Sydney Stack Discussion

Okay so they don't actually interview the manager and it's 9 that say his career is at the crossroads.

He was forced home to WA and hasn't been able to train with the club. You'd hope the ban was the rocket he needs, but sometimes it doesn't work out that way. He'll come back, work on a new training program and go from there.

Even with his history, career at a crossroads is so dramatic right now

This is the report, doesn’t say he was sent home (went home for a family death) but does say his manager confirmed he’s unfit and his career sounds like it’s at a crossroads.

The last part of your post about being at the crossroads is the reporters opinion, based on the clip posted. He indicated that his Manager said he wasn't as fit as he should be and he had some work to do, but would complete his training block over in Perth.
Bottom line with Stacky is that if he wants an AFL career, is up to him to put in the work as he has unbelieveable talent imo.

I think people immediately assume returning to training unfit means a lack of effort. That's certainly possible. It's also really possible that he just lacks the right set up, both with equipment as well as family and support, to return in the right kind of shape, especially given he was thrust back home unexpectedly.

Again, it's possible that it is a lack of application, but issues like this are rarely so black and white, but people constantly try to categorise them that way.

Okay so they don't actually interview the manager and it's 9 that say his career is at the crossroads.

He was forced home to WA and hasn't been able to train with the club. You'd hope the ban was the rocket he needs, but sometimes it doesn't work out that way. He'll come back, work on a new training program and go from there.

Even with his history, career at a crossroads is so dramatic right now

True, but jeopardising our season (and the AFL season) a few months ago to go and see some Gold Coast strippers doesn’t exactly give him much benefit of the doubt to fall back on. Showing up unfit when you’ve ****ed up on such a large scale doesn’t inspire confidence. I guess it’s up to him now.

True, but jeopardising our season (and the AFL season) a few months ago to go and see some Gold Coast strippers doesn’t exactly give him much benefit of the doubt to fall back on. Showing up unfit when you’ve f’ed up on such a large scale doesn’t inspire confidence. I guess it’s up to him now.
Yeah agree that it's certainly not good. I just think we know so little about it, and it's a bit early to claim his career is at a crossroads without knowing more.

i don't have insta and not a fan of social media crap so can't check....but he doesn't seem to be "in mourning" with the death of a close family member. If it was me, i would have thought to lay low and be respectful for a little while...different generation ?
Definatley doesnt look like the death of a close family member has affected him much...

FFS now we're judging how he chooses to grieve. What would you like? A 10 minute video of him sobbing?

Maybe he is focusing on having fun with friends to keep his mind off it?

Do we actually want this kid to succeed or do we want to find reasons to crucify him?

FFS now we're judging how he chooses to grieve. What would you like? A 10 minute video of him sobbing?

Do we actually want this kid to succeed or do we want to find reasons to crucify him?
well no not sobbing then post it on insta...just mourne in a respectful manner (hint, stay off insta) go for a workout...to me NYE revelry would be out of the question but then I'm not him...and btw, I've never attacked him...I took the club's words of the black eye poke.

I think the true question should be does this kid actually want to succeed ? And if yes is he prepared to work for it ?

So many question's with whats going on and we can chose to stick our head in the sand and be like the Pies supporters and totally ignore sh!t thats infront of our noses but i chose not to. I have no idea what he has done or is doing but the signs are ringing alarm bells for me

* 1st week of september - Sent home for Kebab gate (no issue these things happen)
* 3 months later comes back to the club unfit for where he should be , Now tell me what has he been doing for 3 months ?

Surely a player with career on the line should have been working his ass off getting ultra fit to present in prestine condition 1st day back to redeem himself to the club and team mates but he comes back in crap shape unable to finish the run and jogs

* Sent home for family death yet is looking for tickets to New Years party. Clearly grieving is not his priority

But lets just stick our heads in the sand and pretend all is good and he will come back and dominate and get fit in 12 weeks - Where is the Richmond Man
Where is the team discipline , Where is the aspect of proving yourself to team mates.

Think the kid just doesn't want it enough and has other things on his mind and will be extremely surprised if he turns things around. I hope he does but not holding my breath that he will plays 100 games

I would be happy to and happier that he’s fully committed.

We may know a little more shortly as 9 news just said coming up “Sydney Stack no where to be seen” at training. Maybe they’ll explain what’s going on.
That’s because their reporters lurk on here, trying to beat up a story.

I think people immediately assume returning to training unfit means a lack of effort. That's certainly possible. It's also really possible that he just lacks the right set up, both with equipment as well as family and support, to return in the right kind of shape, especially given he was thrust back home unexpectedly.

Again, it's possible that it is a lack of application, but issues like this are rarely so black and white, but people constantly try to categorise them that way.
Don’t need an expensive set up to put in cardio work

Especially when he’s been posting videos of him out on the beers and patrolling the beaches with his mates the past 2 months on his socials

Could be the wrong opinion. I want Sydney to be a star for the tigers. There's so much hate on here though!

He f*cked up with the kebab gate and came back unfit apparently. How old is he? The stresses that these kids go through in the footy industry alone is hard, let alone a break up at that age and living in a hub. I'm 29 and if my life was scrutinised (and don't get me wrong I know they're payed a lot and there's privileges in their careers), if I had a few months off I'd have fun too.

He had a family death, I'd try and plan something fun for New Years too. These guys are humans and normal, not robots that have to act to your ways just because you support a football team. Yeah you want everything to be perfect in a team but its not.

If it doesn't work out he's missed a huge opportunity because AFL can be so rewarding but its a job, not life. Let him work it out. I hope all the best for him!

I think the true question should be does this kid actually want to succeed ? And if yes is he prepared to work for it ?

So many question's with whats going on and we can chose to stick our head in the sand and be like the Pies supporters and totally ignore sh!t thats infront of our noses but i chose not to. I have no idea what he has done or is doing but the signs are ringing alarm bells for me

* 1st week of september - Sent home for Kebab gate (no issue these things happen)
* 3 months later comes back to the club unfit for where he should be , Now tell me what has he been doing for 3 months ?

Surely a player with career on the line should have been working his ass off getting ultra fit to present in prestine condition 1st day back to redeem himself to the club and team mates but he comes back in crap shape unable to finish the run and jogs

* Sent home for family death yet is looking for tickets to New Years party. Clearly grieving is not his priority

But lets just stick our heads in the sand and pretend all is good and he will come back and dominate and get fit in 12 weeks - Where is the Richmond Man
Where is the team discipline , Where is the aspect of proving yourself to team mates.

Think the kid just doesn't want it enough and has other things on his mind and will be extremely surprised if he turns things around. I hope he does but not holding my breath that he will plays 100 games

The guy is 20 years old and you and others are judging him for wanting to go to a party ON NEW YEAR'S EVE which is in TWO WEEKS because he's had a family member pass away?

Richmond culture is all about accepting players as being human and that's it's ok to not be perfect. Football comes 2nd to happiness.

Maybe we should be greatful that he's not in a deep pit of depression after the year he's had where nothing seems to be going right?

What does the pies have to do with anything? We just won 3 of the last 4 flags! We're nothing like them.

I think it's time to take a break when some of us are stalking social media for ammunition to use against our own players.

The guy is 20 years old and you and others are judging him for wanting to go to a party ON NEW YEAR'S EVE which is in TWO WEEKS because he's had a family member pass away?

Richmond culture is all about accepting players as being human and that's it's ok to not be perfect. Football comes 2nd to happiness.

Maybe we should be greatful that he's not in a deep pit of depression after the year he's had where nothing seems to be going right?

What does the pies have to do with anything? We just won 3 of the last 4 flags! We're nothing like them.

I think it's time to take a break when some of us are stalking social media for ammunition to use against our own players.
I dont stalk social media , The comment regarding the Pie is/was in regards to how everything their players do is fine and no issue until they have been moved on and all of a sudden they re the worst people in the world. We need to accept that our players have faults and the emotional and financial investment made by supporters and members as well as the club IS NOT UNCONDITIONAL.

Whilst our culture and team ethos is about supporting and caring it doent mean they take the piss out of it, Stack has a condition in his contract that include his fitness levels and condition he presents when he returns to the club and alongside the part of my post you missed in quoting has had 3 full months away from team and players and to present himself not in optimum is not acceptable.

The year that nothing seems to have gone right : I am pretty sure he is not the only person that has endured that and should consider himself extremely lucky not having to spend 6+ months locked up at home with 1 hour exercise time and was on the gold coast training and having some semblance of freedom until their own stuff up going to strippers and fighting. And nothing going right is mostly his fault so sorry he made hi bed there

Sorry mate respect your opinion but we need to sometimes see things for what they are and with Sydney Stack its not going to be an easy road until he learns that thing dont always get handed to you and you need to earn some. His own manager saying he was not fit enough is also concerning .

I really hope he grows up and accepts responsibility for his actions and learns from them and has a great career but currently i wont be putting any money on this happening with things that are leaking out.

Agree to a point,

boss I need time off because the death of a relative

sure no problem

next minute I’m getting on the piss for nye

how long do you reckon I would last in my job?