LOL

"where'd you get those shoes?"

"put it on dos's head for me"

"wrong sport buddy"

We have a few characters. Love it.
We really do have a number of players who seem like the loosest of units. Can't recall a time we had so many players who had so many (seemingly) large personalities.

IMO it validates the unlikely promotion of Papley to the leadership group a few years back, and Hayward's this year, even more. I remember people being shocked that a guy who seems as mad as a hatter like Papley was being considered a leader of the club, but there's no right or wrong way to be a leader. You just have to be the right leader for whatever playing group you're with. I suspect he is someone that a lot of these boys with big and energetic personalities can really gravitate towards and be inspired by so it's harnessed in a really positive way.

10MAR23: Swans Daily Media
A strange take by Watson.

Damo is back with the Chad love

Kingy has gone a little cold on us

McAndrew on everyone's lips it seems for an early debut

Sydney ranked 3rd in forward line rankings

Some snippets from a '9 min read' article today as the reporter is taken on a tour of our new facility by Longmire.

Longmire on the new HQ/training+ facility;
“I think about those who came up in the 1980s - Dean Moore, Dennis Carroll, Barry Round, Rick Quade – and had no support. Nowhere to train, nowhere to live. No jobs. It was a pretty under-resourced show.
“The very start of the national competition, done through bare bones. Absolute barest of bones. Dean Moore trying to get families relocated with no budget. Training on car parks, the rugby league crowd parking their cars so by the end of training you’ve got about a 10-metre square to work in.

“I think of Craig Kimberley, Basil Sellers, Mike Willesee and Peter Weinert. Those who saw the club’s hard yards. When it was just about broke, not able to pay its players and staff. The very existence of the place (was in the balance).

“I was a little bit nostalgic when we moved in.”

Making sure new players understand where we came from;
....it is clear an appreciation of history and hard work remain part of the potent ethos that is the Bloods culture.
“It’s really important they – current players, those starting now and in the future - know what went before them,” Longmire expands.
“They can’t just turn up and expect, ‘This is how it is’. Because it hasn’t been like this for a very long time.

Nothing new but also touches on the GF loss and Buddy and a bit about Logan progressing well but having Reid and Franklin there means he doesn't get the "big defender"every week.

And finally a plea to the AFL and a reminder from Horse of the Academy's worth;

"I’d love them (AFL CEO et al) to spend some time up here, as long as they can. Just to understand the local market, it is unique.”

This year’s (Academy) intake will be almost 700, a mix of boys and girls aged 11 to 19. Less than half a per cent will reach the sport’s highest level.
“The academies made AFL cool. They made it accepted for young kids to aspire to that career, made so many families connect with AFL,”

“The reality is very few of our players come from our home state."
“We’ve got a long way to go. How many players (request trades and) come back to Sydney?
"It’s a competition issue, the growth of the game here.”

(NB A much abbreviated version of the article in also on the HSun website).

I've said it before but Horse 'gets it'.

Some snippets from a '9 min read' article today as the reporter is taken on a tour of our new facility by Longmire.

Longmire on the new HQ/training+ facility;
“I think about those who came up in the 1980s - Dean Moore, Dennis Carroll, Barry Round, Rick Quade – and had no support. Nowhere to train, nowhere to live. No jobs. It was a pretty under-resourced show.
“The very start of the national competition, done through bare bones. Absolute barest of bones. Dean Moore trying to get families relocated with no budget. Training on car parks, the rugby league crowd parking their cars so by the end of training you’ve got about a 10-metre square to work in.

“I think of Craig Kimberley, Basil Sellers, Mike Willesee and Peter Weinert. Those who saw the club’s hard yards. When it was just about broke, not able to pay its players and staff. The very existence of the place (was in the balance).

“I was a little bit nostalgic when we moved in.”

Making sure new players understand where we came from;
....it is clear an appreciation of history and hard work remain part of the potent ethos that is the Bloods culture.
“It’s really important they – current players, those starting now and in the future - know what went before them,” Longmire expands.
“They can’t just turn up and expect, ‘This is how it is’. Because it hasn’t been like this for a very long time.

Nothing new but also touches on the GF loss and Buddy and a bit about Logan progressing well but having Reid and Franklin there means he doesn't get the "big defender"every week.

And finally a plea to the AFL and a reminder from Horse of the Academy's worth;

"I’d love them (AFL CEO et al) to spend some time up here, as long as they can. Just to understand the local market, it is unique.”

This year’s (Academy) intake will be almost 700, a mix of boys and girls aged 11 to 19. Less than half a per cent will reach the sport’s highest level.
“The academies made AFL cool. They made it accepted for young kids to aspire to that career, made so many families connect with AFL,”

“The reality is very few of our players come from our home state."
“We’ve got a long way to go. How many players (request trades and) come back to Sydney?
"It’s a competition issue, the growth of the game here.”

(NB A much abbreviated version of the article in also on the HSun website).

I've said it before but Horse 'gets it'.
Fantastic , thank you

A strange take by Watson.

Damo is back with the Chad love

Kingy has gone a little cold on us

McAndrew on everyone's lips it seems for an early debut

Sydney ranked 3rd in forward line rankings

Ahhh yes, Chad Warner (21), Blakey (23), Hayward (24), and McInerney (22) have all hit their peaks.

Now I'm not saying that these blokes will necessarily get that much better, but common wisdom says a player's peak is around 26-29, and a large majority of our most important players are still 2-4 years from that magic range.

Just watched the Foxtel Mini's: Callum Mills, "The superstars of the 2022 AFL season put on a show, here are some of their most memorable performances in the lead up to season 2023".
It was Hawks v Sydney in Launceston.
Footage proceeded to show all of 5 touches from Mills, about 12 from Warner, 10 from Rowy and about 6 or 7 from Joey. 🤷‍♂️

Ahhh yes, Chad Warner (21), Blakey (23), Hayward (24), and McInerney (22) have all hit their peaks.

Now I'm not saying that these blokes will necessarily get that much better, but common wisdom says a player's peak is around 26-29, and a large majority of our most important players are still 2-4 years from that magic range.
Watson was talking up St Kilda. :rolleyes:

I love this article by a 3rd generation Swans supporter who has transferred the passion down another two generations. Great read!
The article refers to an apple being thrown at Doug Wade as he was coming in to kick a goal. The apple hit the footy and he subsequently missed. Had he kicked that goal the probability is that we would have lost that match and consequently missed the finals.
I AM PLEASED TO ANNOUNCE THAT THE KID FROM THE CHEER SQUAD WHO THREW THAT APPLE WAS IN FACT ME.

The comparison through juniors was always to a Reiwoldt, not a monster tall.

And Logan is 6 foot 5 - hardly a little bloke!

Personally, I reckon he could become the new Simon Minton-Connell (minus the departure to Hawthorn).
I'd be really happy if McDonald modelled his game on Nick Reiwoldt, or even his cousin Jack (though like most Tigers, including their coach, Jack can be a bit of a sook). No-one would call out either of the Reiwoldt cousins for a lack of guts, but Nick took it to extremes. Sometimes I felt he would have gladly laid down his life for his club.

I was fortunate to see Nick's famous mark against the Swans, live at the SCG in Round 11, 2004. Running flat out with the flight of the ball he looked like he wasn't going to make it until he threw himself towards the ball at the end of his run, seemingly oblivious to players coming hard the other way. If he gave a thought for his own safety it wasn't apparent. His only thought was to mark the ball, even as he slammed into Tadgh Kennelly and Steven Milne who were going for the same ball. Reiwoldt's focus never waivered, even as he slammed into them. Milne took the brunt of the impact while Kennelly managed to avoid the worst of it. The force flung Reiwoldt through the air like a rag-doll, landing on his back and facing the other way on top of an astonished Jared Crouch. The mark was the epitome of bravery, probably the gutsiest I've ever seen. Fans of both teams wernt wild with applause. Miraculously, Reiwoldt bounced up like the Indian Rubber man and kept playing, brushing aside the trainer who came to check on him. From the replay, it's obivous it bloody well hurt, a lot more than he was letting on. His courage led directly to a Robert Harvey goal, but Harvey and all the other Saints went over to pat Reiwoldt on the back. I think all the Swans fans were happy to concede that goal.

The sight of St Nick's flying body still sticks with me. The Saints lost that game but they got something more. They got credibility and the legend of St Nick. It's no wonder that club loved him, though he had no shortage of admirers outside the club too. If McDonald was being compared with Reiwoldt as a junior, then that's a huge compliment.

I very much liked McDonald's game against Carlton. He's traded his floppy haired school boy look for a much more serious look, but it's not just cosmetic, he seems to be playing like he looks. Tough, uncompromising, more demanding of the ball. He's running harder and he's covering more ground, hopefully learning to use his size to impact more without the ball. He could be our replacement for Buddy or he could become a replacement for Reid, with McLean staying closer to goal alongside a resting ruckman.

It's hard to get a read on what the football media make of McDonald this year or the Swans' transitioning forward structure overall. We rarely get mentioned in the Melbourne media and the Sydney media aren't interested in Aussie Rules. I'd have thought the AFL and the media who make money from eyeballs on AFL games and/or news would put more effort into highlighting and growing the interest in the sport in Australia's biggest market. I guess until an AFL CEO comes from outside the bubble of Victoria, not much will change.

The article refers to an apple being thrown at Doug Wade as he was coming in to kick a goal. The apple hit the footy and he subsequently missed. Had he kicked that goal the probability is that we would have lost that match and consequently missed the finals.
I AM PLEASED TO ANNOUNCE THAT THE KID FROM THE CHEER SQUAD WHO THREW THAT APPLE WAS ME.

Are you for real? That is a great piece of history! You should let Phil McLeod and the club know. Maybe you'll be inducted to the club's Heritage List: Official AFL Website of the Sydney Swans Football Club. All the latest news, videos, results and information..!