News Sumich

• Thread starter Thread starter Freo Jail

Not sure what to think about this. I know people connected with Kerr/Judd, and one thing which made it easy for Judd to leave is he had an extremely low opinion of Sumich. Mainly as a bloke, he had a bit of a psycho confrontation with Judd when he found out he was leaving. But Judd also thought he was a moron and couldn't coach. I think he was the midfield coach when the Eagles were dominant, so it is hard to know what to think. I think with Cox-Kerr-Cousins-Judd-Braun-etc that the midfield sorted itself out.

I thought it was hilarious when his name was thrown about for the job at Carlton when Judd was there, and many people thought he was actually a serious chance to get it. I told everyone I knew there was no way it would happen, Judd runs that place now and he won't allow it. Lo and behold, his name disappeared from discussion.

To be honest, I am not happy with this appointment at all. I think we could have done better. When people sound and talk like an idiot, then they generally are an idiot. I hope Suma is an exception. Now that I think about it a bit more, he must be able to do something right to stay at WC for so long. But geez, I still can't convince myself this is a good signing.

Cheers Sod. He sounded alright in that clip to me.

Not philosopher/intellectual good, but plain speaking good. Which is more than I could say for Harves sometimes (not bagging Harves, just putting it into perspective for those who are worried about Suma being able to articulate his message)

He's just got that old school, simple way of talking. Somewhat occerish.

You don't need to sound like a Harvard professor to be an intelligent person. How you speak is more about how you grow up than intelligence. I spoke perfect english as a kid, now at uni I have to make a conscious effort not to speak jobsite bogan.

Ima odlazi susjedstvo. ;)

ti si smiješan čovjek :D

Not sure what to think about this. I know people connected with Kerr/Judd, and one thing which made it easy for Judd to leave is he had an extremely low opinion of Sumich. Mainly as a bloke, he had a bit of a psycho confrontation with Judd when he found out he was leaving. But Judd also thought he was a moron and couldn't coach. I think he was the midfield coach when the Eagles were dominant, so it is hard to know what to think. I think with Cox-Kerr-Cousins-Judd-Braun-etc that the midfield sorted itself out.

I reckon this sort of statement is ridiculous. To have a good team, all you need to do is to throw good players in and they become a cohesive unit with all problems solved. So the much maligned Rowan Jones' role of making space for the more skilful players just happened?

Judd's best mate at West Coast was the ultimate meathead, Daniel Kerr so Judd's opinion of a person is not something that I would take much notice of.

After viewing Sumich's media conference I've come around and think it's a good appointment. Obviously done a lot of media training because he spoke really well which wasn't the case a few years ago.

Considering I pretty much live on this website when I'm near a computer (sad I know) I can't remember the last time two bombshells like Lyon/Sumich have been dropped on me unsuspectingly like this.

Haha yeah, when a thread pops up with 5+ pages in the space of a few hours between visits I wonder what's going on.

I reckon this sort of statement is ridiculous. To have a good team, all you need to do is to throw good players in and they become a cohesive unit with all problems solved. So the much maligned Rowan Jones' role of making space for the more skilful players just happened?

Judd's best mate at West Coast was the ultimate meathead, Daniel Kerr so Judd's opinion of a person is not something that I would take much notice of.

100% on the money.

And don't forget that Judd really rated a certain cardboard box billionaire and held him up as a pillar of society.

Great judge of character is Juddy.

George G can now rest peacefully, his man has made it to Freo.

I would give my left arm, it's rooted anyway, to hear George's views on the Harvey/Lyon episode.

Vale.:(:(

I was pretty surprised by the appointment, but I'm definitely in favour of.

The man's got a ton of experience, and just because he's not the best in front of the media doesn't mean he won't communicate his intent well with the playing group. Good pickup for us. I'm not even the slightest bit concerned about his background with the Eagles, he's a South Freo boy and will serve us well and willingly.

Was interesting to hear Clint Wheeldon give the appointment two thumbs up on 720 Drive yesterday as well.

I would give my left arm, it's rooted anyway, to hear George's views on the Harvey/Lyon episode.

Vale.:(:(

I'd give my similarly rooted left not to. Luckily it had enough in it to switch the dial.

I never understood why a few years ago at WC their forward set up was carp, but Sumich coached the midfield. Seemed like far and away the easier task at the eagles. Still they went alright and he deserves recognition for it.

I'd agree with that. It's certainly A LOT easier if you've got the cattle, and very good set like the Eagles had will get you a long way even with poor/no coaching, but it wont get you the to the top echelon of this or any pro-sport. Regular top 4 type stuff needs more than just raw talent.

Well I'm stunned,all of a sudden everyone rates Suma yet in the past everyone thought he was useless including the Mob up the road:confused:
What a load of crap "always a Freo boy"had 2 oppotunities in the past to come over and didn't,thats how much he cares about Freo.
If Suma and Woosha are so good why did it take them 2 yrs after us to start using the "Fwd Press" game plan?
I'm not so sure it's a good appointment but unless your in there with them you never really know.

Well I'm stunned,all of a sudden everyone rates Suma yet in the past everyone thought he was useless including the Mob up the road:confused:
What a load of crap "always a Freo boy"had 2 oppotunities in the past to come over and didn't,thats how much he cares about Freo.
If Suma and Woosha are so good why did it take them 2 yrs after us to start using the "Fwd Press" game plan?
I'm not so sure it's a good appointment but unless your in there with them you never really know.

Hmmmm...

Assistant coach loses the GF by a bees dick and decides to stay on for another crack and actually wins it the next year.

Assistant coach stays loyal and helps drag the club from the wooden spoon to a top 4 finish.

It's about his CV, his character and his good judgement if you ask me.

I'm stoked ! Now we just need Jako and I'll be complete !
icon12.gif

Hmmmm...

Assistant coach loses the GF by a bees dick and decides to stay on for another crack and actually wins it the next year.

Assistant coach stays loyal and helps drag the club from the wooden spoon to a top 4 finish.

Obviously you would stay when you almost win the GF and he knows loyalty means nothing at clubs especailly when it comes to coaches.
He has been an assistant for 11 yrs,surely plenty of chances in that time to come over to us if he was that keen.
It was the 3yr contract that got him here if you ask me.

One could speculate that Suma could've been circling if the weagles bottomed out on Woosha's last year of his contract. Now that it's become apparent that he'll receive an extension that might've just been the straw that broke the camels back for Sumich?

Surprised by the level of opposition to the move.

I think he is a great fit for our club. We've had no forward structure to speak of this year, and no full-time forwards coach. He has 150 games experience and 500+ career goals as a player, and as forward coach he's overseen a big improvement in that area at West Coast. I'm not really fussed what his record was as midfield coach prior to that.

I reckon getting this appointment right is more important than whether we get Mitch Clark or not. I think he fits the criteria well.

If Sumich can get Mayne to kick straight, keep Bradley from falling over and Pav from hitting the post we are onto something good in 2012!

If I was Lyon, I would set Sumich a project to get Johnson to impose himself in the forward line more and turn him into a handy FWD. The ultimate test! ;)

Hmmmm...

We DON'T need that carrot growing, lettuce cultivating, English language mutilating, mumbling, hook footed idiot at our club!!

NEVER!!:mad::mad:

Hmmmm...

Whatever helps you rationalise your conflict PB.

Its funny how some of the old stalwarts are now falling into line behind the establishment at every point and backing them up no matter what. Its like holding up a mirror to Dockerland. They appear to criticise every move admin makes, as opposed to many on this site who think they can do no wrong.

I can just imagine the future posting action:

Yeah, well at first I wasn't happy with changing our colours to blue and gold, but opposition supporters seem to like it and now I'm comfortable that we're finally on the right track to success. Go, the generic location Dockers!

Whatever helps you rationalise your conflict PB.

Its funny how some of the old stalwarts are now falling into line behind the establishment at every point and backing them up no matter what. Its like holding up a mirror to Dockerland. They appear to criticise every move admin makes, as opposed to many on this site who think they can do no wrong.

I can just imagine the future posting action:

Yeah, well at first I wasn't happy with changing our colours to blue and gold, but opposition supporters seem to like it and now I'm comfortable that we're finally on the right track to success. Go, the generic location Dockers!

God almighty you are a cretin Reg.

Let's put it this way...

Since 1994 this club has been run like a 3 ring circus by buffoons and incompetent dolts.

That is the Admin and the football department.

As a general rule of thumb we have been a laughing stock of the competition, and that has been indefensible and bloody embarrassing.

So yes, in the past, I have been highly vocal and vitriolic in my criticisms of our club on this board AND at a senior management level AND, occasionally, with board members.

Finally, after years of bitter frustration, I feel comfortable with the direction we are heading.

I couldn't give a rats arse what colours we wear, what friggen song we sing or whether our staff are poached from the Eagles, St Kilda or the Meekatharra Netball Club.

I want our club to play hard, fearless and brutal football. I want us to be genuinely feared by ALL teams.

I want us to win!!

So, you see, I have no conflict. None at all. I am finally at peace with where we are heading and frankly I couldn't give a toss what an anally retentive, backwards looking and thinking, irrelevant twat like you thinks.

Have a nice day.:)

Do you email your mother with that keyboard bushie?

So, to summarise, I'm not very happy with what admin are doing to the club I support. You, on the other hand, never liked the club in the first place, couldn't stand its colours, song, coach appointments, etc, but now its finally morphing into something you think you can be proud of.

Boy, did you waste some years and dollars by becoming a foundation member.