt look up once. How many of us have sat next to someone and by the end of the game you know their whole life story?

must say the ground staff at the gates etc have become NAZIs of late. No common sense at all. And don't get me started on paying top $$ for crap food and drinks. Not sure about atmosphere but we the paying WA public get ripped off compared to Victoria

I've come across plenty of non "oldies" that are exactly the same, well.. besides knitting - replace that with drinking.

End rant.

That's all very well and good mate, but you're wrong, the atmosphere at Subi is terrible.

Sometimes you feel bad talking to someone next to you. Seriously, it can be THAT bad.

And sorry to say it, but it is because of the ageing membership base. Not saying you don't deserve your seats, so don't get your nappy in a twist. It's the states fault for not building a stadium, not yours.

Seriously though, as someone else said, you go to the football to support the club and yell at umpires and lose your voice screaming at the boys. I grew up around that kind of thing, so did my Dad, and so did his Dad etc etc. I'm pretty sure most people here have grown up with the same thing.

So, it'd be nice to see the senior/veteran members be a little more tolerant of the younger more noisy generation. After all, we're pretty excited to be at the footy, due to the problems getting seats.

It just seems like for a lot of the oldies, it's a nice little trip on the train and a flask of coffee afternoon out to fill the endless void of retirement hours, as opposed to passion for the sport and club.

My old man is very wealthy, and reitred, and he loves nothing more than seeing the younger ones get into the footy. He's always going on about the do-gooders who frown on someone telling the umpire he made wrong decision. My Mum is exactly the same. It reminds Dad of the good old days, watching the WAFL at Leerderville oval half blind at the bar. Some of the stories from those days are priceless, and that should never be taken out of our game.

What's the atmosphere like at Freo home games?

Freo fans are too busy picking the corn out of their shit to be interested in the football. Being welfare recipients and on a budget, they can't afford to let such morsels go to waste.

How can you hate Subi!!!

What profit do you make form a 45k crowd? What profit do the blues get from a 55k crowd at Jihad?

I would love to be back at visy park and have the blues play in front of 40k blues fans and massive gate takings. Be thankful!!

That's all very well and good mate, but you're wrong, the atmosphere at Subi is terrible.

Sometimes you feel bad talking to someone next to you. Seriously, it can be THAT bad.

And sorry to say it, but it is because of the ageing membership base. Not saying you don't deserve your seats, so don't get your nappy in a twist. It's the states fault for not building a stadium, not yours.

Seriously though, as someone else said, you go to the football to support the club and yell at umpires and lose your voice screaming at the boys. I grew up around that kind of thing, so did my Dad, and so did his Dad etc etc. I'm pretty sure most people here have grown up with the same thing.

So, it'd be nice to see the senior/veteran members be a little more tolerant of the younger more noisy generation. After all, we're pretty excited to be at the footy, due to the problems getting seats.

It just seems like for a lot of the oldies, it's a nice little trip on the train and a flask of coffee afternoon out to fill the endless void of retirement hours, as opposed to passion for the sport and club.

My old man is very wealthy, and reitred, and he loves nothing more than seeing the younger ones get into the footy. He's always going on about the do-gooders who frown on someone telling the umpire he made wrong decision. My Mum is exactly the same. It reminds Dad of the good old days, watching the WAFL at Leerderville oval half blind at the bar. Some of the stories from those days are priceless, and that should never be taken out of our game.

I don't know where you sit son, but where I sit, the atmosphere is great. We have a mix of age groups, none of who feel the need to get "blind" to enjoy a game of footy. I yell at the umpire, scream for my boys, love the slow EAGLES chant and usually have lost my voice when the game is over. (One thing I cannot stand is the Mexican Wave but that is another story.) I have been going to football since I was a young kid and have really great memories of Perth Oval and the Mighty Royals. My Dad and all his family were East Perth members and I spent many evenings in the bar at Perth Oval.
I have been to Melbourne for football weekends and think that having two groups of opposition supporters - as opposed to having a crowd as one sided as ours - adds to the noise at games.
I, and my friends, are tolerant of younger supporters as long as their enjoyment of the game does not impinge on the rights of others to also enjoy the game without being subjected to drunken, abusive loutish behaviour.
When we finally get a new stadium, I will welcome the addition of a new group of supporters - as long as priority choice of seats is given to those existing members who have supported the club in good times and bad.

I don't know where you sit son, but where I sit, the atmosphere is great. We have a mix of age groups, none of who feel the need to get "blind" to enjoy a game of footy. I yell at the umpire, scream for my boys, love the slow EAGLES chant and usually have lost my voice when the game is over. (One thing I cannot stand is the Mexican Wave but that is another story.) I have been going to football since I was a young kid and have really great memories of Perth Oval and the Mighty Royals. My Dad and all his family were East Perth members and I spent many evenings in the bar at Perth Oval.
I have been to Melbourne for football weekends and think that having two groups of opposition supporters - as opposed to having a crowd as one sided as ours - adds to the noise at games.
I, and my friends, are tolerant of younger supporters as long as their enjoyment of the game does not impinge on the rights of others to also enjoy the game without being subjected to drunken, abusive loutish behaviour.
When we finally get a new stadium, I will welcome the addition of a new group of supporters - as long as priority choice of seats is given to those existing members who have supported the club in good times and bad.

Well said mate, I certainly have some of the older crew around us that seem to be there for an afternoon out of the house more than the football game but that is their right if they have forked out to be a member.

I actually get more frustrated with the 16-25 year olds that go to the Eagles games and it is not because they are drunk or disorderly. It is because they know **** all about aussie rules football and they are there only because its the place to be seen.

They know one thing and that is the word BAAAALLLLLLL!!!!!! and the rest of the time they sit there saying he should be doing this or he should be doing that. I spend my arvo at an Eagles game laughing at just how many people have no idea about our game, what the rules are or what the hell is going on.

"Why don't they just man up, he's been free every time!" thats my favourite, re: letting the kickout go to the pocket after 15 seconds of them trying to find a good contest in the zone to go to. You cant say "it's the old people, it's the young drunk people." it's the unintelligent people who don't understand the game thats my problem.

I listen to Karl on 6PR at the games, makes it more exciting and makes me yell and cheer far less. Also, if I take a mate we often leave at half time to go drinking in subiaco if its a blow-out or boring game.

U perturbed?

Well said mate, I certainly have some of the older crew around us that seem to be there for an afternoon out of the house more than the football game but that is their right if they have forked out to be a member.

I actually get more frustrated with the 16-25 year olds that go to the Eagles games and it is not because they are drunk or disorderly. It is because they know **** all about aussie rules football and they are there only because its the place to be seen.

They know one thing and that is the word BAAAALLLLLLL!!!!!! and the rest of the time they sit there saying he should be doing this or he should be doing that. I spend my arvo at an Eagles game laughing at just how many people have no idea about our game, what the rules are or what the hell is going on.

And some of them are undoubtedly the same ones who post of BF!

I listen to Karl on 6PR at the games, makes it more exciting and makes me yell and cheer far less. Also, if I take a mate we often leave at half time to go drinking in subiaco if its a blow-out or boring game.

U perturbed?

That would be a good enough reason to leave early and go drinking anywhere!