Autopsy Suns defeat Blues.

Lets not categorize rowe as useless (yet again) . He is just not suited to Tom Lynch getting silver service. I doubt that JW would have been able to stop him either. Our strategy was to stop their run- which we did in the first half. Its just that we didnt take advantage of our scoring opportunities (whats new) and Tom was kicking them from everywhere. I agree that rowe is not mobile enough to take on tom lynch in that mood- maybe Rance might be able to
Rowe has worked and serviced our list for years.
He really would be a depth player for us ,just that because we have no depth of KPP we use him exclusively.
Wouldnt see him at too many other clubs.
He should mark more,used only as a forward in the past when we had zip.[filler]
He can spoil and has a tall heavy frame...not really Afl without the proper array of skills he is often non supportive to our back six structure at this stage.[no link ups]
This has been brought up many times,and we may yet need a taller larger defender to take the Super talls such as Lynch,Daniher,Buddy..they need to mark and run as well.

Sooo, whadidimiss?

Anyway good learning experience , young kids and all that.

Good tackling stats and the fade-out was in the third quarter not the first or second like it was against the Tigers and Dee's .

Not sure what all the hand wringing and vitriol is about. We dominated play in the first half and could easily have been 4 goals up, not too shabby. Fought the game out.

Lots of positives but people want to validate long held positions and can't let go.

It's not fashionable to praise him but full marks to Levi. Kicking action looks pretty damn good . Hope it brings him a bit of success .

Lets not categorize rowe as useless (yet again) . He is just not suited to Tom Lynch getting silver service. I doubt that JW would have been able to stop him either. Our strategy was to stop their run- which we did in the first half. Its just that we didnt take advantage of our scoring opportunities (whats new) and Tom was kicking them from everywhere. I agree that rowe is not mobile enough to take on tom lynch in that mood- maybe Rance might be able to

JW couldn't stop him and neither could Plowman and I think Marchbank (or was it Macreadie ) also lost a one out.

Super talent + exceptional delivery + rule change (holding and arm chops etc) mean trouble .

Plus he was ON. Marked everything and couldn't miss.

Team defence failed.

Unfortunately he comes across as a bit of a grub when it comes to $.

He gets paid $1M per year by the club but the only time he talks to the media is a paid gig on the Footy Show?

Apparently not at all happy being asked to spend time playing forward.

Smells badly of "it's all about me".

This will not endear him to many people..

Do not disagree he does come across as a bit spoilt. He is nothing worse than that though. Just weird to hear some fans want to boo such a talented and entertaining player.

Hahaha... Yep, because the Carlton board on bigfooty is where all the cool kids I know hang out.

Fair dinkum, you're getting closer to the end, old friend. Surely you've realised life's too short to waste every waking hour on fan forums? Aren't you like 60? And you spend your ever wasted life making pissweak one liners on the internet. Wake up man.

Hope Weitering becomes a star. Just calling out a weakness where I see it.

Sent from my SM-T550 using Tapatalk
"Where all the cool kids I know hang out" what are you, like 12?

You HOPE Weitering becomes a star? Shop him around at trade time and you'll soon find out. Maybe when you know a bit more about footy than Auskick you can awaken from your slumber.

Spot on-my summary too
We all saw Lynch coming.
Rowe was spent pretty much after one quarter.plus then =>double team -what double team ? and too slow anyway.
Should have put Weitering on him all day or after one quarter.
So this shows we are missing at least a few elite key position players ...Re our list depth.
Suns have an inspired list and we battled them hard.
Our midfield could not keep up with theirs.
Lynch, Matera and Wright feast on top shelf delivery (which our forwards can only dream of).
Lynch works over Rowe with his running power.

Great post! I think we are a big chance of getting the wooden spoon this year but that's ok if it's through playing the youth. We are pumping games into our youth more than I thought, short term pain for long term gain. I don't really want to see us go anymore hardcore than we are though.
Well said. Ladder position is irrelevant at years end. Getting games into the kids and learning our gameplan is far more important.

Well Terry Wallace, ( yeh yeh I know ) gave us a big tick yesterday, said Carlton where very very organised at times, and putting 4 quarters together will come, was impressed.
OK thanks Tezzla , not often he pays us compliments...

Only highlighted how fast Saad is too. Neither could make ground ahead or up on the other whether chasing or out on front.

Look, without wanting to sound all "my car is quicker" and that , in the only real time it was a fair foot race Pickett smoked him.

Marking duel, forward flank, ball hits the deck Pickett is within arms length of Sad, in front position heading back to goal BUT on the outside lane. He and Saad take off, Pickett gets a 2.0 metres on Saad in 7 or so strides BUT he has the outside lane and decides to cut back in , I thought he was cooked here (anybody else get flashbacks to Jeffy getting run down by Fletcher at this point) not only does he do it but he takes a bounce!!! Saad gets closer because the angle favoured him but Pickett pulls away again.

Pickett then decelerates slightly to steady to put the ball across his body and just misses.

Saad had failed to lay a finger on him after the first 3 strides despite have multiple advantages.

Like the quote goes "Pickett is fast, he so fast he makes Saad look....not fast"

Look, without wanting to sound all "my car is quicker" and that , in the only real time it was a fair foot race Pickett smoked him.

Marking duel, forward flank, ball hits the deck Pickett is within arms length of Sad, in front position heading back to goal BUT on the outside lane. He and Saad take off, Pickett gets a 2.0 metres on Saad in 7 or so strides BUT he has the outside lane and decides to cut back in , I thought he was cooked here (anybody else get flashbacks to Jeffy getting run down by Fletcher at this point) not only does he do it but he takes a bounce!!! Saad gets closer because the angle favoured him but Pickett pulls away again.

Pickett then decelerates slightly to steady to put the ball across his body and just misses.

Saad had failed to lay a finger on him after the first 3 strides despite have multiple advantages.

Like the quote goes "Pickett is fast, he so fast he makes Saad look....not fast"
He may not have put it together yet..........but he will.
Excitement machine have we.

Gee this Weitering bashing is a bit unfair I would have thought. Are we talking about the same Weitering who nearly got his head knocked off last week but came back on against Essendon? Kids a star, he is going to have crap games as are most of the kids and the senior players. Next

I for one loved the game Saturday, heaps of highlights to note from our kids.

1. SOSage gets 3 great goals. He even spent time around the contest. Looks so composed and seems to have the time to move about and make a clear decision. People have commented that he is slow but I think he just looks like things slow down for him. Moves through traffic very well

2. Pickett could have been the talk of the town with our smells had we won and it he kicked straighter under pressure. He looks faster than the supposedly faster players in the AFL.

3. Curnow could of been applauded rather than lauded for his game had he kicked those 2 set shots. Histime in the middle, although short was very good our forward 50 pressure was also part of his doing.

4. The game plan looks highly intelligent and worked for a half, the suns switched it up and got the ball into saads and halls hands off half back. I'd say our forward pressure eased off and they got extremely lucky slipping tackles and taking huge risks with ball movement. On another day we would of clobbered them and scored out the back 4-5 times. I could count that many times the ball bounced their way or those two players under huge pressure broke through. I could say that Gary Ablett has returned to his seagull ways of getting cheap ball near r wry free kick or short 20 m mark. This will be the downfall for GC as they rely on too little players running the game. Hall, Ablett and Lynch, if they had been stopped the game would of been different. I know every team has a few standouts but our regular big contributors didn't perform to their regular lofty heights it was more of steam approach and it's coming along very well.

5. Rowe may have been beaten on the lead all day as was plowman on some occasions. But don't forget these guys were huge contributors in the wet and we're off 6 day break. I could count 5/6 times were Rowe smashed his direct opppnent when it was one on one rather than a lead. THIS IS HIS JOB. The leading players are for weitering, plowman and marchbank. Rowe was amazing when it sat on his head. And he's taking marks more. If our defence was set up better inside 50 and the ball from GC half back hadof been slowed down we may of had the time and space to get across and spoil.

6. Fisher will be a gun, that goal on the wing and his composure with the ball adds to the already improving players like SPS. Sps looked so good in the first half his ball movement was always to space finding an impossible pass to a player via left or right foot. If this all clicks together we will have so much variety of player through the middle.

7. Bring on Polson (for Daisy) and KJ (for macreadie) and we get that extra depth forward/back and through the middle/wing for port Adelaide. We normally match up very well.

Bring on this blue feeling.

Well Terry Wallace, ( yeh yeh I know ) gave us a big tick yesterday, said Carlton where very very organised at times, and putting 4 quarters together will come, was impressed.
OK thanks Tezzla , not often he pays us compliments...

Can't think of a time under Bolton where we were really taken apart and didn't fight it out. Second half on Saturday we were in trouble yet fought it out and only lost by 4 goals and this is with a bunch of kids.

Says a lot about the Coaching and the growing culture of the club.

Can't think of a time under Bolton where we were really taken apart and didn't fight it out. Second half on Saturday we were in trouble yet fought it out and only lost by 4 goals and this is with a bunch of kids.

Says a lot about the Coaching and the growing culture of the club.
Agree.

If AFL had its time over again, it would not have scheduled Carlton for a Friday night game on the back of two 6-day breaks.

Agree.

If AFL had its time over again, it would not have scheduled Carlton for a Friday night game on the back of two 6-day breaks.
Probably hoping we fail so they can feel justified in their lack of scheduling us there this season. Reckon they also want us to beg for the games back.

Autopsy Suns defeat Blues.