Competitions Sweet FA Tour of BigFooty - Collingwood Board Challenge (Game Played Today Approx. 4-5pm)

FWRoB6l.png

Hi Collingwood fans. My name is ClarkeM, and I am here with Barrybran and TheInjuryFactory to promote the game of Qooty, as played on the Sweet FA board of BigFooty. Your moderators Magpie Girl Maggie5 jathanas Gone Critical and Anzacday have been kind enough to grant us permission to challenge the Collingwood Board to a game of Qooty this coming weekend.

What's Qooty?

Qooty is a football simulation program written by BigFooty's own Mobbs, which allows a game of footy to be simulated and generated in text form. Basically, your username is entered into the program, along with 19 team-mates and an opposition team of 20, and the program generates a game, with commentary and stats like this:
4 : 12.56 {lW} - Test Tickle has it.
4 : 13 {C} - A wild kick laterally towards The Filth Wizard.
4 : 13.04 {C} - Big mark by The Old Dark Navy's!.
4 : 13.08 {lW} - With the ball is Jeremias.
4 : 13.13 {CHF} - He tries to find ESKIE with a chip pass.
4 : 13.17 {CHF} - ESKIE appeals for the mark but play on's the call.
4 : 13.21 {lHBF} - TedDougChris looks downfield.
4 : 13.25 {lHBF} - He takes the opportunity to bounce.
4 : 13.29 {lHBF} - Heavy clash between Daddad Dave and TedDougChris. Daddad Dave comes off marginally better and collects the ball.
4 : 13.33 {lHFF} - gab213 hits the ground running.
4 : 13.37 {rFP} - A wobbly old kick.
4 : 13.41 {rFP} - Metalcrusher gets too far under the ball.
4 : 13.46 {lBP} - Not enough pressure on Headless.
4 : 13.5 {rBP} - He tries to find Elton Johns Wig with a chip pass.
4 : 13.53 {rBP} - Salt Lake Cities upset the marking attempt by Elton Johns Wig.
4 : 13.58 {lFP} - Salt Lake Cities has it. What can he do with it?.
4 : 14.02 {lFP} - Salt Lake Cities slams the ball at goal.
4 : 14.06 {lFP} - What a goal from Salt Lake Cities.
Carlton Blues : 12.7.79
Sweet FA : 10.12.72
AFTER-MATCH SUMMARY :
Rich (BB code):
CAR SENIORS Vs SFA SENIORS
CAR               3    2        7    3        11   5        13   8    86
SFA               2    1        7    8        9    9        12   12   84
CAR        HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt  SFA         HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt
BlueGum     0  8  2  9  1  0  0  0  0   52  Elton John   0  1  1  1  0  0  0  0  0    8
ferrisb     0  4  4  2  0  0  0  0  0   28  spookism     0  4  1  5  1  2  0  0  0   31
ShanDog     0  6  1  1  0  1  2  3  3   39  Headless     0  8  2  3  0  0  0  0  0   36
OnceWeWere  0  8  10 7  0  1  0  0  0   69  serial_thr   0  7  5  10 2  1  0  0  0   65
T2B_        0  9  4  10 1  0  2  0  0   57  Barrybran    0  7  2  4  0  0  2  0  0   29
Gethelred   0  10 7  11 0  0  1  0  0   70  TedDougChr   0  5  3  3  2  0  0  0  0   38
Arr0w       0  8  6  7  0  1  3  0  2   50  Loonerty     0  15 6  13 3  0  1  0  0   98
The Old Da  0  11 6  4  0  0  2  0  0   53  The Filth    0  16 6  12 1  0  0  3  0  112
Jeremias    0  12 9  6  4  1  3  2  0   95  Test Tickl   0  12 1  7  0  1  0  0  0   54
Daddad Dav  0  4  5  7  1  0  0  0  1   46  Tonga Bob    0  6  6  9  1  0  0  2  1   71
ESKIE       0  2  0  3  0  1  0  1  0   19  TheInjuryF   0  3  3  8  4  1  0  0  0   51
gab213      0  9  3  6  4  0  2  1  2   66  philreich    0  8  7  6  1  0  1  2  1   71
Metalcrush  0  1  0  0  1  0  0  1  0   13  Proper Gan   9  9  0  8  2  1  0  1  2   69
BLUEALLTHR  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0    0  GWS Goose    0  5  0  0  2  0  0  1  4   33
Salt Lake   0  3  0  1  0  0  0  2  0   23  Sab22        0  3  1  1  1  0  0  1  2   26
RobR        14 8  0  13 6  0  0  1  0   94  ClarkeM      5  6  0  4  5  3  0  0  0   54
HBF         0  10 0  10 5  0  0  2  0   82  Agent93      0  13 0  14 6  4  1  1  0   98
myblueroan  0  11 0  6  4  1  0  0  0   62  NaturalDis   0  8  0  5  8  3  1  1  0   72
MrsEddieBe  0  2  3  3  0  0  0  0  0   21  Mobbs        0  2  1  0  0  0  0  0  2   11
Jabba73     0  4  4  4  1  0  1  0  0   33  Tigerturbu   0  1  0  2  1  0  0  0  0   11

What is the Sweet FA?
The Sweet Football Association is a board on BigFooty. 12 teams, which originally began mostly as club board representative teams but have long since hybridised and merged into teams of mixed loyalties, play two 16/17 game seasons every year, followed by finals, team and league awards presentations and much fun and banter. AFL allegiances are left at the door; people from different origins work together harmoniously - Port/Adelaide supporters, Fremantle/West Coast supporters, Collingwood/Carlton fans - they work and play together, and many people put in amazing efforts to keep the board entertained. It's all about fun and banter, based on the SFA team you play for, not the AFL team you support. The Sweet FA began in 2001, and has now been running for 29 seasons. There is much history, and career stats are a treasured source of banter.

WHO ARE THE SWEET FA CLUBS?

tour-graphic-png.910778

What do you need to do?
Simply sign up to represent the Collingwood Board by saying "in" or some other form of acceptance in this thread
. You don't need to do anything else, although the attraction about the game is bantering with the opposition team in the lead-up to the game: things like "You're the worst CHF in the history of Qooty"; "I'm gonna run through you so hard, they'll need a spatula to pick you up" etc. Skills like posting gifs and memes are also attractive; basically, it's all about having fun and interacting with people from other boards in a friendly manner on neutral terms.

Who will be your opposition?
Some of Sweet FA's finest Qootiers will take the field alongside you. Collingwood fans and Sweet FA long-timers, Tarkyn_24, Pie 4 Life and a few others will all be around to help answer any questions you might have.

People from all club boards come together, in a world where AFL rivalries don't exist, and we comprise 12 fantasy teams who play 2 seasons/year for glory and badges.

Past games vs Collingwood board:

So if you want to have a game of Qooty against a representative side from the Sweet FA who will show you how it's played, then put your name down and we will answer any questions that you have for us!

Collingwood Board team:

1. ClarkeM
2. Temploar
3. Tarkyn_24
4. beez
5. Pie 4 Life
6. FireKrakouer
7. barrackers
8. AnzacDay
9. Ulahoopski
10. Mooresome
11. Kawenda
12. The Sherriff
13. Spuddd
14. Maggie5
15. OniAu
16. Vicky Park
17. Leviathan Pie
18. bringoutthegimp
19. Matt_352
20. Raveneyes

LC5NuoY.png

We're fresh off a close loss to the Carlton board a few hours ago.

Carlton had 24 players sign-up and the thread was 60 pages long. No doubt I have higher expectations that the Pies board will outdo those dirty Bluebaggers!

Look. I know ClarkeM smells, but if you get involved in the banter you're bound to get heaps of likes.

And maybe a premiership medallion.

Keen. For old times sake !!
Love it. I’ll put you in. Feel free to tag any other Pies supporters who might be interested in this for a bit of fun.

Hey guys,

I've come in here to tell you *checks notes* how good this game is.

In all seriousness, I've been playing it since 2005, and no doubt there's probably people here that weren't even born then, so that tells you enough about that. I've been with the one club too - though it has undergone some name changes including one forced by a dictating administrative board (but don't worry we overthrew them more than a decade ago and their head is on a spike now).

When you can be active it is really fun, you've got a few spammers but some are actually pretty clever and you can have a mutual respect. If you're keen on playing or have any questions, feel free to ask, especially if it's about how to remain on a list for multiple years whilst averaging a post every month (anything related to the game you'd better ask someone else).

I guess it's just a really good avenue to escape from the real world if the Pies have a bad week, and it's good to get around a bunch of guys/girls and talk s**t.

If you want to play for the Dragons (that's my team see the sick logo in my avatar), we recently won a flag that I was around for which was pretty special, then I'll pass you onto someone with responsibility that can help you with that :p

Have at it, we can always use some fresh meat players!

If the opposition doesn't turn up was the four points ever really up for grabs?

Hai Collingwood peeps. ClarkeM has spent yonks getting people involved in this game and even though he's a bit of a flog, you should listen to him. The game is seriously awesome. The banter is seriously awesome. The friends you make (even though they are mostly imaginary) are seriously awesome. And while you may not curse as strongly as you do when Treloar misses another target inside 50, there is certainly an element of frustration watching the game being sim/posted as your team capitulates to another loss.

Yeah, sure, it's a little nerdy, but you're already posting on an online football forum. Embrace your nerdiness and let's have some fun.

I think there's a lot of people who pop their head in and think, ah sounds like too much effort.

It's a one-off exhibition game where there is absolutely zero expectation on you to do a thing. And if at the end of it, you don't like it, you can go about your merry life as it is :).

I think we need to get some Mods in here to help spruik things up Maggie5 ;)?

A one off game 3 years ago, can't remember anything of it, but trust me my form was good then and it should be even better now. Pretty busy currently, but like an ex-AFL player chasing the cash around the bush I'll turn up every now and then.

You sound like a dashing half back flanker to me.

ClarkeM, give this one a jumper.