Supporter Stereotypes

Forey Johnson

Carlton choked lol
Being a member of both Fremantle and West Coast (only because the rest of my family supports West Coast) means I spend pretty much every weekend at the footy.

For both teams, my seats are on the northern wing, near the interchange bench. Being seated here means that I have a first hand view of the visiting team's cheersquad make their way past us and to their seats behind the goals.

Over the years I have noticed big differences in the people that make up each teams cheersquad, and it got me thinking about the types of people that support each club.

So far I have:

Collingwood: Bogans, Ferals, Single mums, Crack whores

West Coast: Businessmen, Champagne sippers, People who are generally up themselves

I thought i'd put it to the bay

What Type of people support each club?

Being a member of both Fremantle and West Coast (only because the rest of my family supports West Coast) means I spend pretty much every weekend at the footy.

Your from the shallow end of the gene pool then?

Carlton: millionaires, movie stars, guys who get laid often by supermodels, people who drive ferraris

B
West Coast: Businessmen, Champagne sippers, People who are generally up themselves

Lol you cretin - we drink sauv blanc if we want a white - or a shiraz if we want a red for something more hearty

the sparkling we leave for celebrating premierships

Business man? Champagne sipper? Up them-self?

article-hart-420x0.jpg

underbelly_wideweb__470x2960.jpg

Carlton reporting in.

See, you and I are different there.

The Carlton stereotype for me, is the guy with the 1997 Magna Altera he jams a wing on to the boot from one of the "sporty" Magnas

He is the guy that tells his friends that he has a guy that knows a guy that can get iPhones really cheap and that one day he'll flog them on eBay for a huge markup.

He is the guy that talks about all the women, but ultimately, the only one anyone sees him with looks suspiciously like a youngish version of his mother

It's still fully gangsta but!

Been an AFL member for 12 or 13 years, and been going to the footy for about 25. I can tell you the Collingwood stereotype is way off.

Of course ALL clubs have ferals, and because Collingwood has the most supporters, we are likely to have the biggest actual number of ferals.

But in terms of the ratio of ferals to regular supporters, we'd be far lower than many clubs.

St.Kilda and the Bulldogs have us by a fair margin on the feral:regular ratio.

In my semi-extensive experience:

Adelaide: No issues. Seem fine.

Brisbane: " "

Carlton: Basically the same as Collingwood supporters. Massive amount of supporters of European descent. Annoying, but at least fairly knowledgeable of the sport they're watching.

Essendon: Pretty much have no idea what sport they're actually watching. Mostly drunken yobs and the Australian equivalent of rednecks. Only EVER seen violence at Essendon games and Geelong games.

Fremantle: Not a lot of experience with Freo supporters. Of the handful of times they've played here against us, had no issues.

Geelong: See Essendon. But even MORE redneck-y

Hawthorn: Bandwagon supporters of the highest order. Their attendances are a key clue to this. To hear them talk, and the shit they spout, again, it's like they're watching a completely different sport.

Melbourne: Not too bad, when they show. Which isn't often.

North: Haven't seen any yet. You'd be lucky if there's enough of them at a agame to get an idea of what they're actually like.

Port Adelaide: See fremantle

Richmond: Pretty much the same as Collingwood and Carlton. From a football 'purity' sense, Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond crowds are the best to sit around.

St.Kilda: Pure feral town, and annoying as f**k. Will do the whole *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! thing even when they're 80 points down. So god damn annoying. They will do it for literally EVERY goal.

I mean, there's supporting your team, and then there's just being stupid.

Sydney: Probably the best i've sat around.

Western Bulldogs: Pure definition of feral. The ratio of feral to regular here would be scary.

West Coast: See Sydney.

Carlton: "European" origin :D
Essendon: ********s
Collingwood: Welfare cheats, toothless dribblers, morons etc

I'm Greek myself, and I can say that in my experience, I've seen far more "wogs" going for Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond (and Fitzroy back in the day) than Anglo-Saxons.

Remembering that during the 60s and 70s when all the European migrants came here en-masse, they settled in those inner city suburbs.

The Italians took Carlton, and the Greeks split between Collingwood and Richmond.

I assume it's the reason I've only ever seen brawls at the Essendon Collingwood and Geelong Collingwood games. You have pure wogs (drunk in some cases) clashing with hardcore drunk rednecks. Never a good mix.

Been an AFL member for 12 or 13 years, and been going to the footy for about 25. I can tell you the Collingwood stereotype is way off.

Of course ALL clubs have ferals, and because Collingwood has the most supporters, we are likely to have the biggest actual number of ferals.

But in terms of the ratio of ferals to regular supporters, we'd be far lower than many clubs.

Carlton: Basically the same as Collingwood supporters. Massive amount of supporters of European descent. Annoying, but at least fairly knowledgeable of the sport they're watching.

Essendon: Pretty much have no idea what sport they're actually watching. Mostly drunken yobs and the Australian equivalent of rednecks. Only EVER seen violence at Essendon games and Geelong games.

Fremantle: Not a lot of experience with Freo supporters. Of the handful of times they've played here against us, had no issues.

Hawthorn: Bandwagon supporters of the highest order. Their attendances are a key clue to this. To hear them talk, and the shit they spout, again, it's like they're watching a completely different sport.

North: Haven't seen any yet. You'd be lucky if there's enough of them at a agame to get an idea of what they're actually like.

Richmond: Pretty much the same as Collingwood and Carlton. From a football 'purity' sense, Collingwood/Carlton/Richmond crowds are the best to sit around.

St.Kilda: Pure feral town, and annoying as f**k. Will do the whole *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! *clap clap clap* ST.KIIILLLDA!!! thing even when they're 80 points down. So god damn annoying. They will do it for literally EVERY goal.

Western Bulldogs: Pure definition of feral. The ratio of feral to regular here would be scary.

Have to pretty much agree with this. :thumbsu:

Essendon fans are the worst by a fair margin. Carl/Coll/Rich knowledgable and passionate, 'real' football fans.

Having said that, being a social club member and sitting near the cheer squad (where they put us) is a fairly sobering reminder of the IQ of the average Carlton supporter.

Have to pretty much agree with this. :thumbsu:

Essendon fans are the worst by a fair margin. Carl/Coll/Rich knowledgable and passionate, 'real' football fans.

Having said that, being a social club member and sitting near the cheer squad (where they put us) is a fairly sobering reminder of the IQ of the average Carlton supporter.

But I've always said, that Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond fans would be annoying to be around. Very loud, maybe even 'too passionate'? if you will. But at least they generally know what they're talking about.

Being around Essendon supporters drains my life force.

I literally feel myself 'dumbening' while I'm around them.

I mean, for example, ANZAC day, and this was happening AAAALLLL day. A Collingwood player would have the ball. An Essendon player would lay a finger on him, and the Bombers fans would SCREEEEEEAM "BAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL".

It got to the point where I literally shouted "Shut the f**k up idiots, let him actually tackle him first!".

Seriously can't stand being around them at the football.

But I've always said, that Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond fans would be annoying to be around. Very loud, maybe even 'too passionate'? if you will. But at least they generally know what they're talking about.

Being around Essendon supporters drains my life force.

I literally feel myself 'dumbening' while I'm around them.

I mean, for example, ANZAC day, and this was happening AAAALLLL day. A Collingwood player would have the ball. An Essendon player would lay a finger on him, and the Bombers fans would SCREEEEEEAM "BAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLL".

It got to the point where I literally shouted "Shut the f**k up idiots, let him actually tackle him first!".

Seriously can't stand being around them at the football.

To insinuate that there is a single club out there that has a higher ratio of ferals compared to your toothless, centrelink loiterering, dole bludging pissing in the stands supporter base is pure irony.

Every club has a percentage of ferals in the mix, but how could any club ever top this shit

Joffa-6362373.jpg

TATTOEDCOL_ARTICLE_IMAGE_IA017416_42061.JPG

903840-collingwood-fan.jpg

collingwoodfan.jpg

index.php

317938-collingwood-fan.jpg

WH_fat_girls.jpg

To insinuate that there is a single club out there that has a higher ratio of ferals compared to your toothless, centrelink loiterering, dole bludging pissing in the stands supporter base is pure irony.

Every club has a percentage of ferals in the mix, but how could any club ever top this shit

Joffa-6362373.jpg

collingwoodfan.jpg

index.php

WH_fat_girls.jpg

Read my post before showing your offended.

Get your head out of your backside, flog.

i pissed myself laughing mainly at the irony of a collingwood supporter actually making this post.

Port supporters- sik ****s
Crows- chardonnay sippers and extremely limited football knowledge

Joffa-6362373.jpg

collingwoodfan.jpg

index.php

WH_fat_girls.jpg

/thread

see, you and i are different there.

The carlton stereotype for me, is the guy with the 1997 magna altera he jams a wing on to the boot from one of the "sporty" magnas

he is the guy that tells his friends that he has a guy that knows a guy that can get iphones really cheap and that one day he'll flog them on ebay for a huge markup.

He is the guy that talks about all the women, but ultimately, the only one anyone sees him with looks suspiciously like a youngish version of his mother

it's still fully gangsta but!

racist!

Get your head out of your backside, flog.

So you failed to bold the part where I said we would actually have MORE ferals due to sheer weight of numbers?

Oh thats right, Bulldogs supporter.

It's not my fault you're not objective enough a person to see the truth.