Sydney Stack Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Roksman

Chol was in his workplace. These guys were at the strippers in the early hours of the morning. Thats not victim blaming, its not their fault that some tool wanted to feel like a big man and target some footballers, but there is clearly a difference between those two incidents which is based on the reality of the situations, not just hyperbolic, hypocritical media coverage.

So if a woman is assaulted in the work place we care, but if she goes to the strippers late at night and gets assaulted it's kinda justified? I don't see your point sorry.

I've asked this before.
But can we re-negotiate Dimmas contract so that the 100k can be absorbed into it and rewarding Dimma with an extra year to make up the 21 shortfall?
I’d like to think we were already considering another 3y term , can think of a couple of clubs that would sign him tomorrow given half a chance

Wait, how has Chol been dragged into this? There was no victim blaming involved in that situation. None at all.

Correct there wasn't any victim blaming in the Chol situation. I'm pointing out the irony that the very same mob who attacked Vlastuin can't seem to grasp that the two Richmond boys were assaulted and there's been no mention of it. We all agree they did the wrong thing, and they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. But it doesn't excuse what happened to them and how it's been covered. I thought we were past the whole idea that just because you're being dumb and in the wrong place that you deserve to be assaulted?

Well the producer must’ve told Carey to talk us up at every opportunity he can for the past four years because the guy refuses to say a bad word about us.
He does talk us up for onfield stuff. No doubt. I don’t think these types of issues you get their real opinion necessarily.

Another irony in the situation is a great many of the mob have previously called the season a farce and specifically called for it to be abandoned early in the year. The same people losing their shit over a couple of knuckle heads putting the season at risk. You know who you are if you fall into this group.

Correct there wasn't any victim blaming in the Chol situation. I'm pointing out the irony that the very same mob you attacked Vlastuin can't seem to grasp that the two Richmond boys were assaulted and there's been no mention of it. We all agree they did the wrong thing, and they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. But it doesn't excuse what happened to them and how it's been covered. I thought we were past the whole idea that just because you're being dumb and in the wrong place that you deserve to be assaulted?
Called selective journalism mate , fact that Stacky was the only one arrested is a question worth asking

All signs seem to point to stack not being at the club next season.
Damn shame coz the kid has more talent than 90% of players that come through the system.
Would be a pity , I’m sure the decision would be more rounded than this incident in isolation , something just didn’t click with this years campaign , just wasn’t the same player. And I have plenty in front of him for a senior berth Dunno why , but club would know better

Harley Bennell was literally on the front page of a major newspaper snorting coke as just one of his manny indiscretions yet people are acting like these two players should be drawn an quartered

Different times.

AFL season, and industry are hanging by a thread.

AFL/QLD are right to be filthy with Stack/CCJ for putting the season at risk.

Richmond are right to be filthy with them for receiving a 100K soft cap penalty, and seemingly having to cop the fine now that AFLPA has come out and put a line through the idea of the players paying it.

What that does to Stack and CCJ in terms of their relationship with the club, staff and fellow players will be very interesting.

It feels to me that the breach is one thing, but the club asking the players to pay the fine, and then the players seemingly not paying it is the thing that might make it harder to come back from. It will be a sore point that makes it difficult for the club and players to embrace them and bring them back into the fold.

If Stack/CCJ leave. It will be the disagreement over the fine that puts the nail in the coffin for mine.

How can you move forward and repair the relationship if the two parties have completely different ideas on what being accountable and owning the consequences of your actions look like?

Different times.

Richmond are right to be filthy with them for receiving a 100K soft cap penalty, and seemingly having to cop the fine now that AFLPA has come out and put a line through the idea of the players paying it.

What that does to Stack and CCJ in terms of their relationship with the club, staff and fellow players will be very interesting.

It feels to me that the breach is one thing. The club asking the players to pay the fine, and then the players seemingly not paying it is the thing that might make it harder for the club and players to embrace them and bring them back into the fold.

IF Stack/CCJ leave. It will be the disagreement over the fine that puts the nail in the coffin for mine.

How can you move forward and repair the relationship if the two parties have completely different ideas on what being accountable and owning the consequences of your actions look like?
It’s barely been 24 hours since the fine was even announced and I wouldn’t even be surprised if all the parties involved haven’t even sat down to have a proper discussion and got the relevant advice (the players association, the players involved, the club, the afl and the club’s managers) about who will be paying what to who
It’s all just people from all sides in damage control for mine with a good dash of media sensationalism thrown in for good measure

Talk of players leaving or being traded for whatever reason is extremely premature and just plain hyperbole

Different times.

It feels to me that the breach is one thing, but the club asking the players to pay the fine, and then the players seemingly not paying it is the thing that might make it harder to come back from. It will be a sore point that makes it difficult for the club and players to embrace them and bring them back into the fold.

If Stack/CCJ leave. It will be the disagreement over the fine that puts the nail in the coffin for mine.

You are jumping to a lot of conclusions. If the players leave etc. Reckon and really hoping that Richmond hold their nerve and just mothball the situation until the season is over. If there are fines to be paid, easy, knock it off their contracts over 3 years for example. Just because a manager jumps up means nothing, have he and the club even talked. Possibly, but who knows what is said.
This will blow over soon enough and addressed again down the track if anyone at Richmond has got any brains or care for their players. And that should be everyone's main objective, which seems to be secondary to the scandal. Imagine how Stack and CCJ feel right now. Let's hope they are being looked after.

So if a woman is assaulted in the work place we care, but if she goes to the strippers late at night and gets assaulted it's kinda justified? I don't see your point sorry.
If anyone gets assaulted anywhere unprovoked then you would care. However, the level of shock or surprise would be different. Being in a workplace you do not expect to be assaulted (unless you work in security/military etc.), however being out on the town at night in a party town it is not that huge a stretch that some shit could go down at all.

To put it another way, it would be tragic if someone was killed by gunshot on Collins St as it would be equally tragic if someone was shot and killed at Omaha Beach in 44. The difference here is that in one instance you are not expecting trouble but in the other scenario you are expecting it

Funny how all the commentary on Richmond is how well we have recruited taking on Stack, Pickett and a whole heap of players that didn't get drafted through traditional ways. How we think outside the square, family club etc, as soon as something happens they turn like hyena's. Hypocrisy at its finest. Can't wait for Caro's arrow. In fact I can.
Replying to my own post.... should add a we to the they in the line above.... as plenty on here have turned on them as well.

And as for talk that this one 100k fine in the space of 20 hours and destroyed the chance of the club having a vfl program next years is utter bullshit and the club just using it as an excuse for a decision made long before this incident

I thought we only got rid of the Female VFL program?

Caro reporting that Richmond going to can the vfl program next year because of the fine on sen this morning

It’s barely been 24 hours since the fine was even announced and I wouldn’t even be surprised if all the parties involved haven’t even sat down to have a proper discussion and got the relevant advice (the players association, the players involved, the club, the afl and the club’s managers) about who will be paying what to who
It’s all just people from all sides in damage control for mine with a good dash of media sensationalism thrown in for good measure

Talk of players leaving or being traded for whatever reason is extremely premature and just plain hyperbole
You are jumping to a lot of conclusions. If the players leave etc. Reckon and really hoping that Richmond hold their nerve and just mothball the situation until the season is over. If there are fines to be paid, easy, knock it off their contracts over 3 years for example. Just because a manager jumps up means nothing, have he and the club even talked. Possibly, but who knows what is said.
This will blow over soon enough and addressed again down the track if anyone at Richmond has got any brains or care for their players. And that should be everyone's main objective, which seems to be secondary to the scandal. Imagine how Stack and CCJ feel right now. Let's hope they are being looked after.

AFLPA has come out and said, no way, it's not happening, they aren't paying.

If they don't pay, Richmond, the players, and footy dept staff would rightfully be quite resentful.

You're right, I am playing out a particular scenario, but it is not out of the question. My primary point was the disagreement over the fine has the potential to be a bigger issue than the suspension itself.

AFLPA has come out and said, no way, it's not happening, they aren't paying.

If they don't pay, Richmond, the players, and footy dept staff would rightfully be quite resentful.

You're right, I am playing out a particular scenario, but it is not out of the question. My primary point was the disagreement over the fine has the potential to be a bigger issue than the suspension itself.
I would say the afl pa talking about the actual transfer of the funds and who is responsible for the payment
The fine was made out to Richmond so Richmond will pay the fine but nothing is stoping Richmond looking for compensation of the funds