Media Swans Talk in the Media 2024

Our club in the Media

04JAN24: Swans Daily Media
    Based on Champion Data so make of that what you will. I know some of us have strong opinions on that.

Teams with the deepest list:
    GWS then Carlton, Magpies, Melbourne and the Lions make up the top 5.

Swans come in at 7th which I think is a reasonable assessment given the state of our list. Crows are 6th🤮

Depth analysis points: 38

Top 10:
    3, Top 11-30 11, Top 31-50: 7, Total: 21

Defenders – Top 10: 1, Top 11-30: 3, Top 31-50: 2

Midfielders – Top 10: 1, 11-30: 5, 31-50: 3

Forwards – Top 10: 1, 11-30: 3, 31-50: 2

Top 10 players: Errol Gulden (1st – wing), Isaac Heeney (4th – gen fwd), Jake Lloyd (8th – gen def)

The Swans are waiting on a key forward to pop.

Logan McDonald (27th), Lance Franklin (31st) and Joel Amartey (34th) were only mid-table for key forwards this year, while Hayden McLean was classified as a ruck and ranked 19th.

Franklin has retired, but as the other young forwards continue to grow they will have plenty of support across the field, including from a dominant Errol Gulden on the wing.

Where will Brodie Grundy land in these rankings by season’s end now he is the No. 1 ruck again?

Paywalled article:

08JAN24: Swans Daily Media
    Milestones this year:
    Luke Parker: 300 games
    Jake Lloyd & Dane Rampe: 250 games

Club changes for 2024 - or you can go to our Draft & Trade mega thread and never return from the black hole of bending time, space and reality.

10JAN24: Swans Daily Media

15JAN24: Swans Daily Media
    17JAN24: Swans Daily Media
  • RSN interview with Gulden

A where are they now piece regarding delisted & retired players from '23. No Swans players are mentioned other than Franklin until you get to the summary at the end of the article which lists every team.

19JAN24: Swans Daily Media
  • 24JAN24: Swans Daily Media
  • Assessment of Draw - but it seems purely based on where the previous team finished. I'd like a stats guru to provide some further clarity & add in Home vs Away data on this I reckon.

28JAN24: Brodie Grundie interview/ABC

• Ripper chat this is. Brodie seems like he is absolutely loving life in Sydney and if you give it a listen, details alot about the move up there and reasonings behind it.

Is it possible for this signing to be underrated? I genuinely think it is.

29JAN24: Swans Daily Media
  • For us it points to all the forwards and asks who will step up. I'm hoping McLean gets more time because he's getting better every game.

02FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • 02FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • Taylor Adams Interview

List of Free Agents

04FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • Bit weird reading Leon Cameron talk about the Swans now in his new role:tongueoutv1:

Sam Reid article - paywalled

“I was open with the club about that, that I wanted to go again. And they were really honest with me and said we’ll see how you go with the rehab. And if I had hiccups in the rehab and it didn’t go according to plan, it probably wouldn’t have looked like getting that extra year."

06FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • Mills dominating the news this arvo - I'll imagine we'll be getting some on air interviews over the next few todays.

07FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • Finally, someone mentions McLean as the possible breakout player for '24

And Chad contract talk

John Longmire interview:

07FEB24: Callum Mills interview/SEN
  • Callum Mills Interview

07FEB24: Chad Warner Interview
  • Chad Warner interview is almost an hour. Enjoy.

09FEB24: Swans Daily Media

•  
    12FEB24: Swans Daily Media

• and then Buckley's response to Kane's commments.

And then we have a puff piece about the player whose played the most consecutive games currently - Olllie Florent come on down

Challenge to avoid our 3-6 start this year even with the harder draw

Paywalled article: Papley makes the list - a he should

Last edited by a moderator:
    13FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • 15FEB24: Swans Daily Media
  • Last edited: