Autopsy Sunburnt

We did exactly as we have every other close game this season. The big difference was failure to execute the long down the line to a boundary throw in. If there was one single moment that cost us the game it was the players allowing that mark.
Yep. Just had to get it to ground. Ugh

We did exactly as we have every other close game this season. The big difference was failure to execute the long down the line to a boundary throw in. If there was one single moment that cost us the game it was the players allowing that mark.

Sending Treacy back was the wrong move. Was he at the contest on the wing or had he moved into defence by then? Idk I’m not rewatching shit.
I also think that late game Treacy move got too much coverage from the AFL media earlier season. Dimma would have prepared for it, and told Andrew to follow him.

How do we even keep supporting this club? How is it even possible? How do we come back from this?

Honestly hate this club by a factor of 10 more than any sad little eagles fan in Suns gear ever could at this point.
Kapow. Consider yourself released.
For your own sake.
Or...
Have a couple of Bex and a lie down.
Works for me.

What’s going to bug me is that Brisbane are right there for the taking. Suns will probably beat them now and get into a prelim. We are so terrible at seizing the moment, individually, as a team. Eliza Reilly wrote about it March and it’s still happening.

Absolutely gutted. Made a detour on my way back from south east Asia just to watch this game live, and they delivered that dumpster fire for three quarters.

Everything I’ve said about Longmuir was proven right. His gameplan sucks - take the handbrake off earlier, not just when it’s desperate in the last quarter.

Got so sick of the happy clappers at the stadium trying to be positive, we lost to a team that’s never even been in finals before, and we did it after forcing ourselves into a position where we had to come back from 26 points down.

That was there for us, and under Longmuir we failed, again.

He isn’t the answer, he isn’t leading us to the promised land. Club needs to make a tough stand and not accept this, bring in someone who can help us take the jump from also ran to genuine contender.

I want to be like Geelong; competing every season. This guy ain’t it.

Sucks for Fyfe, he deserved better than that garbage.

Won't go to the contest, backs away whilst his team mates are under the pump. Going no-where with such a weak footballer in the team.
Week in, week out watching his piss weak efforts.
Get him out..
One of the biggest front runners I’ve ever seen. Watching him live as opposed to on TV was actually quite concerning.

He’s scared, shirks contests, doesn’t go at the ball, basically he’s weak.

Delist.

Kapow. Consider yourself released.
For your own sake.

Absolutely gutted. Made a detour on my way back from south east Asia just to watch this game live, and they delivered that dumpster fire for three quarters.

Everything I’ve said about Longmuir was proven right. His gameplan sucks - take the handbrake off earlier, not just when it’s desperate in the last quarter.

Got so sick of the happy clappers at the stadium trying to be positive, we lost to a team that’s never even been in finals before, and we did it after forcing ourselves into a position where we had to come back from 26 points down.

That was there for us, and under Longmuir we failed, again.

He isn’t the answer, he isn’t leading us to the promised land. Club needs to make a tough stand and not accept this, bring in someone who can help us take the jump from also ran to genuine contender.

I want to be like Geelong; competing every season. This guy ain’t it.

Sucks for Fyfe, he deserved better than that garbage.
Some of us happy clappers are sick of this whining drivel too Swanny.
So sorry about your wasted detour.
You too might try a couple of Bex and a lie down, I find it works wonders.
I'm gutted too...but proud of our boys.

Some of us happy clappers are sick of this whining drivel too Swanny.
So sorry about your wasted detour.
You too might try a couple of Bex and a lie down, I find it works wonders.
I'm gutted too...but proud of our boys.
This is the attitude that’s going to see us never win a premiership.

Don’t be proud of failure.

We were outplayed all night long and then we tease ourselves with a one goal lead with 3 minutes left... before being outplayed some more. Cool.
angry ace ventura GIF
Give me that 2013-2015 team.
The pressure would be applied so heavily on Gold Coast, would’ve been inescapable.
Instead tonight Gold Coast got the first centre clearance and attacked early.
Their first ****ing final. Away. Yet Fremantle shirked the contest for 3 quarters.

Annoyed

Give me that 2013-2015 team.
The pressure would be applied so heavily on Gold Coast, would’ve been inescapable.
Instead tonight Gold Coast got the first centre clearance and attacked early.
Their first ****ing final. Away. Yet Fremantle shirked the contest for 3 quarters.

Annoyed

Yep. And our slowest starter is our captain. You can’t have that from your leader. What’s worse is that it is predictable.

We don’t seem to have it in us to start strong in big games. It’s been a problem for years now. I don’t think any of us believe it hasn’t been looked at and coached. This aspect of our game is a resounding F for 2025.

What’s going to bug me is that Brisbane are right there for the taking. Suns will probably beat them now and get into a prelim. We are so terrible at seizing the moment, individually, as a team. Eliza Reilly wrote about it March and it’s still happening.
The AFL are eventually going to manipulate this into Collingwood/Geelong GF

This is the attitude that’s going to see us never win a premiership.

Don’t be proud of failure.

Don't think anyone has used the word Dockery on this thread yet. I'll go first, tonight was ever so Dockery.

But there are heaps of inner city folk/supporters who just love the fact that it was a great game and we only LOST by a point.
'Oh the boys were so wonderful'
Our supporters need to learn that when you continually fail, then everyone needs to get ANGRY about that and CARE.

There are no guarantees about next season, personally I think our list doesn't run deep enough.
JLo and list management guys, please get real and stop re-signing WAFL level footballers.

Banfield
O'Meara
Sharp
O'Driscoll
Dudley

None of those guys would get a game in any other team that made the top eight.

Surely first year kid Murphy Reid has shown you the big differnce between class and chaff.

Just looking at the replay from the overhead camera when Cox takes the mark after GC bomb it forward, it seems like he doesn't even look up to see Brayshaw run into space on his own. As he falls after taking the mark he faces backwards and the players that run back behind him and to the boundary (Treacy and Ryan) are telling him to go there. Probably doesn't hear Brayshaw through the noise but the other two are directing him to kick it to the boundary. I think there's another short kick missed by Ryan that could have gone to a player on his own further up the boundary that Brayshaw, after being missed the 1st time, points out. It's keeping the ball and taking time off the clock (not much time) vs losing territory and letting the opp. defence set up.

Also shows you when Mac Andrew goes forward. Treacy has already dropped back but then at the ball up in our forward 50m, Andrew goes into our forward line.

Vision is on the AFL saturday night review with Alastair Clarkson and Xander McGuire.

Lying in bed, guts up....still angry. As another poster said, the fact we let gold coast in their first ever final (at our home) throw the first punches and lead us by 24+ points is unforgiveable. We are led by a nice guy and were playing against a ruthless campaigner in Hardwick....guess which team choked.

What theatre! A truly heartbreaking loss, that was very much there for the taking. **** you GC, but well done too, a long while before you got a lick of the icecream even with all your legs up, tastes good don't it?

I watched with an old mate, we drank a box of longneck Bali Drafts (extremely out of character for me, not so much for him). GC just kept taking their moments but our mongrels wouldn't give up and even after this year, they still surprised me!! Crowd was immense!

swanny1234 good to see you show your prickly head like clockwork, your input is weak as warm piss, I enjoy Longmuir's tenure as much to spite you, at this point, as I do hope to see us win the big one.

For me, this has been the year of the ugly Docker fan.

A big **** you to all you fair weather sailors who arent happy with anything less than a 10 goal belting.

Personally I'm glad to be done with you sad sacks for the near future.

Forum aside, the list deficiencies are clear, Wallsy get to work, no resting on your laurels you portly genius. By hook or by crook we need 3 more first round talents, one on each line.

Everyone who is worrying about WC fans at the water cooler on Monday, get a ****in grip.

How good to be free of this weekly vulnerability!

Go Fap over Sam Mitchell you Frawkwits.

Super keen to see what Dudley can do with full AFL fitness and a proper power-to-weight ratio.
One thing I noticed from watching the last 2 mins was that the final centre bounce landed about a metre outside the circle to Witts’ advantage but was not recalled. Darcy had no play on the ball at all.

Went to a scrimmage, finally released by hand to Rowell who scrubs the kick forward.
Pretty sure Darcy got fairly solidly held at that bounce too.

Never going to blame Treacy; not his best moment, but he was so much a part of the team getting that far, and he will beat himself up more than we could. Hope the boys get around him.

It was an exciting game. Lots of strong performances but also too many piss poor performances. We were one Freddy F’up from winning. As Fyfe said, footy can be cruel.

Hard way to lose but overall I enjoyed this season. I’m going to take a break from here to let the waters cool a bit.

Keep your head up everyone. Remember, if you’re ever feeling like it’s too much, reach out to a mate!

That is f%$#ing painful. To go forward we seriously need some of our younger guys with potential to pop next year and make some huge strides. Chapman, NOD, Dudley, Simpson, Draper, Walker, Freddy, Worner, Amiss and Sharp I'm looking at you. Ras(If he stays) and Jonno have made decent strides this year and I thought Ras was one of our best tonight, he really stood up. But one of those 2 need to take a massive leap and become that 4th legit mid.

The club has to have a forensic look at the bottom 4-6 players in this side and improve them over the off season.

I think we have players on the list that could have replaced them immediately and made us better, but if the club doesn’t think so, they need to get some solid B graders that won’t cost us much that shore us up there. To the point where we have enough depth for injuries too

I don’t care how much the coaches love Banfield, the guy isn’t good enough to just be squeezed into whatever position we have available at the time to fit him in. We’ve known this for ages. Get ****ing. Serious.
Ditto JOM. Great rig. Good off field leader, I guess? He’s a liability on the field at this stage of his career. Again, we already know this. Don’t just play him because of sunk cost fallacy from the way too long deal we made for him, he doesn’t improve us whatsoever and never has in his freo era.
Freddie has been mentioned plenty. NOD/Sharp have shown to be disappointing as outside runners. We’ve got to improve our weaknesses.

Autopsy Sunburnt