Injury/Rehab Surgery for Patella Dislocation/Patella tracking

rioli_magic

May 19, 2011
G'day all.

I've recently had surgery on my left knee the procedure was called a lateral retinacular lengthening over the years I've had multiple patella dislocations and issues with patella tracking hoping this surgery will fix that up and ill be able to run pain free and potentially back to playing footy. Just wondering if anyone has had this surgery or something similar like a lateral release just to hear there experience and recovery, dos and dont's, physio tips etc.

Cheers

A lateral retinacular release?
I found a couple of sources (one published journal and one interview between surgeons) but nothing about recovery times etc.
Surgeon is the best one to get that info from as they'll know exactly what structures were compromised during the surgery and to what extent.
Don't know of anyone personally who's had the surgery though sorry. Closest is a guy from footy that had his trochlea groove deepened on one knee ~5-6 years ago (ironically he went on to do the ACL on that knee and had no issues with the other even though the surgeon wanted to do that one as well).

A lateral retinacular release?
I found a couple of sources (one published journal and one interview between surgeons) but nothing about recovery times etc.
Surgeon is the best one to get that info from as they'll know exactly what structures were compromised during the surgery and to what extent.
Don't know of anyone personally who's had the surgery though sorry. Closest is a guy from footy that had his trochlea groove deepened on one knee ~5-6 years ago (ironically he went on to do the ACL on that knee and had no issues with the other even though the surgeon wanted to do that one as well).

Thanks for the reply, Ill have a read, Its called a lateral retinacular lengthing pretty similar to the release I think, go back to the surgeon next week so ill suss him out. I live in south west Victoria about 4.5 hours from Melbourne where the surgery was, limited access to physios and decent strength and conditioning etc down here and with the trouble I've had with both knees I'm very keen to get right in to strength and conditioning and get my body right to hopefully get back playing or at least back to able to run somewhat pain free which I haven't been able to do for a few years now.

I’d ask the surgeon for physio recommendations and explain your situation.
He might know someone who can do phone/video consults for your follow up appointments.
Also consider booking a longer consult for your face to face physio appointments to ensure they’re as in-depth and comprehensive as possible (often they’ll deliberately break things up into smaller more frequent chunks to make the information easier to digest for the Pt and their management plans more flexible than leaving you to your own devices for weeks on end).

very interesting. i have had tonne and tonnes of issues with both my knees but there is not much willingness to operate, its all just the usual junk around "strengthen the leg / hamstring / glutes" which seems have no real impact.

But i've also heard that surgery is typically ineffective.

very interesting. i have had tonne and tonnes of issues with both my knees but there is not much willingness to operate, its all just the usual junk around "strengthen the leg / hamstring / glutes" which seems have no real impact.

But i've also heard that surgery is typically ineffective.

yeah I’ve had trouble with both knees. I’ve been to a few different phyisos over the last 3 or 4 years and done a fair chunk of strength work but still hasn’t solved my issues. Wasn’t until 12 - 18 months that I was referred to a DR who has been an AFL doctor and worked with other professional sporting clubs with a fair bit of knowledge about knees, after seeing my MRI he was quite shocked I managed to play football at all, he pointed he in the direction of a surgeon in Melbourne who’s the expert in the area.

interesting.

The strength work just seems like the physio only has a hammer so everything looks like a nail.

I could squat 140kg, one leg press like 100kg and they are just hu duur your muscles aren't strong enough. Just seems like nonsense.

Hello,
Just wondering if any one has had surgery for a meniscus tear.
I have a bucket handle tear which occurred 5 weeks ago causing my left knee to lock. After a week it fell back in place and I could walk properly again. This morning I tried bjj again and just a slight movement caused my knee to lock again - I can’t fully straighten my left leg.
I don’t have private health cover and am wanting to know the cost for surgery an$ if anyone has a recommendation for a value for money surgeon.

G'day all.

I've recently had surgery on my left knee the procedure was called a lateral retinacular lengthening over the years I've had multiple patella dislocations and issues with patella tracking hoping this surgery will fix that up and ill be able to run pain free and potentially back to playing footy. Just wondering if anyone has had this surgery or something similar like a lateral release just to hear there experience and recovery, dos and dont's, physio tips etc.

Cheers
Hey mate, how's the rehab going?

Not my favourite surgery, but hope it's going well for you.

You need a good physio who specialises in rehab to performance (strength and conditioning). You need quadriceps strength (lots of it) and glute medius and glute max. strength. If the physio gives you easy and mindless exercises at 6 weeks post op. get rid of them. You need to get strong.