Sydney Stack Discussion

Serious. Please. McGawon is a nazi while he only broke AFL protocols the first time around. I could accept this upheaval if he come from the Northern beaches of Sydney but what he has done is very minor.

He is 20 years old. Remind me where Pickett was at the same age. Thats right trying to stay in jail as that was easier for him. If the club can't help him get through this period we may as well never take another chance of a speculative character again.

Reckon Pickett would advise him to take the same route? Come on mate. Whole point is not to fall into the trap and listen to the blokes that have been through it and come out the other side.

I want him to succeed as much as anyone but there’s no way he gets a free pass on this. He’s knows better. Fact.

Completely missing the point. Aboriginal people have trouble adapting to western society while in Stacks case Covid is basically magnifying that 100x. Asking someone who barely knows what a home is, to be confined to that one spot for 14 days with zero positive influences around him. Im not necessarily excusing Stacks behaviour but I understand it, which if you can't put yourself in his shoes then it easy to say why can't you sit at home for 14 days or maintain your fitness over the off season or not sink too much piss.

No, you’re missing the point. This Covid pandemic doesn’t discriminate and you can’t try and excuse it on cultural lines. That’s a BS cop out. White, black, yellow, pink, doesn’t matter. Follow the ****ing rules for your safety and the safety of others. There are some things that over ride everything. This pandemic is one of them.

The whole country has been muddling through COVID. Border Police letting passengers off cruise ships in NSW, long lockdowns in Victoria after quarrantine breaches & to this day passengers slipping through from OS to Melbourne via Sydney. WA have been lockdown HQ and Stack returns there and doesn't follow quarantine rules. This is not an Elijah Taylor situation
In Qld the COVD breach fine is about $1300, WA who knows, I think one person got a suspended jail sentence. But from the health perspective Stack needs 10 more days. Isolation is the main requirement. I mean the WA govt announced their latest measures to people who were mid flight, made families go into quarantine. I think the Govt will make Stack do his quarantine in a supervised hotel.
Patience has run out iin bigfootyworld & would be wearing thin among the leadership group.

I can’t imagine this has gone down too well from Peggy down. Just so reckless and stupid.

Stengle, Bennell, Stack

Indigenous Australians who have come from broken homes. They've struggled significantly to recover from the systematic racism that their great grandparents would have faced.

Broken families can be generational, a rut that cannot be undone after a few years by a footy club. The Rioli's settled in a different area in Australia and have largely benefited by being far removed from awful white Australians who would have torn their family apart and committed genocide to their race.

I am disappointed in Stack, ties may need to be cut, but don't be fooled, we shouldn't join the lynchmob and burn him at the stake. This is a complicated issue far larger than footy. Please be mindful when you pass judgement.
Excuse city!!

Hey, Just thought I'd drop in and say sorry to hear about Sydney. I'm a massive Stack fan and was hoping he would get it together. His debut season was a great AFL story and a great Richmond story. There is an article in the West where he said he had returned to Perth for sorry business after his Grandfather passed away which probably explains the compassionate grounds. Why he then decided to go out in Northbridge while on sorry business/in quarantine is a huge lapse in judgment. Here's hoping he can turn things around still.

I live in Richmond and actually saw Peggy this morning on Swan street talking outside cheeky monkey cafe. She seemed not to have a care in the world. Obviously before she got the stack news.

Here's the article for those interested;

Richmond’s Sydney Stack concedes ‘AFL career is on the line’ after alleged second COVID breach

Sydney Stack of the Tigers runs with the ball during a match between the Essendon Bombers and Richmond Tigers this year. Credit: Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images

Richmond’s banned rising star Sydney Stack has conceded his “AFL career is on the line” after he was arrested in Northbridge for an alleged second COVID breach.
Fronting Perth Magistrate’s Court this morning it was revealed the 20-year-old was allegedly found to be flouting a quarantine direction in the party district after police handed him a move on notice for disorderly conduct.
It was only when police checked Stack’s details against his drivers licence that they realised he should have been in self-isolation.
Speaking on audio from quarantine in the Northbridge watch house, Stack attempted to put his case to the magistrate.
“My AFL career is on the line with Richmond,” he said. “I came into Perth to get a COVID test done.”
Stack said he had come back to Perth for “cultural healing” and spent several days at his nominated address in Northam after the death of his grandfather.
But he moved to Belmont after arguing with family members.
He said he had not had any check-ups from police since arriving from South Australia on Thursday.
The court heard he had set out from Melbourne, a State currently deemed very low risk, and did not leave the airport in SA.
He was arrested and charged with failing to comply with a COVID self-quarantine direction after the incident in Northbridge at 1.10am on Saturday morning.
Police prosecutors today opposed bail, arguing it was an “exceptionally extreme form of breach” because his actions had put “large numbers of the public at risk”, and that this was not the first time he had done so.
The magistrate refused bail, saying it was “a blatant breach” of quarantine restrictions, with “potential for community transmission.”
Richmond is aware of Stack's arrest and charge but is not commenting any further at the moment and his manager Paul Peos said he would not make any comment at this stage.

Not sure if already mentioned but the issue isn't just that he broke quarantine, the Channel 7 news showed he was arrested for a brawl outside a bar, they had footage too.
Some of us alluded to it, but the dorises amongst us didn’t want to listen,

Reckon Pickett would advise him to take the same route? Come on mate. Whole point is not to fall into the trap and listen to the blokes that have been through it and come out the other side.

I want him to succeed as much as anyone but there’s no way he gets a free pass on this. He’s knows better. Fact.

Of course he wouldn't but it took Pickett a long time to realise that himself and the crimes he committed were far greater than the crimes we know Stack has committed. Its easy to listen much harder to follow especially when said voices aren't there to guide you.

No, you’re missing the point. This Covid pandemic doesn’t discriminate and you can’t try and excuse it on cultural lines. That’s a BS cop out. White, black, yellow, pink, doesn’t matter. Follow the ******* rules for your safety and the safety of others. There are some things that over ride everything. This pandemic is one of them.

As I thought not prepared to have the conversation or simply too ignorant to understand the cultural differences.

Did he assault someone? rape someone? kill someone? steal a car? abduct a child? No he went to a party having arrived from SA 8 days earlier who have had 1 case in the past 20 days. Some perspective is needed.
It’s not about the gravity of the action for me though. I’m not all about hanging him for travelling outside of where he was expected to have been.

However, there is an expectation that AFL players act like model citizens when it comes to COVID-19 restrictions. There is a level of trust that clubs and the AFL need from their players because their actions heavily influence the restrictions that state Premiers put on them should COVID-19 flare up again next season. WA is the toughest of the states too so losing their confidence is going to be troubling for the AFL.

Also, what if Richmond is now forced to take action against an already suspended Stack? What if there are going to be financial penalties involved, whether it is in himself of Richmond? It means that he’ll be unnecessarily causing a further issue by either being unavailable for longer or costing himself or the club money.

If you take all of this into account, then it is quite disappointing. All it takes is just to remain where you are told to remain for 14 days. I’m sure that the club’s confidence in him is going to take a hit because of this.

Wow, you are a total pushover! And before you accuse people of trying to protect lives as ‘nazis’ you might want to do some research on how the nazis valued human lives.

Still waiting for you to tell us what you think the club should do btw.
I largely agree with what TT said, save for the Nazi reference.
I’ve just read the article on the HS website and he was simply in transit at Adelaide airport on his way back to Perth for “cultural healing”. He nominated an address in Northbridge but moved to Belmont after arguing with relatives, something that’s caused him issues in the past.
I agree with those that say he has issues following directives and he should not have been partying, but house bound for a very short stopover in Adelaide, a place with zero active cases? Spare me!!! McGowan is worse than Andrews here in Victoria and that’s really saying something! His ridiculous “rules” are way way over the top of reasonable.
No guarantees but the words he used to the Judge make it seem like he’s aware that he could lose it all in terms of an AFL career and it might be the catalyst to get him back on track. I certainly hope and pray it is

So So Sorry if this is going to offend some people but there seems to be so many people making excuses for him and trying to be politically correct and posting like a politician with reserved wording or like social workers trying to 'help the under privileged '

He doesnt have 'Mental deamons' or Depression or other issue's
He is just a d!ck that likes to show off and party on and doesnt give 2 sh!ts about rules or laws as has been proven over and over again the last 2 years
I really hope he gets 30 days jail and misses out on his New Years eve party which is more important than anything els and i am not surprised at all that he has gotten in trouble with the law but its come 1 -2 week earlier than i thought ( new years was my tip)

He is a bloody hero that likes to show off and has total disregard for Rules his club , his team mates or the law
Piss him Off and doesnt deserve another chance.

Plenty of kids Dying for the chance

Rant over please continue
Not bad....

Why was he refused bail? That seems a bit extreme to me.
It’s a blatant breach according to 9 he went home for a dead family member on Thursday was told to stay inside for 14 days and 2 days later he’s caught at a house the opposite side of the city and out clubbing

Faces court again tomorrow

It’s not about the gravity of the action for me though. I’m not all about hanging him for travelling outside of where he was expected to have been.

However, there is an expectation that AFL players act like model citizens when it comes to COVID-19 restrictions. There is a level of trust that clubs and the AFL need from their players because their actions heavily influence the restrictions that state Premiers put on them should COVID-19 flare up again next season. WA is the toughest of the states too so losing their confidence is going to be troubling for the AFL.

Also, what if Richmond is now forced to take action against an already suspended Stack? What if there are going to be financial penalties involved, whether it is in himself of Richmond? It means that he’ll be unnecessarily causing a further issue by either being unavailable for longer or costing himself or the club money.

If you take all of this into account, then it is quite disappointing. All it takes is just to remain where you are told to remain for 14 days. I’m sure that the club’s confidence in him is going to take a hit because of this.
I was going into perth for a Covid test........at 1-40 in the morning at the north bridge tavern.....sure let’s keep defending him

Why did he have to self isolate, I thought that was lifted in WA on Dec 8 or thereabouts.

Stupid rule anyway, you shouldn't have to quarantine inside your own country.

I get the sentiment but do you want a group from the northern beaches of Sydney now coming to your local shopping centre and mingle with the rest of us? Placing restrictions across moving between states at the least keeps the virus' spread minimalised.

I have an 84 year old Mum. She is still active and loves to go to the shops. For her sake I am happy these quarantines are in place. Even for myself at 55 years of age, I don't want to catch it.

People I feel for most here are those like Peggy, Benny, Dimma etc who fought tooth and nail to turn him around.
Disappointed big time.

Would be like flying into Victoria saying you’re going to quarantine in Geelong

Yet found 2 days later in Brighton and clubbing on chapel street

After telling border officials im only here to be with family because my grandpa died

It’s horseshit