Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

Actually you do have to respect them, but you don't have to like them.

If you go to Thailand, it's illegal to disrespect the king. Is it a stupid law? Yeah. But it's their law, and you don't get a pass just because you don't like it.

Same as wa, you don't get to say "but I'm a Victorian, and this law is not acceptable to me"

I don't think you got the gist of Grr's post:

Except in relation to capital punishment which as Sunshine pointed out, the Fed's made it impossible for states to re-introduced.

It is completely implausible to accept everything a State does, is accepted without comment by people from other States. You might not be able to do much about it, but doesn't mean you have to respect it. The sodomy laws in Tassie were amusing acrachronisitic to everyone else. Jo-Bjelke Peterson was a joke to us Southerners, and he thought the same about us. Qld was as corrupt as hell when he ruled, didn't make it respectable. I do not respect the law that allows 10 year olds to be incarcerated for trivial crimes, no matter what anyone says, and neither does the International bodies like Amnesty etc.

The only time (for the most part) that you have have to respect the laws of another state is when you are in that state - most State laws are proximity based, though that is changing thanks largely to the internet. That being the case, Grrr can disrespect the King of Thailand to his own heart's pleasure, provided he is not in Thailand, and again except perhaps for internet related crime with whom we have some sort of extradition treaty. So Grrr could arguably stand on the SA side of the WA border and be disrespectful towards the WA government and even say "but I'm a Victorian, and this law is not acceptable to me". Provided he complied with the WA law whilst in WA. He might even be able to say it outside the WA Parliament, if the correct permits were obtained.

Isn't it indeed how certain laws become changed for the better? Look at the result of the actions taken by the Australian of the Year who, by repeatedly saying she did not think a law was fair and it needed to be repealed - indeed achieved change to give her and other victims a voice over and beyond the voice of their perpetrator.

Someone lock this ******* thread while Bazza is banned. It's just going to go to sh*t (again) as soon as he comes back.

Can't you just see him sitting on his high chair right now punching the keyboard yelling "But..but....but.......but.........buuuuuuuut!!!! :D Good ol Baz we miss ya...........................................

The only time (for the most part) that you have have to respect the laws of another state is when you are in that state - most State laws are proximity based, though that is changing thanks largely to the internet. That being the case, Grrr can disrespect the King of Thailand to his own heart's pleasure, provided he is not in Thailand, and again except perhaps for internet related crime with whom we have some sort of extradition treaty. So Grrr could arguably stand on the SA side of the WA border and be disrespectful towards the WA government and even say "but I'm a Victorian, and this law is not acceptable to me". Provided he complied with the WA law whilst in WA. He might even be able to say it outside the WA Parliament, if the correct permits were obtained.

Isn't it indeed how certain laws become changed for the better? Look at the result of the actions taken by the Australian of the Year who, by repeatedly saying she did not think a law was fair and it needed to be repealed - indeed achieved change to give her and other victims a voice over and beyond the voice of their perpetrator.

I do, but it's a common issue

Of all places south park said it well. Tolerance isn't about agreeing or accepting something, it's agreeing to put up with it.

Respecting a law isn't about agreeing with it, it's acknowledging, accepting, and obeying it.

As Victorians, we have to respect wa laws, whether we like them or not, they are the will of the people of wa

Why do people keep saying we need to get him living with Dusty, Marlion or some other player so he won’t be led astray?

He was living with the coach, captain, 40 other players, a mindfulness coach and many others and he still nearly blew up our entire season and his career only a few months ago.

Then he did it again twice. Why should one of our club that are doing the right thing have to baby sit him again in the hope he won’t break covid restrictions for the 4th++ time?

Exactly. That's me up top.

Why do people keep saying we need to get him living with Dusty, Marlion or some other player so he won’t be led astray?

He was living with the coach, captain, 40 other players, a mindfulness coach and many others and he still nearly blew up our entire season and his career only a few months ago.

Then he did it again twice. Why should one of our club that are doing the right thing have to baby sit him again in the hope he won’t break covid restrictions for the 4th++ time?

Yeah, agreed.

Our players are not babysitters. Thing is, if you keep sending him to live with people and treating him like a child, it just becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

A 24 year old who lives alone is generally more mature than a 35 yr old basement dweller that lives with their parents.

Yeah, agreed.

Our players are not babysitters. Thing is, if you keep sending him to live with people and treating him like a child, it just becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

A 24 year old who lives alone is generally more mature than a 35 yr old basement dweller that lives with their parents.
When did you get out of the basement?

Because that's what "families" do. Our club is his family until the time it decides to part ways with him. Until then, we support him because he is one of ours. There is no set number of failures. We know many of our players are far from perfect. Our success is due to the fact we accept that and support them all through thick and thin.

Because we knew he had issues when we drafted him and if he knuckles down, he can be one of the best players in the AFL, so he's worth persevering with for those two reasons.

When might this be? The 4th, 5th or 6th time he breaks the law?

Mate have some perspective. Your talking as if Stack is some thug.

After all Stack has done it's no where close to as bad as punching a taxi driver (Hurley), drink driving on the eve of finals (Hodge), dealing coke (stokes) or punching a bouncer twice in the head (Toby Greene).

All those guys were forgiven.

All stack is being accused of is breaking curfews and stay at home orders multiple times plus getting into a couple of push and shoves. Hardly something he can't come back from.

I do, but it's a common issue

Of all places south park said it well. Tolerance isn't about agreeing or accepting something, it's agreeing to put up with it.

Respecting a law isn't about agreeing with it, it's acknowledging, accepting, and obeying it.

As Victorians, we have to respect wa laws, whether we like them or not, they are the will of the people of wa

No, it's only about complying with it - you don't have to agree or even respect it at all - you can't legislate agreeance or respect!

When might this be? The 4th, 5th or 6th time he breaks the law?
Who knows, but the club has backed him in Imo, he's got obvious mental health problems so we should at least stick with him for this year.
He will be an elite player in the future . When he's 23 to 26 years old he will be awesome.

Mate have some perspective. Your talking as if Stack is some thug.

No, I’m not. You can let down your football club, risk the footy season and break the law without being a thug. That’s your words, not mine. And that’s before even considering on two occasions he was in a physical altercation and taken into police custody.

Anyway as others have said we are all going around in circles and each of us have a different perspective on the situation. We aren’t going to change anyone’s minds at this point. Seems like it’s up to Sydney now.

No, it's only about complying with it - you don't have to agree or even respect it at all - you can't legislate agreeance or respect!

bullshit

if you want to enter a foreign territory, you are agreeing to accept and live by their laws and regulations, even if you disagree with them

do you think you get to strut around Mecca in a g banger because you dont respect public modesty laws?

you sound like americans who think USA laws and only USA laws apply to them

WA doesnt give two ****s what you think. you dont like it, dont go there

bullshit

if you want to enter a foreign territory, you are agreeing to accept and live by their laws and regulations, even if you disagree with them

do you think you get to strut around Mecca in a g banger because you dont respect public modesty laws?

WA doesnt give two fu**s what you think. you dont like it, dont go there

The only thing you are agreeing to is compliance - you are sounding like Xi Jinping and wanting to set up mind control camps if you are trying draw international parallels.

bullshit

WA doesnt give two fu**s what you think. you dont like it, dont go there
You just don't get it at all. People are saying they disagree with WA's laws. They're archaic and seem to have a racial bias as can be seen quite clearly by their incarceration rates of indigenous people. Nobody is saying that when in WA, people should be breaking them. I posted earlier about a rapist who escaped a jail term here in Victoria but we have a person who transgressed WA COVID rules, who sat in jail for weeks. That's nuts. Especially as he posed ZERO threat to the community even if we are in a so-called PANDEMIC. We are allowed to call the laws hideous if we wish. Obviously, we understand that we still have to obey them though.

The only thing you are agreeing to is compliance - you are sounding like Xi Jinping and wanting to set up mind control camps if you are trying draw international parallels.

No, im just not an arrogant twat who thinks the whole world has to agree with what i want

i assume you expect people to obey vic laws when in vic. why are you so awesome that you get to do whatever the **** you want when you visit their homes?

respect is about saying other people have a right to their own self governance, and we will follow thier rules IF we choose to be in their jurisdiction

You just don't get it at all. People are saying they disagree with WA's laws. They're archaic and seem to have a racial bias as can be seen quite clearly by their incarceration rates of indigenous people. Nobody is saying that when in WA, people should be breaking them. I posted earlier about a rapist who escaped a jail term here in Victoria but we have a person who transgressed WA COVID rules, who sat in jail for weeks. That's nuts. Especially as he posed ZERO threat to the community even if we are in a so-called PANDEMIC. We are allowed to call the laws hideous if we wish. Obviously, we understand that we still have to obey them though.

people have been saying stack should get off because the wa laws are stupid, he's indigenous, hes young, etc

whats your excuse today for him?

here is the truth. you and everyone else want him off because of who he plays for. if it was toby green in the same situation, you would all be lol'ing and saying he got his just deserts. you're a pack of hypocrites

No, im just not an arrogant twat who thinks the whole world has to agree with what i want

i assume you expect people to obey vic laws when in vic. why are you so awesome that you get to do whatever the fu** you want when you visit their homes?

respect is about saying other people have a right to their own self governance, and we will follow thier rules IF we choose to be in their jurisdiction

Ned you are off track. I'm not going to get into name calling.

In answer to your next short paragraph, no, I don't expect anything - I worry about what I can control and I can't control anyone other than myself. I may have some influence with select people, but I control no one, especially anyone in Victoria in regards Victorian laws.

When I follow the rules of others, it's called compliance. I may not be as worldly as you, but I have managed to be compliant in 6 or 7 countries other than my beloved Australia. It does not have to come from a place of respect for each and every law there - USA has some shocking laws, just an acceptance that if I don't comply there will have consequences. There are laws I do not respect, I'll but am willing to comply. You are generally a good poster so I'm surprised you are not across this distinction.