Switching off after work

• Thread starter Thread starter fryingpan

its easy.

I hit the gym, have a good meal after, then tap the gf.

work causes some level of stress and anxiety.

the gym releases any stress and/or anger, a good meal is awesome after a good workout (and by meal I dont mean maccas !) and tapping the gf is cream on the cake so to speak. :p

Watching tv after the tapping and then crashing and falling asleep is just perfect.

Thats great for Mon-Thurs, for Fri and Sat its happy days, Sunday evening im a little depressed so an early night with some lovin helps.

Thats some cheap easy low cost options I highly recommend.

You keep fit, eat well, have endorphins released, relieve any blue balls and dont engage in drugs for stress relief ! :thumbsu:

As a first year teacher, my job definitely takes over all aspects of my life more than I would like. It's a case of getting home and then spending hours preparing for the next day, fine tuning lesson plans. Then there's all the bullshit admin work and assessment. I'm hoping it will get easier the longer I do it.

I'd say Ferris has a very good routine.

thanks mate the thing is the gym is such a sexual place (relaxing) and then by the time yo finish your work out your ready for some fun!

If you havent been to the gym ever or in years try taking things nice and slowly and build up. When I lost 30kgs (yes 30kgs) I first started out walking outside then slowly did weights in the house, then progressed to the gym. :o

The gym can and is an intimidating place to begin your campaign of relieving stress. Interestingly enough its when I dropped the kilos that I met my current gf. :rolleyes:

Unfortunately I don't have the job where I can walk out the door and that's it for the day. My phone rings non stop. When I get home, chances are I'll get at least one phone call before the night is out. I got a phone call once at 2am ... 2am! I sometimes need to physically get in my car and drive out to see a client, well after knock off time.

Probably the main reason why I think about it so much is because I struggle to find things to keep myself occupied, I'm home on my own most nights except when my partner is around so there's only so much I can do .. My routine on Mon, Tues & sometimes Wed is basically come home, have a drink, smoke, cook dinner, watch TV, eat dinner, smoke, watch TV, bed. As I said that's only 2, maybe 3 nights a week because I'll be with partner and/or at the pub the other nights, but still find myself thinking about work .. I've actually checked my emails a couple of times at home to see what's waiting for me at work the next day and sometimes there have been huge emails from angry clients and that just makes it worse because then I think about how I'll deal with it, what I'll tell my boss etc etc!

Gym is probably a good idea, I joined one a few years ago but never got round to going and I like the idea of trying to switch off before I leave.

Unfortunately I don't have the job where I can walk out the door and that's it for the day. My phone rings non stop. When I get home, chances are I'll get at least one phone call before the night is out. I got a phone call once at 2am ... 2am! I sometimes need to physically get in my car and drive out to see a client, well after knock off time.
What do you do for a living? Surly a client wouldn't want a 2am meeting...ahaha.

I recomend reading a book, but if that's not your thing...

Or even during work. Bloody hell I gotta stop buying all those bloody Naughty Office DVDs.... They really cloud my version of reality.

never had a quickie during work, but have thought about it !? of course had sex when having a sickie but that doesnt count!?:confused:

have had one during uni, but who hasnt?:rolleyes:

hell had one during an exam, but of course wasnt at the exam, sickie, lol !

when I get my iphone eventually may even watch a little pr0n to make time go by, lol ! :p

What do you do for a living? Surly a client wouldn't want a 2am meeting...ahaha.

I recomend reading a book, but if that's not your thing...

I work as a job coordinator which means I basically find employment for people and make sure they maintain it and at times I need to train them up or at least be there for support (for the disabled clients) and luckily for me a few of my clients do night work!! so guess who's got to be there with them for part of their training?

The key is not giving a shit about your job

It's hard when you're relied upon so much. A friend of mine is in the same position, he works in real estate managing landlords properties and is probably mangaging about 50 million dollars worth of properties, hard to just not care!

My current employment situation enables me to switch off about 15 minutes before I should knock off. I usually don't worry about anything else until I walk back into the doors of hell.

I leave my work area pristine, and return to see what my boss has done to totally ruin all the hard work I have done.

I'm in a similar situation, I've worked at a few places before but started my first full-time job 4-5 months ago and it's been pretty full on, it's a lot more fast paced than I've been used to and I've been pretty much exhausted by the end of the day to the point that I haven't really made much of an effort to keep up a "normal" social life. I think there are a number of ways to deal with it, first of all getting enough sleep is a MUST. (No more procrastinating on BF!! Browsing the forums are ok but try to limit your time on the computer at night)

Have also started going to the gym again a couple of nights a week after an extended absence, exercise helps to clear the mind, as does meditation/yoga/any form of relaxing.

Where I work, we usually grab a drink after work on Friday nights, nothing special but it's nice to unwind sometimes. There's usually a good band at the pub downstairs from our office so that helps!

Weekends: I hate thinking about work! Try to catch up with mates if I can. Play a bit of soccer and basically get a bit of fresh air.

But it's a struggle to get used to the grind of working Monday - Friday and I'm still adjusting to it. There are days where I've been pretty blue thinking about stuff I could have done better. The parentals reckon I need a girl and I've got no doubt it would help if I was with the right person but I know myself and it would just mean something else to juggle at a time when I'm still trying to sort the various pieces of my life out.

The foundation of any form of relaxation plan...

jizzinmypants.jpg

I clock off and walk out the door and thats about it. Its called not giving a shit. Get yourself a couple of bad employers and you will find this an easy thing to embrace.