Sydney Stack Discussion

The guy is 20 years old and you and others are judging him for wanting to go to a party ON NEW YEAR'S EVE which is in TWO WEEKS because he's had a family member pass away?

Richmond culture is all about accepting players as being human and that's it's ok to not be perfect. Football comes 2nd to happiness.

Maybe we should be greatful that he's not in a deep pit of depression after the year he's had where nothing seems to be going right?

What does the pies have to do with anything? We just won 3 of the last 4 flags! We're nothing like them.

I think it's time to take a break when some of us are stalking social media for ammunition to use against our own players.
nothin wrong with going to paty ny but not coming back fit and not giving 100% at training is not good enough and need to pull out the digit

The year that nothing seems to have gone right : I am pretty sure he is not the only person that has endured that and should consider himself extremely lucky not having to spend 6+ months locked up at home with 1 hour exercise time and was on the gold coast training and having some semblance of freedom until their own stuff up going to strippers and fighting. And nothing going right is mostly his fault so sorry he made hi bed there

I really hope he grows up and accepts responsibility for his actions and learns from them and has a great career but currently i wont be putting any money on this happening with things that are leaking out.

This response just highlights how little you understand of what depression is and how it effects people.and I'm not saying that's what Syd is going through btw.

I've just gotta stay out of this thread I reckon.

I understand that his footy career may be slipping away but I'm content given all the success we've had as a club recently. As long as he's happy and healthy in the long run it's all good to me

But that's just me.

Agree to a point,

boss I need time off because the death of a relative

sure no problem

next minute I’m getting on the piss for nye

how long do you reckon I would last in my job?

If you were drinking on NYE?

I dont stalk social media , The comment regarding the Pie is/was in regards to how everything their players do is fine and no issue until they have been moved on and all of a sudden they re the worst people in the world. We need to accept that our players have faults and the emotional and financial investment made by supporters and members as well as the club IS NOT UNCONDITIONAL.

Whilst our culture and team ethos is about supporting and caring it doent mean they take the piss out of it, Stack has a condition in his contract that include his fitness levels and condition he presents when he returns to the club and alongside the part of my post you missed in quoting has had 3 full months away from team and players and to present himself not in optimum is not acceptable.

The year that nothing seems to have gone right : I am pretty sure he is not the only person that has endured that and should consider himself extremely lucky not having to spend 6+ months locked up at home with 1 hour exercise time and was on the gold coast training and having some semblance of freedom until their own stuff up going to strippers and fighting. And nothing going right is mostly his fault so sorry he made hi bed there

Sorry mate respect your opinion but we need to sometimes see things for what they are and with Sydney Stack its not going to be an easy road until he learns that thing dont always get handed to you and you need to earn some. His own manager saying he was not fit enough is also concerning .

I really hope he grows up and accepts responsibility for his actions and learns from them and has a great career but currently i wont be putting any money on this happening with things that are leaking out.

Mate I agree and respect a lot of what you say normally, and I know I'm new to the forum so I hope I'm not treading on feet, but he's a kid. How old are half the people on this blog. My dad always said 'if I could put my head on your shoulders' but that's the thing, he has been through his sh*t but it's all a saying, we all make mistakes when we're young. He's gonna screw up, there's probably a lot of kids Richmond have on their list that have screwed up thatmwe haven't heard about. Yes we're emotionally and somewhat financially invested but he is playing with HIS career ultimately.

You talk about the investment of the club and that he has clauses in his contract. No doubt he does, wait until the club comes out and says he hasn't fulfilled it and that his contract is terminated before jumping at shadows. You may be right, but equally may be well off the mark. The ISO part, I got my work taken away from me for months, I'm not gonna have a go at him for his actions. Everyone is different, not everyone is you or me. And thank god for that because it would be a very boring place.

A lot of people are taking such a naive stance on this. Let's find out the truth before hanging the man. And if it comes out he hasn't trained and does get delisted or whatever, it's a sport, we'll move forward and hopefully something else comes up for the kid. This is not life or death for us

This response just highlights how little you understand of what depression is and how it effects people.and I'm not saying that's what Syd is going through btw.

I've just gotta stay out of this thread I reckon.

I understand that his footy career may be slipping away but I'm content given all the success we've had as a club recently. As long as he's happy and healthy in the long run it's all good to me

But that's just me.
Unless he has depression whats the point of bringing it up ? I never said i understand depression like maybe others who have experienced it but believe myself to be understanding enough when people who do have it to stay off that topic.

really dont understand your stance in this bringing things like depression etc into it unless you know something we dont then this thread should be closed but as far as we can see as supporters and members we have a player that has brought our club penalties and has been suspended , Gone away for 3 months and come back in sh!t condition whilst getting paid bloody good money.

Has been sent home and now looking for party tickets on instagram, Not sure if you know much about his training 'that day' at the club but apparently was shocking (from a good training watcher of many years)

The team is bigger than the individual. We won the premiership without Sydney, so its not like we need him as much as he probably needs us.
Hopefully he can realise the opportunities he may be throwing away, maybe if Shai, Daniel or MRJ can have a word in his ear & make this a special opportunity for up & coming aboriginal kids something to aspire too. Winning a premiership with some brothers in arms will last you a lifetime, also the extra benefits it could bring to his life after football.
Its all in Sydney's hands now, if he has the strength of character to make the most of, what most kids would die to do. Or he just wastes his time for the remainder of the season, then finishes his footy career as just another kid that wasted his talent.

Mate I agree and respect a lot of what you say normally, and I know I'm new to the forum so I hope I'm not treading on feet, but he's a kid. How old are half the people on this blog. My dad always said 'if I could put my head on your shoulders' but that's the thing, he has been through his sh*t but it's all a saying, we all make mistakes when we're young. He's gonna screw up, there's probably a lot of kids Richmond have on their list that have screwed up thatmwe haven't heard about. Yes we're emotionally and somewhat financially invested but he is playing with HIS career ultimately.

You talk about the investment of the club and that he has clauses in his contract. No doubt he does, wait until the club comes out and says he hasn't fulfilled it and that his contract is terminated before jumping at shadows. You may be right, but equally may be well off the mark. The ISO part, I got my work taken away from me for months, I'm not gonna have a go at him for his actions. Everyone is different, not everyone is you or me. And thank god for that because it would be a very boring place.

A lot of people are taking such a naive stance on this. Let's find out the truth before hanging the man. And if it comes out he hasn't trained and does get delisted or whatever, it's a sport, we'll move forward and hopefully something else comes up for the kid. This is not life or death for us

I dont want him delisted as he is a bloody good player with a huge amount of talent , But his actions and behavior are worrying
I know all about making mistakes and trust me i have made a few and well as my kids making more than their share.

But CCJ & Stacks mistakes were pretty big up there that cost the club alot of money and reputation. No issue with him going home or even to a party
By biggest gripe is after 3 months away from the team and having to make up he comes back in such bad shape to not even be able to run out and stops then jogs !! Please

Unless he has depression whats the point of bringing it up ? I never said i understand depression like maybe others who have experienced it but believe myself to be understanding enough when people who do have it to stay off that topic.

really dont understand your stance in this bringing things like depression etc into it unless you know something we dont then this thread should be closed but as far as we can see as supporters and members we have a player that has brought our club penalties and has been suspended , Gone away for 3 months and come back in sh!t condition whilst getting paid bloody good money.

Has been sent home and now looking for party tickets on instagram, Not sure if you know much about his training 'that day' at the club but apparently was shocking (from a good training watcher of many years)

I brought it up because people are pissed that he's posting videos being happy and having a great time. So the question...is what would you prefer? Him being in a very dark place mentally? Anyway... Carry on.

It's clear we aren't going to see eye to eye on this. I just want what's best for him. You want him to be a good footballer. Either way the club be fine with or without him. The club has proven that well and truly.

Why were Biggy and Miller in the 'unfit' group? Because Miller and Biggy were in full training a few months ago so unless they had leg operations they were not going to be unfit. Biggy had a shoulder injury months and months ago. So I'm not sure that it is a 'fact' at all. He may have come last, but do we know anything about him running in the 'unfit' group other than conjecture. But we know he wasn't as fit as he should be, but he has 4-5 months to catch up (given he can't play until April).

Biggy spent his entire time at the hub running laps.

I think people immediately assume returning to training unfit means a lack of effort. That's certainly possible. It's also really possible that he just lacks the right set up, both with equipment as well as family and support, to return in the right kind of shape, especially given he was thrust back home unexpectedly.

Again, it's possible that it is a lack of application, but issues like this are rarely so black and white, but people constantly try to categorise them that way.

This, plus some people are naturally fit and others have to work for it, while in Stacks case he could have spent more time in the gym than running. Who the **** would know. What I do know is Jack Graham who no one would question his level of commitment and work rate, did bugger all during the lockdown in terms of looking after his fitness and no one batted an eye lid.

I think Stack is a massive tosser and has a high opinion of himself but Im not going to let my opinion of him as a person lead me to post some of the rubbish that has been written about him on this site throughout the course of this year. The Tik Toks, instagram post and the other stuff he does aren't my cup of tea but just because he does these things, doesn't mean he isn't working hard to improve his game.

I brought it up because people are pissed that he's posting videos being happy and having a great time. So the question...is what would you prefer? Him being in a very dark place mentally? Anyway... Carry on.

It's clear we aren't going to see eye to eye on this. I just want what's best for him. You want him to be a good footballer. Either way the club be fine with or without him. The club has proven that well and truly.

And you dont agree that these 2 things go hand in hand with a person like Stack !!
If he doesnt succeed at Richmond he may not have an afl career and who know what becomes of him then.

I dont want him delisted as he is a bloody good player with a huge amount of talent , But his actions and behavior are worrying
I know all about making mistakes and trust me i have made a few and well as my kids making more than their share.

But CCJ & Stacks mistakes were pretty big up there that cost the club alot of money and reputation. No issue with him going home or even to a party
By biggest gripe is after 3 months away from the team and having to make up he comes back in such bad shape to not even be able to run out and stops then jogs !! Please

Yeah fair enough, that is totally understandable, the $100k fine is huge I do get that and it'll take a long time to earn that respect back.
I think him being unfit, while annoying because I love the club and I think he could be a gun for us if everything clicked is just down to immaturity and upbringing. Who knows if he'll get himself into gear but let him party, grieve and work things out, Dustys earns the right but he parties more than most haha

So he posts stuff that he is happy, well isn't that great. Oh hold on I'm in the spotlight and after the trouble caused, I better stay out of the limelight till things die down. Well, that is what a responsible person would do anyway. Private life should be just that. Do you think the cameras would be on him if nothing had happened or showing his drunken face for everyone to see?

I would prefer he did what he gets paid to do and be a professional and train and be fit enough to do what we pay him to do.
I pay my membership to help the club and he costs the club money with his stupidity and comes back unfit. He has no reason to be depressed and i doubt he is looking at his SM stuff.

there is 200 kids that didnt get drafted that would do anything to be in his position and the club did a great job keeping him on the list.lets hope he pays back the club with the same respect

I would prefer he did what he gets paid to do and be a professional and train and be fit enough to do what we pay him to do.
I pay my membership to help the club and he costs the club money with his stupidity and comes back unfit. He has no reason to be depressed and i doubt he is looking at his SM stuff.

there is 200 kids that didnt get drafted that would do anything to be in his position and the club did a great job keeping him on the list.lets hope he pays back the club with the same respect
but he HAS reasons to be depressed, doesn't he ?....Death in the family, breakup (awhile ago)...and of course I would not want anyone to be in a dark place because of it.

I accept that he loves the attention doing his stuff outside footy (not my cup of tea) but surely you tone things down abit going back for a family funeral.

Going back for a family funeral, hooking up with a new girl, post it on insta...you might expect me to unleash on him now but no...I will choose to look at it from another angle...I hope she's a sensible girl that helps him thru this tough time, she's a footballer too...hey presto, train together !!

But if he goes back and looks for opportunities to party (I don't have social media access to confirm any of this) under the guise of getting thru this grieving period...well I won't attack him...haven't in the past but won't waste my time anymore.

Don’t need an expensive set up to put in cardio work

Especially when he’s been posting videos of him out on the beers and patrolling the beaches with his mates the past 2 months on his socials
My son has kept himself in good shape over the long lay off, good amount of running following club running programs etc. First training session was stuffed half way through it. 4 months to get in shape, no point being super fit in Dec. Some people have natural endurance some have to work on it.

Agree to a point,

boss I need time off because the death of a relative

sure no problem

next minute I’m getting on the piss for nye

how long do you reckon I would last in my job?
Everyone gets on the piss new years eve. It's a ticket to a concert that he was chasing was it not, not like he's on a bender until then. He would have a running program, he might even be training with his local club for all we know. Doubt you would lose your job for getting on the piss NYE.

Biggy spent his entire time at the hub running laps.

This, plus some people are naturally fit and others have to work for it, while in Stacks case he could have spent more time in the gym than running. Who the fu** would know. What I do know is Jack Graham who no one would question his level of commitment and work rate, did bugger all during the lockdown in terms of looking after his fitness and no one batted an eye lid.

I think Stack is a massive tosser and has a high opinion of himself but Im not going to let my opinion of him as a person lead me to post some of the rubbish that has been written about him on this site throughout the course of this year. The Tik Toks, instagram post and the other stuff he does aren't my cup of tea but just because he does these things, doesn't mean he isn't working hard to improve his game.
Well that was a while ago, no point getting fit if you are not going to play. But he would be pretty keen to get ready for this year, so I doubt he is still running laps and if he is not fit I would be pretty surprise.
Edit: just read the injury report on Biggy.
Bigoa Nyuon, shoulder

“Shoulder is great, he is back to pretty much full training. His conditioning at the moment is outstanding, he has returned and done some things that we have seen in the last week which is really pleasing.

“He has taken a couple of steps forward in some areas and it’s actually really exciting to see him out here training with the boys and he is doing some good stuff at the moment, it’s really good.”

The Tiges should look at talking to Chance Bateman who lost his sister in WA early in his career & comes from the same area as Sydney.
Its not a club thing, its the kids welfare.