Swans furious with St Kilda; kick saints out of pride game

Calling it cancellation is a bit woke isn’t it.

He was being punished for breaking afl rules. No need to be dramatic.

The swans obviously regard the position St Kilda put forward as a disgrace. Which I don’t necessarily have a problem with.
Is it though? The original punishment, first offence noted, is pretty dramatic. I'd hate to see the violence driven equivalent of a 9-week ban.

Most football fans want that shit gone and to never have to see the football insignificants taking up time that could be used to get the damn night over quicker.
Leaving aside your very strange assumption that you speak for “most football fans” for now…

The games are broadcast, and you can attend. If you don’t like media around the game, I have a remote control with an off switch. I’ve even got a mute button. I use both to avoid the things I hate around the game. Gambling advertising is a big one for me. I switch it off. If you don’t enjoy the pre-match addresses that talk about the theme of the round, and the charities it seeks to support, I know of no law that straps you to your seat. Taking a wander and looking at the nice trees outside the stadium are alternatives. Or queuing for chips, or a beer. I know of no law against it.

You don’t like social media from players that want to talk about their experience? That’s easy too. Don’t click on the article, don’t get an account where these things come into your feed.

If your thing is to watch everything, not like it, and spend as much time as possible on a footy forum telling everyone how much you don’t like it there is no law against that either. But your chances are slim of getting “most footy fans” onboard. After all, why are you consuming all the content you hate other than to tell everyone how much you hate it?

Let’s be honest here. Your original comment was about a bi-sexual man telling his story about the challenges of working in an industry where people are obliged to hide themselves. That’s what you don’t like. Don’t pivot to pretend otherwise

No, because when people try to make a big song and dance about something boring and normal then people are going to take the piss.
Unfortunately thats not how it goes. Look at any post merely featuring a gay or bisexual person on Facebook from any outlet and there is just heaps and heaps of sheer toxicity from angry insecure bogan types and pretty obvious homophobes. Its just awful.

LGBT+ people shouldn't have to hide away and be quiet. Thats why this stuff is important and we're a long way still from where we need to be.

It's a pretty sad state of affairs. I'm not sure what else we could have done and I think every other club would have stood by their player. Having said that it's sad to be out of the Pride game and sad that people seem to see us as a homophobic club.
I agree it is sad for Saints supporters. Reminds me of when my club was up on the stand for allegations of racism.

I agree that every club would stand by Collard in that same scenario, but I think reading between the lines of the appeal outcome, it was likely St Kilda’s lawyers who submitted that homophobic language was commonplace in football, and they also publicly thanked the appeals board in the wake of the horrendous statements from the chairman. The Saints should have been more circumspect about what a reprieve for Collard would mean after he was found guilty.

Ultimately this shouldn’t be directed at St Kilda, it’s a little wake up call for 17 other clubs: people actually care about this issue, and publicly paying lip service to change while you privately uphold the status quo is not good enough.

You Are Wait What GIF by Wahala Room

Is there some sort of fund-raiser during the game that goes to helping the LGBT community? Say homeless or abused LGBT youth? Like the Good Friday, Maddies game, Anzac Appeal etc. Or is it just in name only?

No, because when people try to make a big song and dance about something boring and normal then people are going to take the piss.
You mean like having a wedding? Or proposing to your girlfriend in Adelaide during gathering round? Something tells me that Jack Higgins never got any death threats coming through.

Your whole attitude of “I have no problem with gay people, but when they’re in-your-face about it then they get what they deserve” is an eye-rollingly moronic cliché of homophobia.

Is there some sort of fund-raiser during the game that goes to helping the LGBT community? Say homeless or abused LGBT youth? Like the Good Friday, Maddies game, Anzac Appeal etc. Or is it just in name only?
It is exactly what has been organised between the AFL and LGBT+ groups like Rainbow swans and Pride Cup. Call it a sham if you want, but they didn’t ask for a financial appeal.

You mean like having a wedding? Or proposing to your girlfriend in Adelaide during gathering round? Something tells me that Jack Higgins never got any death threats coming through.

Your whole attitude of “I have no problem with gay people, but when they’re in-your-face about it then they get what they deserve” is an eye-rollingly moronic cliché of homophobia.
Couldn’t have said this better

The point is, having a "pride" round is not going to change anyone's opinon who doesn't agree. It's a complete waste of time. Most people, in modern western countries like ours couldn't give a stuff about anyone's sexuality anymore and the few that don't agree will never agree. That battle was won years ago.

A "pride" match would be far more needed in Afghanistan before an Afghanistan Soccer League match rather than in a country like ours, but we all know that isn't going to happen and we all know why. It's easy to virtue signal to an already tolerant audience like us, than to do it somewhere where it's actually needed where you might get killed.
Who doesn't agree with what?
What is pride round trying to convince people of?

Qatar owns 23% of Virgin Airways, maybe the swans can donate 23% of sponsorship money from them.

The point is, having a "pride" round is not going to change anyone's opinon who doesn't agree. It's a complete waste of time. Most people, in modern western countries like ours couldn't give a stuff about anyone's sexuality anymore and the few that don't agree will never agree. That battle was won years ago.

A "pride" match would be far more needed in Afghanistan before an Afghanistan Soccer League match rather than in a country like ours, but we all know that isn't going to happen and we all know why. It's easy to virtue signal to an already tolerant audience like us, than to do it somewhere where it's actually needed where you might get killed.

That is a pretty concerning post

Qatar owns 23% of Virgin Airways, maybe the swans can donate 23% of sponsorship money from them.
Maybe, if Pride in sport groups felt strongly about it, but they clearly don’t. They feel strongly about this situation, but hey, what would they know about homophobia?

Why should we bother improving our society while there are other countries with bigger problems (wars, starving children etc)?

Compelling argument.