Autopsy Sunburnt

The club has to have a forensic look at the bottom 4-6 players in this side and improve them over the off season.

I think we have players on the list that could have replaced them immediately and made us better, but if the club doesn’t think so, they need to get some solid B graders that won’t cost us much that shore us up there. To the point where we have enough depth for injuries too

I don’t care how much the coaches love Banfield, the guy isn’t good enough to just be squeezed into whatever position we have available at the time to fit him in. We’ve known this for ages. Get ****ing. Serious.
Ditto JOM. Great rig. Good off field leader, I guess? He’s a liability on the field at this stage of his career. Again, we already know this. Don’t just play him because of sunk cost fallacy from the way too long deal we made for him, he doesn’t improve us whatsoever and never has in his freo era.
Freddie has been mentioned plenty. NOD/Sharp have shown to be disappointing as outside runners. We’ve got to improve our weaknesses.
Yes the banfield one is frustrating players like him you don't keep around for 10 bloody years.

There ceiling and ability is a 5/6 year career.

He has lingered around the fringe forever and he is a limited footballer with a Low footy IQ.

Similar to Ethan Hughes in a way you keep limited footballers on your list for a long time your asking for trouble when they ain't up to it.

You look at most premiership sides of the modern era and they have suffered a close heartbreaking loss in finals a few years before winning the premiership.

Brisbane had about 3 years of finals heartbreak before winning it last year. And a lot of close losses.

Collingwood lost a prelim by 1 point the year before the premiership.

Geelong are always around the mark and even going back to the mid 2000s the nick Davis game was pre there dynasty.

Richmond under Hardwick lost 3 EFs in a row between 2013-2015 before there dynasty.

Maybe last night was officially our turn.

In 19 finals we haven't had a game decided by under a kick until last night.

Hey commiserations everyone. As a neutral I was happy for either team to win and it totally could have been yours, but just wasn't to be. Really feel for you. Amazing game of football and I have no doubt Freo will be challenging next year. It's a great team you've got there.

Also our lack of presence at ground level has been below AFL standard for years. How many times tonight did everyone fly at the ball and GC had 3 or 4 on their own at ground level? Happens far too often, in defence and attack. Need smalls at both ends
Not sure about this year but last season we were bottom 4 in both F50 and D50 spoilages.

Is it a structural thing or players inability?

Hey commiserations everyone. As a neutral I was happy for either team to win and it totally could have been yours, but just wasn't to be. Really feel for you. Amazing game of football and I have no doubt Freo will be challenging next year. It's a great team you've got there.
Thanks.

But I don’t see us challenging.

Suns will be better plus three first round picks, Swans will be better, Saints picking up three best players and Dogs will be better as well.

With the current coach, we could miss the finals again or just lose in the first round.

What theatre! A truly heartbreaking loss, that was very much there for the taking. **** you GC, but well done too, a long while before you got a lick of the icecream even with all your legs up, tastes good don't it?

I watched with an old mate, we drank a box of longneck Bali Drafts (extremely out of character for me, not so much for him). GC just kept taking their moments but our mongrels wouldn't give up and even after this year, they still surprised me!! Crowd was immense!

swanny1234 good to see you show your prickly head like clockwork, your input is weak as warm piss, I enjoy Longmuir's tenure as much to spite you, at this point, as I do hope to see us win the big one.

For me, this has been the year of the ugly Docker fan.

A big **** you to all you fair weather sailors who arent happy with anything less than a 10 goal belting.

Personally I'm glad to be done with you sad sacks for the near future.

Forum aside, the list deficiencies are clear, Wallsy get to work, no resting on your laurels you portly genius. By hook or by crook we need 3 more first round talents, one on each line.

Everyone who is worrying about WC fans at the water cooler on Monday, get a ****in grip.

How good to be free of this weekly vulnerability!

Go Fap over Sam Mitchell you Frawkwits.
People like you are the reason this club isn’t going to win things.

As a fanbase we need to start demanding more, expecting success and not settling for this.

The top sides don’t. Do you think a Geelong fan would be happy with a first round exit vs Gold Coast? Do you think a Collingwood fan would?

I loved the game, I had a great time too with my best mate, but ultimately we fell short. We need more, we deserve more.

Probably did enough to keep JLo safe which is gonna cost us any chance of a flag in the long run IMO

Ryan - bombs away every single time , the more he gets it the worse we play

Pearce - horrible for 3 quarters great in the last , probably the worst kick in the AFL now Fyfes gone

Worner - some OK work late but early on was too nervy and bland

Chappy - hasn’t come on like we would have hoped , not giving us enough drive out of the backline and for a bloke who likes to try to beat tackles he’s absolutely shit at it

Clark - tougher than he looks , great year but completely shut down by a crap defensive fwd journeyman tonight

Cox - decent year , did an OK job on King helped by some easy misses

Banners - Good / OK / Shithouse all in the same game as usual

JOM - horrible game , a mile off it in the clinches and burnt off constantly in transition

NOD - horrible game …. a fumbley indecisive mess ATM

Erasmus - showed a bit with the ball but very slow getting back to help the defenders

Darcy - Flogged by Witts , useless down the line …. go away campaigner

Jackson - Dropped 15 marks at least , flogged by Witts but did some OK ground ball stuff ….. he’s a ruckman , play him there

Young - lifted late but was pretty bad for most of the game

Brayshaw - almost dragged us over the line , took the points over Anderson I thought

Serong - gritty as always , good game but fell off Rowell a lot in tackles

Freddy - it’s all been said …. coward

Bolton - pretty crap , had a couple of moments …. worth about half the 2 X 1st Rd picks and million in the salary cap we paid to get him

Murphy Reid - embarrassing the way this bloke had to carry us in the 1st half GTFO of here if you want any joy in your career mate

Amiss - Collins used him like a prison wife till they finally sat him on the bench and gave him a hemorrhoid pillow , should of been dropped months ago

Treacy - was OK till that last minute catastrophe , used the ball poorly all night

Dudley - couple of useful goals but our chase out of the Fwd50 was poor all night

Voss - Another great game tried to lift the team but to no avail

All in all an OK year with a disappointing finish , pretty obvious we have been passed by Hawks , Crows , Suns and will struggle to close the gap to the powerhouse teams as always

JLo’s fate will probably be decided by if we can fend off the Saints , Swans , Dogs Port and probably North next year and hold our position in finals

Personally

I doubt it

Keep losing finals and players will request trades to teams that actually win them

There’s no guarantees of improvement next year. No guarantees of a good injury run. The time was now. We dismally failed.
Sydney will be good next year, Dogs better, Saints are going to have half a new team.

We could miss the 8 again next year. The time was now, the opportunity was missed.

Sydney will be good next year, Dogs better, Saints are going to have half a new team.

We could miss the 8 again next year. The time was now, the opportunity was missed.

I’m not sure GWS will make it back. Geelong and Collingwood, surely, at some point drop down the ladder. Nothing is guaranteed.

Port will improve, Saints, North, Eagles will get better but hopefully we can match it with the development of our relatively young core.

I’m not sure GWS will make it back. Geelong and Collingwood, surely, at some point drop down the ladder. Nothing is guaranteed.

Port will improve, Saints, North, Eagles will get better but hopefully we can match it with the development of our relatively young core.
We’ve said Geelong will drop down the ladder for years, it never happens.

Seriously I couldn’t be more jealous of those pricks.

We were very flat & slow and I can recall only one passage of play when we ran in a wave. Very noticeable that there were VERY FEW occasions when one of our players looped around the player with a mark or free kick to take a hand pass and put pressure on the opponents.

Only thing that I enjoyed was Murphy Reid putting out those impossible handpasses in the merest fraction of a second. He must have incredible vision and awareness.

Not when they get A graders for nothing. Getting Bailey Smith for a pick in the 20's is a joke.

This year they will get Marshall for unders as well.
Sure, but even last year without Bailey they were contending, and yes they’ll probably get Marshall.

It doesn’t change the fact though that the main reason they are winning things, and people want to go there is because they have the best coach in the league.

If for arguments sake, Chris Scott of Damian Hardwick coached the Dockers, I guarantee you both Chad Warner and Kozzie Pickett would have requested trades instead of resigning.

Longmuir isn’t enough of a draw card.

Sure, but even last year without Bailey they were contending, and yes they’ll probably get Marshall.

It doesn’t change the fact though that the main reason they are winning things, and people want to go there is because they have the best coach in the league.

If for arguments sake, Chris Scott of Damian Hardwick coached the Dockers, I guarantee you both Chad Warner and Kozzie Pickett would have requested trades instead of resigning.

Longmuir isn’t enough of a draw card.

They also pick the recruits to get, and rarely pick badly.

Cameron, Dangerfield, Smith while we get JOM, Jackson, Bolton and we pay more for them.

Cameron, Dangerfield and Smith are genuine top 30 players in the comp.

They do have a number of advantages, and they make the most of it. How they look after Stengle is very impressive.

Our players last night reflected our coach - timid and indecisive. I'm not going to go full Swanny, but it's getting harder to see this guy getting us to the flag.

If we don't make the grand final next year he should be moved on. We still have 4 - 6 years of potential with this core, if we waste another year I'll hand the pitchforks out myself.

They also pick the recruits to get, and rarely pick badly.

Cameron, Dangerfield, Smith while we get JOM, Jackson, Bolton and we pay more for them.

Cameron, Dangerfield and Smith are genuine top 30 players in the comp.

They do have a number of advantages, and they make the most of it. How they look after Stengle is very impressive.
Getting players of that ilk just isn't realistic for us. It's homesick WA boys or journeymen desperate for a second or third chance on a list is all we have access to.

Autopsy Sunburnt