Supporter Stereotypes

Cheersquad participants,I think we could all agree upon are serious nuffies of the highest order,much like, say,a competitive ten pin bowler!:o

I don't know, some competitive ten pin bowlers are pretty cool.

1482681_o.gif

Cheersquad members are definitely nuffies though.

Whilst some *my team* supporters can be feral (just showing im not completely one eyed), *your team* along with *least favourite team* are the biggest pack of *insult(s), preferably 'feral' or with bogan/criminal connotations* going around.

/thread

Being a member of both Fremantle and West Coast (only because the rest of my family supports West Coast) means I spend pretty much every weekend at the footy.

For both teams, my seats are on the northern wing, near the interchange bench. Being seated here means that I have a first hand view of the visiting team's cheersquad make their way past us and to their seats behind the goals.

Over the years I have noticed big differences in the people that make up each teams cheersquad, and it got me thinking about the types of people that support each club.

So far I have:

Collingwood: Bogans, Ferals, Single mums, Crack whores

West Coast: Businessmen, Champagne sippers, People who are generally up themselves

I thought i'd put it to the bay

What Type of people support each club?

Nice idea for a thread :thumbsu:

What I think of when I hear each club's name:

Adelaide Crows: Old pensioners sipping their South Australian wine while stroking their mustaches, pondering how their team could improve

Carlton Blues: Messy-browed, obese, rusty-voiced truck drivers who sit on the couch..drinking Carlton Draught

Collingwood Magpies: Cocky, fat and red-skinned 50-yr-olds who wear sunglasses that are WAY too tight and have a load of stubble.

Essendon Bombers: Wrinkly and old pensioners who worship James Hird even though he's almost stuffed up the team.

Regardless of stereotypes, and ignoring my bias, Geelong supporters are IMO the loudest. Was almost deafened at SS.

Been an AFL member for 12 or 13 years, and been going to the footy for about 25. I can tell you the Collingwood stereotype is way off.

Of course ALL clubs have ferals, and because Collingwood has the most supporters, we are likely to have the biggest actual number of ferals.

But in terms of the ratio of ferals to regular supporters, we'd be far lower than many clubs.

St.Kilda and the Bulldogs have us by a fair margin on the feral:regular ratio.

In my semi-extensive experience:

Adelaide: No issues. Seem fine.

Brisbane: " "

Carlton: Basically the same as Collingwood supporters. Massive amount of supporters of European descent. Annoying, but at least fairly knowledgeable of the sport they're watching.

Essendon: Pretty much have no idea what sport they're actually watching. Mostly drunken yobs and the Australian equivalent of rednecks. Only EVER seen violence at Essendon games and Geelong games.

Fremantle: Not a lot of experience with Freo supporters. Of the handful of times they've played here against us, had no issues.

Geelong: See Essendon. But even MORE redneck-y

Hawthorn: Bandwagon supporters of the highest order. Their attendances are a key clue to this. To hear them talk, and the shit they spout, again, it's like they're watching a completely different sport.

Melbourne: Not too bad, when they show. Which isn't often.

North: Haven't seen any yet. You'd be lucky if there's enough of them at a agame to get an idea of what they're actually like.

Port Adelaide: See fremantle

Richmond: Pretty much the same as Collingwood and Carlton. From a football 'purity' sense, Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond crowds are the best to sit around.

St.Kilda: Pure feral town, and annoying as f**k. Will do the whole *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! thing even when they're 80 points down. So god damn annoying. They will do it for literally EVERY goal.

I mean, there's supporting your team, and then there's just being stupid.

Sydney: Probably the best i've sat around.

Western Bulldogs: Pure definition of feral. The ratio of feral to regular here would be scary.

West Coast: See Sydney.

Being a Geelong member for almost 2 decades, and having been to every Geelong game since 2001, I can state with certainty that there is rarely any violence at our games compared to Collingwood, Essendon, Hawthorn games.

The worst I've seen at a Geelong game is a round of verbal abuse because someone dropped their food on someone else's head. I go to one flipping Collingwood game (have been to more, but just comparing) and I get spat on and threatened for cheering my team on by a group of C'Wood fans.

I would say we have some loud, loyal and very passionate supporters and sometimes they can go over the top (read: guy who stripped to his undies at the game the other week) but the majority are fine. BTW I don't think it's fair for someone whose team that has had countless "toothless", "educationless" and "loose whore" jokes made about them to go call ANY other fans rednecks. Let alone bag any other supporters for any reason whatsoever.

Most people don't mind Collingwood. It's just the supporters that get on our nerves and make us think badly of your team. ;)

Almost forgot,

Gold Coast: Try-hards. The fans are always trying to fit in with the crowd. There is honestly no point trying to pretend as if you are a threat to clubs like Geelong and Collingwood. You are in your first year and a pretty big amount of your team is made up of 2010 High School graduates. Shut up.

You guys on BF might not do it, but I went on their Facebook page out of curiosity. Thought they were top shit before they even played their first game.:cool:

Interested to see that Dog's fans are getting a mention for being feral. There are hardly any of us, those that show up don't make any noise, most of those that show up are old ladies with purple rinse through their hair. Might need to harden up some of you blokes if you can't handle a few barbs from an old girl who struggles to keep teeth in.

Essendon fans - nouveau riche, indignant w***ers and teeny boppers. Superficial footy fans, like to talk in footy journo tongue to hide their lack of knowledge about the game.

Collingwood - mostly a mixed bag, a high percentage of ferals and cowards who play up while in big numbers. Passionate.

Carlton - have forgotten what Carlton supporters are like, haven't heard from many in recent years. Tis season and next should see us all get a refresher.

Richmond - passionate, loud, will eat each other alive.

North - bitter, Gollum like creatures.

Hawks - private school "lads"

Those there are a few of the stand outs for mine. Good luck to them though, big fan of passionate, one eyed supporters. They make the game what it is.

Essendon fans - nouveau riche, indignant w***ers and teeny boppers. Superficial footy fans, like to talk in footy journo tongue to hide their lack of knowledge about the game.

North - bitter, Gollum like creatures.

1- thats more like melbourne supporters
2-ha ha ha ha

This is all to do with personal experiences.

Collingwood: Believe that you can yell out absolutely anything at the footy regardless if it's truth or not. Generally don't like it when you respond back to them and will attempt to challenge you to a fight. Still racially abuse their own.

Geelong: Melbourne based Cats fans are fine but the ones that come up from Geelong to the Big Smoke, seem to think they are still at Skilled Stadium and can't understand why their is such a presence supporting the other team.

Essendon: Turn on their own quicker than any other club.

Richmond: Not sure what time Richmond fans knock off work on a Friday night, but if they're playing, most fans are a lock to be three sheets to the wind before the first bounce. Most fans are older and can't understand new rule interpretations such as "hands in the back" and "tunnelling".

Carlton: Cheer in the warm up when Judd has the ball. Still talk about Aaron Hamill leaving and telling Saints fans that Goddard will soon be a Blue.

At risk of tl;dr here, so that will do for now.

This one is easy after 30 years of going to the footy:
Essendon: arrogant, self indulgent and still living off past victories
Geelong: slow witted country bumpkins who still wear a drizabone to the footy.
Collingwood: top of the range bogans who love nothing better then wearing the white oakley's day or night and are proud to show off their premiership ankle tatts from 90 and 2010 even though they didn't actually play in either of them
Richmond, just living in hope for the glory days to return...burnt by the glimpses of form in the late 90's and 2000's
North: Constant underdog fan who looks at the crowd numbers just before every bounce and wonders how much this game is going to cost us.

I have noticed strong trends in the shoes supporters of different clubs wear.
Carlton, 'slip on stylz'
G6.1.jpg

Collingwood, Dunlop Volleys often without laces as per pentrige uniform
250px-DunlopVolley.jpg

Richmond, brand new high end running shoes (stolen)
Men_Nike_Free_TR_White_Black_Silver_Running_Shoes.jpg

Gaybloomers, 90% of the supporters are 35-45 year old bandwagoners who jumped on during a successful period, wearing runners that remind them of their youth.
Mens-Nike-Classic-Brown-Gold-Running-Shoes-8749.jpg

Essendon, wear shoes like these, both were big in the eighties
reebok_pump_original.png

Geelong, supporters wear thongs all winter, often shorts too...
superdry-flip-flop.jpg

North, bare feet (poor)
2bf7b08ad96785ae02691413fdeaeb8e.jpg

Foots...oops, Western. Old and worn out due to living below the poverty line
old-shoes-thumb-491x632-23077.jpg

This is just the ones I've noticed.

I have noticed strong trends in the shoes supporters of different clubs wear.
Carlton, 'slip on stylz'
G6.1.jpg

Collingwood, Dunlop Volleys often without laces as per pentrige uniform
250px-DunlopVolley.jpg

Richmond, brand new high end running shoes (stolen)
Men_Nike_Free_TR_White_Black_Silver_Running_Shoes.jpg

Gaybloomers, 90% of the supporters are 35-45 year old bandwagoners who jumped on during a successful period, wearing runners that remind them of their youth.
Mens-Nike-Classic-Brown-Gold-Running-Shoes-8749.jpg

Essendon, wear shoes like these, both were big in the eighties
reebok_pump_original.png

Geelong, supporters wear thongs all winter, often shorts too...
superdry-flip-flop.jpg

North, bare feet (poor)
2bf7b08ad96785ae02691413fdeaeb8e.jpg

Foots...oops, Western. Old and worn out due to living below the poverty line
old-shoes-thumb-491x632-23077.jpg

This is just the ones I've noticed.

So true. You win :thumbsu:

Geelong have two very different supporter types. The locals who only ever go to the Cattery are a crackup. The best crowd at howling, "Oh no!" at the slightest of errors.

As for the rest, it's all about personal experience and perception. Supporters of successful sides are always regarded as arrogant, regardless of how humble the side actually is in victory. Us Cat fans, for example, keep acting like we're winning ... because, um ... we do tend to win a lot.

Some teams have fans who have a collective awareness that noise can generate momentum; Essendon and Collingwood fans strike me as groups that deep-down know that they're booing just to make noise and not because the umpiring was that bad.

The ones in Perth aren't bad, but country Freo supporters always seem to think that it's a crime not to support freo because they are 'from WA' and are the 'underdogs.' They don't seem to realise that a) this isnt state of origin and b) freo has been in the comp longer than some more competitive sides and this excuse is outdated (will admit freo HAVE been unlucky this season.)

These people are mostly older and know little or nothing about football.

Adelaide - My one real "experience" with an Adelaide fan was walking out of the ground in 2007 after beating them by 2 points, and they were running around chanting "We won the flag in 97'" So I guess you really could say they were living in the past, as the Port fans always tell us.

Brisbane - Brisbane fans in Fitzroy gear seem to be good people while a bit docile in regards to the performance of the team. Any actual fans I've never really seen.

Carlton - So, so many 14-17 year old "fully sick c--ts" walking around in packs of 10+ acting tough. You separate one from the herd and it'll turn into water.

Collingwood - One of my best mates is a Pies fan, and he's probably the nicest guy you'll meet. He is a huge, HUGE anomaly, nuff said.

Essendon - BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

Freo - No idea

Geelong - Got into a game long argument with a cats fan during the QF last year. I kept giving crap to Mooney and when he finally kicked a goal he came right back at me. I had the last laugh that night though :). All in all though, good for a fight but not in a "I'll deck ya c--t" way like a Collingwood or Carlton fan.

Gold Coast - See Freo

Hawks - When they're up, they're huge w***ers. When they're down, they're huge w***ers in lesser numbers.

Melbourne - Meh, in every sense of the word.

North - Angry and sullen if you can find one.

Port - Me and my dad were going to go over to SA for the 2004 Preliminary Final, before my Uncle who lives there as an Essendon fan told us flat out to not leave there, because you wont get out of there without your car keyed your clothes clean, and your senses un-violated. I guess that sums them up.

Richmond - At the moment, feral. But I guess they've earned that right.

Sydney - See Gold Coast

West Coast - See Sydney

Dogs - Will cry foul over a lot of decisions, and their cheersquad is a sight to behold.

Adelaide - Know a few, pretty decent.

Brisbane - You either get the diehards who abuse you or Fitzroy supporters. Latter is better.

Carlton - Lots of European types as has been said. Good footy knowledge. Generally insufferable to be around when winning. Best mate is a Bluebagger.

Collingwood - I have only ever nearly been involved in fisticuffs 3 times at the footy. Twice have been with Collingwood supporters. They generally are drunk and boorish for the WHOLE day, which means you can run into trouble on the train home if you're not careful.
That said, the Collingwood chant is epic.

Essendon - Don't have a clue, swear their heads off every time the opposition even look like winning.

Freo - Not a clue

Geelong - Not game enough to head down the freeway, last time I watched Melb-Geelong live was the final where Jeff White had his jaw broken. Not too bad.

Gold Coast - Will find out Rd22

Hawks - Biggest mob of fairweathers among any side. Collingwood post-Premiership included.

Melbourne - Yes, the 'Go number 9' stereotype exists in the MCC. There are two breeds of Melbourne supporter - the old MCC type and the regular membership type, those that have cut their teeth sitting in and among all the Collingwood fans in General Admin on QBD and been outnumbered 15-1, yet still cheered their lungs out. I'm the latter.

North - All three of them are very uncaring about the footy.

Port - Wouldn't want to watch them in Adelaide.

Richmond - Close second to Hawthorn in the fairweather, collective IQ is probably around the number of teeth in the Collingwood cheer squad

Sydney - Been to a few Sydney games - lots of old ladies and diehard South Melbourne supporters still. Really really good.

West Coast - Not a clue

Dogs - Very meh. Cheersquad is bloody good, lots of the Whitten Oval grannies.