Banter Sweet FA Tour of BigFooty - play for the Melbourne board! Game over, but join the Sweet FA!

May 27, 2006
This is the location section. 🤗
MELBOURNE BOARD (14).png

My friends, the time has finally come. The time for us all to UNITE and play on the same team in a text-based football simulation to WIN over our chums on the Sweet FA board. The main goal here is to have just so much fun - apart, of course, from winning, which is naturally the number one aim.

What's qooty?
Qooty is a football simulation program written by BigFooty user Mobbs. It allows a game of footy to be simulated and generated in text form. Your username is entered into the program, along with 19 teammates and an opposition of 20, and the program generates a random game. Commentary and stats are generated, like this:

Code:
2.32 {lW} - The ball is now with Taylor.
4 : 2.35 {lW} - Draws a man and then with hands to Allikat.
4 : 2.38 {lW} - That's a massive kick from Allikat.
4 : 2.42 {lW} - It could be a goal. It is a goal.

East Side Hawks : 10.7.67
Baghdad Bombers : 18.11.119

4 : 2.46 {C} - Allikat times his jump well and wins the tap.
4 : 2.54 {rW} - The bounce favours Taylor and she is off and running.
4 : 2.57 {rW} - Barrybran rides Taylor into the ground.
4 : 3.01 {rW} - Taking the ball is pantskyle.
4 : 3.05 {rW} - pantskyle runs into dockshark and is getting up very slowly.
4 : 3.09 {C} - Not enough pressure on dockshark.
4 : 3.11 {C} - docksharkblazes away at goal.
4 : 3.15 {C} - dockshark gives some to the crowd after that goal.

Baghdad Bombers : 19.11.125

The 4 signifies the 4th quarter; the 2.32 is the time elapsed, and the {lW} is ground position (left wing). At the end of the game, a stats sheet is posted so everyone can brag about their performance:

AFTER-MATCH SUMMARY :
Rich (BB code):
ESH SENIORS Vs BOM SENIORS
ESH               3    4        7    5        10   7        15   7    97  
BOM               6    3        10   8        17   11       23   12   150
ESH        HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt  BOM         HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt
go you pup  0  2  0  1  0  0  0  0  0    8  billingsnu   0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0    0
Marklar_33  0  5  3  9  0  0  0  0  0   42  adammania9   0  2  1  4  0  1  0  0  0   18
Mr Eagle    0  5  2  2  0  0  1  0  0   22  LicoriceAl   0  3  1  2  0  0  0  0  0   16
tgrs        0  11 7  9  0  0  0  0  1   73  Dawn to Da   0  10 1  7  0  0  0  1  1   54
Milera2Bet  0  7  8  6  1  1  1  0  0   59  George       0  3  2  6  0  0  1  0  0   24
Egga        0  10 5  9  2  1  2  0  0   66  Daniel McL   0  11 10 14 1  1  1  0  0   93
Biggie      0  5  5  7  0  0  3  0  2   37  HumanMeatb   0  10 6  10 2  0  1  0  0   73
Loonerty    0  9  10 16 3  1  1  0  0   99  Tony Lynn    0  25 8  12 3  0  3  4  1  151
Keg on leg  0  5  4  8  1  0  0  0  0   47  TheCoach16   0  9  6  11 2  1  3  0  0   67
Agent93     0  18 4  15 1  0  0  2  0  112  iDon         0  8  6  12 2  2  1  1  1   80
BigJoeD_    0  4  4  8  0  0  0  1  0   46  beez         0  9  4  3  1  0  0  2  1   62
Brown Bott  0  5  1  5  0  1  0  3  0   47  Citroin      0  9  10 9  0  0  1  1  0   78
Karnezis_1  0  2  0  0  0  0  0  0  2    8  UnitedWarr   0  5  2  4  1  0  0  2  0   45
BRAB        0  6  2  0  0  0  2  5  1   49  BEEG         0  6  1  0  2  1  0  4  2   56
DapperJong  0  0  0  1  0  0  0  0  0    2  Shermy       0  3  3  1  0  0  0  2  1   33
spookism    12 12 0  9  3  2  2  1  1   81  HoweDanGoo   6  12 3  12 4  0  2  0  3   88
brahj       0  9  0  11 10 2  0  1  0   97  ant555       0  14 0  16 13 2  0  2  1  141
The Filth   0  13 0  8  10 5  2  1  0  100  miggs        0  10 0  9  10 7  0  1  1  102
larrikin    0  4  1  3  1  0  1  1  0   28  KohPhi       12 11 0  14 3  1  0  1  0   92
Eagling     0  3  2  2  2  0  1  0  0   24  okeydoke7    0  4  1  0  0  0  0  2  0   27

What's the Sweet FA?
The Sweet Football Association is https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/the-sweet-f-a-sfa-fantasy-footy-league.30/, centred on the fictional location of Sweet. There are 12 teams, which originally began mostly as club board representative teams but have long since hybridised and merged into terms of mixed loyalties. We play two 16/17 game seasons each year, followed by finals, team and league award presentations, and MUCH fun and banter. Much fun. And much banter.

AFL allegiances are left at the door, and many people put in amazing efforts to keep the board entertained. It's all about fun and banter based on the Sweet FA team you play for - not the AFL team you support (which, in some ways, is unfortunate given Melbourne has decided to be good for the first time in about 900 years :eyes:).

The Sweet FA began in 2001, and has now been running for 31 seasons. There is much history, and career stats are a treasured source of banter.

Here's a quick image that I definitely did NOT create, but DO have available to me to introduce the 12 current clubs:

7C0BE153-4DD1-4C6D-91CE-9F10F7325E73.png

What do you need to do?
So, to summarise, we (the Melbourne board) are in this thread playing a tour match against a Sweet FA representative side, made up of posters from the 12 Sweet FA teams. If you're keen to get involved in the thread and represent the Melbourne board, just post something to that effect in this thread. It will just be so wonderful seeing the already most harmonious board come together as one to WIN, and to have so much FUN. Together! 🤗

You don't need to do anything else, but the main attraction of the game for most people is bantering with the opposition team in the lead-up to the game.

The matches are decided by a random text simulator called Qooty.
The matches play out entirely randomly. The simulator produces a text transcript of commentary, provides statistics, and maintains a season. Results are determined entirely by the random number generating functions of a computer.

SO what do I need you to do?
All I need from you is just to say that you're interested in playing by posting in this thread. We need 20 players. If we don't get this, any name can be entered into the program.

DO I have to do anything?
You will not need to do anything (except call your opponent names :p )

WHO wants to play a stupid fantasy game?
Over 260 people, each season play in just our league. We couldn't care less if you think it's childish :cool:.
If you wish to live vicariously through your username, or relive the glory days of your youth, come try it - it may be for you!

WHO are we playing?
You'll be playing a representative team from the Sweet F.A. Despite their myriad of achievements, their performance is as much at the mercy of the randomness of the sim as yours is.

What if I want more Qooty?
After the game on Sunday, if you enjoyed the week and want more, then please post your interest in this thread, and a captain or representative from a club that is searching for players will contact you. You will likely get several offers: it is entirely your choice as to which team you join. A new season will be starting in the next 2 weeks; it is an ideal time to join up.

So if you want to get involved and see how the game is played, put your name down below, and we'll answer any questions you have for us.

Melbourne board expressions of interest:

1. Headless
  2. ImissFrosty
  3. Proper Gander
  4. Dory_77
  5. Grimesy87
  6. Marlowe
  7. Zoops
  8. Toump Ass
  9. Bluelegs
  10. TheCount
  11. FootyGuy13
  12. Dancing Potato
  13. Pickitt
  14. TheDarkDwarf
  15. 00Stinger
  16. Crimson Azure
  17. schmuttt
  18. ?
  19. ?
  20. ?

Nov 7, 2017
GWS
Manchester City, Collingwood AFLW
Hello Demons,

It's been good to see you do good this year, but not so good that we couldn't still get a win against you. Would've been nice if you had beat Collingwood for us as well, and let us win the first time we met, but hey, we persevere!

Anyway, I'm going to enjoy putting on a Qooty clinic for you in the upcoming match, it'll be Ed Langdon-esque

May 27, 2006
Anyway, I'm going to enjoy putting on a Qooty clinic for you in the upcoming match, it'll be Ed Langdon-esque

Topkent will appreciate the outside run and class you provide. Perhaps you'd like to line up on the opposing wing to show Bangers how it's done, TK? No doubt you can get some great material for The Lab from your own performance. 🥳

May 27, 2006
Dark Avenger Demon 16 Dory_77 pjfairbairn Proper Gander Russian Demon schmuttt (and our dear friend Topkent, as tagged above)

After we all had so much fun in the 1990-2020 re-draft thread, let's all play for the Melbourne board together and win a game of simulated footy! Who's keen? You just need to give the word and then you can banter in this thread as much as you like about how much you'll dominate (no other effort required).

Aug 17, 2009
On a boat
Southampton F.C., eAFL SUNS
Hello Demons fans. Hope you’re keen to come have fun and try this out - we need more normal people in the Sweet F.A. rather than Richmond fans.

Feb 15, 2015
South Yarra
Mt Buller Demons

My friends, the time has finally come. The time for us all to UNITE and play on the same team in a text-based football simulation to WIN over our chums on the Sweet FA board. The main goal here is to have just so much fun - apart, of course, from winning, which is naturally the number one aim.

What's qooty?
Qooty is a football simulation program written by BigFooty user Mobbs. It allows a game of footy to be simulated and generated in text form. Your username is entered into the program, along with 19 teammates and an opposition of 20, and the program generates a random game. Commentary and stats are generated, like this:

Code:

The 4 signifies the 4th quarter; the 2.32 is the time elapsed, and the {lW} is ground position (left wing). At the end of the game, a stats sheet is posted so everyone can brag about their performance:

AFTER-MATCH SUMMARY :
Rich (BB code):
ESH        HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt  BOM         HO  K  M  H  T  FF FA G  B   Dt
go you pup  0  2  0  1  0  0  0  0  0    8  billingsnu   0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0  0    0
Marklar_33  0  5  3  9  0  0  0  0  0   42  adammania9   0  2  1  4  0  1  0  0  0   18
Mr Eagle    0  5  2  2  0  0  1  0  0   22  LicoriceAl   0  3  1  2  0  0  0  0  0   16
tgrs        0  11 7  9  0  0  0  0  1   73  Dawn to Da   0  10 1  7  0  0  0  1  1   54
Milera2Bet  0  7  8  6  1  1  1  0  0   59  George       0  3  2  6  0  0  1  0  0   24
Egga        0  10 5  9  2  1  2  0  0   66  Daniel McL   0  11 10 14 1  1  1  0  0   93
Biggie      0  5  5  7  0  0  3  0  2   37  HumanMeatb   0  10 6  10 2  0  1  0  0   73
Loonerty    0  9  10 16 3  1  1  0  0   99  Tony Lynn    0  25 8  12 3  0  3  4  1  151
Keg on leg  0  5  4  8  1  0  0  0  0   47  TheCoach16   0  9  6  11 2  1  3  0  0   67
Agent93     0  18 4  15 1  0  0  2  0  112  iDon         0  8  6  12 2  2  1  1  1   80
BigJoeD_    0  4  4  8  0  0  0  1  0   46  beez         0  9  4  3  1  0  0  2  1   62
Brown Bott  0  5  1  5  0  1  0  3  0   47  Citroin      0  9  10 9  0  0  1  1  0   78
Karnezis_1  0  2  0  0  0  0  0  0  2    8  UnitedWarr   0  5  2  4  1  0  0  2  0   45
BRAB        0  6  2  0  0  0  2  5  1   49  BEEG         0  6  1  0  2  1  0  4  2   56
DapperJong  0  0  0  1  0  0  0  0  0    2  Shermy       0  3  3  1  0  0  0  2  1   33
spookism    12 12 0  9  3  2  2  1  1   81  HoweDanGoo   6  12 3  12 4  0  2  0  3   88
brahj       0  9  0  11 10 2  0  1  0   97  ant555       0  14 0  16 13 2  0  2  1  141
The Filth   0  13 0  8  10 5  2  1  0  100  miggs        0  10 0  9  10 7  0  1  1  102
larrikin    0  4  1  3  1  0  1  1  0   28  KohPhi       12 11 0  14 3  1  0  1  0   92
Eagling     0  3  2  2  2  0  1  0  0   24  okeydoke7    0  4  1  0  0  0  0  2  0   27

What's the Sweet FA?
The Sweet Football Association is https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forums/the-sweet-f-a-sfa-fantasy-footy-league.30/, centred on the fictional location of Sweet. There are 12 teams, which originally began mostly as club board representative teams but have long since hybridised and merged into terms of mixed loyalties. We play two 16/17 game seasons each year, followed by finals, team and league award presentations, and MUCH fun and banter. Much fun. And much banter.

AFL allegiances are left at the door, and many people put in amazing efforts to keep the board entertained. It's all about fun and banter based on the Sweet FA team you play for - not the AFL team you support (which, in some ways, is unfortunate given Melbourne has decided to be good for the first time in about 900 years :eyes:).

The Sweet FA began in 2001, and has now been running for 31 seasons. There is much history, and career stats are a treasured source of banter.

Here's a quick image that I definitely did NOT create, but DO have available to me to introduce the 12 current clubs:

What do you need to do?
So, to summarise, we (the Melbourne board) are in this thread playing a tour match against a Sweet FA representative side, made up of posters from the 12 Sweet FA teams. If you're keen to get involved in the thread and represent the Melbourne board, just post something to that effect in this thread. It will just be so wonderful seeing the already most harmonious board come together as one to WIN, and to have so much FUN. Together! 🤗

You don't need to do anything else, but the main attraction of the game for most people is bantering with the opposition team in the lead-up to the game.

The matches play out entirely randomly. The simulator produces a text transcript of commentary, provides statistics, and maintains a season. Results are determined entirely by the random number generating functions of a computer.

All I need from you is just to say that you're interested in playing by posting in this thread. We need 20 players. If we don't get this, any name can be entered into the program.

Over 260 people, each season play in just our league. We couldn't care less if you think it's childish :cool:.
If you wish to live vicariously through your username, or relive the glory days of your youth, come try it - it may be for you!

WHO are we playing?
You'll be playing a representative team from the Sweet F.A. Despite their myriad of achievements, their performance is as much at the mercy of the randomness of the sim as yours is.

After the game on Sunday, if you enjoyed the week and want more, then please post your interest in this thread, and a captain or representative from a club that is searching for players will contact you. You will likely get several offers: it is entirely your choice as to which team you join. A new season will be starting in the next 2 weeks; it is an ideal time to join up.

So if you want to get involved and see how the game is played, put your name down below, and we'll answer any questions you have for us.

1. Headless
  2. ImissFrosty
3. Proper Gander

May 27, 2006
Apr 12, 2014
Hello Demons,

It's been good to see you do good this year, but not so good that we couldn't still get a win against you. Would've been nice if you had beat Collingwood for us as well, and let us win the first time we met, but hey, we persevere!

gday bangers how you been

What's qooty?

Code:

AFTER-MATCH SUMMARY :
Rich (BB code):

What's the Sweet FA?

What do you need to do?

WHO are we playing?

1. Headless
  2. ImissFrosty
  3. Proper Gander
  4. Dory_77
I'm sure the Hawks players reading this will be delighted to be reminded about being smashed by the Bombers in a grand final :).

Are you keen for a CHB type position like your namesake?

Awesome! What position do you reckon would suit you best?
CHB is perfect thank you

May 27, 2006
I'm sure the Hawks players reading this will be delighted to be reminded about being smashed by the Bombers in a grand final :).

Will be a similar score for this game, but possibly even more one-sided.

I'm vibing that the Melbourne board will have excellent defensive structures.

Jun 14, 2015
In a house with a sausage dog Trevor
Port Adelaide Power
Would anyone like to know what I think of Mac Andrew, the Melbourne NGA prospect?
I'd like to know what you think of the name Mac Andrew.

Personally I find it problematic. I have problems with it.

Aug 17, 2009
On a boat
Southampton F.C., eAFL SUNS
I'd like to know what you think of the name Mac Andrew.

Personally I find it problematic. I have problems with it.
Look, I tend to agree with you. We should wait to hear what Bangers says though.