Sunraysia Football league

• Thread starter Thread starter ringo1

What are peoples thoughts on Mick Faulkhead as a coach to take Red Cliffs into the future?

He has the playing credentials although I feel he may not be the man for a young side like the one out Reddy way. He doesn't seem like a natural leader to me, he actually seems selfish to be honest.
They look to have some good kids coming through but I think they would be better suited to someone that leads from the front.

Any thoughts?

Hickey can kick a bag of 10+, but as you said IF he kicks straight, and seeing him at training last night their is no way! 1 goal 10 is more like it!

Irymple Interleague Squad Members:

DeAngelis
Eagle
Simms
Curran
Carn
Eaton
Calvi

Badds, can you maybe reveal the rest of the squad for us. I recall seeing the Red Cliffs guys; Treloar, Dowdy, Lee.

Interesting the see your squad Willy D. 4 guys from the undefeated Mildura and 6 from Robinvale. Thoughts behind that? Any alliances there??

The Nest said:
Irymple Interleague Squad Members:

DeAngelis
Eagle
Simms
Curran
Carn
Eaton
Calvi

Badds, can you maybe reveal the rest of the squad for us. I recall seeing the Red Cliffs guys; Treloar, Dowdy, Lee.

Interesting the see your squad Willy D. 4 guys from the undefeated Mildura and 6 from Robinvale. Thoughts behind that? Any alliances there n

no worries nest its a squad of 47 as follows

mildura-anstey,hosking,cardew,deckert, rossitor,ryan.o,carmichael
imps-hards 2,d.hickey,r.doherty,thornton,ridley,b.clohesy,m.hickey
irymple-simms,eagle,donato,carn,curran,eaton,calvi,morris
rob-p.zappia,denaro,smith,harley,falvo
south-haase,gathers,spivey,cook,thomas,mcdonald,fox,oshannesy
-red cliffs-lee,dowdy,treloar
wenty-rigby 2,jackson,cumming,lawson
mer-keatch,hunt,congress..........

chalkie said:
I thought I had worked it out also, however my investigation lead me to an identity in the earlier games, not the seniors. Hopefully all will revealed by the weekend:D:D
Badds, what's the news on belly, will he be up and running this weekend or doing his best work from the bench? Which would be nice as he's kicked 24 goals in his last 2 games againist the doggies:(. Just remind him that at his age (over 30) it's always best to take an extra week when you think your right :p

belly wont be rite this week chalkie... big game 4 both clubs we will have 2-3 quality players back should be a good game.. i also intend on telling cumming and king who will be back this week bout gutsy and how he labbelled them both to be soft a while back... and chalkie gutsy doesnt play twos...

badds said:
belly wont be rite this week chalkie... big game 4 both clubs we will have 2-3 quality players back should be a good game.. i also intend on telling cumming and king who will be back this week bout gutsy and how he labbelled them both to be soft a while back... and chalkie gutsy doesnt play twos...

Forgot about Morris, he didnt train last night so slipped my mind. You wouldnt expect Fox to play, so will be interesting to see whether both Daniel Hickey & Deckert play if not could be a lack of height there.

You seem pretty certain about the identity of our mate Gutsy. He wouldnt happen to be in the rep squad aswell would he??

Who picks the interleague squad and how do the pick the players?? Do they just go on the name or who is playing good footy up until now?? i think a few of the players in the squad r a bit lucky as there form might not warrant selection!

The Nest said:
Forgot about Morris, he didnt train last night so slipped my mind. You wouldnt expect Fox to play, so will be interesting to see whether both Daniel Hickey & Deckert play if not could be a lack of height there.

You seem pretty certain about the identity of our mate Gutsy. He wouldnt happen to be in the rep squad aswell would he??

yeah the ruck is a slight concern nest... as 4 our mate gutsy yeah hes in the squad and look he aint going to admit its him because hes had a crack at a few people and the best thing he can do is deny deny deny... but the powers to be and administration of this site can land the knockout punch which im rite onto nest........

Morton said:
Who picks the interleague squad and how do the pick the players?? Do they just go on the name or who is playing good footy up until now?? i think a few of the players in the squad r a bit lucky as there form might not warrant selection!

coaching commitee picks squad morton... who shouldnt be in??

Ibis100 said:
Badds what odds will you give me for your workmate kicking 4 goals this weekend against you guys. I reckon he is for a biggun. You must be putting him on that treadmill at work cause he seems to be getting better and better every week.

hope th big fella stays quiet.. maybe still hungova from last weekend had a massive weekend on the sauce in adelaide i hear.....

im not going to name people but if u went through the list there would be players who have not even been in there club best.. coaching commitee of who?

badds said:
yeah the ruck is a slight concern nest... as 4 our mate gutsy yeah hes in the squad and look he aint going to admit its him because hes had a crack at a few people and the best thing he can do is deny deny deny... but the powers to be and administration of this site can land the knockout punch which im rite onto nest........

i thought you might have been sniffing in that direction. They do hold the power and the key to everyones identity.

Morton, the criteria for the squad selection will be fully explained in this Friday's Sunny Daily through an article from the Coach of the Squad. But, as you say there are some players who havent performed yet and some that have. I know I havent had a kick yet and Im in it.

The Nest said:
i thought you might have been sniffing in that direction. They do hold the power and the key to everyones identity.

Morton, the criteria for the squad selection will be fully explained in this Friday's Sunny Daily through an article from the Coach of the Squad. But, as you say there are some players who havent performed yet and some that have. I know I havent had a kick yet and Im in it.

It would be great to think that the guys who are selected in the final squad are playing good footy. However with several weeks to the carnival I'm sure some of the guys that have had an interrupted start to the season will be firing. I know foxy quiet often played very well in the interleague matches after being ok by his standards early in the year. So there's nothing wrong with guys who have proven themself at this level to be an automatic selection.

Badd's i suggest that the selecting group learns from last year where several old players found it hard to back up on the sunday and play their best footy. To be asked to play 3 games in 1 half days is a big ask, so I think this structure suits the younger players (early-mid 20's) and not blokes in their 30's

The Nest said:

Who is in the selection commitee?

chalkie said:
It would be great to think that the guys who are selected in the final squad are playing good footy. However with several weeks to the carnival I'm sure some of the guys that have had an interrupted start to the season will be firing. I know foxy quiet often played very well in the interleague matches after being ok by his standards early in the year. So there's nothing wrong with guys who have proven themself at this level to be an automatic selection.

Badd's i suggest that the selecting group learns from last year where several old players found it hard to back up on the sunday and play their best footy. To be asked to play 3 games in 1 half days is a big ask, so I think this structure suits the younger players (early-mid 20's) and not blokes in their 30's

agree chalkie thats a good point u make and is something that has been spoken about at selection already, certainly have 2 have a good mix....
experience,youth and leg speed.....

badds said:
no worries nest its a squad of 47 as follows

mildura-anstey,hosking,cardew,deckert, rossitor,ryan.o,carmichael
imps-hards 2,d.hickey,r.doherty,thornton,ridley,b.clohesy,m.hickey
irymple-simms,eagle,donato,carn,curran,eaton,calvi,morris
rob-p.zappia,denaro,smith,harley,falvo
south-haase,gathers,spivey,cook,thomas,mcdonald,fox,oshannesy
-red cliffs-lee,dowdy,treloar
wenty-rigby 2,jackson,cumming,lawson
mer-keatch,hunt,congress..........

Surley there's kids going around at Wenty with better form than Lawson. The 5 goals he's kicked are probably from the only 5 kicks he's had all year! The same with Calvi too, he hasn't done much. Young Mentiplay has been playing alright footy by the sounds of it out at Irymple, why shouldn't he get a go? Thomas and O'Shannessy have hardly been in South's best all year. Dowdy is in the same boat.

It's good though to see Treloar get a go. He always gives his best no matter what. I think it's only his 2nd or 3rd year of footy.

To me it looks a fairly strong list this year and I hope all of those who are named are serious on competing and we don't have a mass pull-out like we have in the last few years ... :thumbsd::thumbsd:

The reason for so many players pulling out of the inter-league side is that their is no incentives to play! You get to keep a pair of socks and a jumper that you wear out camping! The league needs to get rid of the freeloaders that tag along to inter-league competition and the money they save on these people, back to the players, like giving them thier playing jumper for starters!

oorab said:
The reason for so many players pulling out of the inter-league side is that their is no incentives to play! You get to keep a pair of socks and a jumper that you wear out camping! The league needs to get rid of the freeloaders that tag along to inter-league competition and the money they save on these people, back to the players, like giving them thier playing jumper for starters!

Totally agree that the players should be allowed to keep the jumper after representing the league, as most leagues do. In the past the league would allow the interleague guys keep their jumper, which was something they would wear to their club's training nights with pride.
However I think you're being a bit harsh on the guys that support the players by making sure that the only thing the players have to do is play. Remember that these guys don't get paid and is done for the love of the game ( there might be some ego involved). So they do deserve some reward for their efforts.

Anyway I reckon this year, the league will be represented by one of it's strongest teams since 99, and this is no disrespect to past interleague teams. Just that the new players into the comp are high quality and by reports are keen to play interleague. Hopefully all coaches will encourage their players to play.

Badds, Have you guys decided to include a promising youngster from each club? if so, good idea.

Yes there are some extra people "officials" that need to be involved with the side i.e team managers, trainers and water boys. But looking around last year their were mabye 10-15 extras that i don't think did anything but stand around and look good on the sat night, who all got one of the jumpers the same as the players! admittedly alot more people had to be involved last year due to the fact it was held in Mildura, but they were also there the year before!

oorab said:
Yes there are some extra people "officials" that need to be involved with the side i.e team managers, trainers and water boys. But looking around last year their were mabye 10-15 extras that i don't think did anything but stand around and look good on the sat night, who all got one of the jumpers the same as the players! admittedly alot more people had to be involved last year due to the fact it was held in Mildura, but they were also there the year before!

Yes, the old jacket and dandruff brigade! They're involved with most leagues interleague teams. The Central Murray is probably the worst. The SFL would be the worst I have come across in giving gear to the players. Surely a jumper for those representing the league for the first time is not out of the question.

Yaaablett said:
Badds, Have you guys decided to include a promising youngster from each club? if so, good idea.

Terrific idea yaaaablett, what about playing older players on alternate days to allow for team balance and experience and let the young blokes get a real taste of it

Yaaablett said:

yeah we looked at that and decided it was a good idea.. we will take about 28 away so some of those promising youngsters will make the team it will be a really good learning curve 4 them.. even if a couple of those youngsters miss out just being in the squad and being at the training sessions will be good 4 them... with the format the way it is we will try and play most blokes in 2 out of the 3 games.. will be very hectic running the bench id say....

Yeah, I meant including youngsters in the training squad. I reckon the league still must pick the side that they believe can win their division. If that includes Calvi, Carmichael and Lawson so be it.