Suns Rep Footy

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
After seeing Andrew Dillon's comments today that essentially confirmed State of Origin will return next year in a Victoria v Western Australia at Optus Stadium on Saturday February 14, I thought it would be a good opportunity to start a rep footy thread to discuss future selections given a few of our lads are likely to feature next year. Obviously Noah Anderson and Matt Rowell will get selected to play for the Big V and it looks very likely that Ben King will partner Jeremy Cameron as the two key forwards that line up for Victoria. Wil Powell is probably our only player that has a shot at making the West Australian team. Can't see Swallow or Farrar making the WA state team.

There's also some clarity on the eligibility rules (state you spent most of your teenage years in) and it likely means Lachie Weller would be classed as a Queenslander for State of Origin. Hopefully the AFL allows Queensland to assemble a state team in the coming years because we should have plenty of representatives in that team and it'll be a great showcase of how far we've come as a state when it comes to footy up here.

SUNS REP FOOTY HISTORY

Australia - Trent McKenzie, Zac Smith

Indigenous - Harley Bennell, Jarrod Harbrow, Steven May
Australia - Jarrod Harbrow

Indigenous - Jarrod Harbrow, Jarrod Garlett, Sean Lemmens

Ireland - Pearce Hanley

All Stars - Lachie Weller

Indigenous - Joel Jeffrey, Ben Long

And there it is. AFL State of Origin is officially returning on February 14, 2026 - Western Australia vs Victoria @ Optus Stadium. So, now the questions is - how many of our players get chosen? Assuming it's only WA and Vic competing, I would think Anderson, Rowell, Collins and King would be just about certain to be picked for the Big V and Powell should get into the Sangropers team. Mac Andrew might be a chance for Victoria as well, but I doubt it. What do you guys think?

i dont want any SUNS selected.
its a farce

with daylight saving, even a night game will start at 430pm Perth time - and thats often hottest part of the day in Perth
plus the grounds over there are notoriously hard at start of season as the dry hot summer hardens the sandy subsoil

keep rowell, ando and anyone else well away from this tired, stupid concept

Our first ever state representative! You'd have to think there's a good chance Noz will join Rowell in the Victorian team and I think Powell is a good chance to make the WA team. King might make the Vic team as well. I guess we'll find out over the next few weeks as they announce more players.

How big are the squad sizes. Are they going in with an extended bench?

They named 27 players on each team for the Bushfire state game back in 2020 so maybe it will be something similar to that? More bench players to rotate should reduce the likelyhood of injury so I suspect they will do that.

I'm actually really interested to see how Rowelly goes when he's surrounded by the best in the business. Will he still shine or will superstars like the Bont overshadow him?

They named 27 players on each team for the Bushfire state game back in 2020 so maybe it will be something similar to that? More bench players to rotate should reduce the likelyhood of injury so I suspect they will do that.

I'm actually really interested to see how Rowelly goes when he's surrounded by the best in the business. Will he still shine or will superstars like the Bont overshadow him?

I dont think it is going to be a heavily contested game, much like the bushfire games. Lots of outside run and carry with bugger all pressure. Will probably suit Noz a lot more!

You're probably right. I reckon there's a fairly good chance that Rowell, Noz and Daicos will all get named and it'll be a Carey reunion in the Big V.

Noah has been confirmed as a player for Victoria alongside Rowelly in the upcoming State of Origin match v WA. Carey Grammar will be ecstatic to have the three schoolmates playing together for the first time at the professional level.

Do we think Trac will also get selected for the Big V? How about Powelly for the Black Swans? Kingy? Collo?

Noah has been confirmed as a player for Victoria alongside Rowelly in the upcoming State of Origin match v WA. Carey Grammar will be ecstatic to have the three schoolmates playing together for the first time at the professional level.

Do we think Trac will also get selected for the Big V? How about Powelly for the Black Swans? Kingy? Collo?

Being the selfish Suns person I am, I'd prefer if none were selected, even though I recognise the huge honour it is for any player to represent their State...and congratulate them for doing so.

How are they being selected?
Is it from phone votes through the app?

Without studying the field, I’d say unlikely that petracca get selected.

Being the selfish Suns person I am, I'd prefer if none were selected, even though I recognise the huge honour it is for any player to represent their State...and congratulate them for doing so.
I'm guessing it's because you're worried about injuries? I've seen several people suggest this, but I'm inclined to side with the players like Gawn, Cripps and Bont who said they're very likely to being playing scratch matches at that point in time any way so the risk of injury is there regardless. Just look at Errol Gulden injuring himself in our preseason game against the Swans last year.

How are they being selected?
Is it from phone votes through the app?

Without studying the field, I’d say unlikely that petracca get selected.
Max Gawn alluded to Petracca and Oliver potentially being selected for Victoria with a genuine 'that'd be nice' comment the other day followed by discussing the advantage they would have if it happened considering they've played so much footy together.

Garry Lyon is picking the Vic side (does he have a Demons bias?) and Glen Jakovich is picking the WA side. Selection based on where the club that you're drafted from is based i.e. Rowell & Anderson are eligible for Victoria because they were drafted from Oakleigh. Although there has been one exception to the rule so far with Kysaiah Pickett granted permission to represent Western Australia given he spent the majority of his childhood in WA and is a Noongar man, despite being drafted from a SANFL club when he was living with his uncle Byron towards the end of his secondary schooling.

If this iteration of Origin succeeds, then it's possible we'll see a Queensland state team formed in the coming years and a player like Lachie Weller will be eligible to represent the Maroons because he was drafted out of Broadbeach/Southport, but he could also request an exemption like Kozzy due to spending the majority of his childhood in Tassie. At this point it's not clear whether the Ashcrofts are considered Queenslanders or Victorians, but if they are considered Queenslanders then our hypothetical state team will be considerably stronger than it would've been without them. I'd be very interested to see a Queensland state team play in a few years from now because we've seen a dramatic jump in first round picks coming out of the Sunshine State in the last few years and I reckon it'd be a very formidable side in 2-4 years from now when a lot of them start hitting their prime years.

Plus, it'd just be great to have a state side to get behind, especially when your club side isn't doing so well. We've seen how well that's worked with Queensland in the NRL's State of Origin and I'd love to see the state passion carried across into the AFL. There would be no shortage of Suns players in a Queensland state team!

who would be your 2026 qld state team GC2015

Any I’ve missed below?

Uwland Andrews Fletcher
Zorko payne Coleman
Bowes Ashcroft Ashcroft
Cameron hipwood Weller
Walter Gallop read

R: ?, keays, Graham

B: uwland, Patterson, Addinsall, Murray

who would be your 2026 qld state team GC2015

Any I’ve missed below?

Uwland Andrews Fletcher
Zorko payne Coleman
Bowes Ashcroft Ashcroft
Cameron hipwood Weller
Walter Gallop read

R: ?, keays, Graham

B: uwland, Patterson, Addinsall, Murray
That's pretty close to my QLD state team. Assuming he's eligible, Allir likely gets the nod ahead of Payne for mine or we could play all three tall defenders if the match ups require it. I'd probably put Chol in the ruck and have him rotating with Read. Bailey Scott and Sam Marshall picked before Addinsall and Murray (at the moment). Maybe one of Leo or Rogers if they show something as a small forward. I suspect Dan Annable is going to show us something very compelling in 2026 that would likely result in state selection. Also, you probably have to go with Vossy as the coach.

I'd be very curious to see how this team goes if Queensland is permitted to play Origin over the next few years. We're pretty young, but we have plenty of talent! Give it a few years and I reckon we'll be seriously challenging the likes of SA and WA.

Suns Rep Footy